13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

SUSDavid83
post Dec 17 2014, 09:15 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 17 2014, 08:51 AM)
Won't it be better to invest in conservative fund now and probably switch to agressive fund next year? What is the switching cost for PRS in %?
Switching restriction depends on PRS providers:

http://www.ppa.my/wp-content/uploads/2014/...risons_2dec.pdf
SUSDavid83
post Dec 21 2014, 11:53 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 21 2014, 11:53 AM)
anyone has the list of PRS fund that offer by iFast?
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/prs/g...tePRSTable.svdo
SUSDavid83
post Dec 28 2014, 07:48 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Dec 28 2014, 07:41 PM)
Just curious, will PRS related transaction be charged GST?
Any transaction that involves fee or charge will definitely attract GST.
SUSDavid83
post Dec 28 2014, 08:21 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Dec 28 2014, 08:07 PM)
Thanks David smile.gif new to PRS here. Any difference going through FSM or direct to the IB?
Service charge difference.

Monitoring platform/interface.
SUSDavid83
post Dec 30 2014, 11:48 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Dec 30 2014, 10:01 AM)
Any body know if purhcase ut in public mutual website, need jhow long for the floast transaction processed?
You should call PM CS.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 28 2015, 01:24 PM

52,874 posts

PRS an effective channel for retirement savings

Hee said investment schemes like the PRS will help contributors hedge against inflation when the tax is introduced in April. She was speaking at a forum entitled “Rendezvous with Retirement” at the KDU Glennmarie campus in Shah Alam.

“Instead of investing in unit trusts, stocks or fixed deposits, one can start saving with the PRS, which has less inflation risk,” she added.

URL: http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/p...irement-savings

Interesting? PRS hedges against inflation but as far as I know, most of the PRS funds introduced are feeder into several funds managed by its own fund manager.

SUSDavid83
post Jan 29 2015, 03:54 PM

52,874 posts

PRS tax relief that you can claim is up to RM 3k contribution per year.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 29 2015, 04:02 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 29 2015, 03:56 PM)
So as long as i commit 3K per year i will get back RM780 rite?
Point 3:

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=2965
SUSDavid83
post Jan 29 2015, 09:41 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(eternity4life @ Jan 29 2015, 09:25 PM)
1) Yes you can enjoy a tax rebate of RM 780 with your current tax bracket once you contribute RM 3000 to any PRS fund, either lump sum or RM 250 per month regular savings.

2) Currently the best PRS funds are CIMB Asia Pacific Ex-Japan. It is the only foreign market PRS fund hence the reason it is doing well as Malaysian market is doing pretty bad currently. Do bear in mind that CIMB charge 3% sales charge for their PRS funds. Nevertheless the fund returns are impressive indeed.

In my opinion it is still too early to decide which funds will perform better as most PRS funds are relatively new. The current dip Malaysia have been undergoing make a lot of unit trust prices that focus on Malaysian market to become relatively cheaper. I would suggest going for either Affin Hwang or Manulife (through unit trust consultant or advisors for Manulife) as this funds have 0% sales charge and their returns are quite good as well.

You can refer the returns here :
http://gllt.morningstar.com/e6qvxuu98r/fun...anguageId=en-GB
If I buy CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C via FSM, the SC is 0% too!
SUSDavid83
post Jan 30 2015, 07:54 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(eternity4life @ Jan 30 2015, 07:50 AM)
Ah, forgot about that. Usually i just refer to morningstar data fees. Thanks.
If you invest via FSM, all PRS funds SC are at 0% in fact.

I do notice that you did recommend PRS series from Manulife. From FSM summary table, Manulife charges higher management at 2.25% compared to the guideline from PPA at 1.3 to 1.8%.

Do you have any insight on this matter?

SUSDavid83
post Jan 31 2015, 09:48 PM

52,874 posts

FSM CIS advised that you shall concentrate on one PRS provider per calendar year to avoid such multiple PPA annual fee.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 31 2015, 09:56 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 31 2015, 09:54 PM)
let say I have bought Manulife PRS,

after 1 year, I want to switch to Kenanga PRS.

So the fee is RM25 only?
That is not called switching. Switching is within same PRS provider.

Your case should be called transfer and should refer to transfer fee.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 4 2015, 09:36 AM

52,874 posts

For general fees and charges comparison, refer to:

http://www.ppa.my/wp-content/uploads/2014/...risons_2dec.pdf
SUSDavid83
post Feb 26 2015, 07:10 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(lahm @ Feb 26 2015, 04:41 PM)
what's the difference between class A and class C of CIMB PRS?
Class A - Subject to the PRS Provider’s absolute discretion, Class A is for an individual who has attained the age 18 years as of the date of opening a private pension account. Class A and Class C have different Sales Charge and Management Fee.

Class C - Subject to the PRS Provider’s absolute discretion, Class C is for an individual who has attained the age 18 years as of the date of opening a private pension account. Class A and Class C have different Sales Charge and Management Fee.

Class X - Subject to the PRS Provider’s absolute discretion, Class X is for a Member who participates via his/her employer and is subject to a minimum of 200 participating employees per employer or 50 participating employees under payroll deduction per employer. Class X has no Sales Charge.

From: http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/admin...ceMYCPPRS5C.pdf

Class A: SC up to 3%

Class C: SC up to 0.5%

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 26 2015, 07:15 PM
SUSDavid83
post Feb 26 2015, 08:04 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 26 2015, 08:01 PM)
wow the mgmt fees also NOT same.
SLOWLY< slowly, makan you BALIK?  doh.gif
That's a max MF that PRS can charge. A prudent fund will be lower than that guidance.

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 26 2015, 08:08 PM
SUSDavid83
post Feb 26 2015, 08:08 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 26 2015, 08:06 PM)
hmm.gif  lower SC but HIGHER mgmt. fees?  shakehead.gif
SC delta: 2.5%

MF delta: 0.1%

Still win right?

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 26 2015, 08:09 PM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 18 2015, 07:46 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 18 2015, 01:02 AM)
if buy PRS from FSM n PPA any different? tq... new to this. jus got to noe it when doin my income tax....
No difference.

You can't buy from PPA as they're regulating government body.

You can either buy direct from PRS provider or third-part middleman like FSM.

SUSDavid83
post Mar 18 2015, 03:17 PM

52,874 posts

PPA will charge RM 8 annual for administration fee. This annual fee will only be charged if you make a contribution on the calendar year. If you don't make any contribution, you no need to pay for it.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 18 2015, 04:06 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 18 2015, 03:47 PM)
ic... thanks for d info.

i tried look around but not much info in a single pages..
http://gllt.morningstar.com/e6qvxuu98r/fun...GB&tab=Snapshot

which funds dat diversified its investment in foreign country? i read back few pages found 1 of them were cimb asia pacific ex japan bla bla bla. any others?
not looking to buy local 1, if not i guess not much different wit epf.. it will bcome for nothing more than income tax relief purpose... tq
For fully offshore PRS fund, I believe only CIMB offers in two variants: CIMB Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C and CIMB Islamic PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C

SUSDavid83
post Mar 19 2015, 07:33 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 19 2015, 07:32 PM)
Today first investment in PRS for 2015.

Affin Hwang PRS Growth Fund
RM 3k?

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top