9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 - V02 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

Andy214
post Oct 28 2011, 11:33 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 28 2011, 05:27 PM)
Earn quick cash? Only a "goondu" will want to pay anything for these useless feed apps. You can't even read the news item within the app, most of them will just re-direct you to a webpage which is not even formatted for mobile.  It's quite irritating to be inundated with them when you browse the store, makes it harder to find the gems from the sand. Ovi store seem to have no quality control at all. That's why we need sites like N9 Apps. Although all the apps are from Ovi store the presentation is much better. The most comprehensive N9 app store is at My-Meego
Well, you never know, there's all kinds of people, and when people desperate for apps, and the "screenshot" of the apps looks interesting, people might not know what it really is. It's just like scams, people still get cheated easily.

Andy214
post Oct 29 2011, 03:11 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 29 2011, 11:19 AM)
APPS - downgrade
VIDEO - downgrade
UI - upgrade
MULTITASKING - upgrade
CAMERA - upgrade
MUSIC PLAYER - same
SOCIAL NETWORKING - slight downgrade (no Whatsapp)
NFC - upgrade
SCREEN SIZE - upgrade
LOOKS - upgrade

Overall should be downgrade because apps make up 50% of the smartphone experience. But if he doesn't use apps than can be considered upgrade lor...
SOCIAL NETWORKING, depends; If one rely and prioritize WhatsApp, then it's downgrade. Personally, the Social Networking in N9 is upgrade as everything in integrated, this has been done since Maemo era. The benefit of WhatsApp is it's cross-platform and provide something similar and one reason why people rely on it is mainly because many people uses iPhone, and they have no really one good tools for IM, then there's WhatsApp, which when everyone starts using, it become popular especially since iPhone can consider has most users? Then following Android.
It's just like back then, MIRC, then ICQ, then everyone moved to MSN Messenger (and some Skype, but more using MSN Messenger); Now most people using WhatsApp since many people already using mobile and have data connection (especially since more and more telco plan).

Personally, I don't classify apps determine smarpthone experience, if it's about apps only, you don't need a smartphone, you just need a device which support apps. If one thing iPhone successfuly change, I would say it changes how people sees smartphone, and emphasize on apps.
If only apps is of concern, the OS can be very simple and easy to maintain, everything just focus on apps.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 29 2011, 03:13 PM
Andy214
post Oct 29 2011, 09:00 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 29 2011, 04:58 PM)
Not sure about that. iphone's GPS is very sensitive and very fast even indoors with A-GPS. My old iphone 3GS can get a lock almost instantly indoors but my N9 takes some seconds. Good but not up to iphone standard.

Added on October 29, 2011, 6:02 pm

I agree, apps aren't everything. The UI, integration with social media, ease of getting things done, customizability, screen resolution, camera, etc are also important but a smartphone is only smart if it has smart apps. Otherwise it has nothing above feature phones. In my opinion apps constitute about 50% of the smartphone experience. The iphone hardware is nothing special but Apple can sell at a premium because of the ios appstore.

It remains to be seen what happens to the app development for Meego-Harmattan. This will ultimately determine whether the N9 becomes a mass market product or a niche product for Geeks and N900 nostalgic users. Right now I see some encouraging signs in the Meego community but it is still early days. Who is to say if the 'Holy Grail' of Harmattan, an Android emulator will appear? This will be the "God App" for N9.
Apps is important, no doubt, but it's not to be confused with smartphone. If we're talking about smartphone, we should talk about what it can do. Apps can be develop and provided, but the OS features itself it not something we can easily or even change. Some OS, provide more customization and allows more features to be added, some, very limited and strict.

For me, a smartphone initially was about bringing computer like experience; hence, a mobile computer, PC in your pocket. For me, the evolution of smartphones is different from iPhone. iPhone is evolved from an MP3 player, the iPod, then multimedia player, iPod Classic? Then slap on internet connectivity and apps support, the iPod Touch, slaps on phone function, you get iPhone. iPhone is basically very plain and simple, you turn on, you go straight to application menu; Imagine if your Windows, there's no desktop, straight a list of applications. Basically, it's ONLY about apps.
For people who only care about apps, they don't need a smartphone, they need an app-phone. Thus, when you say how great is the OS, how flexible, etc. these people don't get it, they don't need it, it makes no sense or use to them because what they want is just basically apps; but people usually make the wrong decision because they don't know what they want, they heard its a powerful phone or good/best smartphone, so they buy it but the definition can be different from different person; Technically, a good smartphone is about how great the OS, the flexibiliy, how good is the mobile computing experience, but to most people, their mind is, apps and games; little apps/games = it's not a good smartphone. Similar applies for other features, e.g. people who emphasize on camera, if the phone has poor camera, it doesn't matter how great is everything else, to them, it's a bad phone.

Andy214
post Oct 30 2011, 12:29 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 29 2011, 10:56 PM)
Andy, I agree with you on many points especially the iphone being an app launcher but the success of the iphone show that this is not altogether a wrong path to take. Apple must be doing something right.

On one hand apps can be seen as an extension of the os. Whether the function is built-in or obtained from an app shouldn't make any difference to the user experience. But the way the os allow you to integrate tasks or switch between tasks or gather messages into a thread cannot be duplicated by apps. This boils down to the beauty of the os and Meego is a very beautiful os.

However even a beautiful and capable os need apps to extend its functionality. Those who say they don't need apps don't really need a smartphone. No need for an appstore as big as ios but a few thousand useful apps would ensure its survival.

So have you got your N9 yet?
I won't say doing something right, it's more like the penetrated the market right and know what people wants. What I don't like is how they change the perception and how people see smartphones, and influence some manufacturer to follow its trails, scaling down the OS, removing features, adding restrictions, etc. (e.g. removing Flash support)
If you have tried Maemo, it was an amazing OS, one of the closest to true mobile computing, there's Desktop, support for Full Flash, true multi-tasking, etc. While iOS is like the complete opposite, it doesn't want users to interact or know any of that stuffs, it prefer simple user; In short, it treats EVERYONE as the same, simple user. The good thing is it's easy to use, but there's totally no room for improvement, you can't turn on advance mode; By making things simple, their OS is easily managed, less problem, less complain from users facing problem, and they also make the user so used to it that, when they see something more advance, the user will feel it's too complicated and hard to use.
Personally, I won't consider it as doing something right, but they understand what people wants, apps/games.

Like you said and I said before too, apps can be created anytime, but the OS is only control by the manufacturer and it also depends how customizable and flexible it is.
There sure will be apps and games available, just the matter of how many and more importantly, the quality and useful ones.
And for apps, I'm not sure how many people always use apps and use many types of apps; I installed a lot of apps on my N900, also on the iPod Touch (which I get because I wanted some apps, but after that I hardly even touch it), but I'm not really using the apps much; With a good browser, I don't even use Facebook App, etc. I surf full desktop version sites, so there's no need for FB App and so on. But with the N9, it'll need to rely on the Facebook app, but I still stick back to the N900 most of the time, the N9 is more on reading the feeds.

Anyway, what is the important apps to each person is also the factor, e.g. WhatsApp; As you can see, because of just one app, WhatsApp, it can deter someone decision from getting it, despite how much they want it, and they don't really care about other apps.
So, the manufacturer doesn't have to get many apps to be available for a platform, the most important is they need to know those important and popular apps, and made it available for their platform.

No yet, probably after I return the review unit first, plus tight budget. This years monthly income tax deduction calculation really caused a lot of trouble, last month and this month salary, the income tax deduction both increase by few hundred? Really wonder how they set the formula... how suddenly increase and by few hundred...

Andy214
post Oct 30 2011, 02:32 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 30 2011, 01:46 AM)
i also never use any fancy facebook app. smile.gif just desktop site all the way.
btw,i treat app is an extension for a smartphone capability.just like microsoft windows,without software,microsoft windows won't be so useful.i got to admit iOS still incomplete even the latest iOS5 but it's most successful OS ever.IMHO,the majority of people want speed,simple,apps and slim.(they dun care whether it's smartphone or whatsoever,as long as it's touch screen)This is why i4 and sgs2 success while N9 got speed,simple and slim but lack of apps support is critical disadvantage for N9.TBH,Meego is still new,judge Meego now isn't fair at all.Judge it after 2 years,fingercrossed!
Apps sure will have, just the question of how many and how many are the good ones. More importantly, does it have the apps/games people want. If there're millions of apps, but all useless apps, there's no point. If there're 100 apps, and most of the apps are very useful, popular and used by many, that's more important.

Apps can be built, can be ported, anytime, as long the the developer develops or port it over; but if talking about OS, then it's different, for people who truly want a smartphone and its capabilities, will be looking for more capable OS, plus, the flexibility and customization means it's good for both the user and developer.
iOS successful because of the branding and its apps. Branding cause it's like a fashion, people wants it, like a must have, everyone talks about it.
As for the simplicity and smoothness, other OS can achieve it as well; the difference? iOS is there only, only provide the most basic features, doesn't matter who you are, it treats you as a "dumb" user, nothing else; just like what I said, imagine a camera with full AUTO mode, and little or no settings; It treats everyone as beginner and forever a beginner, it doesn't want people to learn and improve.

SGS2 is running Android, which compared to iOS, is big difference. People who realizes the limitation of iOS, will eventually move on/away and "upgrade" to other true smartphone OS, like Android. Similarly for tablets, but for tablets, even Android is not good enough because people will again realize, what they want is to be able to run those Windows app, so they again switch to Windows Tablet, but for most people, Android Tablet is good enough, while some others iPad is good enough. Just like for some people, a netbook is good enough, they only use for browsing, watching some movies, listening to music and play some facebook games; Those more demanding uses will not look at a netbook, but maybe confused into buying a netbook for its price.

Andy214
post Oct 30 2011, 03:00 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 30 2011, 02:44 AM)
The majority of people need simple,slim,apps and fast.undoubtedly maemo5 was a best os but it's not simple for majority in the market.N9 is the 1,simplified,faster and more user friendly.Most of the user in the market are not geek.IMO,90% of the phone user are just normal user which need only simple+fast+apps.They don't care about limitation of iOS and Android(still got a lot of limitation here and there).back to the N9,it's good enough,suit for the mass market demand.1 or 2 more years will cater the market as the apps ported or developed for meego.
Yes, the OS can be made simple and easy to use for beginner; What I'm trying to say is, there is no need to remove features and make ONLY basic function. Maemo5 is a very potential, capable and flexible OS; it's not really hard to use but it lacks proper application and the OS is not properly done, no 3G call, no MMS, some part cannot switch to portrait mode, plus many people don't even know about this device or use it, but even they did, they will quickly turn off when they visit the empty ovi store for N900.

The key point is, the OS should be start off simple for any user, beginner, but still provide advances feature for advance user. Like Photoshop, beginner also can use, but if you want to do more things, you need to learn the advance features. But, if you use MS Paint, your feature is only that, this is just like iOS; Sure for most people they don't need Photoshop, MS Paint is enough. I didn't disagree with that, just trying to explain about smartphone OS purpose and what it should do. People can choose whatever they want, but it doesn't change the fact and purpose of smartphone OS.

Andy214
post Oct 30 2011, 02:58 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 30 2011, 12:09 PM)
Another good review of N9, a so-called "dead os". It makes you wonder how far Meego can go if Nokia had given it full support instead of trying to beat down its popularity in favour of Wp7.

Andy, as our resident analyst-philosopher what do you think of Nokia's strategy of focusing only on WP7? Will WP7 be able to claw back market share and lift Nokia's fortunes or is this the last roll of the dice? Would Nokia be better off pursuing a multi-platform strategy with Meego in the forefront?
Huh? Just sharing my point of view only, everyone has theirs.

Personally, I don't really like WP7, but I gotta admit that the OS is smooth and it's stable. People like smooth and stable OS, if WP7 can deliver it, I believe Nokia users will like it, especially current Symbian OS user; Many of them switch because of the OS issue right? The instability, problems, etc. although the latest Belle kind of changes things again, brings back excitement and it's much smoother and nicer to use.

As I know, previously MeeGo was meant to be in top of the line Nokia device, their high end device; It's said to be a class above typical smartphone OS. Sadly, the vision didn't come true.
For current MeeGo, it's nice but still lacking in functions and features on the OS, still have many things to refine and add. The Web Browser is like at it's basic version, very plain, no settings, no bookmarks, no history, etc. It's like they rush to deliver the product, so they deliver it a basic running version, the OS seems so too; So, personally, I think it'll need more updates for it to be a really good OS (it's the same case when N900 was introduced, the Maemo OS was also like a rush product to deliver, and it's very "incomplete").
I suppose WP7 also same, they provide a simple, smooth and very stable OS, then slowly adding more functions and features, and refinements. Will MeeGo get the same treatment? I hope so, but the thing is, there's no future MeeGo device from Nokia? Wonder how will it justify on this.

For current N9, still, the specs, people are still concern with specifications; Next year, the current spec of N9 will fall behind even further. Can't deny this fact, and how people will see it.

Lastly, one of the important part, as everyone already knows, applications and games; particularly those in demand and popular, e.g. WhatsApp; Not having this app alone, is enough to deter quite a lot of potential customer. I think it's a big disadvantage to Nokia, they should've work this out as they may have been able to capture more potential customers.
What do you think? Imagine if the application is available, how many people previously given up would've gone for the device...

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 30 2011, 02:59 PM
Andy214
post Oct 31 2011, 11:10 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 30 2011, 05:23 PM)
Good insight Andy.

PR1.1 will be released soon and it has a lot of bug fixes and some refinements. PR1.2 is already in an advanced stage and it will bring a host of new features. This is according to Konttori's blog. The Ideas Project for N9 has attracted a lot of participation and I'm sure will be taken into account in future os versions.

So Nokia isn't abandoning Meego yet. I think the staff really want to take Meego forward although the CEO is lukewarm.

Lack of future Meego device from Nokia is not a problem for most users. People buy for the present, not the future. A possible upgrade path may be to Tizen by Samsung/Intel.

Lack of Whatsapp is more serious as this software has become so powerful that it is practically a must-have for mass market acceptance. But if the user base of N9 expands Whatsapp may change their mind. Samsung has also developed their own free cross platform "Chat-On" for Bada, Android, ios and Blackberry because Whatsapp will not port to Bada. But for now I think the typical N9 adopter is not a must-have Whatsapp user although it will be important for N9 to expand to more general users.

It would be great if Nokia's WP7 phones flop in the market and Nokia comes back to Meego with its tail between its legs. Another great would be if N9 can upgrade to Tizen and Tizen and run N9 apps.
FYI, Nokia N900 (Maemo5) stops at PR1.3, and there's still a lot of functions/features, bugs, etc. that is lacking. Let's hope this MeeGo will receive well support at last until a stable release and with proper functions/features available; EVen if they decide to stop support, hope they made the OS flexible enough for 3rd party to add in feature/function and enhancing it further.
For a start, the good news is the Ovi Store, applications and games available for N9 is showing positive result compared to Maemo5 back then. Hope this will continue on.

I won't say they will abandon MeeGo anytime soon, but hopefully they'll at least continue the support until a stable and good release (or pass to the community, but very unlikely based on maemo5 track record; else we could have a proper community version firmware).

My point on the lack of future MeeGo device is not really on the users, but more on how possible is Nokia going to support the OS. If there is no future MeeGo device, they may have no reason to continue to support and improve it, unless maybe there is really a lot of users using; but if true, then it could probably change their decision to make another MeeGo device, and if true again, hopefully it'll pack with good hardware.

And yes, the MeeGo developers are keen on MeeGo, but it was the same case for Maemo5, and when they develop Maemo5, the developers were also active in talk.maemo forum. There're article/blog about how Maemo5 and MeeGo is being killed and abandon, not sure how true, but one of them were ex-Nokia staff and were very active in talk.maemo.org forum. It's sad to read, but that's a company, not everyone has the same vision and/or Mission.

For WhatsApp, Nokia could actually take the initiative to approach the company and work something out, but probably they think they already have this Social Network integration built-in, so they didn't; but maybe they overlook the fact that people still look and prioritize with WhatsApp. Nokia may have started the Social Integration innovation since Maemo5, but it was not known and nobody cares, it's not Apple; If it were done by Apple, the word "this changes everything" will come true, but then it's Nokia.
Also probably they don't want to invest too much MeeGo, so they decided its not worth the money and effort to approach WhatsApp? I don't know, just speculations; just like how they decided not to get Flash? Initially, Flash was planned for MeeGo. It could also already have it ready, just like N900 Flash 10 availability, it was available, but according to Adobe, it depends on Nokia (possibilty Nokia need to pay for the license or something and they decided not to).

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Oct 30 2011, 05:30 PM)

Apps is quite a decision factor these days. Almost all my friends considering to change phones ask first about apps availability. Eg, when they are considering Android devices, first question was between Android and iOS, which one is better in terms off apps? I told him both have a vast amount of apps but iOS wins in terms of games. Certain games are not available in Android (Inifinity Blade,etc). But most major developer produces apps for both iOS and Android so pretty much nothing to worry about. That's when they feel safer to consider changing to Android. But Meego has so little apps. It's bad real bad no matter how smooth the OS can be. Between WP and Meego, I think Nokia WP will be a success compared to Meego since Nokia has picked to go full out for WP. It's not a bad OS really. Some people may not like Metro UI but I personally find it very appealing thanks to the simplicity and fluidity. As much as I hate it, it's undeniable that "Meego = Dead". doh.gif
Sure, even though people talks about which smarpthone; Actually, they don't really care or bother about the smartphone features and functions, what they care and wanted is actually the applications and games.

MeeGo is considered still new, it's still early to judge about the apps and games; Surely there will be apps and games, the question is, whether more will come, I mean the quality and good ones, especially those popular and in demand. For this, Nokia needs to take the initiative, just like Samsung and Microsoft did.
When Android started in the early days, there isn't much apps and games anyway. My friend who bought his first Android was also questioning and worried about the apps and games, and eyeing on Apple App Store; but for Android, there's no worry, there're many brand which uses it, I told my friend, the apps and games will come, and one day it'll be more because there is many brands using it and gaining more and more popularity, plus, it's Google. Look at it today, it has the latest Flash built-in... Nokia was the first to provide a true web browsing experience with it's amazing browser and Full Flash support, but what happens now? Sad... to me, MeeGo browser went downgrade from N900 browser. It lost the true Web Browsing experience which I had on my N900.

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Oct 30 2011, 05:36 PM)
Perhaps not. WP7 still have this Skydrive thing similar to iphone right? Then most stuff need to go online. The data rates can pengsan. No Mass storage, no SD Card, no USB on the go.  That itself is major deterrent, at least for Msia & developing countries. For the same price can get a good ol Symbian with 8GB + 32 card slot & usb on the go.
The 1st response of posters in Nokia Support forum about the Skydrive is whether Nokia will help pay the internet bill, lol  tongue.gif

If people want all that with lots of apps to go with it, they will get the iphone, for the image.
What can I say; Thanks to the Fruit Company, it changes everything; Before the Fruit Company, manufacturers were competing to offer MORE; Now's it's about making it simple, scale down, remove this and that, treating the users as complete fools, beginner.
It's like coming out with a camera, with ONLY auto mode only, fix lens, limited specs, etc... so beginner can use easily and everyone can use, everyone is treated as beginner with no advancement.

Is it a must to use SkyDrive? Or will dependent on the device, whether the manufactuerer of the device decide to offer Mass Storage, SD Card etc? I mean, there should be at least some sort storage? What about ringtones? Sound files? Wallpapers? (especially those file for startup). One can't be connected all the time? Imagine you're taking video/photo in somewhere with no Wi-Fi or phone signal? I don't understand how it can work. Doesn't make sense if there's no storage on the device.

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 30 2011, 05:46 PM)
I think it's an uphill task for WP7 to claw back market share. First of all the other 2 horses (ios and Android) are so far ahead; WP7 has a mere 2% market share now. What can WP7 bring to the table? In most areas it is just playing catch-up with ios and Android. Things like multi-tasking, conversation threads and front facing camera are old hat in other platforms but only recently introduced in Mango. WP7 also has many Apple-like restrictions like opaque file system, no bluetooth transfer, tied to Zune for file transfer and no micro-Sd card. But it doesn't have the huge app store of ios to ameliorate the restrictions. Giving 25GB cloud storage does not work in developing countries where data charges are high.

So its still a 2 horse race and WP7 doesn't change this. It could have been a 3 horse race if Nokia had fully backed Meego but that chance may be gone now. ios and Android have taken 80% of the market and WP7 will have to fight for the balance with Blackberry, Symbian, Bada and Meego.
As I said before, I hate the fact how it changes everything, how smartphones were meant to be. It changes and introduce limitations, restrictions, less features, less functions, etc. Customer need to complain and feedback to the manufacturer this is NOT the way forward, they're spoiling how smartphones were meant to be. If like our locally assembled cars providing low spec and extremely high prices, and using more local content, yet they dare to increase the price further; but their hardcore fans/supporter/buyer have little or no complains, this encourages them and make matters worst.

The 3 horse race, they could've done since Maemo, if they were serious and put their effort on it, but they didn't, there's like a mini small team developing and enhancing Maemo, but the big team is on Symbian? The treated Maemo as an experimental OS for future Maemo6, MeeGo; but they didn't put it enough effort and seriousness, I'd said too little effort and not serious about it; probably this happens when the company is big and there's many shareholders with making clashing decisions/vision/missions.
It's like when a job with same amount of developer, but handle by many "management/decision maker" VS little "management/decision maker".
The many "management/decision maker" doesn't make then product better, but it make the progress slower, more issues, more conflicts, many meetings, etc. Too many levels also same case, but it seems to be popular nowadays, company with many levels and many people doing management instead of development, to approve an idea or to do a simple task, you need to get pass multiple-level and take long time.
This also happens for "customer service/support", hence WHY the customer service/support gone bad, too many levels, just to fix a product (e.g. change something), need this approval, that approval (then the person not available, or away, or no time).

Andy214
post Oct 31 2011, 12:50 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 31 2011, 12:16 PM)
Hi Andy. Your views always make interesting reading.

Regarding apps for N9 it may be better than N900 but we can't compare with the lowest standard. It's like comparing Malaysia to African countries, of course we'll look good.

Take away all the useless RSS feed apps the N9 app store is growing very slowly. You can see the new useful ones coming out in My-Meego.com and it's like a couple of apps a day, sometimes none. There are many good and specialized apps but there are also many holes meaning basic apps like wi-fi file transfer, wi-fi analyzer, QR code reader, scientific calculator, gps parking, Kamasutra, etc which are not in yet. (OK the last isn't a basic app.  biggrin.gif ). We don't know when the holes will be filled if at all.

Of course it's still early days and the apps may pick up but this is always an unknown factor for potential users. Not many commercial developers are coming in. How long will the Meego/Maemo community support Harmattan? N900 has many more useful apps than N9 but apparently it is quite difficult to port over.

On the os side I am less worried. The os will be polished further with PR1.1 and improved with PR1.2. Both these are definitely coming. Beyond that who knows but is it really important if there will be no more Meego phones? Most of us keep our mobile for 2 years or less anyway and then we look around for the next upgrade.
Actually I compare with N900 because it's the predecessor and coming from same path, and "might" suffer same. Comparing with others, personally, surely it'll feel inferior. I'm looking and talking about improvements over it's predecessor, so it's considered improved, but of course, we want more. Just a way of looking at it positively.

For paid apps, especially from reputable companies, those popular and in-demand apps; It may depend on how popular this device will be, and whether they can sell it; I believe Nokia should also help to push, especially during the beginning, someone has to make the first BIG step. Obviously, customers wouldn't and you'll need a lot of Customer to make the device popular and influence those manufacturer to invest; So, in my opinion, Nokia needs to take the step and bring those popular, in-demand apps/games; No point having tons of apps/games... quality is better than quantity. Nokia is pushing more apps/games, but are they pushing it correctly? As in getting the right apps/games provider.

Not sure about community support for MeeGo Harmattan, but N900 community support has been great even till today. It's also thanks to the hardware available, there're many things available, like those forgotten small hardware, such as IR; With that, there's cool IR remote app, even DSLR Remote Shutter app. Some of the Maemo dev may have switch/jump to Android as they're disappointed with MeeGo, it's a loss, but hopefully, they may re-join back.

Yup, I know about keeping the mobile for how long issue; in fact I mentioned that before, people concerns with hardware and OS Support, when they change mobile like change clothes. It doesn't make sense for them to complain. For people who wish to stick and continue to use MeeGo, may hope there will be another MeeGo device with better hardware; Heck, I even wish there's a updated specs for device running Maemo5, I still prefer the OS.
Another reason for future MeeGo device is that if there is one, it means the updates and support is more secured and rest assured. Just like Symbian, they're still releasing Symbian devices, so the support and updates will definitely come, until one day, if they stop producing new Symbian devices, then people may start wondering and questioning about the support and updates.

Andy214
post Oct 31 2011, 04:02 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 31 2011, 02:05 PM)
Yes, Nokia should push for more quality apps and even approach Whatsapp directly but will they? Nokia's intentions w.r.t. Meego  are suspect as Elop wants to focus on WP7 as their sole platform. Nokia's approach so far to produce a Wizard for RSS feed apps has been more negative than positive as the Ovi store is flooded with these useless apps and good apps get lost among them. This may put off some developers.

On the positive side almost all the essential apps are in like radio streaming, podcasting, e-book reader, GPS status, GPS tracking, Skype, Flickr, Picasa, Dropbox, Spotify, SoundCloud clients, etc and some very nice games. What comes next can only make things better especially if the holes I mentioned are filled.

But it cannot be denied that the lure of the huge Android appstore is strong and there are many fun/educational apps which have almost no chance of appearing in Meego. Personally I'll give Meego 6 months and see what comes up and then even I may succumb to its siren song.

So are you sure you still want to get an N9, Andy?
True, good point, the apps flooding the store will draw away developers as their good/quality apps maybe covered/lost by among those useless apps. Nokia really need to manage their store properly.

Android is indeed a big lure, so many phones manufacturer to choose from offering different kinds of design and specs, plus, more and more people are using Android, and it also supports Full Flash, etc. Just too bad there isn't a good qwerty available, the most recent would be the upcoming Droid 4; but there's hardly one good one for qwerty device.

My sim card also change to micro-SIM, and been using the current N9 for some time; kinda hook. My option would be either this or wait for the Lumia 800?
Btw, for my review, I took a comparison shot yesterday between N9 and N8, to compare the wide angle difference, and I just use auto mode. Took indoor at shopping mall... The N8 image quality beat the crap out of N9, but N9 offers wider angle of view. For this, I did some research yesterday and come across certain site which mentioned N9 is 26mm wide angle? After researching more, I came across Damian Dining website himself, it's due to the sensor size of N9, which is not the normal 4:3 or 16:9 sensor size, it's trying to achieve best of both world utilizing the image circle (which is while the total sensor size giving 8.7MP), thus in 16:9 mode, it will fully utilize the width of the image circle, resulting in 26mm equivalent on 35mm format.

Added on October 31, 2011, 4:34 pmArgh darn, the mediadownloader and cuteTube is under paid apps; Haven't been checking since previously loan to others for review.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 31 2011, 04:34 PM
Andy214
post Nov 1 2011, 09:58 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Oct 31 2011, 09:49 PM)
Between the N9 and Lumia 800, better to choose N9. Malaysia still can't buy WP7 apps so this is a big drawback. Meego buttonless OS is more elegant than WP7 and faster to operate.

To me, a phone camera is just for record shots. For important holiday shots use a proper camera like a DSLR with a good lens. It's not easy to hold a camera phone and press the shutter without shake. When the light gets tricky even an N8 will fail.

For the record, Lumia camera is worse than N9.
Yup, still favor more towards MeeGo definitely, but if Lumnia 800 is launch anytime soon, no harm to take a look and compare first (if I still haven't get my N9). But I don't really like WP7 somehow, it feels very plain, don't know how to explain.

I seldom use phone camera too, just it come in handy when you don't have your DSLR; but usually I take indoor, which is kind of lowlight, take kids moving somemore, which the handphone camera don't work well. Well, if not particular with the noise and low quality, still ok "lah".

My experience with N8 is it produce more blur from movement of subject in lowlight, but N9 seems to be able to capture the movement better with less blur. I did experiment yesterday for the review again, I found that... both have same minimum shutter speed in auto mode, it goes as low as 1/15 @ manual ISO800 (EV+2). To get slower shutter speed, I use Night Mode, which down to a minimum of 1/5 @ manual ISO800 (EV+2).
However, I notice something weird with N8, if I use AUTO ISO, the display is brighter and the output is brighter (sometimes lower ISO too), seems it have different brightness setting. Didn't really test in detail, just hate when the camera decide for you, the settings isn't consistent when using Auto mode; and EV adjustment seems have no effect in low light, probably it already hit the limit.
Anyone managed to get slower shutter? I also read somewhere that N8 ISO can go over 1000, but didn't managed to get any pic with ISO exceed 800 in auto ISO mode.
As for the blur movement, I check the specs of N9, there's this "Automatic Blur Reduction" feature, I suppose it help to reduce the motion blur, and possibly that the N9 have less shutter lag (but didn't know how to properly test and determine this, might need to find the specs for it; or does anyone know)?
Finally, N8 took longer time to process the image, after taking a shot, it'll process the image which will delay. Focusing in N9 is slower, but it allows you to take a shot without focusing/re-focus, means you can continue to tap the shutter after you focus previously and take shot continuously; while N8, can't do that, everytime you press the shutter, it will re-focus and capture (whether it acquire or did not acquire focus successfully).

Lumia not using same camera module as N9? But anyway, I find the Flash position on Lumia awkward.

Andy214
post Nov 1 2011, 02:44 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Nov 1 2011, 02:21 PM)
New music player for N9 with 10 band graphic equalizer.

http://store.ovi.com/content/213179

Now, how is Meego-Harmattan a dead os when there are such talented enthusiasts creating great apps for it? I come from Samsung Bada and there is no alternative music player to date after almost 1.5 years.
They call it dead because MeeGo project is abandoned, now Intel works with Samsung on Tizen?
However Nokia claim they will continue to support and bring software updates to it.

As for apps, it doesn't matter the OS is dead or not, apps doesn't rely of OS alive or dead, haha. It rely on the popularity and users, especially for paid apps, it needs more potential "customers".
N900 has tons of great and useful apps, powerful media player (kmplayer, SiB, etc), powerful paint app, powerful browsers (even Chrome), have desktop class java can run applets... can install NetBean development tools... FCam (powerful camera app with manual controls)... most powerful and customizable widgets you can get in smartphone history... all that FOR FREEEEEE.... The OS is dead since long ago, but it doesn't stop the community to provide tons of amazing and great apps, they even provide community software updates continuing to support.
Andy214
post Nov 1 2011, 03:33 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Nov 1 2011, 03:09 PM)
Actually I think apps are more important than os upgrades Andy. Provided of course the os is already reasonably complete and polished. Users will get interested and excited with new apps which push the functionality of their phones even if the os is stagnant.

For example take Windows os. Microsoft has to keep pushing out new versions to make money but how many people will bother if it is stuck on Win XP provided new software and software updates keep coming?

The N900 could go living but but it is already discontinued by Nokia so no choice it has to wind down. But it was never intended to be a mass market product, more an experimental product so it was never promoted or marketed widely by Nokia. But N9 has the potential to be a mass market product.

Whether N9 become a mass market or a niche product will depend on developer support. WebOs died because it failed to attract developers although its os was widely praised. Bada is dying slowly for the same reason. Of course there is always the "chicken and egg" situation with regards to apps, developers and users but the community of Meego developers writing N9/N950 apps with no regards for commercial potential bodes well.

Of course Nokia can just pull the plug on Meego-Harmattan by stopping production on N9 but that's another story.
Yup, that's what I said before, OS upgrades isn't really important, as long as the OS is stable and have most of the feature available; But for N900, it's not stable and lacking many features and function, yet it's still living, thanks to the community support for the enhancements and apps. Besides, some people don't even bother to update or know about it, and when they update, they don't even know or check what is the improvement/changes anwyay. Those that always change their device, have even less reason to complain about OS support.

More quality and demanding apps/games will draw more customers, with more customers also means the manufacturer will be more serious about their product. So it's a win-win situation I believe.

I don't think they will pull the plug anytime soon; they just launch it and they need to attract more people to buy it too. I just hope they can continue to support it as long as possible, at least until a more "complete" and stable version; I still find many features and functions lacking and also bugs here and there. Maemo5 live till PR1.3, hope MeeGo Harmattan will go way beyond that.

Andy214
post Nov 1 2011, 05:37 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 1 2011, 04:10 PM)
Lucky Malaysian get bh505
SIFU, other states still Malaysian tongue.gif

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Nov 1 2011, 04:38 PM)
BH505...BH108....which one better?
Definitely BH-505, different kind of product, one is STEREO headset (and NFC Ready) and another is just single/mono headset.
Andy214
post Nov 1 2011, 06:02 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Nov 1 2011, 05:55 PM)
For this you want to pay rm60? It just avoid the curve part by not covering it. Better cut your own. One 7" Galaxy tab protector can cut three (3) pieces.

Added on November 1, 2011, 5:58 pm

Still not good enough for listening to music to my ears. I think the compression to send by bluetooth and decompression really mangled the sound.
Either that or the headet speaker/driver isn't good; I have the non-NFC version.
Andy214
post Nov 2 2011, 09:43 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 2 2011, 08:25 AM)
ill try get you registered. Anyone interested do confirm so i can assist to arrange the necessary. Do confirm which slot is suitable to you.

SIFU, what is this workshop about?

Added on November 2, 2011, 9:43 am

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 1 2011, 06:33 PM)
All bh505 are NFC ready as told by the nokia product manager. They never announce to market because back then there wasn't any phone support NFC.
Thanks for the information SIFU thumbup.gif

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Nov 1 2011, 09:52 PM)
Smartphone global market share in Oct 2011. ios climbs to top spot, Android down to No. 2. WP7 + WinMobile a paltry 0.2% (meaning WP7 may be 0.1% or less). Elop said a new dawn of Nokia. Maybe a new sunset for Nokia for embracing the loser WP7?
Source: http://www.bgr.com/2011/11/01/ios-market-s...no-2-mobile-os/

If Meego is prematurely announced as dead then WP7 is dying from lack of consumer interest. Who knows maybe Meego may overtake WP7 in market share and give Elop a slap in the face?

Added on November 1, 2011, 10:04 pmYo, Andy! Any comments on why WP7 is facing such consumer resistance? Too many Microsoft haters? No Whatsapp until Mango? Nobody wants Windows on their PC and Windows on their phones? Or the UI just too ugly?
Personally, I find Windows tiles concept not interesting; When they said they revamped their Windows Mobile and about emphasizing on Social Networks, I thougth they'll come out with something really good and interesting, but never expected it to be worst, less feature, more restrictions, very much influence from iOS... It doesn't look like and feel like Microsoft? The Windows have lots of flexibility and customization, but not their mobile OS. Well,... the previous version do, you can mess with the registry and do tons of customization albeit the UI is very plain and old fashioned. Their new WP7 looks very plain and simple, 2D flat look, some part looks old fashion or doesn't look modern (what I like about Maemo is the modern/futuristic UI, gradient colour, glowing-style buttons, etc).
Anyway, that's what I feel for WP7, some people may like its look; however, I can't deny it's very smooth and I'm surprised when I tested it too, but very iOS-ish, especially the simplicity, single-tasking, no Flash, many things were removed and kept simple as a beginner/novice user mode (Like if you provide Guest account, and don't allow the user to access to many Windows feature and content);
I'm not sure if all those features and functions are available and can be unlock by say, activating advance mode, or administrator mode or something, never own WP7 device, no idea.

Honestly, no idea on the public perception on WP7, maybe it just doesn't attract them, at least not until Mango. As I know, Mango did attracted more people, especially with their more interesting videos on YouTube introducing the features. I find it interesting as well, but if compared with the current market choices, I think Mango still fall short, especially in non-US countries. I'm not sure if there anything special for Mango which stands out from the rest? The features they introduce I think most (if not all) already available in other OS (if not done better). I guess what they have maybe the smoothness and for people who like their UI? Other than that, I think people will choose either iOS or Android.
Want simple, easy to use, smooth and tons of apps/games = iOS
Want something more, experience true smartphone, flexibility, customizations, enjoy true smartphone features, have fun playing around with smartphones and homescreen design = Android
Where does Mango stand? From it's funtions and features, it's like in the same category with iOS, competing against it. Can it win? If compared with Android, I don't think it even come close for now? Or will it in future?

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Nov 1 2011, 10:23 PM)
Nokia's name is associated with boring, cheap phones. It's image is staid and stodgy. The Nokia name won't attract young trendy people like those who won't be caught driving a Volvo. It's like a marriage between the boring and the hated.
True, but somehow when I said this statement, some people disagree. Most people I know, the younger generation are Anti-Nokia; plus, more and more anti-Nokia is growing after the frustration and switch to iOS and Android. Only those that have been loyal Nokia user, usually more senior and doesn't care or know much about smartphone (and , still use Nokia and sticking to it (besides, they're already used to its functions and features). It's only time when they realize and want change (especially when switch to Mango, they will be lost). This will give impact on Nokia?

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 2 2011, 09:44 AM
Andy214
post Nov 2 2011, 10:17 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 2 2011, 10:03 AM)
"Icons are boring & static.They don't do anything & just sit idle.WP7's tiles are more interesting & useful.Other OS don't have things like this"

These are some of quotes from Microsoft & Nokia regarding WP7.
Correct me if I'm wrong but even WP7 do have static icons in their version of application menu right?
Also regarding it just sit idle & do nothing,that's the point of having widget you dorks!I don't want some stupid tiles flipping in my phone the whole day doing pointless stuff.

With Lumia series I didn't see much difference between Nokia's WP7 & other OEM's WP7 devices.For now the Lumia 800 will be known as N9's rip off & leng chai phone.
Tiles are icons to them? I think it's some sort of widget replacement, like live wallpaper or something. I think they just went as lame as Apple' SJ giving funny and lame explanation? The problem with the "tiles" is, it's always a tile-style-kind-of-homescreen. Imagine the homescreen is tile base, 2D flat; I think it can be done for Android if they want to? Even better, you can choose they wanna use tile-theme or normal theme, or even better, 3D-tiles, pwned, oh wait, later kena "sue" for copying.

Lumnia got dedicated shutter key.... but then the LED Flash is reposition, don't know why and it's awkward position, maybe to differentiate it's not a N9 from behind?

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 2 2011, 11:00 AM
Andy214
post Nov 2 2011, 11:10 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 2 2011, 10:28 AM)
Tiles are tiles
Icons are icons.
No what fancy word microsoft trying to use to describe them these 2 are different things.It way looks fresh But I don't see much use of scrolling endless tiles.Better just put widget.It'll show more information & offer better flexibility.
Already got WP7 launcher for Android.Lame.
Some type, corrected my post; I means, the tiles are basically like widgets, or can be implemented with widgets, or something similar. So, it's nothing fancy, plus, if there's such widget created to imitate the tiles concept, what is the uniqueness or value on WP7 anymore, it just make them more stupid as their tiles are just tiles, a fixed homescreen with tiles, when others can customize and choose.

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 2 2011, 10:28 AM)
Sue here,sue there.Tell them to shove their money to their @** everytime they win a case.
If you want good progress of innovation you may have to take others idea & modify to suit your idea.All innovation happens like this.Try to go 1 up against your opponent with your device if you see their innovation with their device is better.
Lot's of people said Google should sue Apple for copying Android's notification system.I don't think the same.
I'm quite sure that Andy Rubin & co laughed knowing they have went 1 up against Apple because Apple copied their stuff.
The patent system itself if very flawed.A patent for the "slide to unlock"? THAT"S JUST PLAIN DUMB!

The basic idea behind N9 is buttonless design.I think since it's possible to have onscreen shutter Nokia just removed it.
Yup, I think nowadays it's getting too overboard, little bit, then sue for copy, patent this patent that. Which idea is original? How can there be so many original idea, most creation today are improvements over some others idea. So, little bit then sue-for-copy; There need to be some sort of proper control and management, but then I don't think they will do it, after-all, this is all $$$ making scheme for both many party.

N9 buttonless only for front, the side still have volume rocker and power key, so no harm adding the shutter key, they can even make the shutter key with polycarbonate, and same color as the body, looks even nicer. Well, onscreen shutter works fine so far especially thanks to the fast performance, and anti-motion blur reduction technology (and possible prioritizing higher shutter speed?), but a dedicated shutter key will still come in handy for some situation (self portrait for ladies), taking picture at certain angle on single hand, etc. It's just a nice to have.

Andy214
post Nov 2 2011, 11:37 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 2 2011, 11:30 AM)
I have installed apps in my Android to make it look like WP7.  laugh.gif
Messages, Phone, Gallery, Music Player, Email all have WP7 UI. laugh.gif
Got bored with it after a while. Still prefer Homescreens with widget and shortcuts. Convenient. laugh.gif
That's the benefit and beauty of choice and customization; So, what's so special about WP7 innovation anymore? They're just restriction and limitation, and trying to cheat their user, treating their users as novice or fools, just like iOS.

The previous Windows Mobile, there's more customization and proper homescreen; The new WP7 is like downgraded; Simple is good, but it doesn't mean need to remove the feature, just make it simple and allow user to choose to turn on.
Imagine Photoshop features all remove become like MS Paint.
Imagine Camera with no Manual mode, fully on Auto mode only, treating all camera users as noob, don't let them mess with manual control, don't let them learn, move forward and rely on auto. When they rely too much on auto, when they see other camera, they will feel reluctant to learn and complicated to use; This created a new category of user.
People usually say, not to be spoon-fed, learn to read the manual, learn your device, but now they're doing the opposite against it, encourage them to continue to stay the same forever.
Andy214
post Nov 2 2011, 02:25 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Nov 2 2011, 01:39 PM)
Well, I think MS copied a lot of design philosophy from Apple including dumbing down the UI and imposing a lot of restrictions. But MS doesn't have the iconic status of Apple so they just look dumb. Things like opaque file system and no micro-SD card are unnecessary. Apple can get away with a lot of things other manufacturers can't. Even if Apple package a pile of poo and sell it their fans will still buy it. Then of course there is the huge ios appstore which many smartphone users will die for.
That's something we called some people can do and some people can't; It gives people different impression.

A famous celebrity can do something small and get high praise, look upon like they change the world, but a lesser celebrity or normal person who did something big and contribute something good, may not get anything, sometimes may get negative response too.

Another recent one, SJ vs the Creator of C, I think there's photo of this circulating around FB.

Added on November 2, 2011, 2:25 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 2 2011, 12:44 PM)
Nokia n9 introduction tips and tricks with some freebies by nokia presentative. Only retail n9 units can get freebies
Thanks SIFU~

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 2 2011, 02:25 PM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0493sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:23 PM