Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion

TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 07:51 PM

3 ngien yiu 3 ngien :(
1,756 posts

QUOTE(lookie @ Oct 10 2005, 05:36 PM)
i think hd is mainly a hit and miss thing. some ppl swear by WD and say Maxtor is craps but i think it's the luck of the draw.

my 60gb maxtor bought in 2001 is still working fine now and has found new life in xbox. even more reliable are those quantum fireballs released back in late 90s. i still have a couple running steadily in my grunt workstations smile.gif too bad quantum had to close shop.

in my 10+ years of computing, i've had 2 hd failures, one was many years ago (cant remember what brand) while the other was my WD80 which conked out last year. i also had many misadventures with spoilt partitions, corrupted data etc so nowadays i am quite paranoid and have a decent (hopefully!) backup plan in place already. 1 huge 320gb hd to backup the other 2 smaller ones...hahaha.
hey speaking about Quantum!!
that was really good!!!! very reliable and longer life span than other brands hdd...
hehe!..i am using one of it now, still running now, already usign it for 5 years, bought since year..hey no no..i bought it since year 1999 during my college time haha!!!! 6 years already!!!!....woohoo!! let's party!! however the capacity only got 20g....can store much data!
how come!!!! those good brand either been taken by other company or closed down!! like 3DFX, i owned voodoo 5500..hehe!!!

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 10 2005, 05:39 PM)
ur wd which kong had been using how long? i takut mine kong nanti.
QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Oct 10 2005, 05:58 PM)
WD used to have a bad reputation, but seemed to have built itself up in a short amount of time
hey again!!!
you better backup to your DVD+R media or additional hdd...
else...bye bye data and hello to buy a new hdd!! too bad, data gone...haha sweat.gif
my friend told me, WD exist very long time, but how come they can made a reliable hdd, at least can last for 3 or more years!!!! in long operation....!!!
how come...how come..! can expect we buy new hdd each year, if the hdd spoil!!

sweat.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 07:53 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(lookie @ Oct 10 2005, 05:47 PM)
used it only 6mths or so before it conked. and i was using it very sparingly too, just used it to store the os and apps only. temp directory and swap file was set to another disk. i also avoid p2p on this disk and instead use my maxtor. yet it still conked.....

so dont worry, like i say, its mostly luck of the draw. just make sure you have some sort of backup plan in place.... smile.gif
true..
must spend more money to back up thsoe data in hdd and also other media such as DVD+R...!!
TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 07:55 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(saizo @ Oct 10 2005, 07:40 PM)
Western Digital not so reliable these days.... especially larger HDD like 200GB... i got two of them ... now got some problem...data gets corrupted. O/S missing... but bad sector could be detected doh.gif
hey you!!!
haha!!
alamak!....
how long you are using the 200g WD hdd!!!??
data very precious....must backup!!
TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 07:59 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Oct 10 2005, 07:43 PM)
well, Maxtor is not a good brand since last year. In January, when I 1st got my sata, was so happy, my 1st hdd bought by myself, after I install OS, crap, the whole thing crash, den go RMA, come back, still got same problem. Sent it again, when I got it back this time, was working well, but can hear some  tic-tic sound during heavy loading
hahaha!!!
dangerous...better backup to other media, like DVD+R or something!!
tick tick tick..!!! worried!!
Maxtor bought over the Quantum, and why can't they use Quantum technology to produce a ood hdd??!! hehe!! sweat.gif
nothing is long lasting, as i said, at least can last for several yeas not month/s or a year!!...

whistling.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 08:11 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Oct 10 2005, 08:02 PM)
Too bad that IBM don't make enduser's HDD anymore. sad.gif been using DeskStar 60Gb 7200 2meg since 2003.
Went to lowyat yesterday to hunt for HDD and  was told that there's no IBM hdd for a long time sad.gif
anyway, setteled for WD 80Gb 7200 8mb hope that it don't break down like my friend's  WD laugh.gif
I've noticed that after changing to a better PSU, there's no more bad sectors and no HDD deaths. maybe that's the cause of faulty HDDs??
hey!! haha!!!
IBM eh!!....
wow, PSU will cause hdd bad sector?!...OMG!!!...i'm usig icute hope will cause any damage!!
why PSU will cause damage hdd??!! wonder why!!!
what about using external hdd case?

sweat.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 11 2005, 10:15 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(limcc @ Oct 11 2005, 09:24 PM)
IBM? they sold their entire hard drive division to Hitachi in 2003--either because they find they cant earn too much** from HDD OR due to the infamous 75GXP.

**Conner brought over by Seagate, Micropolis close down in 1997, Quantum sold its hard drive division to Maxtor, Fujitsu exited the mass market in 2001 only make specialist notebook and SCSI drives, Toshiba make only 2.5-inch and 1.8-inch notebook drives.....this is not a easy market to survive.

as for which brand make good harddisk--i own over 10pc of IBM/Hitachi HDD, only one each for seagate, WD and Maxtor--you know what i'm gonna recommend.
QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Oct 11 2005, 09:41 PM)
IBM and Hitachi also makes good HDD, a forumer uglyvamp uses Hitachi for his Raid setup, and its just sweet
haha!!!!
really??!!
how was the performance and reliability??!! used for how long already?!!
i seldom see peopel hitachi hdd these day!!! sweat.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 11 2005, 10:40 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(Sanko @ Oct 11 2005, 10:23 PM)
hrmm... if i'm not mistaken, WD offers 3 years of warranty while seagate offers 5 years. that's the draw back. samsung i'm not quite sure.
hey oh my goodness!!! haha!!!
alamak!!
what??! WD offered 3 years only??!!
i thought they offered 5 years as well??!!

below were WD official website, it said 5 years warrenty for the SATA, but not sure included other drives or not...

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/Products.asp?DriveID=158
TSvictorboy
post Oct 11 2005, 10:43 PM

1,756 posts

those who use WD hdd...
do you guy use this tool --> Data Lifeguard Tools(tm) for your WD hdd??
hmm i think i need to use this to diagnose my hdd sweat.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 13 2005, 07:53 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 13 2005, 04:13 PM)
pls specified ur size, how long u had bought them?  cry.gif
hitachi if u want, i can order for u but 40gb cost u around RM4xx.  doh.gif

victorboy
samsung hdd is 3yr warranty.

seemlike WD is also almost like maxtor got high failure rate too.  shakehead.gif
dun trust seagate coz my frens all had spoilt 4 pcs seagate 80gb liao.  mad.gif
i kena *** kao kao coz i recomend them seagate.
wow!!!...
thanks for your info...
I don't why nowaday hdd so easy to get errors. why can't they improve it...hmmm..
should i try Seagate and Samsung?!.....
i hope the hdd should last for 3 years and above running in 24/7 sweat.gif
it is possible the product made in china? therefore the quality and reliability are just so so only. sweat.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 14 2005, 10:01 AM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(jinXxxx @ Oct 13 2005, 08:25 PM)
first i'd like to say that i have bad bad bad experiences with ALL the three big names of harddisks.... MAXTOR, WD AND SEAGATE. im starting to think that im the HD killer biggrin.gif

let me elaborate....

1. MAXTOR 200GB PATA
- bought it for my ext casing. formatted it, put my music (10GB) in it....after 5secs.. *poof* harddisk unrecognized. first time lucky...i copied my data.
- 2nd time reformat...CUT and PASTE all my music and data... about 60GB worth...after 2minutes... *poof* again! sob sob sob...
- tried all possible methods but my data was gone...FOREVER and EVER.
- hit LYP next week to change for a WD 200GB. that was the last of my Maxtor 200GB.

2. WD 200GB PATA (replacement for MAXTOR 200GB)
- unlucky me....harddisk casing failure...causing my WD to have a power failure and had them go through warranty.
- 150GB data kaboom in the destruction... SOB SOB SOB SOB...
- (though not a hd failure, still was a BAD experience)

3. Seagate 120GB SATA (internal)
- using for 2yrs++. still working
- no problems whatsoever until lately... HD spun 4times slower with occasional clicking sounds.
- thought was bad sectors... used Seagate Seatools to diagnose...no bad sectors.
- problem detected by Seatools --> FILE SYSTEM ERROR... WTF?? NTFS index system (or some sort) has some error...
- backed up all my data...albeit a 4x longer transfer time...(3hours for 40GB imagine that!)
- reformatted
- working fine now...

So you see...im kinda paranoid now.... esp about harddisks...

And fyi...my hd are kept far away from my sub or speakers so they're not in any sort of magnetic field or such. As for now... my WD 200GB and Seagate 120GB are holding up...

As for GOOD harddisks, i think the better ones of the 3 is Seagate and also Western Digital. i dont believe in THE BEST harddisk...cos to me...there isnt any biggrin.gif
wow!!!
Maxtor hdd always not reliable...how come....haha!!
i think the new version of Seagate hdd has improved, shouldn't be any problem like past time...maybe the new hdd i will go for Seagate and try it out...
data lost is a major problems, man, i lost tons of data due to my previous WD hdd failure. cry.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 14 2005, 10:05 AM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Oct 13 2005, 09:58 PM)
You use the world's toughest SCSI drives also no point if using "icute PSU".

I use Maxtor with ENlight 250W for 2 yrs plus (only complain slow lah, dunno why a DMP9 80gb slower than a Quantum AS Plus 30GB that is way older).
Then sold to a friend.. kena *** kau kau just like supermac cos the thing kong in 2 months. She was using a caplang PSU.
QUOTE(jinXxxx @ Oct 13 2005, 11:05 PM)
ceo684...were you refering to me?

does the PSU have an effect on the HD?
QUOTE(nuodi @ Oct 13 2005, 11:39 PM)
i am also of the opinion that chapalang PSU would definitely shorten the life of any HDD's.  power fluctuation/ inconsistent current..... is probably the culprit.

hmmm.... but i wuz wondering. my psu is a 370W enermax. izzit ok to connect 2 hdds to a single power connector??  i getting worried now......  unsure.gif
chapalang hdd will cause hdd failure and shorten the life of th hdd??!!
how? is it because insufficient of power? or what....i wonder...

QUOTE(jones007 @ Oct 14 2005, 03:07 AM)
erm... i'm noob.
i heard that eventhough seagate have 5 years warranty.. maxtor's performance is better than seagate wo...
correct me if i'm wrong.. (again, i'm noob >.<)
the most affraid part is data lost, no matter how good performance is your hdd is. sweat.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 14 2005, 10:41 AM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(Hornet012 @ Oct 14 2005, 10:38 AM)
why i never heard any people here talk about SAMSUNg ar ?  sweat.gif
i think Samsugn recently start selling their hdd is it?? haha!!
needs Samsung hdd user comment/s...hehe!!!
TSvictorboy
post Oct 14 2005, 04:02 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 14 2005, 12:47 PM)
samsung also dun think is reliable as my fren work in samsung rma center inform me.
QUOTE(dokidoki @ Oct 14 2005, 12:56 PM)
o no...internal informer info always true le...cham la like this~i pay xtra rm20 to get the samsung sp1614...now the truth is i m not get the best one...bloody hell~
QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 14 2005, 01:04 PM)
but recently samsung seem like ok liao, but still need wait 8 month to confirm again.
hey thanks for your info again!!!hahaha!!!
No choice, there is two option, one is WD and another alternative hdd is Seagate....
oh ya, may i know where is the location sending my hdd in for RMA?! both WD and Seagate. But i got one Wd hdd wanna to send for RMA...just wanna to know the location.
TSvictorboy
post Oct 15 2005, 02:00 AM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Oct 14 2005, 04:56 PM)
now china review show tat hitachi is recomend buy since it QC is stable & higher.

最超值的80GB S-ATA硬盘

在日立硬盘中,最受消费者欢迎的要属其7K250系列的硬盘了,该系列硬盘已高性能高稳定性赢得了人们欢迎。并且和其他品牌硬盘相比,7K250的电路板上多了一块控制芯片,这是因为日立将数据处理芯片和命令控制芯片独立分开,使之工作的效率更高,处理性能更好。

http://news.onlinedown.net/info/16170-1.htm
interesting....
hmmm the news reliable or not??!! heh heh! kidding...
but, hitachi brands also reliable, and my old hitachi radio cassette player still running without sending for RMA haha!!
I thinkt hey really, really put alots effort (QC) in their hdd and to distribute to the consumer with full satisfaction...

QUOTE(kar2on @ Oct 15 2005, 01:12 AM)
WD RMA location somewhere in Pj...i forgot where alredi...but it's NOT the Western D you see from LDP.  I think WD is the best and it's usually cheaper...
PJ, i am not sure whether is that building or not. but i think i am going there to ask about RMA.

TSvictorboy
post Oct 17 2005, 06:36 AM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 16 2005, 07:25 PM)
so got any conclusion? so far i see maxtor got many complaints.... WD not really much... Seagate kena praised and giving 5 years warranty(damn) and samsung not much ppl talk about it. My father going to KL 2molo so i might ask him to get me a 200gb hard disk. So Seagate or WD is better?
try Seagate then later tell us the reliability and performance...
hehe!!

well, i'm also need to purchase additional hdd for my own use...
too many data to store, i think i will give it a try for Seagate!!

sweat.gif

*error typo edited sweat.gif

This post has been edited by victorboy: Oct 17 2005, 06:43 AM
TSvictorboy
post Oct 18 2005, 10:32 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 18 2005, 08:25 PM)
my father bought 160gb pata seaget hard disk... hope it wont disappoint me..
haha!!!
good luck!!!
if this thread didn't close...
please share your opinion and experience here!!

thumbup.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 18 2005, 10:35 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ Oct 18 2005, 08:56 PM)
@ben3003
I'm sure it won't, Seagate HDD are very well favored among enthusiasts and it is a good HDD, have personal experience with it
if the hdd can last for 3 years and above, then it is ok already.
we know electronic part is wear and tear, but at least can last for several years.
TSvictorboy
post Dec 3 2005, 03:00 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(Strik3 @ Nov 27 2005, 03:10 AM)
My experience with HDDs.

WD 80GB went kuku due to that SMART shait after a year...RMA then now still running fine and coming to one yr anniversary...hope nothing goes wrong again.

Bought a WD 120 GB during RMA period and coming to one yr anniversary as well...really hope dun both kaput on me.

my old 20GB Quantum still good though but spins at 5400rpm so less prone to fault gua.
hey i had the same problem and same hdd with you...
i got WD80G, same as you, S.M.A.R.T error not more than a year. by the way where you send to warrenty? send to the factory or their office?

my Quantum 20G same spec as you, working fine, nothing happen, no bad sectors, used for 5 years already, very god hdd indeed, sad things was, no more Quantum, but hello to Maxtor doh.gif
TSvictorboy
post Dec 3 2005, 03:03 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Nov 30 2005, 10:12 AM)
no pening kepala, coz want buy 2 unit 160gb to replace my both 80gb but seagate & WD both not stable ler.
huh???!
you mean your current WD & Seagate not stable??!! Seagate also the same??! sweat.gif
alamak, nowaday don't have a reliable hdd to get!!
i wish Quantum come back!! cry.gif
TSvictorboy
post Dec 3 2005, 03:06 PM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(walawalahe @ Nov 30 2005, 02:14 PM)
I have 20gb, 40gb, 80gb 120gb, and 320gb. I ned 2 buy 500gb hdd so tat i have enough space 2 put all my movie
QUOTE(jinaun @ Dec 3 2005, 03:03 PM)
wow.. how much have u invested on storage spaces?
thumbup.gif

files storing in hdd is much more easier to access, but worse thing is when the hdd going something wrong,
then we have to say bye bye to our data!!! and hello to new hdd!! doh.gif
for save, save the file in several media, like CDs, DVDs or some external hdd, just in case the hdd failure! sweat.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0332sec    1.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:42 AM