Oct 13 2005, 10:48 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
922 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
i wanna read reviews on how good the video quality is before making any plans on getting one.
Oct 13 2005, 11:20 AM
133 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
US$299 and does not support DIVX/XVID
Oct 13 2005, 11:21 AM
5,939 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Johor |
looks cool, altho i wish apple would start using a brushed metal instead of the metallic.
Oct 13 2005, 12:56 PM
4,346 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
using flash memory or disk?
Oct 13 2005, 01:19 PM
1,885 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bangsar,Kuala Lumpur |
Oct 13 2005, 01:56 PM
which u recommend, this or nano?
Oct 13 2005, 04:56 PM
1,737 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Until we have the Apple Music Store here, not much point in the video aspect really.. Unless "alternate" sources of quicktime video becomes available...
Then again, it still is an iPod and can play MP3/4 perfectly well... At a better price point too. That perhaps is the plan. Sell millions of iPods, get people interested in video, start a whole new market segment, launch new video iPod with bigger screen... This post has been edited by MacDaNife: Oct 13 2005, 04:59 PM |
Oct 13 2005, 05:00 PM
284 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Oct 13 2005, 05:25 PM
526 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
i'm really interested in how long will the battery last when playing video continuously...
and i think the material being used is the same as nano, which will be prone to scratches... This post has been edited by tadasu: Oct 13 2005, 05:31 PM |
Oct 13 2005, 05:37 PM
isnt it 2-3 hrs of video playback? not sure..
is this good compared to other portable video players? |
Oct 13 2005, 05:39 PM
989 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: SG |
it seems that there's recording function in this iPod..
www.dapreview.net |
Oct 13 2005, 08:27 PM
6,866 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
i think apple should create or invent ipod with bluetooth's or infared's. this will make the transfering of media or files much easier......for me i'l choose the new ipod,i dont understand
ipod nano release, ipod mini is out ipod 30/60gb with video player release, ipod 20/40gb gone ipod shuffle sitll maintaine ipod U2............dunno,vanish by wind,hehe This post has been edited by Mike3300: Oct 15 2005, 05:10 PM |
Oct 13 2005, 08:51 PM
57 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
this is THE REAL DEAL!
im gonna wait for the 2nd reincarnation though |
Oct 14 2005, 02:11 AM
738 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: somewhere in KL |
QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Oct 13 2005, 08:27 PM) i think apple should create or invent ipod with bluetooth's or infared's. this will make the transfering of media or files much easier......for me i'l choose the new ipod,i dont understand that is gonna be the next one but to transfer files? nah that won't happen. They have strict rules on sharing. Like for the video, it can only be shared to 5 computers (videos bought from iTunes). Blue tooth maybe for wireless headphone connection.ipod nano release, ipod mini is out ipod 40/60gb with video player release, ipod 20/40gb gone ipod shuffle sitll maintaine ipod U2............dunno,vanish by wind,hehe yeap nano is the replacement for mini and so the video ipod for the normal ipod. ipod U2 might not be there again, since the video ipod comes in black. |
Oct 14 2005, 11:38 AM
anybody knows if apple video is avaible in malaysia...(apple malaysia)???
how much???? i'm gonna buy this ipod...hehehehe...it looks great man....black summore.... |
Oct 14 2005, 12:29 PM
299 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
arif,
you kena tunggu about 2-3 weeks before shipment arrives? If you can't wait, run, don't walk to Singapore Apple Store selling 30Gb for S$548 = RM1,205 (2.2 exchange rate). But I bet you have to wait for a week before the shipment arrives to the stores. Malaysia's price? Add 21% tax and I guess the price for the 30GB will be RM1,499 (to match their previous price strategy). Jabatan Kastam =1, iPod lovers =0 |
Oct 14 2005, 12:38 PM
2,619 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
im sure the new apple ipod price will be the same as ipod photo (30 and 60gb). Its good value if you wanted to get an ipod all along but for video, i rather get the PSP with a bigger screen. only problem with PSP is the bloody hassle in getting videos onto the system. not to mention batt life too!
Oct 14 2005, 01:21 PM
526 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 14 2005, 12:38 PM) im sure the new apple ipod price will be the same as ipod photo (30 and 60gb). Its good value if you wanted to get an ipod all along but for video, i rather get the PSP with a bigger screen. only problem with PSP is the bloody hassle in getting videos onto the system. not to mention batt life too! and more memory stick/capacity which is expensive... |
Oct 14 2005, 02:54 PM
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
here's the price:
30GB RM1599 60GB RM2099 |
Oct 14 2005, 04:43 PM
Oct 14 2005, 04:48 PM
it's up few hours ago on local Apple reseller website
www.macasia.com.my |
Oct 14 2005, 04:49 PM
1,902 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Huh, lucky i didnt get the Nano heard some rumours that this will be coming out a month after the Nano. Its so cool, btw since it doesn't support XVID, which format should we convert it to.
Oct 14 2005, 04:52 PM
Oct 14 2005, 04:53 PM
from apple:
QUOTE H.264 video: up to 768 Kbps, 320 x 240, 30 frames per sec., Baseline Profile up to Level 1.3 with AAC-LC up to 160 Kbps, 48 Khz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4 and .mov file formats MPEG-4 video: up to 2.5 mbps, 480 x 480, 30 frames per sec., Simple Profile with AAC-LC up to 160 Kbps, 48 Khz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4 and .mov file formats This post has been edited by wei: Oct 14 2005, 04:54 PM |
Oct 14 2005, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(wei @ Oct 14 2005, 04:53 PM) from apple: wow that's so complete information u have there.... H.264 video: up to 768 Kbps, 320 x 240, 30 frames per sec., Baseline Profile up to Level 1.3 with AAC-LC up to 160 Kbps, 48 Khz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4 and .mov file formats MPEG-4 video: up to 2.5 mbps, 480 x 480, 30 frames per sec., Simple Profile with AAC-LC up to 160 Kbps, 48 Khz, stereo audio in .m4v, .mp4 and .mov file formats This post has been edited by arif: Oct 14 2005, 04:57 PM |
Oct 14 2005, 05:05 PM
Oct 14 2005, 05:23 PM
1,661 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
this iPod is cool man..i am also planning to get one...btw y does the customs charge 21% tax on it?...i mean it is put as under wat category?..computer items? or electrical products?..
Oct 14 2005, 05:31 PM
38 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
under > Audio Equiptment?
if i remember correctly computer components are tax free. correct me if im wrong. |
Oct 14 2005, 05:33 PM
i cant remember where's the article lar... they mislabel it as dunno what electronic device...
Oct 14 2005, 05:40 PM
1,661 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
yalor that is wat i remember too that computer items is tax free...i juz checked out singapore's apple store..there even have student discount for all their products
Oct 14 2005, 08:52 PM
713 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pg |
All Apple store in Malaysia suck blood - no matter if its an entertainment device (iPod) or not (computers)..
According to today's exchange rates, US$299 is only RM1127.82 and US$399 is RM 1505.02. Selling the iPods at RM 1599 and 2099 is inexcusable! No doubt we have the 20% tax. But with that included, they're gaining quite high profit margins. As for the new iMac, it should be US$1299 which is RM4899.83. Apple Centres in Malaysia are all selling at RM5599! That's about RM 700 extra of our hard earned cash PER COMPUTER. Since shipping is cheaper from Taiwan to Malaysia than to the U.S., shouldn't Malaysian dealers have more competitive pricing that this? The support we're getting here is not even 1/2 as good as in the U.S. (no genius bar, Mac specialty store, etc). Maybe I shouldn't b!tch too much and just drive down to Singapore to get the goods. |
Oct 14 2005, 10:50 PM
1,902 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
But i prefer the screen to be longer rather than wider, because it looks a bit weird seeing it wider. Haha, anyone planning to do a bulk on this one.
Oct 15 2005, 12:23 AM
Oct 15 2005, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(p1p @ Oct 14 2005, 10:52 PM) All Apple store in Malaysia suck blood - no matter if its an entertainment device (iPod) or not (computers).. hehe According to today's exchange rates, US$299 is only RM1127.82 and US$399 is RM 1505.02. Selling the iPods at RM 1599 and 2099 is inexcusable! No doubt we have the 20% tax. But with that included, they're gaining quite high profit margins. As for the new iMac, it should be US$1299 which is RM4899.83. Apple Centres in Malaysia are all selling at RM5599! That's about RM 700 extra of our hard earned cash PER COMPUTER. Since shipping is cheaper from Taiwan to Malaysia than to the U.S., shouldn't Malaysian dealers have more competitive pricing that this? The support we're getting here is not even 1/2 as good as in the U.S. (no genius bar, Mac specialty store, etc). Maybe I shouldn't b!tch too much and just drive down to Singapore to get the goods. |
Oct 15 2005, 11:33 AM
Oct 15 2005, 12:03 PM
321 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
DAMN I just bought an iPod Color on 8 October. A few days later, they come out with iPod Video.
And to think I wasted my effort installing iPodLinux and converting videos which comes out in huge filesizes because it doesn't support compressed avi. I was wondering, can I get a refund? (Or hope there's some defect) |
Oct 15 2005, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(arif @ Oct 15 2005, 01:33 PM) the 30G model is selling in australia for 1280 ringgit. im not sure about the 60G but ir would definitly be cheaper. i dont think i can do bulk bro. dont really know how to |
Oct 15 2005, 02:51 PM
2,129 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere only we know.. |
It's not Macasia killing people but there's a tax on portable audio players..
Oct 15 2005, 02:56 PM
713 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pg |
14.3% (RM 700) *EXTRA* profit on top of what they already get for the Apple iMac... well, that has gotta raise some eyebrows. (Remember, computers no tax).
If wanna bulk, someone has to "act" as a retailer in Singapore then get even further Apple discounts for bulk, right? I saw a RM700 nano 4GB (way below US249) somewhere in Bulk! |
Oct 15 2005, 05:12 PM
if u bought ipod,then next one release..sure angry...
Oct 15 2005, 05:15 PM
for me i thnk,the best apple stuff is te ipod..the rest alllll x
Oct 15 2005, 05:53 PM
wow Mike3300..u seem to be flooding up the entire apple thread
Oct 15 2005, 05:54 PM
cos i love apple....my frens name apple..hehe
Oct 16 2005, 10:03 PM
anyone actually got any pictures of the black ipod?
other than the ones released by apple deciding if black or white nicer..white is nice but too easily dirtied.. |
Oct 17 2005, 06:53 AM
1,113 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: <Insert interesting place> |
ah soo dissapointing, if it had DivX/XviD support, i wouldve consider seriously to get this
Oct 17 2005, 07:34 AM
QUOTE(Xonius @ Oct 17 2005, 06:53 AM) You've got to understand the marketing strategy...Apple is NOT interested primarily in selling a video player. They are interested in being the ONLINE distributor of video content i.e. music video, TV programmes and movies. To this end, the format that the video iPod(s) will support will likely be ONLY quicktime. At the present moment, it makes little sense to want to watch video over the tiny 2 inch screen. However, if you look at it from a perspective of Market Share, once the user base of video iPods reaches the millions mark, it will be very enticing for the major movie distributors to sign on the the Apple Music (Video) Store. It's not the video PLAYER part that is the critical thing here. It is the video DISTRIBUTION channel, namely over the internet. We will then expect to see the PSP sized video iPods hit the shelves. Thar's Gold In Them Hills! |
Oct 17 2005, 07:47 AM
3,246 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
ipod nano seems good...ipod video seems awesome...but in the sense that watching a video on a 2 " screen....i rather move to psp..
Oct 17 2005, 10:47 AM
Oct 17 2005, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(thistle @ Oct 15 2005, 12:03 PM) DAMN I just bought an iPod Color on 8 October. A few days later, they come out with iPod Video. i think if u purchase online, u can get the refund.Example:And to think I wasted my effort installing iPodLinux and converting videos which comes out in huge filesizes because it doesn't support compressed avi. I was wondering, can I get a refund? (Or hope there's some defect) New iPod launched after u purchased ur current iPod(within 10 or 14 days) Price drop: u can get the refund back, refund= the price you bought - the current price (within 10 or 14days).. **if no mistaken lah...correct me if i'm wrong QUOTE(rufryder @ Oct 15 2005, 12:59 PM) the 30G model is selling in australia for 1280 ringgit. im not sure about the 60G but ir would definitly be cheaper. Education Store(normally 10% discount of the RRP):i dont think i can do bulk bro. dont really know how to 30G - AUD403.70 60G - AUD537.90 |
Oct 17 2005, 02:16 PM
p1p,
someone who shares my sentiment, I'm sure Apple has enough margin for dealers to make profit but here in KL there is a disparaging margin that makes Apple products expensive! Just browse through their non-Apple stuff in any Apple store here in M'sia, and you see they sell almost everything (mouse, cables, HD casing) more expensive (5-15% ~ this is a ballpark figure)? What gives? With more dealers than (let's say) 5 years ago, competition should make prices go down, not up. BTW, I'm kinda shocked at the MSRP price for 5th iPod ... RM15xx? People, please vote with your wallet, buy somewhere else IF possible! |
Oct 17 2005, 02:22 PM
i think is the tax problem loh...
Oct 17 2005, 02:23 PM
definitely not worth to buy an iPod here without any promo... no no no!
Oct 17 2005, 02:31 PM
Apple is just testing the waters with the 5th iPod.
While I doubt the video service on an iPod will turn into a moneyspinner any soon, its more likely to create an aura of "geewhiz" factor and rolling with the times, with an iPod that (can do) almost anything. Why would anyone spend so much money US$1.99 paying for a TV show thats only 320 x 320p size when they can tape it for free (VCR), tape it while they are busy (TiVo), watch it over and over again (DVD)? Apple makes a nice fat margin on iPods (50% ~ oh yeah!) while Apple makes only like 3-2cents of each iTunes song they sell. The majority of the profits goes to the record companies, distribution, marketing, and finally the artist themselves. Source: http://www.appleinsider.com/article.php?id=1283 So if their music / video distribution channel grows to a sustaining profit entity, that's a big fat bonus for Apple! |
Oct 17 2005, 02:37 PM
aladdin,
Not exactly tax problem with Apple's computers since its tax free? I doubt Apple Malaysia can't unglue themselves with the nice fat profit margin they make. I think distribution cost might add up but I doubt till the point of a large margin? I was thinking, marketing costs might add up too, but Apple's products still has the ability of selling themselves, so what's adding all the cost of getting a Mac? Sure damn ain't the service! Wei, virtually no promo for Apple products, and definately not when they have hot products like the iPod, usually their promos is to move old items like the eMac which is not selling well or the first gen. Mac Mini which was discounted to RM1,899 last pc fair. |
Oct 17 2005, 02:39 PM
1,865 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 19.....
What now... |
Oct 17 2005, 02:43 PM
thats why they can earn a lot...the apple logo not eaten by M$, but this mean their customers/consumers wallet eaten by them
Oct 17 2005, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(BegRedBarr @ Oct 17 2005, 02:37 PM) Wei, i know that for sure... that's why i normally wait the "hot cake" to cool down before i make any purchase... i dont mind if it get "outdated" next 2 weeks after another keynote virtually no promo for Apple products, and definately not when they have hot products like the iPod, usually their promos is to move old items like the eMac which is not selling well or the first gen. Mac Mini which was discounted to RM1,899 last pc fair. This post has been edited by wei: Oct 17 2005, 02:57 PM |
Oct 17 2005, 03:04 PM
wei,
You are a man who knows his destiny and products Are you getting the iPod Photo now? Few days ago, I had this serious though about getting a 6g (gig not generation) iPod mini, but damn, LY peeps still selling at the usual RM1120 price... |
Oct 17 2005, 03:19 PM
taking psp is to big la...so big even the screen is big..ipod video is small n can fit ur jeans .....even the screen is small,like dat u can bring ur tv out la....
Oct 17 2005, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(BegRedBarr @ Oct 17 2005, 03:04 PM) wei, hahaha, im just too stingy with my hard earned money...You are a man who knows his destiny and products Are you getting the iPod Photo now? Few days ago, I had this serious though about getting a 6g (gig not generation) iPod mini, but damn, LY peeps still selling at the usual RM1120 price... well... i already have a 40GB iPod. I see no big use of the video feature (90% of the time the iPod will be in my pocket), why I should waste my time to re-encode the video to h.264 or MP4? I dun even use my PSP to watch video that frequent, my eyes are not that good, and i like details... especially when the hot actress get wet in some scene... ahem excuse me. Bigger screen is my choice. Nano is sweet, me too tempted, but paying 1000+ to get 4Gb is the pain for my wallet. I will pass too. If every Apple customer are like me, Steve gonna have some problem.... |
Oct 17 2005, 03:24 PM
steve likes to action with his stuffs....really shit
Oct 18 2005, 01:31 PM
cos Steve knows his stuff, and ensures people who buy them enjoys them as well...
Basic rule of Marketing :>> You gotta know what you're selling (and who to sell them to) ! |
Oct 18 2005, 09:23 PM
651 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
hahhaha...just admit it that u all love Apples products secretly.....
Oct 18 2005, 09:47 PM
575 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: 1 Infinite Loop, Cupertino |
And I call them sourgrapes when they(the same bunch of people) start criticizing it...
This post has been edited by Deadman.Inc.: Oct 18 2005, 09:48 PM |
Oct 19 2005, 06:31 AM
1,113 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: <Insert interesting place> |
QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Oct 17 2005, 07:34 AM) You've got to understand the marketing strategy... yes, think of it as this way, it shouldnt be of what THEY want, its what WE want (the buyers/customers), iPod became famous because it could support MP3, and looks really darn nice too, with massive HDD space, if we remove the support for MP3 and replace it with quicktime audio (which is not popular and is a piece of crap), even with the good looks and such, the iPod wont be as succesful as it is today.Apple is NOT interested primarily in selling a video player. They are interested in being the ONLINE distributor of video content i.e. music video, TV programmes and movies. To this end, the format that the video iPod(s) will support will likely be ONLY quicktime. At the present moment, it makes little sense to want to watch video over the tiny 2 inch screen. However, if you look at it from a perspective of Market Share, once the user base of video iPods reaches the millions mark, it will be very enticing for the major movie distributors to sign on the the Apple Music (Video) Store. It's not the video PLAYER part that is the critical thing here. It is the video DISTRIBUTION channel, namely over the internet. We will then expect to see the PSP sized video iPods hit the shelves. Thar's Gold In Them Hills! and as for me i'd prefer a player which can support as many formats as possible, and with the absence of DivX/XviD format playback, they already loose one of their customer (imagine many more ppl like me), when we dont buy their product, how can they convey their 'business plan'? |
Oct 19 2005, 08:19 AM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
SOON THERE is goin to be a hack to allow DviX files to be played..thats what i heard
Oct 19 2005, 08:50 AM
what cant the hacker do nowadays eh?
Oct 19 2005, 10:56 AM
just get the money from selling my photo 40G, but just donwan to make another mistakes again...if there is somone can crack and allow video to play other video format, i will go for it..
seems like everyone throwing their ipod photo in ebay..haha.. |
Oct 19 2005, 12:06 PM
1,274 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
music->photo->port->video->bluetooth->wifi->3g->pda
a possible route? |
Oct 19 2005, 02:08 PM
4,261 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
looks more like a pda smartfon to me...
maybe apple will begin to conquer the mobile fons market very soon... |
Oct 19 2005, 02:46 PM
654 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Just looking at the Video Ipod and the Creative Zen Vision. No doubt the Ipod is small but the Zen is able to play Divix plus the image quality "seems" better. There is also the Archos AV500 which can record too from your TV/satellite box. So what gives the Ipod Video the edge?
Oct 19 2005, 05:19 PM
Again people,
The Apple iPod is a portable music device, that incidently plays video in the form of H.264 and MPEG4 hence it is an iPod that PLAYS video. The current 5th gen iPod will not be able to play any other video format/s because the system-on-chip (PortalPlayer 5022) only supports native encoding/decoding for only H.264/MPEG4. You can still play your Divx video, you just need to convert it to MPEG4, thats all... zaakath, Creative Zen Vision is a Portable Media Player, and works best as one. You can load loads thousand of songs into it and treat it as a MP3 portable device, but I doubt anyone would want to carry such a big device around in their pockets or bags? The 5th gen iPod is a further update of the world's most popular (and best selling) portable music device, and now Apple has seen fit to add a bigger screen and the ability to play video. It won't replace your favourite Shinco or Zen Vision or any other video playing device, just treat it as an extra bonus if you are a new user to an iPod! |
Oct 19 2005, 05:28 PM
zaakath,
iPod's main selling feature is still to play audio, and play it with style AND substance While both devices share some similar capability, you'll be better off getting a Zen Vision if you want to rip and decode your DVD or downloaded Divx collection to watch on the go, and nothing more. |
Oct 20 2005, 05:11 PM
A nice little tool to convert your DVDs to not so small MP4 files.
Sorry mates, only for OS X and Linux! http://handbrake.m0k.org/ What is HandBrake? HandBrake is a GPL'd multiplatform, multithreaded DVD to MPEG-4 ripper/converter. HandBrake was originally available on the BeOS, but now has been ported over to MacOS X and to GNU/Linux. * Supported sources: o Any DVD-like source: VIDEO_TS folder, DVD image or real DVD (even encrypted) o PAL or NTSC o AC-3, LPCM or MPEG audio tracks * Outputs: o File format: MP4, AVI or OGM o Video: MPEG-4 or H.264 (1 or 2 passes or constant quantizer encoding) o Audio: AAC, MP3, Vorbis or AC-3 pass-through (supports encoding of several audio tracks) * Misc features o Chapter selection o Basic subtitle support (burned into the picture) o Integrated bitrate calculator o Picture deinterlacing, cropping and scaling o Grayscale encoding |
Oct 21 2005, 09:29 AM
Corrections on my part,
Both Jefferies and Company (http://www.jefco.com/) and ArsTechnica (http://arstechnica.com/reviews/hardware/video-ipod.ars) have dissected the new 5th gen iPod and found out a dedicated Broadcom chip videocore BCM2722 which does among other things: 5 mega-pixel digital camera support, MPEG-4 VGA or H.264 CIF video encoding/decoding at 30 frames per second and TV output. Broadcom's news release: http://investor.broadcom.com/phoenix.zhtml...9003&highlight= The DSP chip is PortalPlayer 5021C-TDF chip (same chip as the one in the new iPod Nano as well), and NOT the 5022. |
Oct 21 2005, 07:17 PM
sometimes i love apple products...sometimes angry juga..hehe
Oct 21 2005, 10:34 PM
Mike, stop your spamming.
(please) |
Oct 22 2005, 12:35 AM
3,135 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taman Megah Kepong, Kuala Lumpur |
So, What Is The Lastest Price iPod Video
30GB / 60GB |
Oct 22 2005, 12:49 AM
770 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
ipod video 30 gig
Oct 22 2005, 12:51 AM
1,865 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
RM1599................RM2099
Oct 22 2005, 03:46 PM
so mahal.......but ipod buy in singapore very good...
Oct 22 2005, 05:59 PM
can the warranty of an ipod being bought in sinapore's apple shop, being claimed in malaysia's apple store?
Oct 22 2005, 07:01 PM
321 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Penang |
QUOTE(aladdin @ Oct 17 2005, 01:29 PM) i think if u purchase online, u can get the refund.Example: Do you know how I can get a refund? My problem is the first case. I didn't purchase online. I bought it from AppleCentre in Gurney Plaza on Oct 8.New iPod launched after u purchased ur current iPod(within 10 or 14 days) Price drop: u can get the refund back, refund= the price you bought - the current price (within 10 or 14days).. **if no mistaken lah...correct me if i'm wrong Education Store(normally 10% discount of the RRP): 30G - AUD403.70 60G - AUD537.90 |
Oct 22 2005, 07:01 PM
420 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
ipod's warranty is international
as long as the serial is registered with the database there shouldnt be a problem |
Oct 24 2005, 10:28 AM
336 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: mêlߤú®ñê |
i heard from de shopkeeper...ipod video onli works wif imac...
how true is dat |
Oct 24 2005, 02:46 PM
Oct 24 2005, 03:58 PM
iPod with video works with the new iTunes 6. It will work with older iTunes but you will not be able to copy videos into your new iPod with video, just music.
iTunes 6 is available for both Mac & PC. So iPod with video will work will a PC (Win2K and above). Verify the info before you believe in anything a salesperson says! |
Oct 24 2005, 09:30 PM
use properly la....use ur ipod like use to play ur ps2 so rough,handle with care as it is fragile! This post has been edited by Mike3300: Oct 24 2005, 09:31 PM |
Oct 25 2005, 09:37 AM
970 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: damansara & segamat |
well..i doubt i'll be using my ipod video's features...bought coz d price is really great in states...and to be another storage for my images if i travel around for photo shooting...
Oct 25 2005, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(thistle @ Oct 22 2005, 07:01 PM) Do you know how I can get a refund? My problem is the first case. I didn't purchase online. I bought it from AppleCentre in Gurney Plaza on Oct 8. emmm...i get this info when i was trying to purchase online..of coz i don't how actually it works...i dont think u can get the refund if u purchase from the Apple Center...anyone have the ideas? |
Oct 25 2005, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(e_ti @ Oct 24 2005, 10:28 AM) Apple won't do stupid...just imagine user who using imac worldwide, i think less than 5%..will they limit their market selling only for imac user? they wont.QUOTE(BegRedBarr @ Oct 24 2005, 03:58 PM) iPod with video works with the new iTunes 6. It will work with older iTunes but you will not be able to copy videos into your new iPod with video, just music. exactly, tats why they provide itune6 in the installation disk..if u able to get ipod video, u wont worry about this problem, since just install everything from the given disk..iTunes 6 is available for both Mac & PC. So iPod with video will work will a PC (Win2K and above). Verify the info before you believe in anything a salesperson says! QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Oct 24 2005, 09:30 PM) u can get the refund if found out the case is fragilable...just like what actually happened on ipod nano.QUOTE(earthkid @ Oct 25 2005, 09:37 AM) well..i doubt i'll be using my ipod video's features...bought coz d price is really great in states...and to be another storage for my images if i travel around for photo shooting... i like ipod, but i still make consideration on selecting video/nano/psp..any suggestion??Reason: Video=big capacity, Con: video playback 2hours, slideshows time even shorter than photo nano= cool design, using flash memory, con: no video playback supported psp = has everything, con: musis playback support 10hours only This post has been edited by aladdin: Oct 25 2005, 02:11 PM |
Oct 25 2005, 02:48 PM
aladdin,
On most cases, it would be valuable if you evaluate on what you WANT (e.g. I want to play games, listen to my modest music collection, etc), not on what the device offers. Keeps you sane by doing that, at least your needs will be fulfilled and your money well spent! |
Oct 25 2005, 02:59 PM
yet again comparing 3 different gadgets...
real life testing proof iPod AV cant finish playing a movie at full charge |
Oct 26 2005, 11:45 AM
415 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
hmm anyone bought this new ipod??? any reviews???
thanks yar.. |
Oct 26 2005, 01:36 PM
i think i will wait until new ipod will support multi video format, and improve on the battery...
Oct 26 2005, 08:39 PM
336 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: mêlߤú®ñê |
QUOTE(BegRedBarr @ Oct 24 2005, 03:58 PM) iPod with video works with the new iTunes 6. It will work with older iTunes but you will not be able to copy videos into your new iPod with video, just music. halo the smart 1...iTunes 6 is available for both Mac & PC. So iPod with video will work will a PC (Win2K and above). Verify the info before you believe in anything a salesperson says! y do u think im posting here? |
Oct 26 2005, 08:45 PM
actually, 30gb's battery is only 14 hours
20 hours batt is for the 60gb version anyway, how to get cheap prices if you're not a student http://www.full-stop.com.sg/catalog/default.php go call up apple singapore, they have a price-match policy. refer them to the website above. then they will check and they will match the price. however, only if you've got friends there. apple m'sia pricing is killing the market. ps. you can also order from the website..not sure if they ship to m'sia This post has been edited by jovial: Oct 26 2005, 08:45 PM |
Oct 26 2005, 09:07 PM
Validating
8 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
gdfgv fnbgjfhgjfhgjfhgjhfjghfjhgj dfhgjdhukhsieithfgfjgjfghjfgfhgjgfgfgfgfgfgf hkjkdrwA
Oct 26 2005, 09:37 PM
stop spamming here dude!
Oct 26 2005, 11:43 PM
7 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
i plan to buy ipod... but i still dont know which one to buy.. is either ipod nano or the ipod (5th gen)-mini... anyone can give me some suggestion... the newest ipod with video i cant buy because is too expensive to me....
Oct 27 2005, 12:04 AM
3,135 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taman Megah Kepong, Kuala Lumpur |
@jovial
If I Am Student, How & Where To Get Cheap Or Discounted iPod? |
Oct 27 2005, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(aladdin @ Oct 25 2005, 02:05 PM) Apple won't do stupid...just imagine user who using imac worldwide, i think less than 5%..will they limit their market selling only for imac user? they wont. well..if you're planning to get psp...why don't you just wait for the HDD version to come out??i did sonsider that but somehow the capacity is a lil too small for me..plus the size is much bigger than ipod..need something slim and small so it won't be a hassle for me to bring around... exactly, tats why they provide itune6 in the installation disk..if u able to get ipod video, u wont worry about this problem, since just install everything from the given disk.. u can get the refund if found out the case is fragilable...just like what actually happened on ipod nano. i like ipod, but i still make consideration on selecting video/nano/psp..any suggestion?? Reason: Video=big capacity, Con: video playback 2hours, slideshows time even shorter than photo nano= cool design, using flash memory, con: no video playback supported psp = has everything, con: musis playback support 10hours only |
Oct 27 2005, 11:40 AM
The PSP is a big money-time-sucka, in a bad way!
Get at least (minimum, 1Gb is better) 512Mb MS Duo card = RM350++? Get a MS card reader to copy files to the card = RM35++ Get a game = RM150++ Buy a PSP=RM900++ Spend countless hours trying to find a PSP with a BootROM of ver 1.5, or you will only get a change to play that 1 game you manage to buy. |
Oct 27 2005, 11:47 AM
Oct 27 2005, 12:02 PM
how u know is him?
Oct 27 2005, 06:08 PM
110 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 27 2005, 06:12 PM
296 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Is hard to make decision on whether iPod Nano or iPod Video (of cause is grab both but budget wise
Anyway, I am on my way to get one when the next trip my uncle back from HK. Please help me to clarify something .. thanks first I heard iPod Video 30g cant servce as the normal hard disk ?? mm .. they have some limitation in transferring one big file in.. is that true?? I dont any iPod before, but it is true that every mp3 or video u want to play in iPod must go thru itunes?? |
Oct 27 2005, 06:37 PM
Yes it can be an external storage, in fact, any iPod can be an external storage, in the iPod 30Gb case, the external storage is in the form of HDD.
Not sure about the transfer size limit on iPod, but I've read it somewhere that it has to do with the file system format that you initially formatted it on first use. |
Oct 27 2005, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(Achilles @ Oct 27 2005, 06:12 PM) I heard iPod Video 30g cant servce as the normal hard disk ?? mm .. they have some limitation in transferring one big file in.. is that true?? I dont any iPod before, but it is true that every mp3 or video u want to play in iPod must go thru itunes?? There are no "limitations" per se, its either a 30Gb or 60Gb, fill it up with music and rock on. You don't need to worry about file management or disk defragmentation (you won't see the effects long enough though, by the time Apple comes out with the 6gen iPod you'll soon forget your 5th gen iPod You can find 3rd party software to upload files to your soon to be iPod, but why bother? iTunes was designed for iPod and vice versa. iTunes allows you to manage your gigabytes of music (if you have that many music files) in a clean, efficient and elegant way. I highly recommend you to download iTunes 6.0.1 today and start ripping your CDs to your PC, in preparation for your iPod. Create music playlists, and once you got your iPod, just sync and your done! PS: Even if you end up without an iPod, iTunes is a great program to have around and manage your music library, try it today! |
Oct 27 2005, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(BegRedBarr @ Oct 27 2005, 07:46 PM) Since when did you need to service a hard disk? If the HD dies, there isnt much you can do with, maybe slap it around, pry it open to get a really nice magnet. I totally agree with you that itune is the great software, in fact, I am using it for both my ibook and window...There are no "limitations" per se, its either a 30Gb or 60Gb, fill it up with music and rock on. You don't need to worry about file management or disk defragmentation (you won't see the effects long enough though, by the time Apple comes out with the 6gen iPod you'll soon forget your 5th gen iPod You can find 3rd party software to upload files to your soon to be iPod, but why bother? iTunes was designed for iPod and vice versa. iTunes allows you to manage your gigabytes of music (if you have that many music files) in a clean, efficient and elegant way. I highly recommend you to download iTunes 6.0.1 today and start ripping your CDs to your PC, in preparation for your iPod. Create music playlists, and once you got your iPod, just sync and your done! PS: Even if you end up without an iPod, iTunes is a great program to have around and manage your music library, try it today! The reason I want to buy the 30g is besides I can store tons of music or video and photo, I also can keep my file such as excel, word, power point and some ebook, cause I may need it to carry my file back from office to work at home .. (poor man but I am struggle because I want something flash drive base like nano so that i can carry it everywhere including jogging, I always thinking I can jog farer distant if there is a music with me .. My bugdet is only buy the ipod video 30g or grab the nano 4gb one .. really is hard decision to make .. my gf's sister is going to give her iPod shuffe and since she dont have any pc at home, so the only way is to sync from my pc.. but I hear itune only work with one ipod only, right ?? just to clarify, although I can use one to pc and oen to mac... ha |
Oct 27 2005, 10:35 PM
many bad news on ipod nano... then how about ipod mini (5th gen)??
Oct 27 2005, 11:08 PM
Oct 27 2005, 11:19 PM
but u still hunt for ipod nano??? or ipod mini ???
Oct 27 2005, 11:55 PM
wat is ipod mini 5th gen? i tot ipod mini is 4th gen???
Oct 28 2005, 12:07 AM
ipod 5th generation looks exactly like the new ipod with video..
Oct 28 2005, 12:17 AM
explain further... wat's the diff between ipod video and ipod 5th gen?
Oct 28 2005, 12:58 AM
5th gen = iPod video
Oct 28 2005, 01:35 AM
dat's wat i tot. but some guys jus make me confused by separating them out. and oso there comes an ipod MINI gen.5 when MINI is supposed to be gen.4...
Oct 28 2005, 08:55 AM
420 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Accorind got Apple, they prefer to call it Ipod 5th gen instead of Ipod Video
and the Nano is actually a Mini replacement model. Try googling it U'll find a comparative chart as well |
Oct 28 2005, 11:19 AM
aiyoo... u ppl are confusing each other out...
4th Gen iPods - Greyscale White - 20GB, 40GB Black U2 SE - 20GB iPod Mini - Greyscale 5 color - 1st gen - 4GB 4 color - 2nd gen - 4GB, 6GB 1st Gen iPod Photo 40GB, 60GB 2nd Gen iPod Photo 30GB, 60GB 4th Gen iPods - color white - 20GB, 60GB U2 SE - 20GB 5th Generation iPods video - 30GB, 60GB nano - 2GB, 4GB This post has been edited by wei: Oct 28 2005, 11:21 AM |
Oct 28 2005, 03:09 PM
1,896 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
Was wondering is the black 30GB available in sg yet? Will ask my friend to source from there next week lol
Oct 28 2005, 03:42 PM
yeah man... black ipod video is cool enough...but i heard the problem is it's easy to have finger print..and easy to see the scratches...
and the white one...it's cool too(apple's colour..) but this one easy to get dirty on the clickwheel..like my friend's 60gb ipod photo(white) now confused to decide.... |
Oct 28 2005, 03:56 PM
mmm
well..just be more cautious while using it...i'll wipe mine everytime i used it...bravos..i think black one is cool...white is not really the color dat i like... |
Oct 28 2005, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(teckhooi @ Oct 27 2005, 12:04 AM) I think it only works if you're a student in singapore. Not sure if m'sia has the same policy. Try the method I gave earlier. The price difference for the 30Gb si only 4 dollars.basically, goto http://www.apple.com.sg/education/ click on "The Apple Store" next to "K-12 Education" QUOTE Who is EligibleTo Purchase This post has been edited by jovial: Oct 28 2005, 04:36 PMThe following education individuals are eligible to purchase through the Singapore Apple Store for Education Advantage program:: * Faculty, educators, and staff who are employed by an accredited educational institution that has full-time students in the Kindergarten to Junior College range, including private schools and public schools in Singapore * Students who attend an accredited public or private, tertiary education institution, polytechnics and universities * Faculty, educators, and staff who are employed by an accredited public or private tertiary education institution, polytechnics and universities * Staff of the Ministry of Education Qualifying Purchases Education individuals making personal purchases may buy one each of the following per year (Jan - Dec 31): * Power Mac, iMac, PowerBook, iBook, iPod, one each * Display, two each * Apple Software, two each |
Oct 29 2005, 04:30 PM
can i know how much each in malaysia or singapore dollar?? please...
Oct 29 2005, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(luizpng @ Oct 29 2005, 04:30 PM) u mean currency convertor? XE Currency Convertor This post has been edited by aladdin: Oct 29 2005, 05:06 PM |
Oct 30 2005, 03:02 PM
1,645 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I got the Video iPod today 60 gig white. Waiting to test out the video capability. Bought it in Singapore about S$750.
Oct 30 2005, 04:16 PM
any taxes on it?i mean custom tax..
Oct 31 2005, 12:28 AM
yeah test it out man...i need review...hehehe
Oct 31 2005, 07:24 AM
played around with one today..
the video is really clear loaded an anime in there and it's watchable can read subtitles and all but it has to be about 1 foot away. observations: even thinner than 4G black is beautiful video podcasts don't show up under "video podcasts menu" lack of ipod protectors at the moment the bundled one is just a simple pouch missing a port on the top (not sure what it's for but it was beside the headphone jack) all-in-all, it plays music pretty well and that's what one really needs. video playback is awesome but battery life is shortened tremendously (to 2hrs n 3 hrs). video podcasts are cool. This post has been edited by jovial: Oct 31 2005, 07:30 AM |
Oct 31 2005, 07:37 AM
60G ...? how much u get..?
Oct 31 2005, 09:18 AM
btw...u guys noe where can i get sennheiser headphones for reasonable price??previously there was a bulk in lowyat.net selling it...i can't seem to find it now...
Oct 31 2005, 11:56 AM
Oct 31 2005, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(jovial @ Oct 31 2005, 07:24 AM) played around with one today.. thanx jovial.... anymore reviews from forumer?? the video is really clear loaded an anime in there and it's watchable can read subtitles and all but it has to be about 1 foot away. observations: even thinner than 4G black is beautiful video podcasts don't show up under "video podcasts menu" lack of ipod protectors at the moment the bundled one is just a simple pouch missing a port on the top (not sure what it's for but it was beside the headphone jack) all-in-all, it plays music pretty well and that's what one really needs. video playback is awesome but battery life is shortened tremendously (to 2hrs n 3 hrs). video podcasts are cool. |
Oct 31 2005, 05:38 PM
Oct 31 2005, 06:20 PM
I got it from Singapore, it costs about S$750 for 606 gig. There is no black yet so I got the white version.
Oct 31 2005, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(ASAP @ Oct 31 2005, 06:20 PM) I got it from Singapore, it costs about S$750 for 606 gig. There is no black yet so I got the white version. if that price is converted into MYR, we only get a 30GB vid ipod here in m'sia! stupid m'sian taxes!This post has been edited by europology: Oct 31 2005, 06:22 PM |
Oct 31 2005, 06:28 PM
yup yup
cheap cheap iPod |
Oct 31 2005, 08:48 PM
Oct 31 2005, 11:53 PM
738 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: somewhere in KL |
QUOTE(jovial @ Oct 31 2005, 07:24 AM) played around with one today.. i am wondering what do u use to convert the videos u added ?the video is really clear loaded an anime in there and it's watchable can read subtitles and all but it has to be about 1 foot away. observations: even thinner than 4G black is beautiful video podcasts don't show up under "video podcasts menu" lack of ipod protectors at the moment the bundled one is just a simple pouch missing a port on the top (not sure what it's for but it was beside the headphone jack) all-in-all, it plays music pretty well and that's what one really needs. video playback is awesome but battery life is shortened tremendously (to 2hrs n 3 hrs). video podcasts are cool. |
Nov 1 2005, 01:38 AM
Use the freeware Videora Convertor to iPod video.
Nov 1 2005, 07:57 AM
yeah..i used Videora iPod Converter
took about 25 mins for 25 min anime on an old celeron notebook |
Nov 1 2005, 01:19 PM
43 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
I am thinking of getting a unit of Ipod video together with Apple iPod Camera Connector.
I was hoping to use it to connect to my Canon 350D. Apple web site only stated they support Canon D20. Anyone tried it with 350D? also, new Ipod video will direct transfer the picture from camera to the Ipod without converting or compressing the photos quality / format, right? Appreciate if somone can help me to verify this, then at least i can buy it to serve my needs.. hehe.. |
Nov 6 2005, 07:09 AM
1 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
anyone has suggestions? for a good software to convert videos...since ipod vid can only compatible with quicktime movies....
This post has been edited by landak9903: Nov 6 2005, 07:10 AM |
Nov 7 2005, 04:27 AM
they oso support MPEG4 format rite... not just quicktime format....
Nov 7 2005, 08:12 AM
190 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang, Malaysia |
i have read a few comments on the video ipod screen can get sracthed easily overtime, have any LYN onwers faced this?
Nov 7 2005, 01:30 PM
every ipod face the same thing isnt it? just make sure u use a screen protector to cover it...
Nov 8 2005, 08:43 AM
the price of ipod in singapore is only 1125...unbelievable..i have a friend who bouht there..but the down side is that they don't have black color...only white available..
Nov 8 2005, 08:33 PM
The cheapest I could find is $528...where on earth in sg can get that price? mind to tell?
They have the black in store now...just got email from apple@orchard |
Nov 8 2005, 11:35 PM
Nov 9 2005, 01:25 AM
Nov 14 2005, 09:47 AM
Just curious, are those silicone cover for Ipod Video 60GB available liao?
If so, how much will that cost? Back to USA, these kind of cover still not available in most of the shops. This post has been edited by decentdevil: Nov 14 2005, 10:27 PM |
Nov 16 2005, 01:21 PM
302 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
I saw these covers selling at low yat. You go check it out. Sure got one
Nov 16 2005, 01:22 PM
The main thing that Ipod in malaysia so expensive is because the reseller price also expensive. So the shop have to sell expensive also la.
Nov 16 2005, 01:23 PM
The shop only earn about RM 100 for each Ipod. You minus RM 100 from their retail price then you know what is the price they get.
Nov 16 2005, 01:25 PM
And earn RM 100 also consider very low la. Apple control prices. They have to pay the shop rent and everything. That's why Malaysia prices still very high if considered to other country.
Nov 16 2005, 01:32 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,256 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pekopon |
nice meh?
i dun think i can see the nostril |
Nov 16 2005, 03:16 PM
Very nice la!!! The video also very nice!!! You go and see one yourself. Sure you agree one!
Nov 17 2005, 06:46 AM
just bought the ipod from apple, US.
Superb! You just need to select educational, pick the uni and you will automatic entitle educational discount. No further question ask! Hehe! So, Ipod video 60GB, USD30 discount .. hehe! This post has been edited by decentdevil: Nov 17 2005, 06:47 AM |
Nov 17 2005, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(decentdevil @ Nov 1 2005, 01:19 PM) I am thinking of getting a unit of Ipod video together with Apple iPod Camera Connector. yeah...i was requiring for the same information too..apparently thru their website..they didn't even mention the model canon 300D...wrote an email to apple and asked about it..but it has been 2 weeks..still no reply from them... I was hoping to use it to connect to my Canon 350D. Apple web site only stated they support Canon D20. Anyone tried it with 350D? also, new Ipod video will direct transfer the picture from camera to the Ipod without converting or compressing the photos quality / format, right? Appreciate if somone can help me to verify this, then at least i can buy it to serve my needs.. hehe.. |
Nov 17 2005, 01:22 PM
QUOTE(Futura @ Nov 8 2005, 08:33 PM) The cheapest I could find is $528...where on earth in sg can get that price? mind to tell? ha..i have no idea where did she get it from...probably thru a fren or sumting like dat...there's no engraving too...well..though it's cheap...They have the black in store now...just got email from apple@orchard |
Nov 17 2005, 02:16 PM
2,619 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
Well, get the ipod in spore apple store and u get free engraving!
the ipod connector issue, well, go to the maccenter in ikano and ask them ! |
Nov 18 2005, 02:35 AM
Guys ...
I tested the Ipod Video 60GB with the camera connector linking up with my Canon 350D. Tested and functioning seamlessly. Tried copy 60Mb photos from 350D and all copied in less then 4 mins. |
Nov 18 2005, 02:44 AM
285 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Subang Jaya |
anyone knows whether the black ipod video is available in singapore??
Nov 18 2005, 09:27 AM
23 posts Joined: May 2005 |
how much is the ipod video 60gb in singapore with the student's price?
This post has been edited by e.jason: Nov 18 2005, 09:44 AM |
Nov 18 2005, 09:58 AM
Nov 18 2005, 12:28 PM
I have a friend who is working in simlim square told me that his outlet can sold out 20 units 5G iPod in 3 days.
btw, coolfella, the black is available since last week. And they are selling like hotcakes... |
Nov 19 2005, 01:34 AM
QUOTE(Futura @ Nov 18 2005, 12:28 PM) I have a friend who is working in simlim square told me that his outlet can sold out 20 units 5G iPod in 3 days. hey thanks.. but is it still available? wat about nano? i heard they ran out on the black ones..btw, coolfella, the black is available since last week. And they are selling like hotcakes... |
Nov 22 2005, 07:39 PM
1,324 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Subang JAya USj |
no one doing a bulk for ipod video?
Nov 22 2005, 08:58 PM
317 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
1. Just want to find out, does the Apple stores sell Shure or etymotics? Where can i get them?
2. Has the shops started selling the iPod 5G? i'm looking for the black version, i heard there's a shortage or something. |
Nov 22 2005, 09:33 PM
31 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
i'm about to get one, just confused bout the warranty issues...
how does it actually work? how and where do you register? after that, the ipod is basically covered by an international warranty rite? thx |
Nov 22 2005, 11:29 PM
115 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
ah...all my problem solved.........n now i realised that ipod is hard for new users...XD
This post has been edited by truecolor: Nov 23 2005, 11:43 AM |
Nov 26 2005, 12:14 AM
I checked out stores at lowyat and the mac studio in Harvey Norman.
Some stores have the black version of iPod 5G 30GB very limited in stock. These iPod's are selling like hotcakes. I saw Shure E3c selling for RM999, outrageous! these sellers trying to chop our necks. |
Nov 26 2005, 02:18 AM
1,396 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
hey guys, no review so far? ive been looking thru the pages.
well so far only kuan something bought it. has anyone got it so far? i am currently on my ipod mini 1st gen, satisfied to bits with it. but my reason in getting an mp3 player cause i love my music, and i wanted to dump my songs all into a player. but that time syok weih 900 something can get ipod mini. so got it. i think few months later 2nd gen out and now nano and then photo new. and then now video. so far, i am thinking, because of poor batt life and the need to improve my storage, im going for the video. but i want to see how the performance is from a real user. and not those reviews you read online or something. my mini has superb quality, and im using it as my jogging unit, to me its small enuf. nano is superbly small. but wait awhile, it'll drop soon. im pretty sure bout it if you guys want to buy it. if you read time magazine bout 2 weeks back. you see how steve jobs runs his company. its smart. and its efficient that now its a marketing giant and can play the card the way they want it. the reason for macs sucsses even thought they are loosing otu to microsoft. is because they make everything. they are the administrator. they make os X for the MAC. so both ways they win. but both ways they make the system specifically for the mac, that way they will fine tune with it. but microsoft goes on bout spreading it to every computer maker on the planet. that way there are ways and gaps for bugs and all. it soudns logical to me and now making their own mp3 player, and then later moving on to music by paying with itunes music store. its like i got an ipod. why dont i just use the damn itunes since its with it. and they really did a good job with it. now with the video, they might be the first to monopolize online music and video scene, with itunes already being the biggest in the world, for pay sites. and now their heading the first few with paying for video. its perfect. and by connecting the new dock up with the video to your tv you get to watch it there too! its a monopolization. honestly. i honestly love my ipod alot. its superb in quality, looks, and support for it , apple centres all around the world!!!! the video will be great for me. but i had said alot, NOW SOME ONE GIVE ME A REVIEEWWWW |
Nov 27 2005, 04:33 AM
hey guys
anyone bought their ipods from singapore? how did you carry your baby over? in the box? do we REALIE need to throw the box away? sakit hati lah, the box damn nice how how how? any way to hide it in the car? eg. in the spare tyre compartment?? =p |
Nov 27 2005, 01:41 PM
783 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Hertfordshire |
no need to throw the box away lah... i buy my ipod in singapore also, just bring in!
Nov 27 2005, 01:42 PM
Nov 27 2005, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(decentdevil @ Nov 17 2005, 06:46 AM) just bought the ipod from apple, US. did they taxed you for that? how much in total plus the shipment?Superb! You just need to select educational, pick the uni and you will automatic entitle educational discount. No further question ask! Hehe! So, Ipod video 60GB, USD30 discount .. hehe! |
Nov 27 2005, 05:20 PM
2,247 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
....I tested the Ipod Video 60GB with the camera connector linking up with my Canon 350D.
Tested and functioning seamlessly. Tried copy 60Mb photos from 350D and all copied in less then 4 mins.... **So where to get the camera connector,price?Will it works with 300D or Nikon 70D,pls? |
Nov 28 2005, 02:12 AM
3,980 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: HeAv3N |
QUOTE(coolfella @ Nov 27 2005, 04:33 AM) hey guys anyone bought their ipods from singapore? how did you carry your baby over? in the box? do we REALIE need to throw the box away? sakit hati lah, the box damn nice how how how? any way to hide it in the car? eg. in the spare tyre compartment?? =p QUOTE(4agze @ Nov 27 2005, 01:41 PM) ipod selling very cheap in singapore???????hw cheap comapre wioth malaysia?? wanna get 1 ipod mini or video can tell me the price????????? |
Nov 28 2005, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(4agze @ Nov 27 2005, 01:46 PM) together with shipping and the camera connector is about USD420 for Ipod video 60GB.Yes, they do charged sales tax. but if you convert it, the price you paid for is way cheaper then you get it from Msia. Msia is simply OVERPRICE!!!! |
Nov 28 2005, 01:43 PM
56 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
i got mine from singapore too keke ipod video 30GB
rox!! black color mine ^^ |
Nov 28 2005, 05:52 PM
3 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Malaysia is not the place to purchase ipod video. too expensive!
Nov 29 2005, 12:17 AM
Nov 29 2005, 08:50 PM
the box d*mn small lah
just hide it under the seat |
Dec 1 2005, 02:13 PM
they will onlie check the boot?
not throughout the car?? |
Dec 1 2005, 05:25 PM
dont drive in la bro coolfella, take taxi... malaysia custom wont check!
Dec 1 2005, 06:22 PM
if drive? wat can be done??
Dec 1 2005, 08:29 PM
hide under your seat lah, by the way when your on the way back to malaysia you dont have to worried being checked by our local custom.
Dec 2 2005, 09:50 PM
325 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
I just got my ipod 30G black. I kinda regret for taking off the protectitive sticker. Now i won't be able to sleep if the ipod were to be scratched.
Dec 4 2005, 10:35 AM
1,978 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: winter brings the spring again |
QUOTE(NekoRacing @ Dec 2 2005, 09:50 PM) I just got my ipod 30G black. I kinda regret for taking off the protectitive sticker. Now i won't be able to sleep if the ipod were to be scratched. Get the ipod skin ler,selling for 69 ringgit in iPod station lowyat...they also have an xbox 360 there(not for sale)....my bro bought me the black 30 gig its awesome with the skin in black.....in singapore |
Dec 4 2005, 11:02 AM
Get Martin Field overlay for the front and invisibleSHIELD for the back!
I know it is a bit overkill but I did for mine |
Dec 4 2005, 08:42 PM
is there anywhere other then lowyat selling iskin?
how bout around subang area? |
Dec 4 2005, 10:46 PM
applestudio ikano,applecentre everywhere and so on
Dec 4 2005, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(Futura @ Dec 4 2005, 11:02 AM) Get Martin Field overlay for the front and invisibleSHIELD for the back! how much is those invisibe sheild selling? sorry , not been hanging around those spot yet .. hehe..I know it is a bit overkill but I did for mine |
Dec 5 2005, 12:59 AM
Dec 5 2005, 01:18 AM
Dec 5 2005, 10:36 AM
119 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
![]() the soft case in the box dont protect the ipod? i am thinking to get an ipod 5G and heard it get scratch easily.... |
Dec 5 2005, 12:30 PM
sape sape tahu mana nak get the iPod socks?ive been checkin most applecentres and takde,and how much is it?
Dec 5 2005, 08:43 PM
Dec 5 2005, 09:23 PM
ebay.com the best place to get cheap iPod accessories. Alternatively can try brando hk.
Dec 6 2005, 01:44 AM
892 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 1' from the Screen |
QUOTE(Futura @ Dec 4 2005, 11:02 AM) Get Martin Field overlay for the front and invisibleSHIELD for the back! Hey dude, did you modified yours? Did u like trimmed the sides of the MFO? I'm abit skeptical bout getting one now after i bumped into this comment by an actual user:I know it is a bit overkill but I did for mine http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/index.php/t-160622.html Are you experiencing oily/smudged surface on ur MFO? Coz my fingers are kinda oily/sweaty |
Dec 6 2005, 01:59 AM
Indeed the oily surface is very noticeable especially on the mirror finished. But I don't care since I'm going to replace it wit IS sooner. Tissue does not work on them if you want to remove the oily fingerprint.
QUOTE(ReaperX @ Dec 6 2005, 01:44 AM) Hey dude, did you modified yours? Did u like trimmed the sides of the MFO? I'm abit skeptical bout getting one now after i bumped into this comment by an actual user: http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/index.php/t-160622.html Are you experiencing oily/smudged surface on ur MFO? Coz my fingers are kinda oily/sweaty |
Dec 6 2005, 06:10 AM
No matter what, do not take off the protective skin that comes with the iPod! Have it on temp till you get a better protection, if not leave it as it is.
I took off mine and i regret very much, my iPod has fine scratches on it. I used a clean cloth and wipe it, scratches also can happen. Currently i have it wrapped with cling wrap, but i dont think it's good for the ipod, i notice some effects and i don't know how to describe it. Because of that i had to use the cloth to wipe it and more fine scratches keep appearing. Anyone know where to get invisible shield for iPod 5G in m'sia? This post has been edited by shinji: Dec 6 2005, 06:37 AM |
Dec 26 2005, 06:42 AM
578 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
My friend got 30GB video , I was wondering how to upload Movies in it ,
Ive converted the files to Ipod compatible , but i cant seem to sync / update them into the ipod . Anyone ? |
Dec 26 2005, 01:13 PM
56 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
just drag into itunes and will automatically go into video category
Dec 27 2005, 12:24 PM
I also have several avi clips, when I attempt to drag n drop, the itune telling me the file is not supported..
but I can view it using quicktime .. hmm... |
Dec 27 2005, 01:41 PM
398 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Am Neckar |
Dec 27 2005, 04:37 PM
654 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Try use Videora Ipod converter to convert the avi files and when you drag the file to library make sure the title is not too long otherwise it won't go into your library
Dec 30 2005, 06:28 PM
398 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Am Neckar |
Ok guys. I'm new user for ipod video. Which prog do you use to transfer video and music files to your iPod video?
I'm using Anapod 8.9.2 but it doesn't support for video transfer. Anyone to recommend ? I used iTunes before but its difficult coz i transfer files from many pc ( me and my friends pc). |
Dec 31 2005, 05:42 PM
50 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
i got my new ipod vid frm spore.cost me $528 with evrything included..silicon casing n charger..consider cheap ar?
Jan 1 2006, 09:06 PM
1,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: -Kopend @ Anfield- |
QUOTE(ivandj @ Dec 26 2005, 06:42 AM) My friend got 30GB video , I was wondering how to upload Movies in it , made video playlist also cannot as when i wanna create playlist come out the icon for songs....Ive converted the files to Ipod compatible , but i cant seem to sync / update them into the ipod . Anyone ? QUOTE(kkj @ Dec 26 2005, 01:13 PM) just drag into itunes and will automatically go into video category doest allow to drag-drop...have to convert to mp4??-regards- |
Jan 1 2006, 09:40 PM
776 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - BoLeH LanD - |
yes ... convert d oni can drag n drop into it
Jan 1 2006, 10:30 PM
407 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
cheh too expensive.. nano better.. but then again the cost per gb is lower what.. so how????
Jan 3 2006, 08:14 PM
vid better la...nano's low capacity and the price is so high...and vid's 30GB is jus less than 1600. 2GB nano is oredy 9xx and 4GB 12xx...see who's expensive than who? with a vid-watching functionality at such a reasonable price than the highly-priced nano, it's certainly a better choice to get.
Jan 3 2006, 08:19 PM
2,415 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Cheras |
yup totally agree wat europology say, nano is much more expensive than video in terms of functionality.I will say go for the video More worth it .
Jan 7 2006, 01:31 AM
487 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
can i advertise on my bulk sales here coz i am organising 1. price is quite cheap but just need few more orders to procceed with it.
pls delete my post if cant advertise here. |
Jan 7 2006, 01:49 AM
951 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Penang |
huh? what bulk are u gonna organize? ipod video??
below 1.2k? lol |
Jan 11 2006, 09:56 AM
259 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Paddy Field |
How long does my Ipod Video need to charge when the first time i use it ?
Jan 11 2006, 10:46 AM
Jan 11 2006, 11:37 AM
259 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Paddy Field |
Thanks a lot
Jan 12 2006, 03:43 PM
352 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Kampua & kOmpia TOwn~ |
i wonder bought the ipod at sg more cheaper .. around 500++ x 2.2
even rm 2k plus can bought 60Gb ipod at sg and even can include 1 i-trip may b.... kastam.. -.- |
Jan 13 2006, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(alex6540 @ Jan 12 2006, 03:43 PM) i wonder bought the ipod at sg more cheaper .. around 500++ x 2.2 hahaha..even rm 2k plus can bought 60Gb ipod at sg and even can include 1 i-trip may b.... kastam.. -.- the conversion rate now for SG rather low.. earlier we it was more expensive.. around 2.33... so now reduce to 2.2, i think it is a good time to go sg shopin!! every dollar spent u save RM0.10. whaha almost equals to 10% discount!! |
Jan 13 2006, 01:30 PM
1 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Guys , i am from another thread, i want to bring in some IPODs VIDEO from singapore. Seems that no one is willing to pay upfront, so I am trying to arrage for some COD deals. Is the price consider resonable ?
IPOD VIDEO 30 GB - RM 1350 IPOD VIDEO 60 Gb - Rm 1780 Apple mates, Please advice |
Jan 14 2006, 01:02 PM
yeah that price more reasonable than malaysia market price
Jan 15 2006, 08:22 PM
46 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jan 15 2006, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(savyhobbit @ Jan 13 2006, 01:30 PM) Guys , i am from another thread, i want to bring in some IPODs VIDEO from singapore. Seems that no one is willing to pay upfront, so I am trying to arrage for some COD deals. Is the price consider resonable ? erm..IPOD VIDEO 30 GB - RM 1350 IPOD VIDEO 60 Gb - Rm 1780 Apple mates, Please advice the prices are reasonable but then it is not "competitive" hehehe.. u got to check the other threads. some selling at 1.25k.. anyway, since u are a new member, it is difficult for ppl to trust u and pay upfront! if u wan u hav to do COD.. |
Jan 20 2006, 12:34 PM
yeah.. just bought my ipod5G ..
but i cant tranfer my video to the ipod using the i tune .. is there any way ?? even the file in mp4 need to convert 1st ?? alamak.. help help!! |
Jan 20 2006, 01:10 PM
1,193 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sungai Petani |
videora go and try
Jan 20 2006, 08:11 PM
1,040 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: the other side |
i got problem using videora, the voice and video is not sync... i have tried many ways discussed in a forum.. but some work, some not...
Jan 20 2006, 08:53 PM
yeah yeah .. same same .. even already but still cant la.. discuss ..
Jan 20 2006, 11:38 PM
videora - converting mp4 to anyformat that fits to the iPod? also, does does the video for iPod needs pesific size?? i hate this man as still cannot copy video to the iPod
-regardss |
Jan 21 2006, 12:21 AM
have anyone tried the new firmware 1.1 for video ipod?
any comment? |
Jan 21 2006, 01:41 AM
354 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
With the new firmware, some vids won't have any sound, and after watching vids, it's really hard to turn off the ipod.
Jan 21 2006, 01:41 AM
593 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE have anyone tried the new firmware 1.1 for video ipod? I heard it's buggy. I haven't install it, and won't until they come out with 1.2 |
Jan 21 2006, 08:27 AM
i have tried it... most noticeable change is the clickwheel become more responsive, no more laggy. also, when u hold down menu, it will go to main menu, instead of turning off backlight in the previous firmware.
Jan 21 2006, 11:21 AM
2,597 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(savyhobbit @ Jan 13 2006, 01:30 PM) Guys , i am from another thread, i want to bring in some IPODs VIDEO from singapore. Seems that no one is willing to pay upfront, so I am trying to arrage for some COD deals. Is the price consider resonable ? ur price is ok. try 2 get more cheaper! then maybe ur bulk will be sucessful! good luck dude.IPOD VIDEO 30 GB - RM 1350 IPOD VIDEO 60 Gb - Rm 1780 Apple mates, Please advice |
Jan 21 2006, 11:58 AM
Jan 21 2006, 10:29 PM
Hi there. Does anyone know where I can get a Martin Fields screen protector for the video ipod? I've tried lowyat and there's no one selling it. Any ideas where?
Jan 22 2006, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(Brasco @ Jan 21 2006, 10:29 PM) Hi there. Does anyone know where I can get a Martin Fields screen protector for the video ipod? I've tried lowyat and there's no one selling it. Any ideas where? there is one forumer selling ler.... use the search function..here's the link http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=21&t=210489 i got mine from him as well..nice seller..great product for ipod 5G.. |
Jan 22 2006, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(cywings @ Jan 22 2006, 12:04 AM) there is one forumer selling ler.... use the search function.. dude..here's the link http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=21&t=210489 i got mine from him as well..nice seller..great product for ipod 5G.. was it ez to put on... mine is in the 3rd batch... hopefully come b4 CNY.. hehehe |
Jan 22 2006, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(geejun2 @ Jan 22 2006, 05:51 PM) erm..putting it on is somehow a test to ur patience.. hahaha i tried putting it on several times coz of misalignment and got dust particles stuck on to the screen protector....so really gotta put it on slowly wan...but the result is satisfying lar.. |
Jan 22 2006, 10:27 PM
I don't have the patience to actually put it on myself, that's why I would really like to buy from a shop and let them install it for me. The guys at Mac Centre Ikano was really professional with the installation, using this blowing kind of gadget to blow off the dusts on the ipod, but they didn't have the Martin Fields protector.
Jan 23 2006, 03:29 AM
lol...
so profesional lor.. erm... last time i put my protector on my 6600 time, rosak like shit.. wahaha |
Jan 23 2006, 09:32 AM
ermmm
i've got a few scratches on my ipod 5g, is there anyway to like get rid of it ar??i didn't even know how did i get those scratches..damn it |
Jan 23 2006, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(earthkid @ Jan 23 2006, 09:32 AM) ermmm Get iCleaner lo.. http://www.ipodcleaner.com/i've got a few scratches on my ipod 5g, is there anyway to like get rid of it ar??i didn't even know how did i get those scratches..damn it Not cheap tho. Apple@Ikano sells them, I think. |
Jan 23 2006, 04:29 PM
some people says can use any scratch remover.
onybody wanna try and use car waxer? heheh |
Jan 23 2006, 05:16 PM
car wax ?? ahah .. let make some experiment .. lolz
Jan 23 2006, 11:58 PM
Jan 24 2006, 12:14 AM
the new firmware should 2006-1-10
u download from apple website here dload the updater program and install, follow instructions and connect ur ipod to ur computer..update..and voila... new firmware.. |
Jan 24 2006, 01:36 AM
heard ppl use brasco to clean up the scratches of the ipod.. i think it should work out real fine.. anyone wanna try it out?
Jan 24 2006, 11:58 AM
Jan 24 2006, 01:18 PM
Jan 24 2006, 02:58 PM
hahaha
so paiseh... it is brasso.. hehahahawahaha so soli la kawan!!! anyway, anyone tried it already? would like to know |
Jan 24 2006, 06:32 PM
any people got an ideal to convert to mp4 file to ipod other then videora ?
Jan 24 2006, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(alex6540 @ Jan 24 2006, 06:32 PM) other than videora, u can try total video converter.... for TVC u gotta find the crack though, else u will see some text in the video. else if u are using quicktime pro and u wanna convert .mov files to mp4.. use quicktime to do it... simple and 100% compatibility. This post has been edited by cywings: Jan 24 2006, 06:54 PM |
Jan 24 2006, 10:44 PM
well..been using videora and no prob whatsoever..
hmm.. have anyone encounter any problem using videora? |
Jan 25 2006, 01:00 AM
Jan 25 2006, 01:11 AM
For mac I use iSquint. A great and easy software to convert. Just drag & drop. Or you could probably use the latest iTunes, it's got an option to convert videos for ipod, much more easier than using quicktime, in which u need quicktime pro.
This post has been edited by Brasco: Jan 25 2006, 01:14 AM |
Jan 25 2006, 01:14 AM
10,231 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hey all, just got my ipod video from the bulk sales 2 hours ago. gonna test mine now
Jan 25 2006, 02:13 AM
Have fun! (Which u'll definitely will)
Jan 25 2006, 02:20 AM
yea, i am having fun with it now. sound quality is superb
sorry to ask again but i can't remember the software that allows me drag and drop files into the ipod. is there any? |
Jan 25 2006, 02:22 AM
What files do you mean? You mean having the iPod as a hard drive?
Jan 25 2006, 02:24 AM
err no. right now i gotta use the Itune software to copy mp3s from my cd into my Ipod and its kinda troublesome.
i have the songs in mp3 format already but how do i copy those files into the ipod? |
Jan 25 2006, 10:35 AM
iTunes la brader
Jan 25 2006, 12:05 PM
iTunes would be the only way I guess. Why is it troublesome though? It's quite simple isn't it?
Jan 25 2006, 01:18 PM
ya just create some playlists... drag ur mp3s into your desired playlist..
and iTunes will automatically updates ur ipod... even when u wanna drag more songs or remove songs from the playlist..iTunes updates it for u...simple n neat... |
Jan 25 2006, 02:30 PM
just fyi for ipod 5g owners
I just got myself a aluminium case for my 5G from Sim Lim Sq concourse for $15 (SGD). Pretty good pricing but very limited quantity. Comes in either gold or silver. Same for 30 and 60 gb. Pretty good pricing. I only saw one silver one left but got a few gold. Silicon case, cheapest I saw was $11. |
Jan 25 2006, 08:34 PM
erm..
sometimes this kinda of casing might scratch ur ipod as it doesnt really fit.. got one fella kena de... anyway, if u dun worry about ur ipod kena scratch so its ok lor.. |
Jan 25 2006, 08:35 PM
Jan 26 2006, 01:36 AM
but what about the videos??? does it have to be on a certain format/resolution to fit in the iPod screen?
plis la help!!! iPod 60GB user here... -regards- |
Jan 26 2006, 01:57 AM
hi..
try get videora.. it will convert most of ur movies to the ipod video format which is MP4 |
Jan 26 2006, 09:17 PM
yeah,asking some problem here..
about the 5G ipod there dint gve any electric charger and only the usb charger.. but just now i find some stuff that usb charger from the electric .. then can my ipod charge to the usb electric supply ? |
Jan 26 2006, 10:15 PM
160 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
of course you can.it's just that apple is getting a stingy about their packaging.or is it just to cut costs?i don't know but yeah you can just get one from the apple centres or retailers.
Jan 26 2006, 11:18 PM
hmm, i'm able to convert an anime and saved it into my ipod but how do i delete it?
Jan 26 2006, 11:38 PM
Jan 26 2006, 11:48 PM
ok got it, thanks very much!
Jan 26 2006, 11:56 PM
Jan 27 2006, 12:06 AM
yep yep
btw anyone of u using those leather case for ur ipod? feel like getting one |
Jan 27 2006, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(Oxigen @ Jan 26 2006, 01:36 AM) but what about the videos??? does it have to be on a certain format/resolution to fit in the iPod screen? You can also use iTunes itself now. Just right click on the file you want to convert, and convert it for ipod viewing.plis la help!!! iPod 60GB user here... -regards- |
Jan 27 2006, 02:26 AM
yup..
i am finding it so convenient! |
Jan 27 2006, 04:14 PM
110 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: USJ, Subang Jaya |
Hehe..
This year ..I don't have to feel bored going back to hometown and coming back already! Can watch video and listen to songs on the way! .. With movies and Russell Peter clips...can never get bored man! =P But worry about battery life only..won't be bring laptop back..so ..erm. .how to charge leh ? :S |
Jan 27 2006, 04:41 PM
yalor..
so get a charger la This post has been edited by geejun2: Jan 27 2006, 04:42 PM |
Jan 27 2006, 09:16 PM
saw the charger just now, rm169 wei
Jan 27 2006, 11:52 PM
2,792 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
hi..everyone...
how could i put music videos into my ipod ? the format of those videos is 'window media audio file' or 'movie clip'.....i should convert it? after i use the itunes to convery it....it became mute...but it can be play in the ipod...just the problem is soundless....... pls help me with this... |
Jan 28 2006, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(alkt @ Jan 27 2006, 09:16 PM) just get a local charger laa.30$ at lowyat. sure wont cause any prob n waaaayyy cheaper . hope that helps QUOTE(ANGELING @ Jan 27 2006, 11:52 PM) hi..everyone... come on..how could i put music videos into my ipod ? the format of those videos is 'window media audio file' or 'movie clip'.....i should convert it? after i use the itunes to convery it....it became mute...but it can be play in the ipod...just the problem is soundless....... pls help me with this... just read a few pages back. sure can find a solution. dun be lazy lerr This post has been edited by benQue: Jan 28 2006, 12:46 AM |
Jan 28 2006, 01:35 AM
QUOTE(Brasco @ Jan 27 2006, 01:37 AM) You can also use iTunes itself now. Just right click on the file you want to convert, and convert it for ipod viewing. just to double confirm, this has to be done in the library rite...btw, i cant seem to make playlists for videos....hmmm.. -regards- |
Jan 28 2006, 02:08 AM
Yup, in the library. To make a playlist for videos, you simply add a new playlist, and then drag and drop files from the video folder to the playlist.
Jan 28 2006, 02:23 AM
QUOTE(benQue @ Jan 28 2006, 12:43 AM) just get a local charger laa. erm..30$ at lowyat. sure wont cause any prob n waaaayyy cheaper . hope that helps come on.. just read a few pages back. sure can find a solution. dun be lazy lerr does the local charger really do not cause any damage? heard some complains about shrinkage of battery life n etc... anyone wit any prove? |
Jan 28 2006, 07:50 PM
oh..okok
downloaded 'ipod update' and updated it to 1.1firmware... downloading 'videora converter' now......hopefully it'll do.... |
Jan 28 2006, 08:20 PM
Haha
I use ImTOO iPod movie Converter to convert all my videos even realplayer format ones into mp4 format..working fine for me! Oh yeah..concerning the charger...RM 30 ? I wouldn't mind.. But will it affect the battery life ? |
Jan 28 2006, 10:13 PM
phew...finally.....the sick cured.....thanks....
hmm.....the charger? i dun think that it's neccessary for me for the time being......coz my com is switched on about 6hours minimun everyday...so i just plug the ipod onto it and leave it there to be charged..... but....anyone found the car charger? using the cigaratte lighter power.... |
Jan 29 2006, 01:28 AM
i think tht one oso got if u buy the dock for the car..
lol pretty expensive though |
Jan 29 2006, 11:04 PM
Haiyah
This iPod ppll.. really know how to make money from us ..tsk tsk tsk .. I think I shall consider working for apple when i graduate... hehe |
Jan 30 2006, 12:43 AM
but u're not buying those water thing.....do u satisfy with ur ipod? for me...i'm extremely satisfied with that.....i buy that at low price(for the ipod) and i felt that i got more than i pay....
apple stuff is nice stuff as i know......if i'm enough rich my whole set of com would be apple.....especially the mac cinema....enough great and EXPENSIVE! |
Jan 30 2006, 11:46 AM
wahaha...
if u do get into apple, let me know ya! then can get some apple product at stafff price! |
Feb 1 2006, 09:12 PM
i walked the whole lowyat but still can't find a cheap travel ac adapter. ipod station got but quite expensive, rm120 for it
Feb 2 2006, 12:13 AM
just saw the 'bad news' at the bulk sales there.......sooooo tempting to have a look on the photo of ur all ipod while wearing the new skin.....my neck is becoming longer and longer....
i'm still confusing about the iskin(evo3)......silicone cases......leather case....socks......which one is the best.....i mean...good look.....it won't be like putting a brick inside the pocket....comfortable when holding it....and...safe(can protect the ipod from being scratched)... |
Feb 2 2006, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(ANGELING @ Feb 2 2006, 12:13 AM) just saw the 'bad news' at the bulk sales there.......sooooo tempting to have a look on the photo of ur all ipod while wearing the new skin.....my neck is becoming longer and longer.... Well, I'm confused by the phrase you just used, "my neck is becoming longer and longer", why is that so?? i'm still confusing about the iskin(evo3)......silicone cases......leather case....socks......which one is the best.....i mean...good look.....it won't be like putting a brick inside the pocket....comfortable when holding it....and...safe(can protect the ipod from being scratched)... This post has been edited by Brasco: Feb 2 2006, 12:44 AM |
Feb 2 2006, 12:49 AM
haha....my neck is becoming longer coz i'm waiting for the photo for a long time already......can't for that....coz i'm planning to buy some protection for my ipod since i dun want to have those regretable scratches....
Feb 3 2006, 04:01 AM
Feb 3 2006, 07:53 PM
guys,
wats ur battery life if listen to MP3s? |
Feb 3 2006, 08:36 PM
normally 13 hours plus minus coz sumtimes i see some video podcast
Feb 3 2006, 09:39 PM
how about the battery life on video playing?
Feb 5 2006, 03:50 PM
For me battery life with music is ideal.Around 18-20 hours on my 60gb
Feb 5 2006, 09:38 PM
hmm.....that day my ipod(video30g with latest firmware) hang for 12hr..i thought that it hanged coz my ex-computer dun have itunes so no software to update it.....it hand with a sign 'do not disconnect' and the sign is not blinkig at all....it doesn't fucntion at all no matter i press whatever button.....and finally i reset it and problem fixed....anyone know the reason why?
here's some possibility that i thought so far 1. overcharged(coz i leave it there for many hours for uploading song/video/photo anytime) 2. no software to let the ipod run smoothly when the data cable is plugged(coz my ex-com is being used by my bro now...so didn't install I Tunes) 3. didn't press 'safety remove hardware' when eject it from the data cable(i remembered that i forgot to press the button when i plug off the cable) 4. didn't eject the ipod from the data cable when restarting com/shut down com(normally my mother will use my com in the night and she'll shut down the com and on the same time my ipod was connected to the computer) hmm.....i would like to know that whether ur ipod hanged before or not? thanks..... |
Feb 5 2006, 10:25 PM
oh yeah...it couldn't even do anything,even update the firmware.I promptly sent it to the Mac centre and they switched it for me so my ipod now is brand new hehe.Not many people get to open the ipod wrapper twice.
Feb 5 2006, 11:22 PM
oh yeah...wanna ask u guys for the ipod dock?
how much for that? do u feel that it's useful to urself? |
Feb 5 2006, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(ANGELING @ Feb 5 2006, 11:22 PM) oh yeah...wanna ask u guys for the ipod dock? malaysia is selling for RM199 for that Apple Universal Dock.how much for that? do u feel that it's useful to urself? for me....i dont find me using it yet...maybe not now ler..haha but the remote control function is cool..and if u have a nice hi-fi system that u wanna play with ur ipod...u can consider getting the dock... |
Feb 6 2006, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(jinhan108 @ Feb 5 2006, 10:25 PM) oh yeah...it couldn't even do anything,even update the firmware.I promptly sent it to the Mac centre and they switched it for me so my ipod now is brand new hehe.Not many people get to open the ipod wrapper twice. it is indeed an interesting experience to open ipod wrapper, especially our first ipod. This post has been edited by irwan6179: Feb 6 2006, 10:05 PM |
Feb 7 2006, 04:23 AM
QUOTE(jinhan108 @ Feb 5 2006, 10:25 PM) oh yeah...it couldn't even do anything,even update the firmware.I promptly sent it to the Mac centre and they switched it for me so my ipod now is brand new hehe.Not many people get to open the ipod wrapper twice. Lucky you man! It is the feeling as if opening a chest full of treasure, and you'd just be amazed at the beauty of the thing. QUOTE(ANGELING @ Feb 5 2006, 11:22 PM) oh yeah...wanna ask u guys for the ipod dock? I've also been questioning myself the same question, "Is it gonna be of any use other than for charging?". Until now, I still have yet to answer that question. Hmmm...how much for that? do u feel that it's useful to urself? |
Feb 7 2006, 07:51 PM
erm... i think the universal dock can be connected to ur hifi system n b blasted! hehehe
but for rm199, i think it is better to save tht money for a nice earphone... besides if wanna charge then it is much worth than the apple charger cos the charger is about rm199 so might as well get the dock.. ur ipod even stands nicely on the dock wahahah |
Feb 7 2006, 08:01 PM
1,516 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Silinde Faelivrin |
QUOTE(ANGELING @ Feb 5 2006, 09:38 PM) hmm.....that day my ipod(video30g with latest firmware) hang for 12hr..i thought that it hanged coz my ex-computer dun have itunes so no software to update it.....it hand with a sign 'do not disconnect' and the sign is not blinkig at all....it doesn't fucntion at all no matter i press whatever button.....and finally i reset it and problem fixed....anyone know the reason why? My iPod 30gb video hangs all the time. I just reset it everytime it hang. But i think it might hang cos u keep it connected to the pc for too long. Sometimes mine will hang if i lock it while its charging, and sometimes it wil hang if i lock it too long while its switched off. DUNO WHY.here's some possibility that i thought so far 1. overcharged(coz i leave it there for many hours for uploading song/video/photo anytime) 2. no software to let the ipod run smoothly when the data cable is plugged(coz my ex-com is being used by my bro now...so didn't install I Tunes) 3. didn't press 'safety remove hardware' when eject it from the data cable(i remembered that i forgot to press the button when i plug off the cable) 4. didn't eject the ipod from the data cable when restarting com/shut down com(normally my mother will use my com in the night and she'll shut down the com and on the same time my ipod was connected to the computer) hmm.....i would like to know that whether ur ipod hanged before or not? thanks..... |
Feb 7 2006, 08:10 PM
har...u mean cannot switch the 'hold' button for a long time?
normally i switch the HOLD button when i leave it there from being switched open......and waste the battery.... |
Feb 7 2006, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(geejun2 @ Feb 7 2006, 07:51 PM) erm... i think the universal dock can be connected to ur hifi system n b blasted! hehehe agreed with what u said.....as i said last time...my com is opened over 6 hours a day....so it's not a problem for me to charge my ipod......saving extra money for a new earphone and dock....maybe will take either one after first term exam...but for rm199, i think it is better to save tht money for a nice earphone... besides if wanna charge then it is much worth than the apple charger cos the charger is about rm199 so might as well get the dock.. ur ipod even stands nicely on the dock wahahah |
Feb 8 2006, 01:04 AM
1,516 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Silinde Faelivrin |
ya... when i HOLD it when its off right, then sometimes when i UN-HOLD it, then try to turn it on, don work, must reset. sad right...
Feb 8 2006, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(hydrogen @ Feb 8 2006, 01:04 AM) ya... when i HOLD it when its off right, then sometimes when i UN-HOLD it, then try to turn it on, don work, must reset. sad right... You sure it won't turn on? Cos for me, if I turn off my iPod and put the hold switch on, if it's for more than a few hours, it would take some time for the iPod to start up again when I unlock the hold switch and press the center button. Did you press the button after you unlock the hold switch then? I think I've read somewhere that there's a possibility of doing damage to your iPod if you reset it too many times. |
Feb 8 2006, 10:49 AM
47 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
haiz....im actually wanted to buy ipod video already
but u know wat im sked ??? i sked after i buy the latest ipod video,afew months later then another new ipod model coming out again with more attractive look and add in new features.... so any advise frm u guys ??? wat more features or functions u think apple still can add on after the video function ??? should i buy now or wait later ??? |
Feb 8 2006, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(hydrogen @ Feb 7 2006, 08:01 PM) My iPod 30gb video hangs all the time. I just reset it everytime it hang. But i think it might hang cos u keep it connected to the pc for too long. Sometimes mine will hang if i lock it while its charging, and sometimes it wil hang if i lock it too long while its switched off. DUNO WHY. hi dudesame thing happened to me.. but now ok le.. so the solution will be.... 1. download the latest ipod updater 2. run it and chose restore...(clear everything on ur HDD) 3. then insert ur library back this was wad i did and it neva hang for a long time le one more thing, if u wanna stop listen to a song, jus pause it and the switch the hold button on and keeep ur ipod... try not to hold the play/pause button to switch it off.. it will not hang at all when u restart it! |
Feb 8 2006, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(bubblekk701 @ Feb 8 2006, 10:49 AM) haiz....im actually wanted to buy ipod video already well u have a point there...apple might just come out with another newer model of ipod and extra features added to it...but u know wat im sked ??? i sked after i buy the latest ipod video,afew months later then another new ipod model coming out again with more attractive look and add in new features.... so any advise frm u guys ??? wat more features or functions u think apple still can add on after the video function ??? should i buy now or wait later ??? but why cant u think of it this way? get one now..you wont regret getting it if u are really a music lover..and can stand with using iTunes... if u thinking of scared that apple might coming out with new model. ..well the desktop or laptop that u are using now will come out with newer model as well. desktop systems will have new and more powerful hardware releases even more frequent than ipods.. the graphics card that u are using now might become obsolete in the next few months...how about that?... if u keep on waiting.. then u dont have to buy liao... may as well save up and buy something that wont become 'old'... just get the ipod lar... haha |
Feb 9 2006, 11:28 PM
1,121 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: random! |
i bought my ipod color 4G a month before they came out with ipod video.
i was so tempted to sell it off and buy the video but decided against it because, the video features is just a bonus for me. my priority is for music. so, i've never regretted it. on the other hand...i might be buying the 6G ipod...skip one generation ma.. |
Feb 10 2006, 06:04 PM
yeah...i would really regret if i bought the ipod 4g one month before the video launch...the ipod video had added in sooo much features included its strongest movie playbacking.....but ipod 4g had lost this features.....sooo... when would the ipod 6g launched? any news on the web so far?
Feb 10 2006, 07:24 PM
yeah, i bought my ipod photo 30G, around 3weeks before video launched, but then i sold my photo, not loss too much, but until now i havent get video... :s
Feb 11 2006, 08:58 AM
325 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
My iPod dropped on the floor from the mattress when i was pulling the blanket and now i can't sleep ..
A few scratches appears on my iPod now, anymore of these i may get a heart attack. |
Feb 11 2006, 02:19 PM
hhaha...
biasela... get some protective agents la.... then no more heart attack |
Feb 11 2006, 08:43 PM
any other stuff to protect my ipod other then the silicone case or ??
Feb 11 2006, 09:39 PM
677 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Anyone know what is best price for iPod Video 30 gig now? I checked around Low Yat, they gave RM1499 + Free silicone case and Screen Protector (RM99 rebate). Is this a good price?
Feb 16 2006, 02:38 PM
i bought mine for oni 1050...in US of coz..with student's offer..anyways..anyone know any good afotwares for converting videos into ipod format??
Feb 16 2006, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(cywings @ Feb 8 2006, 10:31 PM) well u have a point there...apple might just come out with another newer model of ipod and extra features added to it... no worries over that issue..i think even if they come out with a new model..it will be months later...it doesn't seem to have much room to expand now..except coming out with nicer designs..or supporting mur formats..for the time being..just use what they have..it won't be a waste of money...it's apple anyway~~ but why cant u think of it this way? get one now..you wont regret getting it if u are really a music lover..and can stand with using iTunes... if u thinking of scared that apple might coming out with new model. ..well the desktop or laptop that u are using now will come out with newer model as well. desktop systems will have new and more powerful hardware releases even more frequent than ipods.. the graphics card that u are using now might become obsolete in the next few months...how about that?... if u keep on waiting.. then u dont have to buy liao... may as well save up and buy something that wont become 'old'... just get the ipod lar... haha satisfied with my poddy... |
Feb 16 2006, 08:28 PM
erm...
they are rather fast wit new models nowadays |
Feb 17 2006, 01:02 AM
if Apple releases some kinda new patch to support DivX and AVIs, it'll be awesome!
Feb 17 2006, 01:17 AM
hahaha..
tht would be nice... BUT... not very possible... |
Feb 17 2006, 10:23 AM
well the apple website it says that the firmware is upgradeable which enables support for future video formats.. just don't know whether does it include divx and others...
Feb 17 2006, 12:02 PM
fuiyooo~~~if support DiVx..is like heaven to me..i shall be changing mine to the 60Gb ipod...apparently creative came out v a player dat supports DiVx to fight ipod 5G...creative zen vision...looks kinda cool too...blardy big screen
..dey even came out v black and white..haha..selling SD799...duno wat's d review for it... |
Feb 17 2006, 01:10 PM
erm..
for video playback... the creative zen vision is the best around... better than ipod and oso the sony psp... so for those "movie" enthusiast... u can go get tht... but i think the sound quality is not as impressive as the ipod... |
Feb 17 2006, 02:52 PM
no need la..
better wait for ipod touch-screen. btw..ipod is more user friendly. i owned a zen micro last time and it's very complicated. last year ive switch to ipod video n it really worth every penny ive spend. |
Feb 17 2006, 05:08 PM
actually..i think d oni thing that attracts me about the zen vision is that it can read DivX..so i'm praying hard the ipod video will come out with the updates soon..
Feb 18 2006, 08:33 PM
iPod is the most popular and the best selling MP3 Players in the world...because of its design and its features tht is easy 2 use...
Feb 18 2006, 08:40 PM
2,648 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sri Petaling, Seri Kembangan... |
when to lowyat and got myself an ipod 30gb black and also universal dock + remote + rca cable...free 1 silicon casing...charging now...can wait to put song and play it...
so, i m joining this club... This post has been edited by d@odao: Feb 18 2006, 08:43 PM |
Feb 18 2006, 08:44 PM
Mine to post the pictureS?
Feb 18 2006, 09:29 PM
247 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(geejun2 @ Feb 17 2006, 01:10 PM) erm.. No .. I own a Vision:M, sounds better than iPod. Planning to get Shuffle for gym workouts ... hahafor video playback... the creative zen vision is the best around... better than ipod and oso the sony psp... so for those "movie" enthusiast... u can go get tht... but i think the sound quality is not as impressive as the ipod... |
Feb 18 2006, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 18 2006, 08:40 PM) when to lowyat and got myself an ipod 30gb black and also universal dock + remote + rca cable...free 1 silicon casing...charging now...can wait to put song and play it... may i know that how much u pay for it and all the accessories?so, i m joining this club... why not add somemore money and take a evo3 instead? |
Feb 18 2006, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(ANGELING @ Feb 18 2006, 09:46 PM) may i know that how much u pay for it and all the accessories? oredi spend around 2+k...the silicon casing is free ma...why not add somemore money and take a evo3 instead? ipod itself oredi rm1499...plus the rca cable+remote+dock which all in 1 box package...rm549...in the box got also wall charger+few socket+usb cable... the remote i hv try, is abit useless coz can use for forward, rewind, play/pause only...the menu button no use ler...only good for forwarding song when paying with the av receiver... btw, the sound play thru av receiver not bad...cool... This post has been edited by d@odao: Feb 18 2006, 10:03 PM |
Feb 18 2006, 10:39 PM
wow...cun cun....!
don't get it all together ma.....coz what u need actually is the ipod and those accessories is for supplementary usage only.....better get it next time....since u've bought it....forget about it...as long as u happy with it...cheers... u mean the rca cable+remote+dock is in one pakage.....can u take some pic show us how does it looks like? |
Feb 18 2006, 10:49 PM
Feb 18 2006, 11:20 PM
Feb 19 2006, 12:18 AM
2,597 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
@ d@odao
nice stuff u got there! i like the dock! |
Feb 19 2006, 12:36 AM
Wow!! That's one hell of a package. Must be one hell of a price to pay too. I need me one of those man.
Feb 19 2006, 12:40 AM
erm... rich kid can afford lor...
u see his sig.... so many stuffs he own... nevamind.. we bulk n gt half the price wahahahah |
Feb 19 2006, 01:46 AM
the AV connection kit will cost around RM432 if buy in australia...
hmmm interesting kit though.. haha |
Feb 19 2006, 01:54 AM
Feb 19 2006, 02:02 AM
1,188 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Feb 19 2006, 02:03 AM
i will join in...
Feb 19 2006, 02:39 AM
hahaha... about too... jus waiting for pricelist tht i submited for.
hehehe |
Feb 19 2006, 11:02 PM
i m really enjoying my new ipod...listening whole day...either using headphone or thru av receiver...nice...
Feb 20 2006, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(geejun2 @ Feb 19 2006, 12:40 AM) erm... rich kid can afford lor... Wow..look at that long list. Took me a few minutes just to finish reading the sig. Gadget freak!u see his sig.... so many stuffs he own... nevamind.. we bulk n gt half the price wahahahah I support you geejun! Bulk it in! Bulk everything in! Hahhaha. |
Feb 20 2006, 09:18 AM
actually still got few more gadget not listed...later i update the sig...i think the walkie talkie is missing there...
Feb 20 2006, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(d@odao @ Feb 18 2006, 11:20 PM) QUOTE(geejun2 @ Yesterday, 12:40 AM) erm... rich kid can afford lor... Eh! geejun2! If can get that whole package for half the price like you said..u see his sig.... so many stuffs he own... nevamind.. we bulk n gt half the price wahahahah then put me in your lisT! Hahaa...Got the AC Adaptor in the box somemore..wah From RM 500 + to RM 200+ ...aha..who wouldn't want to get it! We're all relying on you now geejun2! Hehe |
Feb 20 2006, 04:39 PM
phew yoo..freakin expensive to buy ipod in malaysia...guys..go find sumone you know in States...and pester them to get it for u..it's definitely worth the fuss~~~~~
Feb 20 2006, 04:51 PM
if anyone wanna get ipods, check my sig... n just go n check out my thread...
thanks!! |
Feb 22 2006, 03:02 PM
7,071 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: London :: Mutiara Damansara :: Xbox Live Network |
Sorry for the noob question, how do i actually sort my Music Videos and put it in the default Music Video playlist, now all i can do is create my own playlist but it doesn't auto play, goto select manually...1 by 1.
Or is it only for purchased music video? I did try to purchase some to test it out but dang, the credit card policy, region restricted... Edited : nvm, for some reason it nows autoplay all the music videos after i upload more into my ipod. This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Feb 22 2006, 03:21 PM |
Mar 14 2006, 01:21 AM
39 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Need help on download/converter video to my lovely Ipod video...Dunno to use it...pls help me! |
Mar 14 2006, 11:19 AM
Wow , just got mine...Watching Star Wars Movies..pretty cool
ronaldlaw : what OS do you use and what kind of video files do you wish to convert |
Mar 16 2006, 10:38 AM
use videora to convert lor.. i think itunes can convert tooo
Mar 17 2006, 11:17 PM
now i dunt know how to covert movies and copy to the iPod...seems like cannot la....is it the same procedure as per music videos?pening la...
-regards- |
Mar 18 2006, 07:21 PM
i using windox Xp for my com now...after i went for Apple seminar last nite...now still not too sure..i heard that Mac are more friendly with Ipod especialy Like Iphoto,IDVD....Any 1 can HELP here? |
Mar 18 2006, 10:32 PM
can , get moo iPod converter , If you want'em , PM me..I have it , I got it as a Free Gift [2 Licence Keys] , and it allows you to convert from VCD ,DVIX to .mp4 file format...
Yes , Macs are much more better when you have an iPod , like you could sync with contacts , export movies that you created using iDVD/imovie directly to your iPod if you're into 'productivity' then a mac is 50x much more better then a PC ... |
Mar 18 2006, 10:33 PM
can , get moo iPod converter , If you want'em , PM me..I have it , I got it as a Free Gift [2 Licence Keys] , and it allows you to convert from VCD ,DVIX to .mp4 file format...
Yes , Macs are much more better when you have an iPod , like you could sync with contacts , export movies that you created using iDVD/imovie directly to your iPod if you're into 'productivity' then a mac is 50x much more better then a PC ... |
Mar 19 2006, 10:52 AM
wah... i wan the ipod converter!!!
can give me?? |
Mar 20 2006, 04:43 PM
508 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Hey guys do you know any reliable free softwares that rip DVDs for Windows to mp4 or any format that the iPod video can read?
Mar 20 2006, 08:25 PM
Mar 21 2006, 02:46 AM
455 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Birmingham, UK |
So guys, what's the latest IPOD VIDEO 60GB price? the latest one!!
Mar 21 2006, 04:37 PM
Mar 21 2006, 08:00 PM
o.m.g - after cracking my head like an idiot, finally got to use videora iPod converter to convert to music vidoe clips....damn nice wei!!!!
btw, just want to know how long (on the average) to rip a dvd and convert to mp4 enabeling viewing in the iPod? -regards- |
Mar 21 2006, 09:47 PM
3,488 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Petaling Jaya |
depends on your PC spec ... can't say right now... but i estimate, based on your signature
around 3 hours for 30 mins of video |
Mar 22 2006, 06:49 PM
that means have to burn the midnight oil like the exam days la? hahahah
-regards- |
Mar 23 2006, 06:29 PM
hey guys..any way that i can get rid of scrtaches on the matel back of my ipod video?sigh~~my iskin is not here yet~
Mar 28 2006, 07:06 PM
hi,
anyone noe whre i can find an av cable for ipod 5g? to view video thru tv.. ive tried a generic brand..but cannot function with ipod. oso tried creative one for zen vision, oso when i go to applecenter midvalley no stock |
Mar 29 2006, 12:55 AM
Oxigen,can give me direction how to done this? |
Mar 29 2006, 03:21 AM
182 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(benQue @ Mar 28 2006, 07:06 PM) hi, Act u don't need the special AV cable from apple. Just get a normal RCA - audio cable & you are off to watch some video on yr TV. N below is the complete guide of doing it. very simple n cheap anyone noe whre i can find an av cable for ipod 5g? to view video thru tv.. ive tried a generic brand..but cannot function with ipod. oso tried creative one for zen vision, oso when i go to applecenter midvalley no stock http://www.macdevcenter.com/pub/a/mac/2005...video-ipod.html hope this help This post has been edited by rhesusv: Mar 29 2006, 03:23 AM |
Mar 29 2006, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(rhesusv @ Mar 29 2006, 03:21 AM) Act u don't need the special AV cable from apple. Just get a normal RCA - audio cable & you are off to watch some video on yr TV. N below is the complete guide of doing it. very simple n cheap cheh..no wonder cannot play back. http://www.macdevcenter.com/pub/a/mac/2005...video-ipod.html hope this help apple switch all the colours! |
Mar 30 2006, 12:11 AM
Folks check out the latest iPod updater 1.1.1 which provides the ability to set a personal maximum volume limit on the fifth-generation iPod and iPod nano. And some bug fixes...?
http://www.apple.com/ipod/download/ |
Mar 30 2006, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(Futura @ Mar 30 2006, 12:11 AM) Folks check out the latest iPod updater 1.1.1 which provides the ability to set a personal maximum volume limit on the fifth-generation iPod and iPod nano. And some bug fixes...? hmm..http://www.apple.com/ipod/download/ anyone have problem downloading the updater? |
Mar 30 2006, 10:04 PM
downloading now...dun seems to have any problem...
Mar 30 2006, 11:14 PM
Great update. Deals with the video issue that started from the last update. But am still not satisfied of the "hold menu button" function.
Mar 31 2006, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(Brasco @ Mar 30 2006, 11:14 PM) Great update. Deals with the video issue that started from the last update. But am still not satisfied of the "hold menu button" function. what video issue was in the v1.1 update? mind to enlighten me? hhehe thanks.i'm using v1.1 software. dloaded v1.1.1 but i have not installed it yet. |
Mar 31 2006, 07:02 PM
Some videos, after pausing then resumed, will not have any audio. It also occurs when you're seeking.
Mar 31 2006, 08:57 PM
I tried
It was zappier....Made my iPod a little bit faster..Other then that , there is nothing much I could say about it |
Mar 31 2006, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(Futura @ Mar 30 2006, 12:11 AM) Folks check out the latest iPod updater 1.1.1 which provides the ability to set a personal maximum volume limit on the fifth-generation iPod and iPod nano. And some bug fixes...? ability to set personal max volume?http://www.apple.com/ipod/download/ how to do that? |
Mar 31 2006, 11:16 PM
Apr 1 2006, 02:36 AM
oooh... new update... erm.. got to go get it..
Apr 3 2006, 10:47 AM
534 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Hi Guys, I got my iPod 30G 2 weeks ago but only got time to play with it yesterday. Here's the problem, I charged the thing for 8 hours the 1st time (using 1.1 USB). I off Backlight Timer, EQ, Clicker to test the battery and only got like 6-7 hours of music playback I've called the salesman and he said that they need 5-10 working days if I were to claim warranty psssh...
My questions are: - 1) Anyone facing the same battery problem? 2) My total disk space is only 26.7G, how bout yours? Just curious... 3) I'm using Videora, what's the best setting for converting movies I hope you guys/gals can help me out, thank you |
Apr 4 2006, 08:41 PM
1,142 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: Puchong |
OK guys, this is my second hand ipod video.
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Apr 4 2006, 09:37 PM
1,018 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Malaysia |
wow nice ipod video.
Apr 4 2006, 09:38 PM
Thanks to the first owner that took good care of it.
Apr 4 2006, 09:51 PM
whrre did u bought it?
the leather case looks good man~! |
Apr 4 2006, 09:56 PM
bought it from a forummer in garage sales.
Apr 5 2006, 11:01 AM
Wow he sure took good care of it.Congratulations,you're now an owner of the wonderful iPod video!
Apr 5 2006, 11:19 AM
Thanks blackhart
Apr 5 2006, 05:31 PM
i just installed a layer or screen and body protector for my iPod and it looks good as new
on ly problem is the scratches on the steel part and a small tiny bubble at the top of the screen |
Apr 5 2006, 09:22 PM
erm... i suggest to reinstall it if u are using martin field..
if not.. u can get some iskin from me.. hehehe... BEST protection ever.. mine has been on and neva took it off.. kakakak |
Apr 9 2006, 06:01 PM
huhu... geejun promoting his stuff... for those who havent got any skin yet.. buy it before your ipod get un-virgin-ed ^^
Apr 10 2006, 01:24 AM
kekeke..
un-virgin-ed.. nice one wahahah |
Apr 10 2006, 11:54 AM
I've tried putting on the screen protector,its very frustrating because it is seemingly impossible to perfectly stick it without air bubbles getting caught in it.I threw it away because some dirt got stuck on it.Anybody knows a way to perfectly apply the screen protector?
Apr 10 2006, 12:51 PM
809 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
erm.. use a credit card to apply it?
Apr 10 2006, 11:38 PM
Credit card?Then it'll be even more difficult to fully cover the screen precisely...
Apr 11 2006, 02:05 AM
u put the protector sticky-side up on a flat table.. then mate ur ipod face to that protector. this way u can place it easier horizontally and vertically.if got air bubble somewhere in it, pull out both side of the protector while the middle still stick with the ipod (to make sure the position still precise). use credit card or to squeeze the bubble out, from middle to the side. i do it that way.. hope this will help
Apr 11 2006, 08:26 PM
74 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
excuse my ignorance... may i know the latest price for the iPod Video 30GB?
Apr 17 2006, 11:13 AM
depends where are you getting it, it's currently selling about RM1499 in Malaysia and in singapore, i think you can get it at about RM1200...
Apr 17 2006, 12:38 PM
try getting it at bluetin.com.
hear the price quite cheap coz directly import from sg. |
Apr 19 2006, 03:15 PM
having a long time never been here......few questions from me...
if i defrag the hdd of my ipod using 'executive software disckeeper'.....it'll cause side effect to my ipod or the ipod hdd or not? and...how come my ipod cannot display chinese word....the chinese word can be displayed in the playlist but when the song is being played.....all the chinese word become 'japaneese word'....anyone know why? |
Apr 20 2006, 03:39 PM
nobody can reply me?
Apr 21 2006, 09:27 AM
i think probably it has somthing to do with the version of itunes you install?
i had the same problem previously..upgraded my itunes to 6.04...chinese words can be displayed without any problems btw...thanks to gee jun...iskin realliy rocks...and my ipod looks like a ninja now.. |
Apr 23 2006, 10:58 PM
wannna ask u guys...
how come some of the video playlist in my ipod missing...they were showed in itunes...but they doesn't appear in my ipod..... |
Apr 23 2006, 11:57 PM
erm..
u sure it is in ur ipod? |
Apr 24 2006, 03:47 PM
yes.....only few playlist dissapear....anybody faced this b4?
Apr 26 2006, 06:10 PM
gee jun ar..u plan to bring in anything that can get rid of the small scratches on the metal surface on my ipod ar??
Apr 27 2006, 03:38 PM
19 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(ANGELING @ Apr 24 2006, 03:47 PM) I hav convert sum drama and add into iTues, set the Movie Kind to TV Show. After sync I cant found thoose movies in iPod under Videos, but if u check from Music 1 by 1, u can found thoose movies. And under Videos option onli hav Videos, Movies, Music Videos and Video Podcsts, no TV Show. I guess TV Show option will show if there is any TV Show u purchase from Music Store. I cant confirm this, coz I dun hav a account to purchase any TV Show from Music Store. |
Apr 27 2006, 04:36 PM
for me, i put my videos in a normal playlist and synch as usual. on the ipod, the playlist will be put under videos automatically
Apr 27 2006, 07:40 PM
okok..problem solved....thanks..
This post has been edited by ANGELING: Apr 28 2006, 02:28 PM |
May 9 2006, 02:25 PM
249 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Anyone here wants to sell their Ipod video? Kindly pm me..thanks
May 9 2006, 09:39 PM
627 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Terengganu |
between ipod 30GB and 60GB which one is better except its capacity
May 10 2006, 12:25 AM
May 10 2006, 10:03 AM
My ipod 30GB sux, only got 8hrs of battery life
May 10 2006, 11:34 AM
use it for a few days..
itll increase |
May 10 2006, 05:11 PM
May 11 2006, 09:54 PM
May 11 2006, 10:35 PM
May 12 2006, 12:59 AM
so, is the battery performance is according to what it is claimed by Ipod? thanks...
May 12 2006, 08:20 PM
2,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pumpkinland |
Damn....i'm charging my newly acquired IPOD....3 hours to go...
May 12 2006, 08:26 PM
May 12 2006, 08:58 PM
Sometimes the battery life is flat..It depends , if you pause , play , rewind and skip songs , you would decrease its battery life
May 12 2006, 09:03 PM
what is the different of ipod from the US store (directly from US) and malaysian? the plug?
May 12 2006, 11:46 PM
May 12 2006, 11:55 PM
198 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
anybody know about ipod photo 60GB price ar??
May 13 2006, 12:13 AM
RM 1,999 but not sure whether it carries rebate or not.
May 13 2006, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(sankai80 @ May 13 2006, 12:13 AM) Pay higher for bigger capacity and thicker hard drive...60GB is thicker than 30GB ones.Steve Job is so smart that when this video iPod was announced, he showed only 30gig iPod instead of 60gig ones...cos 30gigs thinner |
May 13 2006, 11:06 AM
3,152 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Not tat thick i think. Just alittle bit thicked than 30gb , overall still consider slim
May 13 2006, 01:03 PM
thicker and heavier
May 13 2006, 03:23 PM
May 13 2006, 08:26 PM
So sad I have to return my Ipod Video back to the shop after less than 24 hours....the unit is burned!
This post has been edited by sankai80: May 13 2006, 08:46 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
May 13 2006, 10:59 PM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
whoa....how the hell did that happeN/
May 14 2006, 07:41 PM
May 14 2006, 11:14 PM
does the ipod video has 14hours normal playback for 30GB capacity and 20horus normal playback for 60GB capacity?
May 14 2006, 11:15 PM
May 15 2006, 01:23 AM
710 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In the backyard. Up to no good! |
Hie just want to ask something. I got a 30gb ipod video. Using grado sr60
but i can't get that 14hrs music playback as the unit claims. Actually i counted what i really get was only like 6 hours. :shocked: Can anyone enlighten me? Thanks guys. |
May 15 2006, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(chanti-sama @ May 15 2006, 01:23 AM) Hie just want to ask something. I got a 30gb ipod video. Using grado sr60 same case as mine but i can't get that 14hrs music playback as the unit claims. Actually i counted what i really get was only like 6 hours. :shocked: Can anyone enlighten me? Thanks guys. |
May 15 2006, 02:07 PM
251 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(chanti-sama @ May 15 2006, 04:23 AM) Hie just want to ask something. I got a 30gb ipod video. Using grado sr60 Have a read: http://www.apple.com/batteries/ipods.htmlbut i can't get that 14hrs music playback as the unit claims. Actually i counted what i really get was only like 6 hours. :shocked: Can anyone enlighten me? Thanks guys. and this: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=61475 |
May 15 2006, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(aaronchin @ May 15 2006, 02:07 PM) Have a read: http://www.apple.com/batteries/ipods.html I've done 3 observations with those steps. the only difference is the mp3 whereand this: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=61475 only 4 songs i had are at 160 and 2 songs at 192. still the difference is there. something like 5 hours of difference. And it's a 2 week old ipod too |
May 15 2006, 03:43 PM
ive got 14 hours running a 4 minute song on repeat (akon lonely)
so mines ok |
May 15 2006, 03:55 PM
Has anyone tried filling ipod thier ipod video and see the OS become jerky or not?
May 15 2006, 04:26 PM
May 15 2006, 07:05 PM
May 15 2006, 07:14 PM
May 15 2006, 07:51 PM
May 15 2006, 09:18 PM
How do u know wat time ur ipod battery runs out?
May 15 2006, 09:43 PM
yOU WOULD SEE it would not charge correctly...While charging , it might show no battery power remains , and it would continue to charge.....Thats a sign..that the battery is going to die !
May 16 2006, 09:18 PM
14 hours is actually u switch it on with average sound volume n leave it to play on ur whole library
it should hav tht time life dun play ard too much wit the screen n etc... put the lcd to sleep after 1 sec to save batt |
May 17 2006, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(geejun2 @ May 16 2006, 09:18 PM) 14 hours is actually u switch it on with average sound volume n leave it to play on ur whole library "put the lcd to sleep after 1 sec to save batt " ---> how to do this, may i ask u all?it should hav tht time life dun play ard too much wit the screen n etc... put the lcd to sleep after 1 sec to save batt |
May 17 2006, 03:17 PM
eh nvm la, found it ady
May 17 2006, 09:59 PM
49 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
i would like to buy an ipod video,just wondering can i make payment via creadit card?
May 17 2006, 11:27 PM
yes i think credit card payment is ok.
May 18 2006, 03:28 PM
May 18 2006, 11:10 PM
i'm using my iPod video 30gb with ety er6i. getting at least 8 hours playback different types of quality
May 19 2006, 11:15 PM
66 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
video 60gig...
and yah, my headphones rosak, i bought new headphones(sony headphones...-__-), good idea? |
May 19 2006, 11:49 PM
sony ex71/ex81 would be the best choice if ur budget is under RM200
May 20 2006, 04:34 PM
May 20 2006, 07:08 PM
May 20 2006, 09:57 PM
So happy within 1 week I got back a replacement for my DOA ipod. Well, it really beyond my expectation that they could get back to me so soon. Good service from Apple Malaysia and the shop that sold it to me. If only others could learn...
May 22 2006, 09:50 PM
May 22 2006, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(Mike3300 @ May 22 2006, 09:50 PM) yes, they are the same . Strongly recommend those who dont wanna spend much on earphones . This ipod earphones are very satisfacting also . Good quality , if u add ibuds /// fuyooagain i'm saying this " its like putting a pair of wings on a roaring tiger " |
May 24 2006, 08:35 PM
i found a website http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2006-06DSale3152994.htm the ipod 60 Gb not more than rm1500!!! is it worth the risk, or safer to buy in genuine Apple store.
May 24 2006, 09:55 PM
if u want to play safe , RM 1999 in msia apple centre , if u want cheap , gamble lo
If this trade is successful , u saved RM 500 there..hoho.. All the best BRother!! |
May 25 2006, 11:00 PM
wow now one of the member also selling rm1600+ for 60 GB. nice...i wonder y those apple shop so "extra" expensive
May 26 2006, 02:49 AM
QUOTE(nelson_hew @ May 25 2006, 11:00 PM) wow now one of the member also selling rm1600+ for 60 GB. nice...i wonder y those apple shop so "extra" expensive tax lerr lelong is safe as long u do cod. i bought there oso ipod 30gb 1100$/ just make sure ur ipod is still unopened. warranty wise shuld be no prob as it is world wide warranty. why dun u try bluetin.com/ |
May 30 2006, 01:52 AM
23 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
here's the pice
iPod 30GB 1,232 iPod 60GB 1,635 |
May 31 2006, 12:26 AM
damn..
my ipod suddenly cannot respond. send it to apple midvalley. but they charged for it!!! damn gallant! |
May 31 2006, 10:38 AM
Jun 1 2006, 12:20 AM
SO far only midvalley , 1U , Ikano got apple centre? I'm thinking of sending back my ipod video for service .
Lowyat got or not |
Jun 4 2006, 04:56 PM
bro...need to ask...seems ike i can' transfer my videos into my ipod...
i've converted all my videos into ipod requirement,and i've put it inside my library...but when i drag it into he ipod...i's happened nothing...i've checked inside the my ipod(through itunes) there is nothing... anyway i just bought the ipod today and and i didn't install te itunes from the cd given...i download the latest versions...(does it have any effects,for using the latest version 6.0.4.2) thanks... |
Jun 4 2006, 06:08 PM
updated : i've uninstalled the itunes..and reinstalled with the itunes given in side the ipod package...but the result is zero...
actually i can play the video files using the itunes...but wheni drag into the ipod icon, it's mean nothing...and there is no such warning(error) message.. and again when i checked inside the ipod...there is no new video... please help me guys... |
Jun 4 2006, 11:38 PM
u've probably disable the auto update video. Check the settings of ur ipod in itunes, and try enable the settings of the video..
HOpe it workds |
Jun 5 2006, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(david890701 @ Jun 4 2006, 11:38 PM) u've probably disable the auto update video. Check the settings of ur ipod in itunes, and try enable the settings of the video.. yeah i disable it...HOpe it workds but then...if enable those function..it means everytime i connect the ipod into the pc...it'll syncrhonize each other rite....???am i true...??? seems like not all kind of video could be transfer to the itunes...(even it's converted already...) yet....even after possible to put in itunes library...some video can't get into the ipod...is it because of the ipod or the files itself...???or maybe something wrong with the converter??? cause i have 1 video files which after converted with two different converter still can't go in to the ipod...i used videora and total video converter btw... |
Jun 5 2006, 12:35 AM
4,424 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Singapore |
Anyone has any idea what time the Apple Centre at MV or 1U opens tomorrow?
Jun 5 2006, 11:31 AM
hmms, yes i do experience some clip tat cant be synced to ipod . Maybe becoz the file is corrupted during the convertion .
Well , u have to sync everytime u connect loh , but wat i did was , i disable the "Open itunes evrytime connected " , and i eject it in My Computer by right clicking it and select Eject . Hope it helps |
Jun 6 2006, 09:16 PM
3,952 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Sector 1921B, Delta Quadrant |
Jun 6 2006, 09:28 PM
701 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
DAMN DAMN DAMN.
i just got mine 5 hours ago from hong kong. if i've seen this post before that i would have gotten the u2 version zzzzzzzz. previous owner of my Ispoiled 4G U2 special edition =) |
Jun 6 2006, 09:31 PM
3,952 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Sector 1921B, Delta Quadrant |
QUOTE(Voonz @ Jun 6 2006, 09:28 PM) DAMN DAMN DAMN. welp, it was a quiet release, no rumors of such.... Apple caught us off-guard again.... i just got mine 5 hours ago from hong kong. if i've seen this post before that i would have gotten the u2 version zzzzzzzz. previous owner of my Ispoiled 4G U2 special edition =) |
Jun 6 2006, 11:30 PM
But i dont quite like the design though. Red wheel makes it looks weird i would say .
I still stick to my old Ipod Video 5G . Maybe i'm not U2 fans , it would be a diffrent story if they release ipod Video 30GB Risako Edition. Hahaha |
Jun 6 2006, 11:51 PM
tomorow ill be getting a new ipod since the ipod centre edi confirm my old 5G is unrepairedable.
hwwaa r.i.p. my white ipod. maybe tmr getting a black one |
Jun 7 2006, 12:13 AM
If got a Rolling Stones edition I'll consider buying
Jun 7 2006, 01:12 AM
Jun 7 2006, 01:15 AM
Jun 7 2006, 01:28 AM
Jun 7 2006, 01:55 AM
where you send yours?
last time normally i went to ikano's apple, last time ive edi changed my earbud coz left side not working ( i bashed it against a wall, accident ler change it for free. this time went to gallant in midvalley, i didnt noe they charge 20$ for ipod s & h. |
Jun 7 2006, 02:28 AM
hey all, anyone knows where i can get a ipod line out to my headamp? or perhaps a shorter cable for it, the one i had is way too long to my liking....
Jun 7 2006, 04:16 AM
90 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Hello Guys, is the ipod video suppose to have the built in speaker for the clicker? cause mine doesn't produce any sound at all from it. my old 4G has it, so i'm wondering if the built in speaker has been taken for the ipod video. if it's untrue then i'll have to send it back to apple already =.=
and 1 more thing, is there any good photo and video managers out there for ipod video? itunes sux at syncing photos, i can't choose which to ipload in and which to not, only can be choosen by folders. |
Jun 7 2006, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(benQue @ Jun 7 2006, 01:55 AM) where you send yours? I sent it to Gallant, cause it was originally bought there they didnt charge melast time normally i went to ikano's apple, last time ive edi changed my earbud coz left side not working ( i bashed it against a wall, accident ler change it for free. this time went to gallant in midvalley, i didnt noe they charge 20$ for ipod s & h. Yeah i see on the receipt they gave me that they charge RM20 for non-Gallant customers QUOTE(ajkl @ Jun 7 2006, 04:16 AM) Hello Guys, is the ipod video suppose to have the built in speaker for the clicker? cause mine doesn't produce any sound at all from it. my old 4G has it, so i'm wondering if the built in speaker has been taken for the ipod video. if it's untrue then i'll have to send it back to apple already =.= Did u check the Settings whether its turned on? |
Jun 7 2006, 03:40 PM
701 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Ofcourse i've checked it.
clicker on soundcheck on still no avail. seems lik ei'm gonna get my 3rd ipod soon =/ edit: ajkl ere' forgot to log my bro's account off This post has been edited by Voonz: Jun 7 2006, 03:40 PM |
| Change to: | 0.1261sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:30 AM |