125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Hardware NEW MacBook | Pro | Air Users Thread Version 8.0, MacBook Users, Spill Your Guts Here!

bpay14
post Oct 21 2011, 04:54 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Oct 21 2011, 04:35 PM)
it means that 8gb is too much for how he normally uses his mac up to a point that he can't really see/feel the difference smile.gif
oh ic!
thx for the explaination~ smile.gif

but how about if running application like photoshop, aperture and some video editing software?
will it better if i have 8GB ram?
freezadwar
post Oct 21 2011, 05:17 PM

:okay:
862 posts

QUOTE(bpay14 @ Oct 21 2011, 04:54 PM)
oh ic!
thx for the explaination~  smile.gif

but how about if running application like photoshop, aperture and some video editing software?
will it better if i have 8GB ram?
it should run smoother with 8gb biggrin.gif
KKW
post Oct 21 2011, 09:12 PM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(bpay14 @ Oct 21 2011, 02:43 PM)
why? what do you mean?
im planning to get a MBP too..
and thinking to upgrade to 8GB too... hmm..
My advice is do what ever that you need to do on MBP..
Monitor the RAM usage.. If always reach the max then you should got for upgrade smile.gif

QUOTE(olivur @ Oct 21 2011, 04:35 PM)
it means that 8gb is too much for how he normally uses his mac up to a point that he can't really see/feel the difference smile.gif
Thanks for answering for me. smile.gif
btw, yesterday I did my sound design assignment it reached 5.5GB of usage biggrin.gif
olivur
post Oct 21 2011, 09:19 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,283 posts

posted this before, guess it deserves an encore :P

http://macintoshhowto.com/hardware/does-my...ore-memory.html
KKW
post Oct 21 2011, 09:32 PM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Oct 21 2011, 09:19 PM)
posted this before, guess it deserves an encore tongue.gif

Wow.. Thanks for the link.
On my MBP shown 0 bytes on page outs biggrin.gif
tyuno
post Oct 21 2011, 10:48 PM

51 posts

I'm looking to get MBP 15'' at student price, does Machines offer student price ? Or would it be better to get through online store ?
KKW
post Oct 21 2011, 11:02 PM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(tyuno @ Oct 21 2011, 10:48 PM)
I'm looking to get MBP 15'' at student price, does Machines offer student price ? Or would it be better to get through online store ?
Machines doesn't offer student price.
The best way is get from online store.
Unless you're from MMU or Limkokwing student you can purchase from their on campus store smile.gif
tyuno
post Oct 21 2011, 11:59 PM

51 posts

Thanks for the info.
I tried checking out the MBP at online store and it stated 3 working days delivery for it. Is it really that fast ?
KKW
post Oct 22 2011, 12:08 AM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(tyuno @ Oct 21 2011, 11:59 PM)
Thanks for the info.
I tried checking out the MBP at online store and it stated 3 working days delivery for it. Is it really that fast ?
Did you customise it?
If yes, usually it take 5 to 6 normal days to reach your door step.
In my case, 5 normal days. smile.gif
bpay14
post Oct 22 2011, 12:48 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Oct 21 2011, 09:19 PM)
posted this before, guess it deserves an encore tongue.gif

thx for sharing~ thumbup.gif
tyuno
post Oct 22 2011, 12:49 AM

51 posts

Cool then what about without customise ? Will it be faster ?
Plan to get with 8GB of RAM
KKW
post Oct 22 2011, 12:58 AM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(tyuno @ Oct 22 2011, 12:49 AM)
Cool then what about without customise ? Will it be faster ?
Plan to get with 8GB of RAM
Yup. Will be faster.
RAM can upgrade your self.
I upgrade my RAM at All IT smile.gif
tyuno
post Oct 22 2011, 01:02 AM

51 posts

So if I get normal, how much for 2X4GB module ?I understand 4GB means 2X2GB it come with. Any recommend for type/brand ?
bpay14
post Oct 22 2011, 01:03 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 21 2011, 09:12 PM)
My advice is do what ever that you need to do on MBP..
Monitor the RAM usage.. If always reach the max then you should got for upgrade smile.gif
Thanks for answering for me. smile.gif
btw, yesterday I did my sound design assignment it reached 5.5GB of usage  biggrin.gif
i some question.. and sorry if my questions are too noob..
i'm very new to Mac.. sweat.gif

1. is the RAM use in Mac is same as the RAM use in PC notebook??
2. is there any different if i choose to upgrade the RAM directly when i place order online, or i upgrade later after sometimes if i feel that the mac is slow?

4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB [Add RM 670.00]

3. above are the options when i place order in apple store online.. so im wondering, how many memory slot is there in a Macbook?? if i choose 4GB (as above 2x2GB), doest it mean that if i upgrade to 8GB later i need to take out the 2x2GB RAM??

sorry again for the noob question.. haha..
and thx in advance.. laugh.gif
tyuno
post Oct 22 2011, 01:07 AM

51 posts

I understand that if you get upgrade RAM when purchase then warranty covered, if upgrade yourself then warranty not under them.

For slots I believe only 2
KKW
post Oct 22 2011, 01:31 AM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(tyuno @ Oct 22 2011, 01:02 AM)
So if I get normal, how much for 2X4GB module ?I understand 4GB means 2X2GB it come with. Any recommend for type/brand ?
When I upgrade 3-4 months ago is RM 250.
I'm using kingston 4GB 1333Mhz DDR3x2

QUOTE(bpay14 @ Oct 22 2011, 01:03 AM)
i some question.. and sorry if my questions are too noob.. 
i'm very new to Mac.. sweat.gif

1. is the RAM use in Mac is same as the RAM use in PC notebook??
2. is there any different if i choose to upgrade the RAM directly when i place order online, or i upgrade later after sometimes if i feel that the mac is slow?

4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB [Add RM 670.00]

3. above are the options when i place order in apple store online.. so im wondering, how many memory slot is there in a Macbook?? if i choose 4GB (as above 2x2GB), doest it mean that if i upgrade to 8GB later i need to take out the 2x2GB RAM??

sorry again for the noob question.. haha..
and thx in advance..  laugh.gif
1. is the same.
2. Er.. should be same?
3. There 2 slots in MBP. Yup you need take out the 2x2GB RAM

QUOTE(tyuno @ Oct 22 2011, 01:07 AM)
I understand that if you get upgrade RAM when purchase then warranty covered, if upgrade yourself then warranty not under them.

For slots I believe only 2
As I know, upgrading RAM and hard disk won't void the warranty.

bpay14
post Oct 22 2011, 02:04 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(KKW @ Oct 22 2011, 01:31 AM)
When I upgrade 3-4 months ago is RM 250.
I'm using kingston 4GB 1333Mhz DDR3x2
1. is the same.
2. Er.. should be same?
3. There 2 slots in MBP. Yup you need take out the 2x2GB RAM
As I know, upgrading RAM and hard disk won't void the warranty.
thx for reply!! smile.gif
ajul
post Oct 22 2011, 03:14 PM

100% ONLINE DEALER
1,258 posts

QUOTE(tyuno @ Oct 21 2011, 11:59 PM)
Thanks for the info.
u can get beter deal here LYN@Garage Sale..no need wait 3 days...price much lower than education price..just my advise pls search around first to get better deal..:-)

Added on October 22, 2011, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(bpay14 @ Oct 22 2011, 02:04 PM)
thx for reply!!  smile.gif
now below rm200 already can get 2x 4GB DDR3 1333mhz..:-)

This post has been edited by ajul: Oct 22 2011, 03:17 PM
KKW
post Oct 22 2011, 03:30 PM

2,954 posts

QUOTE(bpay14 @ Oct 22 2011, 02:04 PM)
thx for reply!!  smile.gif
You're welcome smile.gif

QUOTE(ajul @ Oct 22 2011, 03:14 PM)
u can get beter deal here LYN@Garage Sale..no need wait 3 days...price much lower than education price..just my advise pls search around first to get better deal..:-)

Lol.. Now days the ram getting cheaper and cheaper..
I still remember those day need upgrade 2x4GB need RM 700 and 1.2k by apple doh.gif
bpay14
post Oct 22 2011, 08:06 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(ajul @ Oct 22 2011, 03:14 PM)

huhh.. so cheap??
apple store need RM600++ to upgrade to 8GB shakehead.gif

so is it better i dun upgrade when i buy macbook.
then i buy another 2x4GB myself later to upgrade??
any recommended brand? kingston?

i jz noticed you've offer good price @Garage sales..
i contact u later when im free.. hehe rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bpay14: Oct 22 2011, 08:28 PM

125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:17 AM