12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

TSGen-X
post Mar 29 2012, 06:54 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(justanovice @ Mar 28 2012, 02:15 PM)
3.638 is without considering the 10% that is locked for 3 months.
I've done a quick calc, assuming no interest for the 10% from your FD amount for the first 3 months, and for the final 9 months the 10% put into a 9 month FD of 3.2% pa, the effective rate is around 3.526%

Note: no guarantee my formula's correct. To my best effort.

In this case, why dont one go for a 1 time full fd with rate better than 3.6% pa?
Thanks Bro for the cal. Just as I suspected, lower than Affin's 3.6%

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Mar 28 2012, 11:15 PM)
the highest of all is still 4.7% at mbs, 5 years, 6 monthly int.  that is No. 1
2nd is still BR., rest rank lowere down my list.
fluctuate so what, it consistently gave me 4.0-4.6% last few years, even if at low(4.0), it is still higher than most others.
Thanks for confirming that Bank Rakyat's interest/dividend fluctuates. The interest is paid monthly?

By the way, for the 5 year FD with MBSB interest is paid half yearly or yearly?
TSGen-X
post Mar 31 2012, 01:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(justanovice @ Mar 29 2012, 01:55 PM)
Looking for FD for 3/6 months. Guess uob is the better one (ocbc fd maturing so cannot put into ocbc as fresh funds)
Yah, based on current promotion (exclude Islamic promos) looks like I also have to transfer my funds to UOB too next week with OCBC 5% 3 months (hopefully) maturing.

I did transfer some funds again to OCBC GIA-I 4% last week (now headache got to maintain minimum funds in OCBC PB account too).

Updated my blog on current FD promos by HLB and RHB, next week Monday will update again (1st post too) as I am sure OCBC will have new promo. For now still showing promo by Public Bank and OCBC valid till 31 March 2012 (for info and comparison purposes).

Malaysia Banks Fixed Deposit Promotion April 2012

TSGen-X
post Apr 2 2012, 05:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Latest rates by OCBC - as usual minimum RM10K fresh fund.

3 Months - 3.5%
6 Months - 3.6%

Too bad no longer term but it is better that UOB by 0.1% smile.gif

Alliance Bank 3.6% for 3 months ended last month and currently no new promo.

Updated my blog and first post too. To read my comments on current promos please link to read more at my blog.

Malaysia Banks Fixed Deposit Promotion April 2012

** Edited**
Too busy recently with RTKXI, just read The Star and saw CIMB Ad for their Preferred Customers.

Average 3.56% but I got no idea if need to deposit funds into CASA to be eligible for the promo.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 2 2012, 08:30 PM
TSGen-X
post Apr 5 2012, 05:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 5 2012, 04:37 PM)
6 months =3.65% Promotion end June. Renewed my earlier 3 mths FD at 3.6% which was matured.
Bro, I blur, 3.65% for 6 months which bank?
TSGen-X
post Apr 5 2012, 08:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(nomen @ Apr 5 2012, 07:00 PM)
Bro Gen, the OCBC FD promo valid from 1 April 2012 until 30 June 2012

3-month for 3.5% p.a.
6-month for 3.65% p.a.

My FD matured today so I closed account and would be going back on Monday for the 6-month with the same fund. tongue.gif
Noted. Thanks Bro.

QUOTE(Dino168 @ Apr 5 2012, 07:49 PM)
Please advise where did you get this info?   Can't find it on OCBC webpage.   
click here for OCBC Promo T&C

or click below link to my blog, just updated it.

Latest Fixed Deposit Promotion April 2012

Talking about AUD FD, got me interested as my daughter is expected to go downunder for her B.Sc. OCBC offering 8.67% for 1 month and their rate for 6 months at 4.58% not too bad. But, who knows what will the exchange rate be down the road.

Was looking at Melbourne banks, the term deposit rates really varies between banks. Maybe I will go do some research and post an article on AUD Term Deposit Rates. Can someone please give a the list of banks in Melbourne that have many ATM around besides NAB, Commonwealth and Bank of Melbourne.

Earlier it was mentioned 6.5% for BankWest but max AUD500 deposit a month.

QUOTE(justanovice @ Apr 5 2012, 08:08 PM)
Is this promo for private banking / fd with savings acct only?
For OCBC, it is a Fixed Deposit Promo and minimum deposit RM10K

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 5 2012, 08:37 PM
TSGen-X
post Apr 5 2012, 11:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Apr 5 2012, 10:50 PM)
If I am not mistaken all foreign currency FD in Malaysia will not give you the foreign currency when matured. You hualave to convert it into RM. I have foreign currency FD in Citi and Public Bank. Have to monitor the exchange rate and convert it back into RM.

Dual Currency investment allowed you to take the foreign currency.
Like that ar. I must go check it out tomorrow.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 5 2012, 10:47 PM)
Bro, may i suggest that you open a new thread for this foreign currency fixed deposit ? It'd be easier for people to look for information on this foreign currency fixed deposit if it has a thread of its own. One can also post and compare the interest rates for various foreign currencies offered by banks outside of Malaysia. I'm interested in this foreign currency fixed deposit too and if it garners a lot of attention, then we can consider to pin it in the future.

In the meantime, you may want to check out ICICI Bank in Singapore too. Even their USD FD yields the kind of interest rate that is unmatched by any other bank in this region or USA    tongue.gif
Based on what gsc mentioned, if have to convert back to RM and cannot renew in AUD, then no point lah I start new thread.

You are right, I see I see clearly that ICICI US FD rates die die also no one can match it.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 5 2012, 11:47 PM
TSGen-X
post Apr 6 2012, 01:18 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 6 2012, 12:18 AM)
Eventually you intend to remit the money to Australia for your daughter to use right ? Then i believe you can open a foreign currency account in either Malaysia or Singapore, then debit the money directly from your AUD account and remit it to Australia. I know this is possible in Singapore. Not too sure about Malaysia but i read a while ago that you can do the same too in Malaysia. Once your foreign currency FD matures and you do not intend to renew it, you can transfer it to your foreign currency account (if you have any) in the same bank.
That's what I was thinking but gsc mentioned need to convert back to RM upon maturity. I was thinking of depositing into OCBC promo and earn 8.67% for a month and then continue with their Foreign Currency Time Deposit (NOT Dual Currecny Account). I am going to OCBC to find out more and then report here. And also, I guess I got to have an Australia account too first before I can remit. That's another problem right now.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 6 2012, 01:19 AM
TSGen-X
post Apr 6 2012, 05:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 6 2012, 10:45 AM)
For foreign currency FD, it can be renewed indefinitely or stay in foreign currency current account which can be remitted if one wish to, just cannot withdraw in hard cash form.
Thank you Sir for clarifying it.

QUOTE(stchan @ Apr 6 2012, 01:38 PM)
The big 4 banks in Australia are Commonwealth, NAB, ANZ and Westpac. So presumably they have the most branches and ATM.
HSBC is also a good choice as it allows you to use Westpac's ATM free of charge.
If you are HSBC Premier customer even better - free instantaneous global transfer.

At the moment, some savings accounts in Australia is offering higher interest rates than FD. But the downside is that the savings interest rates can be revised downwards any time.
HSBC Serious Saver: 5.95% for first 4 months, 4.75% after that.
ANZ Progress Saver: 5.76% with conditions (no withdrawal and must increase deposit by $10 a month)
CBA GoalSaver: 5.65% with conditions (one withdrawal a month but must increase deposit by $200 a month)
Thank you very much for the feedback. I just read the above after I prepared my table on Australia Interest Rates. Must go check out ANZ and CBA the next time I update my blog.

What I noted while gathering info for my article is that OCBC Foreign Currency Time Deposit rate can change daily! I noted that the rate for AUD 6 months increased today compared to yesterday.

As for Australia Term Deposit interest rates, boy, lagi complicated, each bank have different rates for different deposit amount. Anyway, those of you who are interested, click below link to read my latest article where I have tables for few Australia Banks Interest Rates and also OCBC, RHB and UOB AUD Time Deposit. You can skip the intro and just look for the tables, hahaha

Australia Education, Term Deposit, Savings Account and Credit Card Interest Rates

Oh, you guys must check out Bankwest mentioned by Beachkid earlier. They are offering 10% for kid's account!!!

Anyway for OCBC Promo, the extra 5% interest for 1 month Foreign Currency Time Deposit is good until 30 June. I might just try it out soon.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 6 2012, 05:46 PM
TSGen-X
post Apr 7 2012, 07:27 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 7 2012, 12:17 AM)
Bro, i just read your blog and you mentioned about the interest earned from term deposit in Australia is taxable. Anyway, just to inform you that you can actually deposit your money in Citibank Australia through Citibank IPB Singapore. The catch is you must be a Citibank IPB Singapore Citigold Private Client customer (maintain a deposit of no less than USD1 Million at all times). I understand that the interest earned would not be taxable if you do it this way    biggrin.gif
Bro, you should go set up a financial house and manage other people funds with your knowledge and expertise tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Apr 9 2012, 10:35 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Apr 9 2012, 03:44 PM)
gen-x i would suggest u go 2 ambank as they hav a getset account which could open an education acount in m'sia thru anz as their partner n if u need more info let me know tongue.gif
thank you for the offer Bro.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 9 2012, 06:38 PM)
HSBC offers a similar fee free service through its global transfer portal to its Premier and Private Banking customers as well with a daily limit of up to USD100,000 (or its currency equivalent).
By the way, OCBC offers a similar service as well in collaboration with ANZ AU    smile.gif
Yah, I spoke to a HSBC RM, she told me can help me set up account in Australia. Anyway, I have decided to fly to Australia next month to go check out the Universities there.

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Apr 9 2012, 07:01 PM)
Losing a bit of value is better than losing all right?
Those that have money and not willing to take risk are happy with FD biggrin.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 9 2012, 09:41 PM)
Is that charges involved? Does it worth for the interest difference of <0.5% and also to cover the charges incurred for transfer if any?
Bank it into your current account and your cost is RM0.15 or like others mentioned Alliance, OCBC and UOB will write the cheque in your name for FREE.

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 9 2012, 08:14 PM)
Definitely a big NO for me. I'm not fun to moving big pile of cash around.
IF you got a pile of cash,with interest of 0.5%, RM100K earns you RM500. A million ringgit is extra RM5K. For with 1% extra, that's RM1K for every RM100K. And if you have children like me, the last two years is great where we can earn 4.5% and 5% from HLB Junior FD smile.gif And it is TAX FREE.

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 9 2012, 07:53 PM)
That's why various investment vehicles come in - unit trust, saving plan, structured products, FOREX, gold, futures, shares, options, warrants ... endless!
Savings Plan and structured product not necessary will earn you more in the long run. Shares, that is another story. But CASH is still king smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 9 2012, 10:43 PM
TSGen-X
post Apr 13 2012, 01:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Apr 13 2012, 11:06 AM)
smile.gif just checked my FD, it is at an interest rate of 4.15% for 6 mths tenure- OCBC...though i was told it is at 3.65% hmm.gif  wondering if it's more coz I am a staff, but then when i asked earlier, they said the rate is same at 3.65% regardless of staff or not...weird..but in my INB, it shows as 4.15%..
Normally bank staff get extra 1%. If you say 4.15% for 12 months makes sense because OCBC Board rate for 12 months is 3.15%. But their 6 months board rate is 3%, so how you get 4.15% ?

TSGen-X
post Apr 14 2012, 03:06 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 13 2012, 09:08 PM)
Is it true?

Special and lower housing loan rate, yes,
but never heard got 1% extra in FD.
Are you calling me a liar tongue.gif You never heard does not mean it is not true.
TSGen-X
post Apr 16 2012, 01:26 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fdsiao @ Apr 16 2012, 11:02 AM)
Hi all, usually if we deposit a large amount (fresh fund) to FD, we can nego for a better rate.
just roughly how much is the minimum amount? (e.g 1M, 500K or 200K... etc) and what is the better
rate can nego? 0.05%, 0.1% above the normal ones?

understand that different banks may have different bench marks... but any of the sifu here came across this
with the RMs ?
QUOTE(fdsiao @ Apr 16 2012, 11:29 AM)
Hi cherroy, thx for the explanation. am i right to say that,
banks define customers into Tiers wrt their FD amount, and offer different rate for the diff Tiers.
Large amount might not get a better rate, instead, a lower rate can be the result.

if that is the case, an example... say i have RM200k wan to put in FD, it is best for me go around
the banks and ask for the best rate? as i am also not sure which Tier / Band the banks will classify me as
(with the 200k).

thx again for the help.
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 16 2012, 11:10 AM)
You are better off with those FD promotion 3.3, 3.5, 3.6% etc kind of, or like new PB customer special offer etc, which much higher than board rate +0.1%.

The myth of large amount can get higher rate is not necessary must be true, it can be inverse (lower rate), instead higher, depended from time to time, financial market condition, aka liquidity tight or not.

Nowadays, too large sum >Rm1 mil, bank may/can classify customer into Tier 1 which rate may lower than board rate one.
fdsiao, for less than RM500K, don't waste time nego, go play FD musical chair like some of us (me included).

Having said the above, if you have few million with the bank (not necessary per deposit), it depends on you relationship with the Bank Manager/RM (treat them good like take them out for lunch), they can always email/call HQ and request for higher rate (for existing funds) that can at least match Affin's rate. This is true for HLB, OCBC and UOB but it is on a case to case basis. Even Affin Bank Manager can request from HQ higher than their 3.6% 12 months if you depositing 1 million and above.

I have mentioned before for companies, check with OCBC and UOB Commercial Dept and you'll be surprised that they can beat Affin's board rate.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 16 2012, 01:29 PM
TSGen-X
post Apr 16 2012, 11:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fdsiao @ Apr 16 2012, 09:33 PM)
Hi cherroy and Gen-X, thank u very much for the info.
i shall try out HLB, OCBC and UOB for 200k.
Bro, see first page lah, you want 3 and 6 months goto OCBC. You want 12 months go to UOB.
TSGen-X
post Apr 23 2012, 12:13 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 23 2012, 12:03 AM)
Old news!
Ya lah, repeat, these people never so search wan, hahaha
TSGen-X
post Apr 23 2012, 08:31 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

StanChart latest step up FD promo until 6 May 2012. Minimum fresh fund RM50K. Average 4%. Click here to my blog Fixed Deposit Page to see more promos.

TSGen-X
post Apr 23 2012, 05:27 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 23 2012, 02:13 PM)
Looks like I have to take my funds out from Bank Rakyat and move to SCB, losing  5 days interest.
hahaha, go nego with the Assistant Manager and ask him to match SCB offer lah.
TSGen-X
post Apr 23 2012, 08:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 23 2012, 06:29 PM)
Too rush to do that, cash out from Bank Rakyat (free banker's cheque) and JIT to put in SCB FD. All for savings of rm150.
Earn RM150 for few minutes work, do it twice a year and you'll be RM300 richer biggrin.gif
TSGen-X
post Apr 27 2012, 11:50 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Lakk55 @ Apr 27 2012, 11:43 AM)
currently saving with hsbc at 2.75% per month FD @ 50K
should I jump to others..
depends lah, if you need the funds next week why waste time, but if you not going to use the funds for the next 6 months, you'll losing out 1.25% with HSBC instead of going for SCB current promo.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 27 2012, 11:51 AM
TSGen-X
post Apr 27 2012, 04:48 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Apr 27 2012, 03:30 PM)
It's actually the RM200 cash back for the credit card application, they give me RM600 for 3 cards....
Wah, you really maximize the cash back. Anyway, you better go read the terms and conditions and check if you need to spend X amount within certain time frame.

QUOTE(sweetmint @ Apr 27 2012, 04:15 PM)
Hi, would like to ask can i give 2 different banks draft to open a FD account?
Can. Combination of cash and cheque also can.

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0487sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:00 AM