6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

cklimm
post Feb 18 2021, 09:37 AM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 17 2021, 09:10 PM)
The return can cover the tax penalty right?
You're not selling at loss.
Last year, there was no tax penalty for PRS withdrawal. It will be great if extended
cklimm
post Mar 31 2021, 09:18 AM

2,338 posts

Eh guys, look at fund performance, Amfunds really kns wei

https://www.ppa.my/wp-content/uploads/2021/...ormance_All.pdf
cklimm
post Apr 5 2021, 04:13 PM

2,338 posts

AmPRS - Islamic Fixed Income Fund has dropped 30% value in 3 years time.

Upon enquiry, a girl over there said that they are closing this fund, maybe its the 1st for a PRS fund to be closed.

https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/facts...rc=fund-details

cklimm
post Apr 5 2021, 05:08 PM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Apr 5 2021, 04:24 PM)
Is the closure the cause, or the result, of the drop in value?

A bit confused with how you worded it, as if it's the "cause", as in they somehow purposely report in losses because they want to close it  blink.gif Which.... in this case, I feel worried that if in the future a PRS fund is closing, then it will drop so much before that happens sad.gif ?
additional info: she said the fund size has become too small to maintain, hence the decision to close it.

I neither ask why it (size) become so small, nor why the 30% drop.
But to my knowledge, most bond funds mainly subscribes to only a handful of wholesale bonds, any of them gone bad, the nav can see a sharp drop
cklimm
post Apr 5 2021, 07:53 PM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(LoTek @ Apr 5 2021, 05:41 PM)
Only one customer?
according to annual report, a handful back then in last year

cklimm
post Apr 9 2021, 08:17 PM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Apr 9 2021, 12:41 AM)
Anybody know next promo for PRS? I only aware year end got.
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 9 2021, 07:38 AM)
Don't wait for promo by FSM. Wait for promo by market. Market promo usually more than what FSM can give you.

Say 10% discount from current price Vs some RM40 eWallet discount. You tell me. I never wait for FSM promo. If I had waited for FSM promo, I would have miss out March low of last year.
Above is the best way.

But in case you have missed the boat(s), just buy the top losers during the promotion, then you will have promo in both world.
cklimm
post Apr 16 2021, 01:48 PM

2,338 posts

Any RHB Retirement Series - Islamic Balanced Fund holder here?
Has it been a bonus issue recently? I have seen a sharp drop for like 15%

https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/tools/facts...?fund=MYRHBRSIB

cklimm
post Apr 16 2021, 05:32 PM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 16 2021, 02:40 PM)
i maybe wrong,...i think it maybe related to Mex 1....

Downgrade of MEX I Capital Sukuk
On 19 March 2021, RAM Ratings downgraded MEX I Capital Bhd’s RM1.35 billion Sukuk Musharakah (2014/2031) by 8 notches to C3 (which is one notch above Default) from BB1 due to the company’s continued liquidity problems and increased default risk due to lower Maju Expressway (MEX) traffic volumes and delays in the restructuring exercise.
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...=article-search
Guess so, the top 2 holdings are Mex sukuks, valued about 37% of the entire fund.
Factsheet:
https://www.fsmone.com.my/admin/buy/factshe...etMYRHBRSIB.pdf
cklimm
post Apr 17 2021, 10:11 AM

2,338 posts

On 19 March 2021, RAM Ratings downgraded MEX I Capital Bhd’s RM1.35 billion Sukuk Musharakah (2014/2031) by 8 notches to C3 (which is one notch above Default) from BB1 due to the company’s continued liquidity problems and increased default risk due to lower Maju Expressway (MEX) traffic volumes and delays in the restructuring exercise.
QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Apr 17 2021, 10:07 AM)
Read the annual report too. Trustee also gave their view and concern about it.
Which it leads to next question: buy on weakness shall we?
cklimm
post Apr 17 2021, 10:24 AM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Apr 17 2021, 10:15 AM)
Not those heavily concentrate in mex1 & 2.
Those with minimal exposure, have no drops in NAV price.

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 17 2021, 10:13 AM)
weakness due to the Fund house or the general markets in question?
seems like both
1. poor choices of fund house
2. the bad market made it worse

Should the government will bail these sukuk, then a rebound will be expected. Is Maju Holdings a GLC?
cklimm
post Apr 21 2021, 11:27 PM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Apr 21 2021, 11:22 PM)
hope u didnt hantam RHB growth fund. They are losing money  sweat.gif
I found it attractive though. biggrin.gif
cklimm
post Apr 22 2021, 08:58 AM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(jorgsacul @ Apr 17 2021, 10:07 AM)
Read the annual report too. Trustee also gave their view and concern about it.
QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 17 2021, 10:31 AM)
then for your question on "buy on weakness shall we?".... i would not buy due to your above 2 factors...
Things are getting fun now, cant wait to see their latest NAV

Highway operator MEX II defers bond coupon payment

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/high...-coupon-payment
cklimm
post May 7 2021, 01:34 PM

2,338 posts

I've seen most PRS funds have lost 2% in a single week, that's about half of the YTD gains.

Is it time to enter now?
cklimm
post May 7 2021, 07:37 PM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ May 7 2021, 01:49 PM)
DCA then good time now no need think much. Lump sum then you will always keep thinking lol
fine, i put 1k in brows.gif
cklimm
post May 14 2021, 11:08 AM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ May 14 2021, 11:06 AM)
Previously I bought from public mutual. How do I transfer purchases to fsm?
why transfer, public mutual works well for last year
cklimm
post May 28 2021, 09:10 PM

2,338 posts

Following the announcement of full lockdown,
next week we will likely to witness blood bath across all funds,
good for those seeking to buy the dip
cklimm
post Jul 5 2021, 07:16 AM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(daniellehu @ Jul 4 2021, 11:58 PM)
Appreciated it, IM16. Shall look into this!
QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jul 5 2021, 12:29 AM)
16? U just too young la..... Not worth for the prs I think.
Once deposited, earliest withdrawal date will be 2060
Hope we all live till that day to see you kid announce your retirement brows.gif
cklimm
post Jul 7 2021, 08:23 PM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Jul 7 2021, 02:40 PM)
I find that the longer we keep the fund (above 10 yrs) the return is lower per annum.    How ah?  To keep or withdraw after around 7-8 yrs?
QUOTE(thecurious @ Jul 7 2021, 02:48 PM)
You can't just see longer period going down oh no. Decide to withdraw every 7 years because of one time period you observed.

See that Asia peaked in 2018, downtrend until 2020 then picked up from 2020 to 2021. Since the last few years that you see in your cut off period are down trends and below the peak, obviously the longer trend is lower returns.

What if you saw the chart or returns from 2016 to 2018? Will your decision be to withdraw every 3 years?
does switching to conservative fund helps to lock the profit?
cklimm
post Jul 10 2021, 04:03 PM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(wayn3san @ Jul 10 2021, 03:57 PM)
Hi guys, seeking your kind professional advice here.

Looking to start a PRS acc mainly for tax relief purposes. Was reading up the thread here and would like to confirm, opening a PRSaccount through FSM makes the most cost saving sense since there is no/minimal sales charge incurred.

But just to confirm, mgmt fees are incurred from the fund houses right, not from the FSM platform itself. So in other words - cannot lari from this charges.

Thanks in advance for your replies.
Yes, I am a FSM user also, convenient and they usually have PRS promo in year end.
regarding management fees, sifu Ramjade knows better than me.
cklimm
post Jul 21 2021, 09:43 AM

2,338 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jul 20 2021, 05:25 PM)
where u saw the info?
kasi link , boss  cool2.gif

## ok, i saw it oledi https://asia.manulifeam.com/ifunds-offers-my.html
Only investment into PRS Class C funds will be eligible for this campaign

-3k lump sum and hold 6 months
-get rm100 e voucher

Based on this Sales charge see page 64
Sales Charge = (amount to be invested) x 3.00%
= RM3,000 x 3.00%
= RM90

u gonna pay rm3090 to manulife, i think  hmm.gif

so , actually u only earn rm10 (rm100 - rm90)  sweat.gif

i oso explore a bit their platform , Manulife iFUNDS .....cant find the sales charge gonna pay if buy any UT from their platform.... sweat.gif
wow, like this i rather wait for FSM promotion (0 sales charge)

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1373sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:02 AM