123 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

gsc
post Mar 21 2012, 03:01 PM

1,624 posts

just to clarify, is it okay to discuss

local currency (RM) and foreign currency FD here? Purely FD and NO dual currency investment, am I right?

SUSDavid83
post Mar 21 2012, 07:51 PM

52,874 posts

Please discuss FCFD at here:

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/512136/+420#entry45861224
Beachkid
post Mar 22 2012, 03:03 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 21 2012, 11:06 AM)
Please do not include this into the FD discussion. It is totally different with FD issue.  smile.gif
Mind that, forex trading and leverage is illegal in Malaysia apart from done BNM certified banks and finance institution/brokers.

AUD FD remains as FD, just like one needs some AUD for the future, and never consider to change back, the foreign currency exchange risk for AUD FD is out of window already.
Placing foreign currency FD means you wish to have the currency or wish to place the money in foreign currency, it is not solely to gain the interest spread alone.
Yup exactly,

Dollar for dollar. I do have investments in both Australia and Malaysia. However when I invest in Australia I do not think about the currency change but how the value in itself can help increase my investments. Therefore, I still haven't got an answer,,is it better with 6.50 variable savings account or 5.50 fixed deposit?

Added on March 22, 2012, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(gsc @ Mar 20 2012, 11:34 PM)
which bank?

Earlier saw OCBC got promotion on foreign FD
Bankwest, it has a 6.50 % right now.

Added on March 22, 2012, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(tbheng @ Mar 21 2012, 01:55 PM)
Hi guys, just want to voice my 2 cents on this... icon_rolleyes.gif
ya I personally tried FX before but no more...didn't know it is illegal...if so, will invest on something else..  sweat.gif

Frankly, before I go for 4% FD with ocbc in Jan this year, I was toying the idea to place my money into AUD FD, but after counting the spread, not much gain as compare to local FD...(of course if your timing is right, then diff story). If there is a separate thread talks about this, please put a link here, I am interested too. Can diversify my investment a bit.  nod.gif

I am in PCI (Premier Currency Investment) for the past 3 years with SCB, similar like DCI cherroy mentioned, it is an interesting product which yield rather well, but it is OT to discuss here...  tongue.gif  Is there a thread on this?
Yeah , that was what I was wondering too For now, I have two fixed deposits with HSBC. However, the interest gained on AUS FD is soooo much higher that I am actually thinking about taking out all my FD in Malaysia and putting it into Australian FD. Even after the loss of exchange rate and bank fees,the returns is still higher. For example, I have gained the same amount of interest on my savings variable intersest account in ONE month(Australia) compared to a FiXED deposit account in Malaysia for THREE months. So yea, even one of my friends who does banking in Malaysia came down here for a holiday one time and we were walking pass the street and he saw the interest on a normal savings account and was shocked. So now I am putting some of his cash in my account since I already have a visa.

Added on March 22, 2012, 3:14 pm
QUOTE(lkcheng @ Mar 21 2012, 09:44 AM)
Foreign currency FD like AUD offers an attractive interest rate but if we place an AUD FD, it is actually an investment. It is just similar to buying a currency pair AUD/MYR. If AUD appreciates when you FD is mature, then you'll earn interest plus exchange gain but if AUD falls then, your interest might not enough to cover the exchange loss and end up a loss.

Right now AUD has reached 10 years highest against MYR according to the chart. It might continue to rise but it left a lot of space to fall. So, I think the risk of AUD FD is higher now. Some more, the local banks charge very high spread. The currency spread alone already wipe up 2% to 3% of your interest depending on which bank you deal with.

It is better to do carry trade in Forex market if you like to invest in foreign currency for interest. The spread is far lowest and every broker offers leverage.
Don't worry about that buddy. The interest gained will be more than enough to cover the loss of during the exchange rate/bank fees. EVEN if AUD depreciates- the interest gained will make up for the loss.

This post has been edited by Beachkid: Mar 22 2012, 03:14 PM
MilesAndMore
post Mar 23 2012, 12:23 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Beachkid @ Mar 22 2012, 03:03 PM)
Yup exactly,

Dollar for dollar. I do have investments in both Australia and Malaysia. However when I invest in Australia I do not think about the currency change but how the value in itself can help increase my investments. Therefore, I still haven't got an answer,,is it better with 6.50 variable savings account or 5.50 fixed deposit?
Variable savings account ? As in those internet savings accounts that provide one flat interest rate for up to AUD5 Million ?

Anyway, there was another regular who stayed in Australia just like you and we talked about this briefly about 2 years ago. He said something about you have to pay tax if your total savings is more than...?? Forgot what's the amount already.

Beachkid
post Mar 23 2012, 02:39 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Mar 23 2012, 01:23 AM)
Variable savings account ? As in those internet savings accounts that provide one flat interest rate for up to AUD5 Million ?

Anyway, there was another regular who stayed in Australia just like you and we talked about this briefly about 2 years ago. He said something about you have to pay tax if your total savings is more than...?? Forgot what's the amount already.
Yup you do. You also get taxed on interest if you are non-resident or resident. Yup that one, the drawback is you can only deposit 500 aus a month maximum and you cnanot withdraw-in other words it's like a fixed deposit with a variable rate..weird i know. But if you think about it as a reserve( untouched money), it's basically just sitting there gainig you huge amounts of interest per month. And all you have to do is just transfer 500 aus a month. Of course, I use other accounts too, but this one is a really good reserve compared to any plan in Malaysia.
kangwoo
post Mar 23 2012, 07:12 PM

296 posts

fixed deposit and unit trust got tax?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 23 2012, 08:14 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kangwoo @ Mar 23 2012, 07:12 PM)
fixed deposit and unit trust got tax?
FD no.

UT got at corporate rate upon distribution being is declared. 25% I think.
kangwoo
post Mar 23 2012, 09:01 PM

296 posts

david83,

so no matter hw many or small, FD is taxfree?

while UT is kena tax?

gsc
post Mar 23 2012, 10:33 PM

1,624 posts

Saw in today The Sun, Bank Rakyat, Qiradh General Investment Account-i, return up 4.6%, min. RM 500. Profit credite monthly.
MilesAndMore
post Mar 24 2012, 12:16 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Mar 23 2012, 10:33 PM)
Saw in today The Sun, Bank Rakyat, Qiradh General Investment Account-i, return up 4.6%, min. RM 500. Profit credite monthly.
It's the same as what we discussed over one or two months ago.
ronnie
post Mar 24 2012, 10:11 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Maybank now offers FD Loyalty 2+2 Campaign

2 months FD @ 3.20% p.a.
Renew for another 2 months @ 3.20% p.a.

This exciting FD Loyalty 2+2 campaign will commence from 12 March - 12 April 2012, or upon reaching the set target, whichever is earlier.

Mode of Placement :- Over the counter only.

The special rates are offered only for new placement. Automatic Rollover of FD certificates from previous period will not be entitled for this special rate.

Terms & Conditions : http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/FDLoyaltyTnC_130312.pdf
Aurigae
post Mar 25 2012, 11:47 AM

49 posts

Hey guys,

Does Public Bank set a minimum amount for 1 month FD?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 25 2012, 12:30 PM

52,874 posts

Generally is RM 5k for 1-month FD.
fdsiao
post Mar 25 2012, 08:15 PM

Hi All, banks usually can offer a better rate for a big amount of FD...
any bros here have any idea of the min amount to request for a better rate?
like 1M, 500K or 750K?

say i wan to put in for 1-year FD, assume the normal rate is 3.6%, what is
the usual better rate the bank can offer with the large amount of FD?
3.7 to 3.8%? Thx in advance~
justanovice
post Mar 26 2012, 09:31 AM

2,526 posts

QUOTE(RyanHoe @ Mar 16 2012, 10:27 PM)
Fixed / Time Deposit and Savings Account Promotions March 2012.
Please call the nearest bank to reconfirm the rates (go to the bank website for bank contact number where you can also get the contact number of the branch nearest to you) before going to the bank to check if promotions are still valid.

Alliance Bank Fixed Deposit Promo until 31 March 2012. Minimum Fresh Fund RM10K

3 Months - 3.6%
UOB Bank Latest Fixed Deposit Promotion Rates - Minimum RM10K. Until end of April 2012.
3 months - 3.4%
6 months - 3.5%
12 months -3.7%
OCBC Bank Malaysia Promotion until 31st March 2012. Minimum Fresh Fund RM10K

3 Months 3.6%
9 Months 3.8% 

GIA-i Product contributed by tbheng Click here read Post#528 for Terms and Conditions
3-month 3.6%
9-month 3.8%

hi was wondering is there anymore bank promotion now?
Searched alliance bank website, could not find info on 3 month 3.6% FD wor. Is it true? Anyone opened FD there?
Moving my funds from ocbc so ocbc is not a choice for me.
Seems 3.6% is the best offer at the moment for 3-6 month FD
nyunyu
post Mar 26 2012, 01:17 PM

His Royal Highness
1,393 posts

guys, I went to UOB for my housing loan and the banker told me about a savings plan.

Deposit RM10k per year up to 5 years.
Each year get RM1k.
From year 6 to year 30 (depending the duration of savings), get RM2k per year.
From year 6 onwards, get benefits something la.
So, after 30 years, total saving will be around RM180k+.

What kind of savings is this? FD? TD?
ronnie
post Mar 26 2012, 01:36 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Mar 26 2012, 01:17 PM)
guys, I went to UOB for my housing loan and the banker told me about a savings plan.

Deposit RM10k per year up to 5 years.
Each year get RM1k.
From year 6 to year 30 (depending the duration of savings), get RM2k per year.
From year 6 onwards, get benefits something la.
So, after 30 years, total saving will be around RM180k+.

What kind of savings is this? FD? TD?
Endownment Plan by Prudential
ladycooper
post Mar 26 2012, 01:53 PM

944 posts

anyone got any idea how many % of Malaysian actually put their money in FD?

nyunyu
post Mar 26 2012, 01:58 PM

His Royal Highness
1,393 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 26 2012, 01:36 PM)
Endownment Plan by Prudential
Yes, that is it. I think that's what she told me.

So, I searched in LYN for an existing thread but doesn't seems to have one about this plan, any pro and cons compared to say normal savings or FD?

QUOTE(ladycooper @ Mar 26 2012, 01:53 PM)
anyone got any idea how many % of Malaysian actually put their money in FD?
That's why, I'm thinking to save but not sure should I go for FD or this Endowment plan. or unit trust.

This post has been edited by nyunyu: Mar 26 2012, 02:00 PM
ronnie
post Mar 26 2012, 02:02 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Personal Opinion: Endownment plan is not worth it.... High annual commitment rate. RM1k a year is so little...

123 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:30 PM