126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Asus Transformer Prime TF201 Official Thread V1, Update with GPS Solution: GPS over BT

K1d0
post Jan 16 2012, 12:55 AM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 16 2012, 12:27 AM)
hi guys, im really interested bout gettin this asus TP, but i need an update a bit regarding this tablet.. i heard this tablet hav few issues like gps not workin properly n also wifi signal is low.. so r all this true? has asus fixed all the issues? also how many model of asus tp hav? cos i also heard that there will the one without aluminum backplate instead it will be plastic.. hope u guys can gimme a summary regarding my questions.
WiFi seems like not having any problem for Malaysia batch? Try read previous few post, there is a few TP owner here tested on the WiFi and does not seem like having any problem, while for the GPS, so far no one in here really tested yet i think but i doubt it will be working that well and besides, in my opinion GPS is not that important. I believe the one you saying without aluminum back plate should be TF700 which just announce in CES 2012, I believe it wont be release that soon at least another 4~5 month. biggrin.gif
uzary
post Jan 16 2012, 01:10 AM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ Jan 16 2012, 12:55 AM)
WiFi seems like not having any problem for Malaysia batch? Try read previous few post, there is a few TP owner here tested on the WiFi and does not seem like having any problem, while for the GPS, so far no one in here really tested yet i think but i doubt it will be working that well and besides, in my opinion GPS is not that important. I believe the one you saying without aluminum back plate should be TF700 which just announce in CES 2012, I believe it wont be release that soon at least another 4~5 month.  biggrin.gif
oic, it is not that gps is very important for me as i can use my phone for that or i can just go and buy d dedicated gps device howeva it is kinda sad if TP gps indeed faulty as we pay for full price but get a device that have somethin nonfunctional. btw wat is the cause of this issue? i heard it is design flaw right or the use of aluminium as the back plate.. wateva it is this asus tp really stunnin wit its design. wub.gif
K1d0
post Jan 16 2012, 01:19 AM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 16 2012, 01:10 AM)
oic, it is not that gps is very important for me as i can use my phone for that or i can just go and buy d dedicated gps device howeva it is kinda sad if TP gps indeed faulty as we pay for full price but get a device that have somethin nonfunctional. btw wat is the cause of this issue? i heard it is design flaw right or the use of aluminium as the back plate.. wateva it is this asus tp really stunnin wit its design. wub.gif
Yeah, from what i read is because of the aluminum back plate which block the signal. Yeah, the design is really nice, i love it alot wub.gif while for the Tf700, with that plastic part on top make the design kinda ugly.
uzary
post Jan 16 2012, 02:37 AM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ Jan 16 2012, 01:19 AM)
Yeah, from what i read is because of the aluminum back plate which block the signal. Yeah, the design is really nice, i love it alot  wub.gif while for the Tf700, with that plastic part on top make the design kinda ugly.
got any pic of tf700? i would lyk to c the difference.. hmm.gif

i google cant find any pic of it, but the spec surely amazing, 1920 x 1200, super ips +, are those even necessary? wat will all the app look like in that resolution? stretch out?

This post has been edited by uzary: Jan 16 2012, 02:40 AM
K1d0
post Jan 16 2012, 06:57 AM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 16 2012, 02:37 AM)

i google cant find any pic of it, but the spec surely amazing, 1920 x 1200, super ips +, are those even necessary? wat will all the app look like in that resolution? stretch out?
here

TScyruz13
post Jan 16 2012, 07:14 AM

Look for the light
717 posts

QUOTE(meeninme @ Jan 15 2012, 11:48 PM)
What you can see here it looks more gun metal.
At certain light condition it looks purple or amethyst.

Whereas mine and zorex looks silver the most.
At certain light condition have a tint of gold.

Yes, the dock is also gold, giving it a little contrast to the black bezel on the tab.
Just some personal preferences. brows.gif
QUOTE(zorex @ Jan 15 2012, 11:58 PM)
haha, meeninme is right..

I lazy take out my cam to take nicer pic lerr.. I only use my HTC's lousy cam. If tmr Im hardworking enuf, i take few closeup..
hmm.gif hmm.gif okay okay thumbup.gif
btw.. sudah root ?

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 16 2012, 02:37 AM)

this --> http://m.phonedog.com/2012/01/09/asus-intr...ay-memo-me370t/
danieliew
post Jan 16 2012, 10:01 AM

70 posts

Anyone managed to get the GPS to achieve a fix? I tried for about 5 mins outdoors but could not....
zorex
post Jan 16 2012, 10:07 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 16 2012, 01:10 AM)
GPS I basically wont use a TP GPS, cuz its juz too big to mount it to my vehicle. I'm using my Evo3D as GPS ady, accurate and no prob so far.

Basically the GPS is not an issue for me. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(K1d0 @ Jan 16 2012, 01:19 AM)
Yeah, from what i read is because of the aluminum back plate which block the signal. Yeah, the design is really nice, i love it alot  wub.gif while for the Tf700, with that plastic part on top make the design kinda ugly.
Yea.. solution, drill a hole behind, lolx thumbup.gif

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jan 16 2012, 07:14 AM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif  okay okay  thumbup.gif
btw.. sudah root ?
this --> http://m.phonedog.com/2012/01/09/asus-intr...ay-memo-me370t/
notyet lar.. I'm wont be using those feature available for rooted device yet. Full backup, screenshot and most customization can be done w/o root also.. ;P

ps: even my phone notyet root.. whistling.gif whistling.gif
TScyruz13
post Jan 16 2012, 10:07 AM

Look for the light
717 posts

QUOTE(danieliew @ Jan 16 2012, 10:01 AM)
Anyone managed to get the GPS to achieve a fix? I tried for about 5 mins outdoors but could not....
u using any GPS software? or google map?

zack2381
post Jan 16 2012, 10:46 AM

825 posts

For me, the following is a deal breaker for getting a tablet:

(i) Lagging issue - ( i want at least on par with Ipad2)
(ii) Connectivity issue (wifi and bluetooth signal reception is weak, GPS i dun really mind

As for number (ii), the problem has been acknowledged by ASUS due to the aluminium body, but some guys here having no problem with that issues..

as for lagging issue, i've tested myself yesterday and the lagging is quite bad - but could be due to honeycomb firmware. but before u get your firmware updated to ICS, are u agree with me that scrolling is not as smooth as ipad2?

Sylpheed
post Jan 16 2012, 10:52 AM

687 posts

QUOTE(zack2381 @ Jan 16 2012, 10:46 AM)

(ii) Connectivity issue  (wifi and bluetooth signal reception is weak, GPS i dun really mind

As for number (ii), the problem has been acknowledged by ASUS due to the aluminium body, but some guys here having no problem with that issues..

as for lagging issue, i've tested myself yesterday and the lagging is quite bad - but could be due to honeycomb firmware. but before u get your firmware updated to ICS, are u agree with me that scrolling is not as smooth as ipad2?
For the lagging issue, it could be because of the OS.

Android would never be on par with MAC because of the software design of the OS.
http://www.slashgear.com/google-engineer-e...r-wp7-06200487/

So you'll probably suffer a bit of lag anyway.

For me, i can live with the lag and get the open market to help with the applications smile.gif

stormaker
post Jan 16 2012, 11:12 AM

3,130 posts

If u want the smoothness to be on par with IPad2, while running on Honeycomb (which I dont know why since ICS already released), 're u willing to strip it down n make it as simple as Ipad2, without widgets ... etc ? If yes, even on honeycomb, it will run on par with Ipad2. But remember, ICS already changed the game.
zack2381
post Jan 16 2012, 11:36 AM

825 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Jan 16 2012, 12:12 PM)
If yes, even on honeycomb, it will run on par with Ipad2. But remember, ICS already changed the game.
the one that i've tested is a virgin unit, presumably without widget, but with honeycomb firmware. I'm not satisfied with the scrolling experience. I'm currently using SGS 2, and i hope that at least its on par with SGS2 but instead it reminds me my SGS1 - where the lag is quite bad..how could this be on par with IPAD2 then? quite far leh..

the one shown in youtube telling me a different story, that y i placed my booking last week friday.

hope the real TP with ICS could address this. I booked one already, pay deposit summore.

TScyruz13
post Jan 16 2012, 11:41 AM

Look for the light
717 posts

i update to ICS alrdy.. i don't own a ipad/ ipad2.. never actually touch my any ipad/ ipad2 device as well....
but so far.. i got ICS .. no lag at all.. rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(zorex @ Jan 16 2012, 10:07 AM)

notyet lar.. I'm wont be using those feature available for rooted device yet. Full backup, screenshot and most customization can be done w/o root also.. ;P

ps: even my phone notyet root..  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
haha.. true true... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cyruz13: Jan 16 2012, 11:43 AM
zorex
post Jan 16 2012, 11:56 AM

1,186 posts

(ii) Connectivity issue  (wifi and bluetooth signal reception is weak, GPS i dun really mind

actually smoothness of the scrolling doesn't determine lagginess of the pad. You can try different launcher and it will have different result. Most important is the overall system response time.

BTW, u might wanna check if its running on battery saving mode, try high performance to have the eee pad running at maximum speed..

powa of kuat-core tongue.gif tongue.gif
uzary
post Jan 16 2012, 12:04 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(K1d0 @ Jan 16 2012, 06:57 AM)
here

Hurm indeed not as beautiful as tf201 original TP, guess nothin is perfect..
K1d0
post Jan 16 2012, 12:09 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 16 2012, 12:04 PM)
[/spoiler]
Hurm indeed not as beautiful as tf201 original TP, guess nothin is perfect..
yeah..the back plate kinda dull looking and does not look as quality as current TP.
ganstream1
post Jan 16 2012, 12:28 PM

432 posts

From ASUS Malaysia's FB Page:

As for Transformer Prime 3G rumors and Transformer 700 confusions, we wish to clarify the following:

"In the wake of recent reports in the media regarding the development of a Transformer Prime Android tablet with on-board 3G, ASUS would like to take this opportunity to state that these reports are erroneous and no such product exists on our current roadmap.

Furthermore, the Transformer TF700 that was shown for the first time at CES 2012 is a completely new product that will co-exist with the Transformer Prime aiming different market segments. The TF700 features the latest 1920x1200 full HD panel and will be available in the second quarter of 2012.
benny888
post Jan 16 2012, 12:29 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I have used the ipad and now having the latest ipad 2. I always say the smoothness and slickness of the ipad 2 is unbeatable BUT is only a delusion as it doesn't have any widgets on homescreen and overall performance of browser, email, youtubes is worse than most of the android tablets I have used. Even the 1 Ghz android single core smartphone beats it in performance. I only use my ipad2 to sync with my MAC for itunes podcasts, read my Zinio mags and sometimes watch movies only
zack2381
post Jan 16 2012, 12:29 PM

825 posts

so whats makes your TP is not a perfect tablet? user experience pls...

126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:26 AM