125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Discussion for Good Harddisk, Harddisk Discussion

TSvictorboy
post Oct 9 2005, 06:48 PM

3 ngien yiu 3 ngien :(
1,756 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Oct 9 2005, 05:11 PM)
nope... just suddenly *poof* auto restart shakehead.gif
no laa... hdd where got OEM wan? laugh.gif
alamak!
*poof* suddently....maybe hdd going to be....erm...!!

haha!!!!!! just wonder only!!!!!
if i am not mistaken, long time ago they provided with box right!!?? hmmm!!
heh heh!!! laugh.gif

but why this day of the hdd quality and unreliable?!
my Quantum hdd still working compare with the 1 year old WD....!!!

nevertheless, i have to buy larger hdd space for storing my data temp. before burned into DVD+R/s.

This post has been edited by victorboy: Oct 9 2005, 06:52 PM
empire23
post Oct 9 2005, 07:28 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Depends on the drives you buy, for high reliablity, i suggest using WD's RAID edition and Raptor series, for Maxtor, it seems their MAXLine is good choice and Seagate's normal drives are good too.

Try looking at the MTBF rating of a drive before buying it.
aaron_lwm
post Oct 9 2005, 08:23 PM

>jedi council<
3,277 posts

well, as I'm a user here, lemme share my experience......dun ever, ever get maxtor......at all cost, juz avoid it....Western Digital, Seagate and Samsung are good HDD's....so do consider urself....WD Raptors are fast, Seagate Barracuda's are fast and a lot more
-vip3rleon9-
post Oct 9 2005, 08:50 PM

.:νιρэяıэои9:.
7,516 posts

alamak!
*poof* suddently....maybe hdd going to be....erm...!!

haha!!!!!! just wonder only!!!!!
if i am not mistaken, long time ago they provided with box right!!?? hmmm!!
heh heh!!! 

but why this day of the hdd quality and unreliable?!
my Quantum hdd still working compare with the 1 year old WD....!!!

nevertheless, i have to buy larger hdd space for storing my data temp. before burned into DVD+R/s.

yeah i think so too, so i'm thinking if i should buy another hdd... unsure.gif
ah.. come with box a? dunno le... sweat.gif cuz i just got interested in this stuff like, starting of year 2005 only.. laugh.gif that's why i'm still a newb.. biggrin.gif

well, as I'm a user here, lemme share my experience......dun ever, ever get maxtor......at all cost, juz avoid it....Western Digital, Seagate and Samsung are good HDD's....so do consider urself....WD Raptors are fast, Seagate Barracuda's are fast and a lot more

^ well... i back him up 100%... first day got adi then spoil... shakehead.gif
medichloreans
post Oct 9 2005, 08:58 PM

Mechanical Identity Designed for Sabotage
908 posts

im still using maxtor 7200rpm..
use since 2001 until now...
no bad sector..
no prob..

This post has been edited by medichloreans: Oct 9 2005, 09:00 PM
Geminist
post Oct 9 2005, 09:07 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

Yeap... Almost 3 years edi and my Maxtor 40 GB is still serving me well... It's just that the maxtor hdd gets hot pretty quickly as for 40GB that time, it was quick a thin hdd...

Anyways, I think sometimes it depends on luck, I bought a WD1600 last year to use it as an ext hdd, I am not sure whether it's my hdd's problem or the ext casing power supply, the hdd now once in a while will emit some "tick tick" sound...

Got another WD2500 and using it as another ext hdd... It's working fine until today... though I must admit I just got this hdd for like,4 month... smile.gif
mengfui
post Oct 9 2005, 09:22 PM

1,777 posts

using maxtor currently serve me well without any problems
terencetoo
post Oct 9 2005, 09:32 PM

3,246 posts

using 120gig WD external 7200rpm..nothing happen...but my laptop toshiba 30gig have bad sector...[asi post in my BSOD thread..sad.gif ]

Got a 320gig WD 3.5" [external] and a 60gig samsung 2.5" hdd....the seller said samsung is the best "boyz" for laptop n the WD is the best among others in desktop hdd...what u guys reckon??

-vip3rleon9-
post Oct 9 2005, 10:22 PM

.:νιρэяıэои9:.
7,516 posts

maxtor some good some bad... depends on your luck lor... laugh.gif
soulfly
post Oct 9 2005, 10:27 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

inconsistency is something that we should avoid tongue.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 12:31 AM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 9 2005, 07:28 PM)
Depends on the drives you buy, for high reliablity, i suggest using WD's RAID edition and Raptor series, for Maxtor, it seems their MAXLine is good choice and Seagate's normal drives are good too.

Try looking at the MTBF rating of a drive before buying it.
ic....
MTBF = for mean time between failures.
I never think of this term before purchasing hdd, OMG! haha!!!

Thanks empire23!! notworthy.gif

by the way i love your avatar, cool man!! heh heh!! thumbup.gif

TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 12:33 AM

1,756 posts

I just found this side using the google search!!
Quite interesting!!

Overall Reliability : MTBF & APR
sonic_cd
post Oct 10 2005, 01:06 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

hdd in a box ? when i bought my maxtor hdd 3 years back it came in abox(its still working).. but dunno how come today all come in anti static bags only ... lol
TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 01:30 AM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 10 2005, 01:06 AM)
hdd in a box ? when i bought my maxtor hdd 3 years back it came in abox(its still working).. but dunno how come today all come in anti static bags only ... lol
cost saving or maybe it would be an OEM version!!!!!
dunno haha!!!
yah, last time Maxtor did provided and store inside the box, and my Quantum hdd, store in hard transparent plastic with anti static bag, if i am not mistaken!

sweat.gif

This post has been edited by victorboy: Oct 10 2005, 01:33 AM
TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 01:37 AM

1,756 posts

OMG!!!!
so far i lost several CAD files, important, but no choice cannot copied and to be moved and 1 single chapter of anime....

i try to copy the error message see anyone can help me this or not, else, i have to regain the file again.

shocking.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 01:50 AM

1,756 posts

Ok here is the message i got from my WD80 PATA harddisk!!!!

Error copying file or folder

cannot copy (file name) : Data error (cyclic redundancy check).

anyone got any ideas of solving above error, else, i think i have to format that partition and delete the file as well.

erm..hehe...
a minor technical help from me in this thread!

notworthy.gif
sonic_cd
post Oct 10 2005, 02:05 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Oct 10 2005, 01:30 AM)
cost saving or maybe it would be an OEM version!!!!!
dunno haha!!!
yah, last time Maxtor did provided and store inside the box, and my Quantum hdd, store in hard transparent plastic with anti static bag, if i am not mistaken!

sweat.gif
i couldn` care less oem or not as long it does not rosak and everything hilang is good enough already ... tongue.gif
TSvictorboy
post Oct 10 2005, 02:13 AM

1,756 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Oct 10 2005, 02:05 AM)
i couldn` care less oem or not as long it does not  rosak and everything hilang  is good enough already ... tongue.gif
That's the point haha!!!
my ex-WD , 80g, 1 year old, hdd has S.M.A.R.T error, and lost some of my important data!! But manage to back up 80% of the data, better than nothing. I say 80% because come file unable to copied, data lock, and some corrupted eventhough sucessfully backup.

sweat.gif
empire23
post Oct 10 2005, 10:24 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(victorboy @ Oct 10 2005, 01:50 AM)
Ok here is the message i got from my WD80 PATA harddisk!!!!
anyone got any ideas of solving above error, else, i think i have to format that partition and delete the file as well.

erm..hehe...
a minor technical help from me in this thread!

notworthy.gif
Hmmm, suggest you boot up in DOS and try to copy it to another HDD. Either that or doing a low level format, although personally i'd junk the HDD and get one of those sweet high reliability disks.
Mowgli
post Oct 10 2005, 10:44 AM

1,865 posts

IMO, Maxtor are VERY unreliable....had one maxtor 40GB 5400rpm died on me erly dis year....warranty period was over....n another maxtor SATA died on my other computer within a year after pruchase...

apparently i am currently using a Maxtor 120GB according to my sig...hope it wont fail me anytime soon....my suggestion, u can get any other brand besides maxtor...WD proved to be pretty reliable...

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:00 AM