For more FD promotions April to May, please visit my Fixed Deposit Page at my blog.
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.
Apr 27 2012, 06:00 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
For those of you don't want the hassle to go open new account at OCBC our UOB, here is Maybank Fixed Deposit Promo until 16 May 2012. Minimum Fresh fund RM20K for individual. Promo also good if one is not sure if they can tie down their fund for 6 months.
![]() For more FD promotions April to May, please visit my Fixed Deposit Page at my blog. |
Apr 29 2012, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 29 2012, 01:35 PM) The government won't allow the banking system to collapse. There'll be M&A if one bank starts to fall apart or to follow US example by bailing out that particular bank with public fund from tax money. What if the government goes bankrupt? That is what one of our minister predicts.Use tax payer's money to bail out a bank because of poor management? Well, good reason to have Bersih V8.8 and the end of BN for sure. Today's educated rakyat is different from last decade. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 29 2012, 04:23 PM |
Apr 30 2012, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 30 2012, 02:59 PM) That's why we need strict regulation on bank how they can run, how they can leverage themselves, loan guideline etc. You last statement, which i understand where you are coming from. Got no "choice", sounds like you accept (not necessary agree) that the government should bail out the banks (as others here too). And should the government once again pump in money into financial institutions when the same institutions are once again "poorly" (up to your imagination what this means) managed like the one mentioned in this thread offering high interest rates? As banks collapse can have domino effect or systemic effect on the financial system which leave gov no choice but bail out, as if let them fail, it is still public money (bank deposit consist of public money as well) in stake. To add, why should tax payers "repay" those "greedy" people wanting to deposit in those institutions for a little bit more interest (instead with those where their funds are insured under PIDM) in the first place, cherroy, above OT, please delete this post if not appropriate. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 30 2012, 06:51 PM |
May 3 2012, 09:18 PM
UOB Bank Fixed Deposit Rates Promotion May 2012, as usual minimum RM10K Fresh Funds.
1 Month - 3.2% 3 Months Step Up FD - 1st and 2nd Month 3.2% and 3rd Month 4.2%. Average 3.53% (Better than OCBC) 6 Month -3.5% (same as previous month's offer) To see more FD promos, please read 1st post or click here to my Fixed Deposit Page at my blog To see previous promos, read 2nd post of this thread. |
May 4 2012, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(lkcheng @ May 4 2012, 10:42 AM) I'm talking about the offer of deposit in bank of SCB, they now offer up to RM300 as an interest of putting a sum in. Isn't this sound like FD? Bro, do update us more on the T&C besides what mentioned by ronnie and when do you actually get the cash back (or is the cash back the so call 1% for RM30K deposit and you get nothing extra if you deposit more than RM30K?).Added on May 4, 2012, 10:44 am |
May 11 2012, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 10 2012, 04:30 PM) You are seriously need help indeed. Take post #1 as a reference than find out the actual rates with the bank. hahaha, wouldn't it be great if the banks have to refer to post#1 where we set the minimum rates for them to follow.Post # 1 is not a bank. It has no authority whatsoever to overrule or dispute the rates given by the respective banks QUOTE(lkso20 @ May 11 2012, 12:12 AM) i would put as much money as i can into bank rakyat. Its the best rate in the market as per review below So how much have you deposited with Bank Rakyat |
May 11 2012, 09:50 AM
May 13 2012, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(gsc @ May 13 2012, 03:21 PM) care to share what is M2U savers? HL Junior saving account interest 2.9% which is same as their 1 month FD Yah HLB Junior Savings account rate is pretty good. Needed to park my funds for 3 weeks so deposited into my children's HLB Savings Account (interest of 2.9% good for up to RM50K only) where the interest is credited end of each month and we can withdraw once a month without any cost.This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 13 2012, 04:40 PM |
May 13 2012, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(gsc @ May 13 2012, 04:46 PM) but once the kid is 18 yrs old, no more that 1 mth FD interest....it is always good to park the extra cash which is going to be used there to earn the interest....HL bank open till 430 Monday to Thursday which is good... I still have kids below 18 for next few years and hopefully by the time the youngest turns 18, I have grandchildren, hahaha. Yes, grandpa can have joint account with junior and open a Junior FD Account (need some documentation to proof relationship).Yah, once the kid is above 18, the savings account is converted into normal account and earn miserable interest. But, the Junior FD interest rate is locked until maturity if the funds were deposited into Junior FD before the kid turns 18. One of my daughters will be turning 18 this year but her Junior FD will continue to earn 5% interest until 2014 (interest credited monthly into the savings account) where I deposited the money back in October 2010 when they had the 5% promotion And with Ex-EON bank now also HLB Bank, I can walk into any Ex-Eon Bank and withdraw money (no limit) from their savings account too |
May 14 2012, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(gsc @ May 14 2012, 09:29 PM) grandpa joint account with junior?? luckily you father didnt joint account with your children well, actually it should be my father was lucky he took my advice last year and did open a joint account with one of my kid and has been earning 4.5% interest (credited monthly and earning 2.9% if he don't withdraw it) because HLB was not even offering senior citizens that much interest last year.I did sign up junior FD but making wrong assumption that interest will go up....thus signing up for a shorter period QUOTE(skyp @ May 14 2012, 10:46 PM) Really? Alliance bank is offering FREE gifts for FD currently but there is no 5% FD promo. Maybe he's talking about bonds as Alliance is actively promoting it.I'm still waiting for my friend to show me the details of the FD.. Will update here once i got the information.. |
May 15 2012, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(gchowyh @ May 15 2012, 04:57 PM) After a long absense from the FD promo, AMBank has finally started as follows: wah, apply credit card higher rate at 4%, this bank is really good 6 months 3.45% 9 months 3.5% till 17th June 12 months 3.9% (if apply credit card, 1st year govt tax waited & 4% FD) till 30th June Apparently the promo started today! Just happen to be there today.. Thanks for the info, updated 1st post. This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 15 2012, 08:38 PM |
May 16 2012, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(jack2 @ May 16 2012, 11:56 AM) Called to one branch here and the one who picked up the call didn't know about 4%... then passing the call till no end.. Well, initially I called their general line and always ended up with "press # to return to menu" Bad service as expected. So called their Priority Banking CS and service was excellent. The guy confirmed what gchowyh mentioned - 3.9% for 12 months FD and if apply credit card 4%. As for Priority Banking, can just walk into any branch. |
May 16 2012, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 16 2012, 04:38 PM) Deposit RM200K at any branch today and one will be entitled to PB status but no free coffee QUOTE(whyee @ May 16 2012, 11:21 PM) may i ask, are there any links refering to the promo fd offered. don't seem to find any details from the respective site. yah, when I checked earlier today, no links, that's why I called them to reconfirm. However, after the CS told me one will get 4% FD when one applies for their credit card, I was more interested in how to get their Visa Infinite/World MasterCard and was too disappointed to talk to him further after knowing that I cannot qualify for the cards, hahaha.need fresh funds or any minumum maximum qualification amount... You call AmBank lah and let us know. This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 16 2012, 11:57 PM |
May 17 2012, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(whyee @ May 17 2012, 01:21 PM) it is called Top Rate Fixed Deposit / Term Deposit Campaign. Thank you. The Promo is now shown in AmBank group website.fresh fund. minimum 10k for individual, 20k for sme. have to transfer out and in. http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Promotions/D...RateFD2012.aspx ![]() Some of the T&C: The eligible interest / expected profit rate payment shall only be credited into the Eligible Customer’s Current or Savings Account upon maturity of such Fixed Deposit / Term Deposit. The Fixed Deposit Promotional Interest / Term Deposit Promotional Expected Profit Rate of 4.00%p.a. shall only be accorded for a deposit placement on a maximum of RM200,000.00 for each Eligible Customer. Any Fixed Deposit / Term Deposit placement exceeding the aforesaid maximum amount(s) shall only enjoy 3.90%p.a. The Bank reserves the right, upon giving adequate notice to vary the said maximum amount during the Campaign Period. The additional of 0.10%p.a and RM 50 cash reward are subjected to a minimum spending of RM350.00 for Gold Card and RM500.00 for Signature and Platinum Cards within two (2) months from the card’s approval date. Top Rate FD Terms and Conditions |
May 18 2012, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 18 2012, 12:29 AM) The best FD rate for 3 months tenure perhaps is HSBC. This promo is a trap - HSBC usually only offers "special" promo rates to NEW Premier Banking Customers. After the promo, PB customers will get board rates only and not eligible for future "pure FD" promos. And if your AUM is below RM200K, they will impose penalty. Anyway, for those who go sign up for HSBC Premier Banking to be eligible for 3 months FD promo with HSBC, think twice before signing up for their FREE HSBC Premier World MasterCard or you may just end up paying the RM50 GST for nothing. 50% of the FD will get 5% 50% of the FD will get 3.05% (HSBC's 3 months FD board rate) Average rate is 4.025% ---> (5% + 3.05%) = 8.05% / 2 But the drawback is: the minimum FD has to be RM 200K This FD promo will end on 30 June 2012. QUOTE(GulengBeng @ May 18 2012, 02:44 AM) Just wondering for those who keeps track of FD promotions, wouldn't that mean that you'll have to open one account here for one bank for one promotion and another bank for another promotion? Well, if you can earn more than enough to cover the time (yah, this is extremely important, e.g. it will take more than 1 hour to open a new Citibank account), parking, petrol and other related miscellaneous cost, why not?E.g. Most banks currently offer 3.15% for 12 months FD. Lets's say you got RM100K to deposit into FD. If you can get 4% interest, that's additional RM850/year. This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 18 2012, 09:49 AM |
May 19 2012, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(Ekyeo5 @ May 19 2012, 12:11 PM) Fellow bros, where is this promotion? I tried looking for it on Hsbc website but can't find. Can help? Thanks Bro, you got to go to Premier Banking and then click on Latest Promotions. Anyway, for your easy reference, click below:http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/PA_ES_Content_Mgm...d_5pc_promo.pdf QUOTE(Superkian @ May 19 2012, 04:36 PM) so new applicant have to open current or saving account for this promo FD? IF you currently do not have a Savings or Current Account, then YES you need to open one. As for the amount, you can always go to AmBank website to check but I think RM20 should do it.how much is the minimum to open saving account? Does it come with the gold card/platinum card? I dont want these card... As for the credit card, you don't have to sign up for one. If you read the terms and conditions, those who do not sign up for credit card will enjoy 3.9% interest rate for 12 months with minimum fresh deposit of RM10K. |
Jun 11 2012, 12:15 PM
QUOTE(ascend @ Jun 3 2012, 08:53 PM) I have just called OUB call centre. Hi guys I just got back and called UOB to check any offers and the guy on the phone did not mention above but instead told me that they have promo for Senior at 3.6% 12 months and another offer for PB customers if their birthday falls in June There are three offers ending 30 June. Apparently these offer details are not on their website. 1) 3.2 % for 1 month 2) 3.5% for 6 months 3) 3 month step up(3.2,3.2,4.2) Fresh funds and minimum RM10000. Feel free to call them for more info as i have no other info. After checking 1st page info provided by GENX, these are the same offers from May, now extending into June. Too bad missed last week OCBC Mighty Saver promo. Alliance Bank got promo 50:50 ratio 4% FD and Unit Trust. |
Jun 11 2012, 01:33 PM
Guys, check this one out, 3.85% for 6, 12 and 24 month tenure. Kuwait Finance House Promo.
![]() This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 11 2012, 01:35 PM |
Jun 12 2012, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(ascend @ Jun 3 2012, 08:53 PM) I have just called OUB call centre. There are three offers ending 30 June. Apparently these offer details are not on their website. 1) 3.2 % for 1 month 2) 3.5% for 6 months 3) 3 month step up(3.2,3.2,4.2) Fresh funds and minimum RM10000. Feel free to call them for more info as i have no other info. After checking 1st page info provided by GENX, these are the same offers from May, now extending into June. QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 11 2012, 12:15 PM) Hi guys I just got back and called UOB to check any offers and the guy on the phone did not mention above but instead told me that they have promo for Senior at 3.6% 12 months and another offer for PB customers if their birthday falls in June Went to UOB today and would like to reconfirm that the May FD 1, 3 and 6 months Promo extended till end of June 2012. |
Jun 19 2012, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jun 19 2012, 11:51 AM) Thanks for the info, updated 1st post.Other Foreign Banks that also lowered the 12 months FD rate in the last two months were OCBC and SCB. Surprisingly HSBC sitll maintaining their 12 months rate at 3.15% This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 19 2012, 02:01 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0535sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:12 PM |