123 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

ronnie
post Nov 1 2011, 10:50 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(base7632 @ Nov 1 2011, 10:35 AM)
Standard chartered e-saver account:

What is the formula for calculating interest ?
ADB= Total day end balance / Days account opened in that month

Interest for the month = ADB*5%*(Days account opened in that month)/365

DAys account opened in that month = 8

I received an interest today Nov 1  of RM 53.47, appreciate if any insider could tell me if my formula is correct?

I can't seem to get what they are getting.
The interest of RM53.47 is part of the normal eSaver interest. Refer to table above.
The 5% portion is NOT IN YET
base7632
post Nov 1 2011, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 1 2011, 10:50 AM)
The interest of RM53.47 is part of the normal eSaver interest. Refer to table above.
The 5% portion is NOT IN YET
Thanks Ronnie! : )
lkcheng
post Nov 1 2011, 12:29 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 1 2011, 09:00 AM)
This is only the normal eSaver month-end interest... wait a few more days for the 4.4% portion
Thanks for the explanation. I though I kena tipu already also.

Made a top up on 31 Oct, let see if I got the interest for the top up amount as well.
soul2soul
post Nov 1 2011, 04:32 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Some countries are easing monetary policies... do you think BNM will decrease FD rates again?

I think I better lock in for 6 months or 1 year...
guanteik
post Nov 2 2011, 07:15 AM

2,656 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Nov 1 2011, 04:32 PM)
Some countries are easing monetary policies... do you think BNM will decrease FD rates again?

I think I better lock in for 6 months or 1 year...
Answer is either YES or NO, because BNM is really unpredictable.
soul2soul
post Nov 3 2011, 08:57 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

maybank has some promotion.

Minimum is 20K .. 4 months deposit 3.3325% pa effective rate. Check the local maybank branch to confirm.

1st and 2nd month - 3.1%
3rd month - 3.25%
4th month - 3.88%

Effective rate is 3.3325%

Please walk into your nearest Maybank branch to ask for more details.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Nov 3 2011, 09:56 AM
wu ming
post Nov 3 2011, 09:28 AM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(nomen @ Oct 31 2011, 01:50 AM)
According to the T&C interest payments will be calculated at the end of each calendar month and credited into the Promotion Account on the third working day of the next calendar month.
3rd working day already. Nothing happens.
base7632
post Nov 3 2011, 10:28 AM

QUOTE(wu ming @ Nov 3 2011, 09:28 AM)
3rd working day already. Nothing happens.
Can't find any indication on when it will come in exactly though.
lkcheng
post Nov 3 2011, 02:16 PM

589 posts

SCB is a reputed bank. I'm sure they will give the interest soon. Anyway, they have a new promotion for online bill payment. 20% cash back cap at RM100. Nice way to earn extra.
ronnie
post Nov 3 2011, 02:22 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Official T&C states 3rd working day.
I will call SCB if my promo interest doesn't appear on 4th Nov ;-)
wu ming
post Nov 3 2011, 07:41 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(lkcheng @ Nov 3 2011, 02:16 PM)
SCB is a reputed bank. I'm sure they will give the interest soon. Anyway, they have a new promotion for online bill payment. 20% cash back cap at RM100. Nice way to earn extra.
Limited to first 20,000 customer only wor.
ronnie
post Nov 3 2011, 11:00 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Nov 3 2011, 07:41 PM)
Limited to first 20,000 customer only wor.
SCB 5% FD rate is not limited to 20000 Customers lah... don't confuse

Go read the T&C : http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...rpromo/tnc.html
wu ming
post Nov 3 2011, 11:24 PM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 3 2011, 11:00 PM)
SCB 5% FD rate is not limited to 20000 Customers lah... don't confuse

Go read the T&C : http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...rpromo/tnc.html
Hi Ronnie. I was talking about the promotion for SCB online bill payment.
Anyways, let's wait for tomorrow 5%.
ronnie
post Nov 3 2011, 11:36 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Nov 3 2011, 11:24 PM)
Hi Ronnie. I was talking about the promotion for SCB online bill payment.
Anyways, let's wait for tomorrow 5%.
Aren't you abit OFF-topic !!! We are in Fixed Deposit thread lah doh.gif doh.gif
wu ming
post Nov 4 2011, 10:07 AM

1,143 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 3 2011, 11:36 PM)
Aren't you abit OFF-topic !!! We are in Fixed Deposit thread lah doh.gif doh.gif
Hahaha. Sorry Ronnie. I was replying to a poster message here.
By the way, the 4.4% portion is in. biggrin.gif
ascend
post Nov 4 2011, 10:10 AM

245 posts

SCB 5% bonus interest for esaver/supersalary has already been credited. Seems like they did a wrong calculation (more interest than i expected). standard supersalary interest=1.5% plus bonus 3.5%.

This post has been edited by ascend: Nov 4 2011, 10:15 AM
thom_chai
post Nov 4 2011, 10:17 AM

1,830 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Nov 4 2011, 10:07 AM)
Hahaha. Sorry Ronnie. I was replying to a poster message here.
By the way, the 4.4% portion is in. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(ascend @ Nov 4 2011, 10:10 AM)
SCB 5% bonus interest for esaver/supersalary has already been credited. Seems like they did a wrong calculation (more interest than i expected).
I have the SCB Supersalary 1.5% credited to my acc earlier. But now i only get around 1.29% bonus interest instead of the remaining 3.5%. Anyone here experiencing the same thing?
lkcheng
post Nov 4 2011, 10:34 AM

589 posts

Checked my eSaver account and got full interest credited.
ronnie
post Nov 4 2011, 10:52 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

My eSaver account shows the "Bonus Interest - October".
Correct calculation of 0.6% + 4.4% to yield 5%

Those with SuperSalary may need to call SCB CS to clarify the discrepancy. Possibly is the calculation of ADB
gchowyh
post Nov 4 2011, 12:01 PM

860 posts

QUOTE(thom_chai @ Nov 4 2011, 10:17 AM)
I have the SCB Supersalary 1.5% credited to my acc earlier. But now i only get around 1.29% bonus interest instead of the remaining 3.5%. Anyone here experiencing the same thing?
Not me, I am using supersalary but got the remaining 3.5% in yesterday.
Based on my own calculation also, seems like is more than 5%.

123 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:52 AM