24 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

Ramjade
post Dec 24 2022, 10:48 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 24 2022, 03:31 AM)
Assuming I am in the tax bracket that can get 24% tax rebates on RM3k, what do you guys advise?

In the past, I've always stayed away because I don't think the tax incentive is incentive enough to get PPA. I know of someone who'd worked with one of the fund management company which handles PRS funds, their observation is that the PRS funds were rather neglected and were secondary in importance to the "full" unit trust funds.

Is it still worth going into PRS, to get the RM720 rebate? I'm looking for funds that can return 4.0%-4.5% while invested in fixed income but I can't see any with the mandate and return criteria.
There are only 3 good PRS funds in Malaysia which can give you double digit return or high single digit. So choose the best out of the 3. Other unit trust is just rubbish. So having said that RM6750 +double or high single digit return is a win win situation. Talk about having your cake and eat it.

But with 2 more years of tax relief, think if you want to commit. I commited since the days of RM1000 youth incentive by the government.

Remember money paid back to you is your money. Money paid to govt is no longer your money.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 24 2022, 10:49 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 24 2022, 11:33 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 24 2022, 11:32 AM)
3 more years..23, 24 and 25.

Here Im hopping for the govt to increase the relief for both PRS n kwsp to help build up retirement savings, because a retirement crisis is heading our way.
Yikes sorry. I think we are in 2023 already. I never depend on govt. Frankly PRS and EPF is lousy way to invest for retirement.

Best way is dividend growth investing with automatic dividend growth of 15%p.a. Over long term, it beats any return EPF can churn out. That's why I never bother topping up EPF and invest myself the money which is supposedly use for EPF top-up.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 24 2022, 11:36 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 24 2022, 11:37 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Dec 24 2022, 11:36 AM)
I dont depend on the govt, but I take back what I can as I pay lots of taxes. For eg I use RON95.
Same la. Where govt give money I take. I ulitilse Klinik Kesihatan services too.
Ramjade
post Dec 25 2022, 11:24 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(canjeth @ Dec 25 2022, 11:20 AM)
What's the conclusion?

Put in PRS or no?
Yes and no.
Yes if you can find a fund which give you double digit or high single fight return. There are basically only 3-4 funds that fit the criteria.
No. If your fund is losuy. Cannot even beat FD return. No if your income tax is small.

These are just my conclusion.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 25 2022, 11:28 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 29 2022, 04:31 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Dec 29 2022, 03:42 PM)
Yes well explained. I’m not sold that even with 24% tax rebate for the next 4 years, it’s worth it. Especially since PRS funds are like the worst aspects of Unit Trust and EPF COMBINED!
Only if you don't know how to choose your funds. If you know, min 10%p.a return beats anything EPF can throw out.
Ramjade
post Dec 30 2022, 11:23 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(rabbi08 @ Dec 30 2022, 11:19 AM)
May I know what are those 3 good PRS funds? Thank you.
Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity
Manulife PRS Asia-Pacific REIT
Kenanga OnePRS Growth Fund

Of course my good may not necessarily be your good as some people cannot stand if their investment drop day 20%p.a

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 30 2022, 11:24 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 31 2022, 08:51 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Dec 31 2022, 08:44 AM)
i have the first, and that was not performing so well, my Affin HWang notl isted by you is doing much better in weathering the crash...

Can you share your  PRS performance in the other 2 that i dont have?
Bro you ada baca kah tidak?
It was stated in the post there.
I don't have last 2. Cause I only buy one PRS fund. Not performing because crackdown by emperor xi. Once emperor xi stop cracking them down, should be ok. Prior to emperor xi crackdown, double digit return yearly. Never track but I know double digit for like 4 years in a row?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 31 2022, 08:59 AM
Ramjade
post Jan 1 2023, 11:15 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jan 1 2023, 09:49 PM)
Your number 1 has -14.01% in 2022 and 2.95% return in 2021. 5 year annualized returns is a mere 1.82%. However, 10 years annualized is a good 8.49%. Basically, the fund did extremely well in the first 5 years but, in the more recent 5 years it basically suck, with bad years cancelling much of the gains of the good years within the last 5 years.

* source from FSM
Emperor xi fault. Emperor xi wont continue crack down permanently.
Ramjade
post Jan 28 2023, 08:52 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(NGV22 @ Jan 28 2023, 08:35 AM)
mind to share how he affects the price of the funds? thanks!
Asia Pacific ex Japan funds invest in China namely tencent, Alibaba. So when emperor Xi cracks down on tencent and Alibaba, it affect the share price, hence any funds holding these 2 companies will see drop in their NAV.
Ramjade
post Feb 26 2023, 10:47 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ Feb 25 2023, 03:30 PM)
I invest the Public Bank PRS via PPA.MY , where to get the report for 2022 so if the taxman come , i can show that statement .. hmmm
You will need public mutual statement.
Ramjade
post Mar 9 2023, 04:04 PM

24,421 posts

Any new prs which invest in US market?
Ramjade
post Mar 9 2023, 04:24 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 9 2023, 04:10 PM)
If I am not wrong,
I think there is an "old" manulife prs still does hv high us market coverage
Available via fsm?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 9 2023, 04:24 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 9 2023, 06:23 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 9 2023, 04:53 PM)
Not interested in reits. I want stuff like Microsoft, visa, tsmc, apple etc.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 9 2023, 06:24 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 9 2023, 08:11 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 9 2023, 06:46 PM)
Tsmc is Taiwan
What sort of US weightage u want? Dont think there is anything above 50.
I know tsmc is Taiwan. I want a fund that is like ta global tech.

QUOTE(MUM @ Mar 9 2023, 07:19 PM)
U asked for prs funds that do US.
If reits you did not want, ...
Then wait for it to be available then
I want a fund that is like ta global tech.
Ramjade
post Mar 22 2023, 11:44 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(omron @ Mar 22 2023, 10:51 AM)
Hi All,

I have survey many website for EPF contribution for Private Retirement Scheme
Am very interested because we can get tax relief.
But I am planning to invest wich company have solid fund and high return.
Which one is the best ... any advice .. thanks a lots.
Come I will answer you here.
Generally they all suck. Why? Majority all only know how to focus in Malaysian market and cannot beat EPF returns. You want it to match or beat EPF returns cause no point put inside there, lockup same duration as EPF and get lessee than EPF returns right?

Please do yourself a service and don't buy from agents. Why? By buying from agents you automatically lose 3% as service charge.

If don't buy from agents, buy from where?
Just get it from FSM at 0% service charge.

Now what's best? Depend on people. What's your best and what's my best can be different. Your best can be as long don't lose money can get 3%p.a return enough, dont need beat EPF rerurns. My best maybe as mentioned must match EPF returns or beat EPF overtime.

For PRS, max amount you should buy is RM3k/year unless govt increase the tax relief. And tax relief is until 2025 (3 more years of buying provided govt don't extend the scheme - 2023, 2024, 2025)

For me, I personally only buy
Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C

Please do not use agent to buy life insurance. Life insurance nowadays you can buy online. No need agent. Can easily save money on agent commission around few thousand by buying online directly. Can go for good makan or holiday already.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 22 2023, 11:49 AM
Ramjade
post Mar 23 2023, 12:28 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Mar 23 2023, 11:44 AM)
Bought prs for 3 year.... Rugi jer. Never see green. Now almost eating my tax relief.. Haha
Not all prs are good. Majority sucks. I think only 2-3 are good. Not sure about public mutual part cause never have access to them.
Ramjade
post Mar 23 2023, 11:29 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(netcrawler @ Mar 23 2023, 11:25 PM)
PRS is suck. If put in EPF, would get better return. Gov should give 3k tax  relief for self contribution to EPF.
Go check your prs. Not all prs sucks. Majority sucks.
Ramjade
post Mar 27 2023, 10:04 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Mar 27 2023, 09:58 PM)
woah what's up with AmPRS - Islamic Fixed Income D
so big loss
Interest rate going up. Bond price goes down as yield goes up.
Ramjade
post Mar 27 2023, 11:03 PM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Mar 27 2023, 10:59 PM)
https://www.fsmone.com.my/admin/buy/factshe...eetMYAMPRSI.pdf

its a super bad fund. its not making money since 2018 or older
how to find who is the fund manager.

found under Investment Committee
https://www.fsmone.com.my/admin/buy/reports...rtsMYAMPRSI.pdf
Majority of prs are. As mentioned there are only a handful of prs which is good. Also need to see your risk profile. Mine is fully equities as I have no use for bonds.
Ramjade
post Mar 28 2023, 08:42 AM

24,421 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Mar 28 2023, 08:28 AM)
Correct, but looking at the terrible performance, it probably suffered a big default as well.

And this is a dead fund as AUM is just RM10k!. Meaning all investors have already switched/withdraw earlier. The small balance would suffer from higher costs dragging down performance further.
I never look at the fund AUM. Btw some of the Manulife shariah prs returns looks not bad (based off fsm fund chart center)

24 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.1403sec    1.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:46 AM