13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

SUSDavid83
post Sep 24 2018, 11:00 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Sep 24 2018, 10:34 PM)
To get maximum tax relief, we should invest a maximum of RM 3000 in any PRS fund. However, RM 8.00 of annual fees will be deducted from our investment amount.

So, which one of the following is correct to get maximum tax relief, with the lowest investment amount?

a) Pay RM 3008.00 to FundSuperMart, out of which RM 3000 is invested into the PRS fund, and the remaining RM 8.00 is paid to PPA, or;

a) Pay RM 3000.00 to FundSuperMart, out of which RM 2992 is invested into the PRS fund, and the remaining RM 8.00 is paid to PPA.

Thank you for your advice. smile.gif
RM 8 PPA fee is not considered as contribution.

This post has been edited by David83: Sep 24 2018, 11:01 PM
SUSDavid83
post Oct 11 2018, 10:57 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Oct 11 2018, 10:55 AM)
Eh I signed up and paid RM1000 on Tuesday night. Till now Thursday still didn't get anything from PPA/PRS. Don't even know whether my order for the fund went through or not :/
New account right?
You have to wait!
SUSDavid83
post Oct 11 2018, 08:43 PM

52,874 posts

RM 8 per year goes to PPA not PRS provider. doh.gif
SUSDavid83
post Oct 11 2018, 09:18 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Oct 11 2018, 09:16 PM)
Thank you!
I have 3 PRS, thought buying with bank will be least charges, kena slapped with 3% SC, whereas FSM is 0%  doh.gif
Through agents is 1.5%, but they said they will help you monitor  sweat.gif
What to monitor?
You can only withdraw at the age of 55.
If fund is performing badly, you're not able to sell it; just switch out.
SUSDavid83
post Oct 11 2018, 09:24 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Oct 11 2018, 09:21 PM)
Yeah exactly, just buy from FSM,
wonder if I'll be charged RM10 again if I sign up the same CIMB PRS with FSM when I already opened one with CIMB last time, hopefully not (but RM10 is minimal)
You should have a unique PPA account number which is tied to your NRIC.
PPA<NRIC>

I believe they can trace that out!
SUSDavid83
post Oct 16 2018, 01:12 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 16 2018, 12:37 PM)
[attachmentid=10070940] 

Happy boh?
Confirmed by Nobita?
SUSDavid83
post Oct 18 2018, 02:23 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 18 2018, 02:21 PM)
who or what is Nobita?
LGE doesn't look like Nobita? biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Oct 19 2018, 11:39 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Oct 19 2018, 11:13 AM)
LOL thank you, seems like I will give him a new nickname now laugh.gif
That nickname is very popular in Kopitiam section.
I didn't create it!
SUSDavid83
post Oct 28 2018, 05:55 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(DrPitchard @ Oct 28 2018, 05:53 PM)
The only reason why I'm putting some money into PRS every year coz it's income tax deductible...Not much though, only RM3k, but then again, better than nothing.
Nothing is willingly to put more than that amount!
SUSDavid83
post Oct 29 2018, 10:17 AM

52,874 posts

PRS Fund Performance Review

Whenever we talk about retirement, most of us will think that the day is still far away and the planning for it can be delayed, especially the youth. However, one should be aware that it will never be too early to start their retirement planning as the earlier you start, the more you can benefit from the compounding effect.

For investors who wish to start building their nest-egg today, click here to check out the latest PRS promotion up for grab!

URL: https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...ce-Review-10313
SUSDavid83
post Nov 2 2018, 10:26 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(windvind @ Nov 2 2018, 10:23 PM)
Guys anything about PRS in the budget?
I'm looking around but not found any.
Nothing since the current tax relief will expire in 2021.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 3 2018, 12:23 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Snoopie @ Nov 3 2018, 12:19 PM)
LYNers, stupid question but I just registered online for PRS but how do I get my PPA account number to login online?
PPA<your NRIC number> is your PPA account number.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 3 2018, 01:41 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Snoopie @ Nov 3 2018, 01:38 PM)
I have input as below:
User ID PPA<NRIC>
Telephone number

And when I click submit, it appear this "You have not yet register your email address. Please contact 1300-131-772 for assistance. (1005)".

How do I register my email address?
Have you performed the "First Time Login"?

URL: https://www.prsmember.my/first-time-login/
SUSDavid83
post Nov 7 2018, 08:09 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Nov 7 2018, 08:06 PM)
Went to AIA recently and they told me abt their PRS. Apparently they have a promo for walk in customer, no 3% sales tax until end of the month. Any good?
Good or not is subjective.
Fund performance is more important.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 8 2018, 03:58 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Nov 8 2018, 03:57 PM)
Anyone knows how to switch fund for CIMB PRS account? 

The fund I have put my money in keeps dropping since the beginning, thinking to switch fund now..
Go to the new PRS provider.
They'll guide you on how to switch out/transfer in.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 8 2018, 04:00 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Nov 8 2018, 03:59 PM)
You mean don;t need to do it via CIMB? I opened my account thru them via walked in to the bank.
PRS offers contributors the choice and flexibility to switch their fund if they underperform expectations and/or even transfer their funds to another Provider. This will ensure that the contributor’s retirement and investment objectives are aligned, not mismatched and ultimately realised.

Switching occurs when a Member requests for a transfer of the existing PRS fund invested in to another PRS fund in the PRS scheme of the same PRS Provider.

Transfer occurs when a Member requests for a transfer of the existing PRS fund invested in to another PRS fund in the PRS scheme of another PRS Provider.

PRS Members are allowed to switch between funds in the scheme or transfer the accrued benefits to another PRS fund of another PRS Provider, subject to the terms and conditions as specified in the scheme’s disclosure document. Please read the scheme’s disclosure document before deciding to make a contribution. If you do not have a copy, please contact the PRS Provider to ask for one.

Transfers can only be instructed between Providers after the first year of subscription to the PRS from the date of first contribution.

URL: https://www.ppa.my/joining-prs/Other-Important-Information/

SUSDavid83
post Nov 15 2018, 04:19 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Nov 15 2018, 02:23 PM)
hi sifu-sifu,

For public bank PRS fund, is switching among public bank PRS funds incur charges (switching fee) ?

Also, how soon switching can be done if I just enroll for one of its PRS fund today? Is it I have to wait a number of days before I can do switching?
Switching
First Year

Can a Member switch funds within the first year?

Switching between funds of the same Provider is allowed within the first year.
For further details on Switching, please refer to the Other Important Information page under the Joining PRS section.

Frequency & Fees

How many times can a Member switch in one year? And what are the fees involved?

PRS Members are allowed to switch between funds in the scheme, subject to the terms and conditions as specified in the scheme’s disclosure document. As such, please refer to the Disclosure Document of your respective scheme for the number of switches allowed within a year as well as the fees involved.

URL: https://www.ppa.my/prs-and-you/prs-faq/
SUSDavid83
post Nov 16 2018, 09:47 AM

52,874 posts

Received SMS from PPA that PRS nomination is accepted.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 21 2018, 10:49 PM

52,874 posts

Many in here are not so interested with PRS fund gain as they're only looking for reducing payable tax via tax relief.

If you're aiming for medium term of gain, you need to look outside PRS. PRS aim is not for short withdrawal. Pre-mature withdrawal before age of 55 is subjected to 8% tax penalty.

SUSDavid83
post Nov 25 2018, 06:25 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(saintmikal @ Nov 25 2018, 06:21 PM)
Time to move everything into the most conservative funds. Can anyone here advise which one is the most ultra conservative in which the exposure to equity is limited? Best is a fund that is 100% based on government guaranteed bonds.

Weather forecast - rainy season with a chance of typhoon...
There're three schools of thought:
1. Switch out to ultra conservative funds
2. Cash out to cut-loss
3. Remain invested

All depends on your risk appetite and ammo (cash on-hand).

13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:07 PM