Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??
~~5ive~~
Mar 29 2014, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 29 2014, 08:54 PM) guys, question please. is it like , i take this scheme. every month i invest rm100 or rm1k per year, i get rm500 into my account? after 1 year, i can close the account? No. Prs is aimed to keep until you retired. Unless you don't mind being penalised.
PrincZe
Mar 29 2014, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Mar 29 2014, 10:58 PM) No. Prs is aimed to keep until you retired. Unless you don't mind being penalised. so when does my rm500 comes in? was thinking too good to be true. thought of asking further info on this. because i thought it's benefit ma. every year as long got save 1k, give u rm500. lol silly me
~~5ive~~
Mar 29 2014, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 29 2014, 11:02 PM) so when does my rm500 comes in? was thinking too good to be true. thought of asking further info on this. because i thought it's benefit ma. every year as long got save 1k, give u rm500. lol silly me  RM500 is given once for lifetime, so it is not something too good to be true i believe just a strategy to build the awareness of PRS and attract ppl to buy...... Personally, i would say PRS just something like EPF in voluntary basis and giving you additional tax deduction
PrincZe
Mar 30 2014, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Mar 29 2014, 11:42 PM) RM500 is given once for lifetime, so it is not something too good to be true i believe just a strategy to build the awareness of PRS and attract ppl to buy...... Personally, i would say PRS just something like EPF in voluntary basis and giving you additional tax deduction then, when will they give ? 1st year? i think there's penalty too if give u rm500 then i cancel lol
Hapeng
Mar 30 2014, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Feb 26 2014, 09:13 AM) Why do you need to do so ? QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 30 2014, 12:03 AM) then, when will they give ? 1st year? i think there's penalty too if give u rm500 then i cancel lol there's a penalty regardless of the RM500.
kabal82
Mar 30 2014, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Mar 29 2014, 11:42 PM) RM500 is given once for lifetime, so it is not something too good to be true i believe just a strategy to build the awareness of PRS and attract ppl to buy...... Personally, i would say PRS just something like EPF in voluntary basis and giving you additional tax deduction Just wanna know... I've been investing in Hwang PRS for the past year thru FSM... How do i get the tax deduction for my income tax filling? WIll they automatically email to me or do i need to fill in some procedure to get it? Thanks in advance...
SUSyklooi
Mar 30 2014, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 30 2014, 12:23 PM) Just wanna know... I've been investing in Hwang PRS for the past year thru FSM... How do i get the tax deduction for my income tax filling? WIll they automatically email to me or do i need to fill in some procedure to get it? Thanks in advance... I think for BE form...under F17 there is a "fill in the blank..the figure" (F17 is in for BE 2013 form) http://www.hasil.gov.my/goindex.php?jboran...1&Submit=Search
kabal82
Mar 30 2014, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 30 2014, 12:39 PM) I think for BE form...under F17 there is a "fill in the blank..the figure" (F17 is in for BE 2013 form) http://www.hasil.gov.my/goindex.php?jboran...1&Submit=SearchThx for the info... what i meant to say is do I need to wait for HwangIM to send me the tax deduction voucher, or i just deduct the amount i invested for the past 1 year (Max. RM3000)?
wil-i-am
Mar 30 2014, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 30 2014, 12:51 PM) Thx for the info... what i meant to say is do I need to wait for HwangIM to send me the tax deduction voucher, or i just deduct the amount i invested for the past 1 year (Max. RM3000)? Deduct 1st n follow-up later
SUSyklooi
Mar 30 2014, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 30 2014, 12:51 PM) Thx for the info... what i meant to say is do I need to wait for HwangIM to send me the tax deduction voucher, or i just deduct the amount i invested for the past 1 year (Max. RM3000)? I dun wait for Hw to send.....I claim first.... if LHDN want to hv proof...they can just type in my IC into their system to know..... if they wanted a hard copy....I can get from hw. I dun know about others
repusez
Mar 30 2014, 04:12 PM
hwang already send the annual statement at the beginning of the year stating how much you invested. the PRF admin PPA also email me a statement for 2013 , last week.
w33 w33
Mar 30 2014, 08:34 PM

Dear all, Want to check: 1. If i deposit RM3k in May 2014 means I can have RM3k tac relief? This means that how much i deposit = how much is my tax relief? 2. Which institute do you use? Why? 3. If i deposit RM3k, meaning I can do it once and enjoy the tax relief for 10 years provided I do not withdraw the money right? Something similar like SSPN? Thank you for your help
knight
Mar 30 2014, 10:26 PM
I'm new to PRS. Few doubts I have in mind before I go ahead to apply this scheme. Sicne I don't have a Retirement plan yet.
1. If the PRS bank/company have some problem and close shop, is it have some protection like what our FD have (Protection under PIDM) ??
2. How secure is this thing. Would it be better than those mutual fund thing?
3. Want confirm the yearly amount invested I can depend how much I want to pour in. If they not doing good, I may just stop pouring money into the account.
4. As I see, they seems to mentioned about the charges. I found this in CIMB. Is this true that we have to pay Annual fee of RM8?? And all those unknown thing.
What are the fees charged by CIMB-Principal? Sales charge: Up to 3% of net asset value ("NAV") Account opening fee: RM40 (currently waived) Annual management fee: Range from 1.40% to 1.50% per annum of NAV Transfer PRS Provider Fee: Up to RM75 Annual trustee fee: Up to 0.04% per annum of NAV Switching fee: Nil Change of contribution direction fee: Nil
What are the fees charged by the PPA? PPA account opening fee: RM 10 (currently borne and paid by CIMB-Principal) PPA annual fee: RM8 PPA pre-retirement withdrawal fee: RM25 PPA transfer PRS provider fee (to another PRS provider): RM25 Annual PPA administration fee (accrued daily based on the NAV of the fund and paid monthly): 0.04% of the fund’s NAV
This post has been edited by knight: Mar 30 2014, 10:27 PM
SUSDavid83
Mar 31 2014, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(w33 w33 @ Mar 30 2014, 08:34 PM) Dear all, Want to check: 1. If i deposit RM3k in May 2014 means I can have RM3k tac relief? This means that how much i deposit = how much is my tax relief? 2. Which institute do you use? Why? 3. If i deposit RM3k, meaning I can do it once and enjoy the tax relief for 10 years provided I do not withdraw the money right? Something similar like SSPN? Thank you for your help  1. Yes. Max yearly tax relief is RM 3k 2. Research yourself 3. Yes but if you plan for premature withdrawal, you're subject to 8% tax penalty. You can still invest and enjoy the tax relief if you make new contribution within the stipulated period.
drewgtan
Mar 31 2014, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(w33 w33 @ Mar 30 2014, 08:34 PM) Dear all, Want to check: 1. If i deposit RM3k in May 2014 means I can have RM3k tac relief? This means that how much i deposit = how much is my tax relief? 2. Which institute do you use? Why? 3. If i deposit RM3k, meaning I can do it once and enjoy the tax relief for 10 years provided I do not withdraw the money right? Something similar like SSPN? Thank you for your help  3. Tax relief is only applicable for new funds invested in that year. E.g. If you invest 3k this year, and nothing next year, you can only claim tax relief for 2014, and not 2015.
azeL_Inc
May 16 2014, 09:24 PM

QUOTE(drewgtan @ Mar 31 2014, 10:31 PM) 3. Tax relief is only applicable for new funds invested in that year. E.g. If you invest 3k this year, and nothing next year, you can only claim tax relief for 2014, and not 2015. Yes, and similar to SSPN too. Can only claim what you have invested in that particular year.
cokehau
May 17 2014, 03:26 PM

Can anyone justify this?
what i heard from friends is that this PRS scheme taxed you by the time you retired and trying to get your money back. they will tax you according to the money you withdrawn as your income. And thats why my friend stop deposit money into PRS anymore.
wongmunkeong
May 17 2014, 04:23 PM
Barista FIRE
QUOTE(cokehau @ May 17 2014, 03:26 PM) Can anyone justify this? what i heard from friends is that this PRS scheme taxed you by the time you retired and trying to get your money back. they will tax you according to the money you withdrawn as your income. And thats why my friend stop deposit money into PRS anymore. Justify or clarify? If clarify - done already. It's a misunderstanding mostly except for the 8% whacking if U take out from account B before 55 http://www.ppa.my/prs/prs-faqs/ look at withdrawals Justify? sorry - i dont think anyone in LYN can or needs to justify kaka to U
cokehau
May 17 2014, 06:35 PM

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 17 2014, 04:23 PM) Justify or clarify? If clarify - done already. It's a misunderstanding mostly except for the 8% whacking if U take out from account B before 55 http://www.ppa.my/prs/prs-faqs/ look at withdrawals Justify? sorry - i dont think anyone in LYN can or needs to justify kaka to U  haha thanks for clarifying...
seather
May 21 2014, 01:49 PM
any sifu know well about Great Eastern's Great Premier Wealth?
an agent kept insisting the accumulation rate of the cash bonus left with GE is guaranteed at 5% p.a.
but from what i read in the document, it is based on the performance of the participating funds...