13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

SUSDavid83
post Dec 29 2018, 09:49 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(xiaobaiwm @ Dec 29 2018, 09:42 PM)
actually isit worth it to lock up your money for so long just for the 1k incentive?

and if I am not mistaken, you can only invest in growth funds right?
and the return is not consistently +% every year. ie: what if recession come, then the return would be -%, it also means that you are loosing money.
Up or not, up to your decision.
It's free money by the way.
Most of here are just pouring money for tax relief.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 4 2019, 04:13 PM

52,874 posts

I thought PRS got two schemes:

1. Do It Yourself ---> You select your desired PRS fund
2. Do It For You ---> PRS provider will choose the fund after risk assessment

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 4 2019, 04:14 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 9 2019, 04:29 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Jack&Guild @ Jan 9 2019, 03:50 PM)
want to ask expert here. I have bought PRS Kenanga Fund via FSM online mid december 2018. I can see the transaction records in my FSM one account, but how can I see my PPA account no?
PPA Account is PPA<NRIC>
SUSDavid83
post Jan 23 2019, 12:17 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jan 23 2019, 11:46 AM)
anyone invested in december 2018 and got the RM 1000 incentive?
Where got so fast?
SUSDavid83
post Jan 23 2019, 08:18 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jan 23 2019, 03:37 PM)
Worried as now PPA already taken off  the RM 1000 incentive info from their website.  cry.gif
QUOTE(Pewufod @ Jan 23 2019, 08:16 PM)
i have not
Twice a year:

A report is compiled by PPA bi-annually, in order for the pay-out to be made to the qualified individuals. Once eligible, the incentive will be automatically credited into the Member’s sub-account A of the PRS fund.

https://www.ppa.my/wp-content/uploads/2017/...f-Incentive.pdf
SUSDavid83
post Jan 25 2019, 05:53 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Deathscythe@@ @ Jan 24 2019, 11:18 PM)
My 31st birthday will be in February 2019. I have contributed in Dec 2018. Am I entitled for the incentive? @@
You should be eligible.

This post has been edited by David83: Jan 25 2019, 05:53 AM
SUSDavid83
post Feb 13 2019, 11:35 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(eggtart02 @ Feb 13 2019, 11:33 AM)
I've invested in October and I've gotten it before 31.12.2018.
Just realised it today after checking the statement  rclxms.gif
The incentive is only disbursed twice in a calendar year.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 13 2019, 09:40 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(zfc @ Feb 13 2019, 09:33 PM)
If not for the free RM 1000 and tax reduction, I won't go into this unit trust. Now it is making lost instead of gain. Is this still called retirement scheme or burn money scheme?
Nobody is forcing you to participate.
The free RM 1000 is that credited back into Acc I and you already in gain right?
Plus, you will get another gain from tax reduction.
Retirement scheme works for a long span and not within 1 year or few months.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 18 2019, 08:34 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 18 2019, 08:32 PM)
How u know when is cheap?
He has his own theory.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 5 2019, 08:28 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(saintmikal @ Mar 5 2019, 09:25 AM)
I have reverted to taking out everything under account B, taking a 8% hit, and moving on.

I take it as a discounted income tax savings. No headache of hoping, wishing, praying.

That unfortunately has to happen with the balance 70%. At least mitigate the risk.
Since you're impatient, you shouldn't have invested into PRS.

Most of us are contributing and let it auto-pilot till age 55.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 6 2019, 08:04 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(saintmikal @ Mar 6 2019, 07:45 AM)
Not impatient. Just don't believe that it works as it totally contradicts retirement principal - just take a look at EPF. With a minimum guaranteed of 2.5%, that is what retirement should be - safe and steady without the need for any fees. EPF manages billions of ringgit but does not charge us any investment fee and every year averages 5-6% returns!

The ONLY reason for investing is for Income Tax deduction. If this benefit does not exist, I will not have invested and maybe a few here will have second thoughts.

Try asking the PRS service providers to do it for free and only take a portion of the profits (if and when there are) and I think the majority will close shop.
I don't know which PRS fund that you invested and how long you have been invested.
If you want some thing like EPF, you should go for Conservative funds. They're mainly constituted of bond funds which entry service should be at 0%

The higher the risk-return ratio, the higher entry cost which is normally seen on Moderate and Aggressive funds.
PRS is using unit trusts model. So you need to expect it to behave like unit trusts.
But some PRS providers don't charge any entry cost at even for Moderate and Aggressive funds.

Well, it is just personal preference.
Nobody is right or wrong in investment.

SUSDavid83
post Mar 6 2019, 11:11 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(geekofIT @ Mar 6 2019, 11:09 AM)
i still yet to receive my RM1000 incentive bonus from PRS/PPA.

I bought in to the fund in December 2018 for RM1000.

Will receive in Q2 i think, based on the email reply by PPA.
The incentive is only disbursed twice a year.
I think the incentive won't be extended after 2018.

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 6 2019, 11:56 AM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 6 2019, 11:57 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Sumofwhich @ Mar 6 2019, 11:53 AM)
PPA website says otherwise, prs youth free 1k link is invalid and removed
Typo.
I corrected the post.
SUSDavid83
post Mar 7 2019, 01:41 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(wenzhenzhen @ Mar 7 2019, 12:57 PM)
Hi all, I purchased RM1k of Kenanga PRS Growth Fund via PRS website just to get RM1k youth incentive from govt. However, Kenanga PRS Growth Fund NAV really drop like shit. I am thinking want to buy Affin-Hwang/M+ PRS fund via PRS website and failed. Should I go to their individual website to buy their PRS fund?

Appreciate someone can help.
I don't think you can buy from a fund from another new PRS provider from PRS website.
PRS website normally can be used to top up existing funds.

You need to create a profile with the PRS provider first since they don't have your details.
You need to submit forms.

This post has been edited by David83: Mar 7 2019, 01:41 PM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 28 2019, 11:12 PM

52,874 posts

I thought MER and PTR are equally important too.
SUSDavid83
post Apr 16 2019, 09:50 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Apr 16 2019, 09:46 AM)
I have a question regarding tax relief with PRS which I couldn't find the answer from their portal. If say I am already >55 years old, but still running a business.

Can I put RM3000 by this year, claim for 2019 tax assessment, then withdraw in 2020, and put back in Rm3000 by Dec 2020 to claim for 2020 tax assessment?
Yes possible.

As long as the PPA system captures your contribution.

Almost similar like SSPN but this one is easier.

This post has been edited by David83: Apr 16 2019, 09:51 AM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 16 2019, 09:59 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(voyage23 @ Apr 16 2019, 09:56 AM)
Which means I only need a capital of RM3000 to claim tax relief continuously up till year 2021? As I have hit the retirement age. Wow. I couldn't find anything that says it requires a certain holding period.
Didn't I reply you?
Doesn't have to as long as the PPA system capture the RM 3000.
And I also said that it's easier than SSPN.

Withdrawal and contribution are independent.

This post has been edited by David83: Apr 16 2019, 10:01 AM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 16 2019, 10:03 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 16 2019, 10:01 AM)
yup, looks like a loophole. i'm aiming to do like that too when 55 and if the SOP is still the same tongue.gif
ie.
a. place $3K into PRS fixed income type thus low/no fluctuations Nov
b. take back out coming Feb
repeat (a.) & (b.)
It's not really a loop hole.
When you invest in PRS you're subject to loss due to initial SC by PRS provider and/or NAV downward movement.
The return is not guaranteed as in SSPN/EPF/saving plan.

This post has been edited by David83: Apr 16 2019, 10:03 AM
SUSDavid83
post Apr 16 2019, 10:07 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 16 2019, 10:06 AM)
0% Service Charges
+
aim for Fixed Income type thus probability of fluctuations lower tongue.gif
Even FI and bond fund also subject to downward movement of NAV.
SUSDavid83
post Apr 16 2019, 01:33 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Apr 16 2019, 01:28 PM)
i think it is just a rebrand Unit Trust that lock you up for 30 years or more until retirement
You're no wrong at all!

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0257sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:00 AM