6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Rooting your Samsung Galaxy SII (I9100G), also updating/repairing a bricked one

Wira_lover
post Mar 13 2012, 10:05 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(pkn_jet @ Mar 13 2012, 09:46 AM)

Yea currently having some bug like camera hangs and phone hangs. Wondering whether is the firmware issue, that's why planned to update my firmware which hope it helps.

BTW, when i flashed it with ODIN, the status stays at "setup connection", should i wait or what. *sorry i'm totally noob*

Please advice. Thanks.
bro, you have installed kies and drivers already on your pc?

phone already in downloadmode

make sure kies is not running, check through task manager,processes
Wira_lover
post Mar 13 2012, 11:15 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(jys @ Mar 13 2012, 10:38 AM)
Ya, I did try this... but not much use though...

Added on March 13, 2012, 10:39 am

hmm.. i shall try this method then... thanks...
yup try to get the betterbatterystats also bro, see if anything is keeping the phone awake.
Wira_lover
post Mar 13 2012, 05:35 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(pkn_jet @ Mar 13 2012, 05:16 PM)
Drivers installed. Kies must be installed into phone or PC ? I have the latest version of Kies in my phone.

Please guide me. Thanks.
need to download to pc bro.

Samsung Apps - Kies
Wira_lover
post Mar 18 2012, 08:59 PM

315 posts

bro can share what is so great about the ICS updatE?

i did some reading its just a normal update right?
Wira_lover
post Mar 19 2012, 09:44 AM

315 posts

yeah so many ppl said it was nothing major.

some even say its like a 2.3.7 GB kind of thing.
Wira_lover
post Mar 19 2012, 10:51 AM

315 posts

heheh okays. i let you all guinea pig it first. biggrin.gif
Wira_lover
post Mar 19 2012, 03:12 PM

315 posts

ya la once release u all test it out. lolll than see shiok means i also jump on the bandwagon tongue.gif tongue.gif
Wira_lover
post Mar 20 2012, 10:59 AM

315 posts

Goodday samsung, can i know how can i update my S2 GT-I9100G firmware to ICS 4.0.3? since there is no update on the kies for GT-I9100G. thank you.
Like · · Sunday at 8:59pm ·

Samsung U-nivez

Hi Kent, the testing for S2 GT-I9100G is almost finish. The roll out date for ICS is yet to be fixed, do expect in the coming months.

Hehehe good luck waitin . Everywhere I go I see ppl talkin bout ICS oni.
Wira_lover
post Mar 27 2012, 11:41 AM

315 posts

good post bro. thanks. definitely will try this ROM out.

This post has been edited by Wira_lover: Mar 27 2012, 04:05 PM
Wira_lover
post Mar 27 2012, 04:06 PM

315 posts

bro on supeROM 3.0 can delete music on stock music app?
Wira_lover
post Mar 29 2012, 03:31 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(haru88 @ Mar 29 2012, 02:07 PM)
which one to download actually? super v3 or update 3?  rclxub.gif
why so different from urs?  hmm.gif

noob quest.
if want to remove yellow triangle, flash to stock kernel,
as far as i concern, flashing kernel is not a big deal. am i right?  sweat.gif
rite now i use superatmos kernel, if i flash to stock, my cwm gonna stay rite?
i know its not gonna unroot my SII. just query.  sweat.gif
CWM will still be therebut cant boot into recovery mode via CWM.

when u click on recovery mode via CWM after flash stock ROM, it will boot into blue 3e recovery. which will not allow any installation of custom rom, it will return as a an error
Wira_lover
post Apr 10 2012, 12:02 PM

315 posts

can we stop the wifi from always scanning even after connected?
Wira_lover
post May 7 2012, 10:59 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(ottomatteseo @ May 7 2012, 05:48 PM)
Hi guys

I still dont understand how to root my phone. My current firmware is the DZKL3 so which method should i use?
for dzkl3 you need to flash with odin bro. can follow this guide. quite detailed

Mahadir Lab Root Guide

Added on May 7, 2012, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(DreMAx @ May 7 2012, 06:55 PM)
Hi i was in the daze just like you too earlier. If you refer to a reply from superkingkong to me, he gave a link which has a guide to rooting the i9100G. I used that guide and did just what like he said, do a rooted kernel flash.

I just have one question in mind though, how do i check if i flashed to a rooted kernel? Is it supposed to show in the details of the kernel?

Added on May 7, 2012, 8:10 pmUpdate:

I decided to re-flash to Lucifr's kernel. Hopefully it's good. biggrin.gif
once you see superuser icon in the app list, you are rooted.

This post has been edited by Wira_lover: May 7 2012, 11:00 PM
Wira_lover
post May 30 2012, 12:55 PM

315 posts

the ever so famous ics is out and i see ppl flooding xda,fb abt it. i mean, they are so over excited that once there is a slight problem the start shooting up the threads and post and start flooding everywhere.Geez.

it has been highlighted EXPERIMENTAL like tons of times. bugs definitely will be there, if cant accept that, dont flash first until developers can focus on amending it. so many others hwo are patient will test and update decelopers accordingly.

for those who are too eager and cant WAIT...prepare to have some bugs. but i strongly suggest to wait a couple of days. let the pros test it out.

Added on May 30, 2012, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(creezalird @ May 30 2012, 12:33 AM)
Rooting for ICS (i9100G), of course update to ICS using odin first.

Method 3 : 1 + 2, no yellowtriangle or binary count increasement

1. Do method 2 first.
2. Download LP7 codeworkx, extract and put the zimage inside root sdcard
3. Install ktool, flash the zimage.
4. Result : rooted + CWM , no usb jig involved, ^___^

Reference : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1679778
thumbs up to you bro..hehe

This post has been edited by Wira_lover: May 30 2012, 01:02 PM
Wira_lover
post May 30 2012, 02:33 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 30 2012, 02:13 PM)
I not going flash CM9 first, wait more stable release. Too tired to experiment. smile.gif

Happy with stock ICS now + root. wink.gif
bro andrew, i saw a few guys complained stock ICS batt consumption is bad, how do you find it? more or less the same or better?
Wira_lover
post May 30 2012, 02:43 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ May 30 2012, 02:38 PM)
i think so far, in less than a day, the battery is very much the same, just make sure u change the governor to hotplug and noop as IO if u are using LP7 kernel
nicee...if its around the same, its good enough. do you guys do a TB restore for the apps or install all again
Wira_lover
post May 30 2012, 03:06 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ May 30 2012, 03:02 PM)
i just did TB restore, but i read that if u are using cm9, TBP is not working for restore

but i can confirm, for stock ICS, it is working.
affirmative bro. thanks. what is your honest opinion on the ICS firmware? overall
Wira_lover
post May 30 2012, 03:16 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(creezalird @ May 30 2012, 03:13 PM)
fine, very much the same as GB, but need to wait for more optimized kernel and googling around what tweaks are working and are not working, as i had a softbrick last night for trying to change the lcd density..lols
hahaha roger that. if its so much more the same...why all the fuss about ICS? just so can get CM9 ? hmm maybe ill just stay on my GB for the time being hehe.
Wira_lover
post May 30 2012, 05:07 PM

315 posts

cm9 im aware is a beast...but i was thinking that ICS was gonna be like ubber cool or what. hehe anyway will try it out tonight with the lp7 kernel first...will try CM9 if there is an update.
Wira_lover
post May 30 2012, 05:57 PM

315 posts

i saw some guys said that its best to do a full wipe right before updating?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:36 AM