Peugeot 508, Ford Mondeo or VW Passat?, 3 good cars, 1 choice

TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 12:08 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 12:07 PM)
I didnt say 508 is bad car ler..

earlier posts, the 407 which i bought then was compared to then 2005 range of cars which I felt was also like now buying the 508 compared to the current crop of cars in the market for the same range.
please dun mix up. 407 (during 2005 time), now 508 (2011 time) ok? not to say in 2011, the 407 comparable to 508 .. LOL..
I didnt say Lancer GT was a D segment car. Did you see the question mark after the sentence? So what other 150-200K price range cars have you owned?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 25 2011, 12:09 PM
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 12:10 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 12:08 PM)
So what other 150-200K price range cars have you owned?
from the past A33 (sold), 407 (sold), RX8, akod 2.4 , currently teana.
how about you then? what car u currently owned?
TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 12:12 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 12:10 PM)
from the past A33 (sold), 407 (sold), RX8, akod 2.4 , currently teana.
how about you then? what car u currently owned?
So whats your comparison between the Teana and the 508 then? Whats your thoughts? Which model Teana?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 25 2011, 12:35 PM
spcx
post Oct 25 2011, 12:59 PM

207 posts

eh where in KL you saw the blue???
TScybermaster98
post Oct 25 2011, 01:11 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(spcx @ Oct 25 2011, 12:59 PM)
eh where in KL you saw the blue???
Peugeot TTDI. Do you know where i can see the Silver?
ar188
post Oct 25 2011, 02:16 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 25 2011, 12:12 PM)
So whats your comparison between the Teana and the 508 then? Whats your thoughts? Which model Teana?
if just the car driving experience, like teana vs 508 , i am sure the 508 will come out more prefered for me as well.. anyway, we see how lor, maybe next year can consider it when sell of the rx8,
but yeah my previous sales advisor from 407 days, already asking me to check out the 508.. laugh.gif like when they asked me to check out the 308T and 3008 and 5008 and RCZ which looks super nice when first see it,
but I give it 1year later, then see if still excited..(if excited then can seriously consider no hurry as I got many cars to drive lol)
cos currently 308T already dun feel so exciting liao compared to when I saw it 2years back in the show room.
Bliz
post Oct 25 2011, 03:14 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 25 2011, 02:16 PM)
if just the car driving experience, like teana vs 508 , i am sure the 508 will come out more prefered for me as well.. anyway, we see how lor, maybe next year can consider it when sell of the rx8,
but yeah my previous sales advisor from 407 days, already asking me to check out the 508..  laugh.gif  like when they asked me to check out the 308T and 3008 and 5008 and RCZ which looks super nice when first see it,
but I give it 1year later, then see if still excited..(if excited then can seriously consider no hurry as I got many cars to drive lol)
cos currently 308T already dun feel so exciting liao compared to when I saw it 2years back in the show room.
Haha 308T is still quite a looker, very sexy drool.gif
Ericyklee
post Oct 26 2011, 10:49 AM

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 23 2011, 07:01 PM)
when i got my Fiesta, everyone kept asking "y u no buy vios? y u no buy city? y u no buy inspira?"
i just smile and didnt even bother explaining. now i laugh hysterically when i smoke a vios, city or inspira on the road. muhahahahaha!
i got the polo and i feel just like u smile.gif
huaren1978
post Oct 26 2011, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(Ericyklee @ Oct 26 2011, 10:49 AM)
i got the polo and i feel just like u smile.gif
The underdog position with hidden ferocity ready to pounce on the unsuspecting. I like!
My previous ride exactly fits that profile. Fun days.

This post has been edited by huaren1978: Oct 26 2011, 11:33 AM
TScybermaster98
post Oct 27 2011, 09:00 AM

4,440 posts

So any comments regarding the after sales service standards of Nasim?
gregy
post Oct 27 2011, 09:52 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 27 2011, 09:00 AM)
So any comments regarding the after sales service standards of Nasim?
Bro if you want to gauge Nasim's after sales you should check out all the Pug 308 threads. That will give you an idea as well as being able to know any of the problems associated with the Prince 1.6 engine.
TScybermaster98
post Oct 27 2011, 03:14 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Oct 27 2011, 09:52 AM)
Bro if you want to gauge Nasim's after sales you should check out all the Pug 308 threads. That will give you an idea as well as being able to know any of the problems associated with the Prince 1.6 engine.
Cant seem to find them. Care to provide some links? Thanks
TScybermaster98
post Oct 28 2011, 08:19 AM

4,440 posts

Just to list down the spec list on the Peugeot 508 for your info:

1) 6 speed Tiptronic auto adaptive gearbox with Sports & Manual mode
2) 1.6L Twin Scroll High Pressure Turbo (THP) Prince engine with 156Hp, 240Nm
3) Latest generation Electronic Stability Program (ESP)
4) Anti Lock Braking System (ABS)
5) Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD)
6) Intelligent Traction Control System (ITCS)
7) Emergency Brake Assist (EBA)
8) Anti Skid Regulation (ASR)
9) 6 airbags
10) Intelligent Airbag System (separate impact deployment and secondary impact protection)
11) Automatic Electric Parking Brake
12) 4 individual zone auto air-conditioning (separate temp controls for both rear passengers)
13) Colour Heads – Up Display (HUD)
14) Auto Adaptive High Beam System (camera activated)
15) Directional bi – Xenon headlamps with washers & auto levelling system
16) Rain sensing auto wipers
17) Paddle Shifters on Steering Column
18) 10 speaker JBL sound system with 500W surround sound amplifier
19) Arkamsys Audio Processing System (creates natural central acoustic ambience plus has Favour Listening)
20) Intelligent keyless entry with finger sensor and push start button
21) 8 way electric power seats with lumbar support for driver & front passenger
22) 7” HD multi function colour screen
23) 10 front & rear parking sensors with visual display
24) Available Space Management system (ASM) (for parallel parking)
25) Speed sensing electro hydraulic power steering
26) Premium leather

jeygan
post Oct 28 2011, 03:41 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 28 2011, 08:19 AM)
Just to list down the spec list on the Peugeot 508 for your info:

1) 6 speed Tiptronic auto adaptive gearbox with Sports & Manual mode
2) 1.6L Twin Scroll High Pressure Turbo (THP) Prince engine with 156Hp, 240Nm
3) Latest generation Electronic Stability Program (ESP)
4) Anti Lock Braking System (ABS)
5) Electronic Brake Force Distribution (EBD)
6) Intelligent Traction Control System (ITCS)
7) Emergency Brake Assist (EBA)
8) Anti Skid Regulation (ASR)
9) 6 airbags
10) Intelligent Airbag System (separate impact deployment and secondary impact protection)
11) Automatic Electric Parking Brake
12) 4 individual zone auto air-conditioning (separate temp controls for both rear passengers)
13) Colour Heads – Up Display (HUD)
14) Auto Adaptive High Beam System (camera activated)
15) Directional bi – Xenon headlamps with washers & auto levelling system
16) Rain sensing auto wipers 
17) Paddle Shifters on Steering Column
18) 10 speaker JBL sound system with 500W surround sound amplifier
19) Arkamsys Audio Processing System (creates natural central acoustic ambience plus has Favour Listening)
20) Intelligent keyless entry with finger sensor and push start button
21) 8 way electric power seats with lumbar support for driver & front passenger
22) 7” HD multi function colour screen
23) 10 front & rear parking sensors with visual display
24) Available Space Management system (ASM) (for parallel parking)
25) Speed sensing electro hydraulic power steering
26) Premium leather

Well I think of the three Ford Mondeo is still the best looks wise. 508 looks strange, but then again different people have different tastes, and some people still think Camry and Honda looks good.I drive a mondeo, but not the new 2.0 Ecoboost one, the older model 2.3L (bought brand new last year) and i think its an amazing car, i travel between Ipoh and KL every weekend and I enjoy it, the power,comfort, handling...yes it doesnt have ESP but i have no qualms,im a good driver;)...i think for a CBU unit its worth the money, finishes are good, looks great (MANY have admired it and my car still gets second, sometimes third looks)..very continental feel driving it as well...well my point is i feel Mondeo is still the best choice among the three...price wise, looks, power. Was impressed when I test drove the Ecoboost, power was even more amazing. Well just my opinion guys

TScybermaster98
post Oct 28 2011, 03:49 PM

4,440 posts

Hi Jeygan,

Have you sat in the Peugeot 508 and viewed it at the showroom?

Your 2.3L Mondeo has 159HP which is marginally more than the 508's 156HP but having a much lower torque than the 508. (208<240Nm)

How is the price or power compared to the 508 since u said the Mondeo is better?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 28 2011, 04:10 PM
jeygan
post Oct 28 2011, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 28 2011, 03:49 PM)
Hi Jeygan,

Have you sat in the Peugeot 508 and viewed it at the showroom?

How much was your 2.3L when your purchased it last year?

Your 2.3L Mondeo has 159HP which is marginally more than the 508's 156HP but having a much lower torque than the 508. (208<240Nm)
Nope I havent sat in a Peugeot 508 but have seen pictures, and the looks arent enticing. If it looks good for my eyes, then Il bother driving to the showroom. I bought mine for 149k. Yes mine has lower torque but its still considered powerful enuf for me. I am not a racer, just love to cruise at high speed. But arent we talking about Ecoboost?I felt the power during test drive.
stormlcc
post Oct 28 2011, 04:42 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(huaren1978 @ Oct 26 2011, 11:32 AM)
The underdog position with hidden ferocity ready to pounce on the unsuspecting. I like!
My previous ride exactly fits that profile. Fun days.
still pissing off a lot of civic 2.0 and lancers nowadays with my LE, and what a good feeling it was, can't imagine the shocked look on the driver's face when i passed them
TommyTan
post Oct 28 2011, 04:42 PM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

why bother, end of the day you'd just buy a camry like everyone else.

practical, resale value, easy service will win cos its just a tool.
TScybermaster98
post Oct 28 2011, 05:43 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(jeygan @ Oct 28 2011, 04:11 PM)
Nope I havent sat in a Peugeot 508 but have seen pictures, and the looks arent enticing. If it looks good for my eyes, then Il bother driving to the showroom. I bought mine for 149k. Yes mine has lower torque but its still considered powerful enuf for me. I am not a racer, just love to cruise at high speed. But arent we talking about Ecoboost?I felt the power during test drive.
Trust me. The pics dont do it justice. Even the photo on the brochure doesnt look nice. Go see the car in person and sit inside. Then lets see your comments. If ure in KL, head over to Peugeot TTDI. They have a nice dark blue unit there.

yes the Ecoboost does churn out some pretty good numbers.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Oct 28 2011, 05:47 PM
TScybermaster98
post Oct 28 2011, 05:45 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(TommyTan @ Oct 28 2011, 04:42 PM)
why bother, end of the day you'd just buy a camry like everyone else.

practical, resale value, easy service will win cos its just a tool.
Nope. If uve read my previous posts, u would have seen that im not really impressed with the upcoming Camry. Quite disappointed. Plus i dont think im prepared to wait till mid next year. So yes im giving this Peugeot some serious thought. Go check out the car in person. Ull be impressed.

29 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0514sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:11 PM