25 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

HONDA CIVIC Club V11, My VTEC goes BWAAAAAHH!!!!

TSmADmAN
post Jul 30 2012, 11:36 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jul 30 2012, 11:29 PM)
mADmAN... any luck in asking ur mechanic friend on wat it takes to get a DC5 exhaust manifold into an ES ?  sweat.gif  icon_question.gif

Also to other sifus out there... any of u experience / heard other peopl experience engine knocking or pinging due to too restrictive exhaust ?
laugh.gif nope...totally forgot about it...hahahahah will try to ask when i go there tomorrow if i remember

cant find any info on the net?
TSmADmAN
post Aug 1 2012, 06:33 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Jul 31 2012, 10:18 AM)
Not anything definitive, lots of speculation mostly... Most info are from the US which have different version of the Civic.  blink.gif

I looking for info from more believable source, since dunwan waste money if it's not possible or need lots of modification to get it to fit. My own mechanic said only need to change the front ARB to DC5 if wanna use DC5 exhaust manifold, but several time already the case is he made some wrong assumption which cost me more $$$  cry.gif
spoke to my mechanic... he said its a direct fit...only thing is u need to re-do the exhaust piping to accomodate the header....

anyway... changed my intake setup today... removed the HKS SPF mushroom filter and replaced it with this

3" BPI Velocity Stack + 6" UTR Stainless Steel Mesh filter.

cant tell of any difference since there were other changes to the engine during the repair work...tuning hopefully this saturday if mechanic aint busy
TSmADmAN
post Aug 1 2012, 06:59 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(hairi.ariff_11 @ Aug 1 2012, 06:40 PM)
is it still a good time to buy civic ek?
wat makes u think its NOT a good time?
TSmADmAN
post Aug 1 2012, 07:15 PM

10,530 posts

spare parts are abundance...for the age... thats up to u to decide whether or not its too old... for me ok only... my car is even older tongue.gif
TSmADmAN
post Aug 1 2012, 08:40 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(coOLR3xz @ Aug 1 2012, 08:02 PM)
may i know how to retune b16a to run on ron95? what is the different? reduce knocking sound?
how to retune? use aftermarket management. difference? yeah reduce knocking sound and make ur car run better with ron95

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 1 2012, 08:33 PM)
fuiyo bro...kaya la really...i only using Apexi power flow funnel only.... sweat.gif
eh the apexi funnel filter oso quite expensive ok?
TSmADmAN
post Aug 1 2012, 10:04 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(coOLR3xz @ Aug 1 2012, 08:46 PM)
any workshop can tune that or need specialist?
depending on wat ECU ur using OBD0/ OBD1/ OBD2... and also wat management u wanna use.

QUOTE(hairi.ariff_11 @ Aug 1 2012, 09:59 PM)
so does your car have alot of problem or "always rosak2"
my car have been having issues lately...but in the midst of rectifying...and its always the same thing...the damn block doh.gif

but that also coz internals of the block fully modded....everything else definitely no issue... even the aircon is damn cold heheheheh

but seriously if i replace the current engine with a stock one im confident itll be problem free other than wear and tear parts.
TSmADmAN
post Aug 1 2012, 11:52 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 1 2012, 10:25 PM)
coz you're a hardcore 1 mah not same ..... brows.gif mine stock...but i still up to something brows.gif  brows.gif
haaaa......watcha planning? turbo? stroker kit?
TSmADmAN
post Aug 2 2012, 02:34 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(coOLR3xz @ Aug 2 2012, 02:50 AM)
OBD0/ OBD1/ OBD2 rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
i think my ecu is stocks one
also what kind of management did madman refer to?
i really know kacang putih about car system only sweat.gif
those are basically the 3 different generation of ECUs... and the B16A has all 3 of them...heheheheh

suggest u search around for a reputable tuner in ur area... consult them on what version ur ECU is and talk to them about wat ur options are...

but basically.. greddy e-manage is suitable for all 3 OBDs.... its about 1.4k... make sure to get the ignition harness as well coz this is wats important when u wanna retune to a run a lower octane fuel.

if u decide on the e-manage.. google up and make sure urs is genuine...coz theres fakes out there. or can always get the newer smaller version

QUOTE(unitron @ Aug 2 2012, 09:16 AM)
One #$&&*@#$ Kembara hit my rear bumper this morning on the way to work. Just got it re-painted less than one month ago.
same situation i had before oso....

my ex-kelisa got hit on the side early of the month...immediately sent for repairs...

end of the month one japanese guy in a camry belakang mari me doh.gif send repair again doh.gif

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Aug 2 2012, 02:09 PM)
Nice I am still on the HKS mushroom. Thinking about buying the K&N with BPI velocity stack from chris as well, but I have other mods to do ATM.
Chris has the BPI stack? didnt know he carried them...afaik only rev performance in sunway had it but dah habis stock... and now theyre selling the blox stack+filter kit for 4xx which is fuggin expensive.

i asked for the stack alone and its 3xx doh.gif the BPI last time they sell RM180 only... shakehead.gif

TSmADmAN
post Aug 2 2012, 06:44 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(hairi.ariff_11 @ Aug 2 2012, 05:52 PM)
ooh ok.. your car is eg rite?
yup
TSmADmAN
post Aug 3 2012, 06:48 PM

10,530 posts

cut cut cut??? cut which part?

have u tried emailing hasport about it?
TSmADmAN
post Aug 4 2012, 03:01 AM

10,530 posts

the mat sallehs who lower the car for lower CG dont go that low oso actually... usually i see its just no gap between tire and fender...

but there are those that go crazy low for that hellaflush thingy...and those guys not only mod suspension n looks...they also mod engine sekali gus
TSmADmAN
post Aug 5 2012, 11:28 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 5 2012, 03:20 PM)
what seriously ahh bro doh.gif  doh.gif
u didnt know meh? the bendix metal king are good, bang for buck pads...but they have a reputation for eating through ur rotors...

but stock brand new rotors about 2xx per pair if u buy at LHS or Exceptional...thats what my friend did... then he pasang sendiri at home

or u can always opt for Brembo Max rotors brows.gif

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Aug 5 2012, 03:42 PM)
Don't take it out to track or drive too ganas. Road use, still okay lah.. lol.
not too sure about the current generation of metal kings...but my old ones on my ex-EF were pretty good... cant remember the version but it was the one right before the Gold (and no its not silver)

took it out to BT3 once and SIC 3-4 times with lotsa daily hard braking....and brake fade in SIC were minimal compared to my current RapidStop 550c pads which fades way too fast.

pads and rotors tahan nicely for almost 2 years...(though i only drive the car at night back then...but every night though)

i even sold the car with the pads and rotors to wan congo..who later turned that car into his "cari makan" game car.

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Aug 5 2012, 10:37 PM)
Biasalah, wear and tear is always a good excuse to upgrade the car.  tongue.gif
btw, the bendix metal king I used was for honda legend, the pads fit my EK9 calipers. (and yes, I am on EG)

Now I'm back on endless, but prices rising up like mad, so EBC will likely be my next choice.
which EBC u looking at? and how much are they? ive always been interested in the EBC yellow... got a friend who uses it on his BB1 brakes on CRX and he loves them.

anyway... got crome-d yesterday.... and errr...

TSmADmAN
post Aug 5 2012, 11:37 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 5 2012, 11:32 PM)
Shit  cry.gif haiz....since so i guess planning for me to change caliper and rotor together d lo...maybe blue caliper for matching mine  brows.gif
BTW what is EBC and BB that sadako chan mention bout...bit noob  sweat.gif
EBC is a brand of brake pads...if not mistkaen they have rotors and calipers too...forgot...but theyre more famous for their pads

BB as in Prelude BB1/BB4 which is the H22A VTEC versions....theyre brakes are the same as EK9 and 98spec DC2-R...only difference is the PCD hole which is 4x114.3 for BB and 5x114.3 for the Rs.

the BB brakes is wat me and sadako are using... they use 282mm rotors and for brake pads... theyre the same as EK9 pads...they are also a large single pot caliper with a large pad which gives more surface area to bite.

i asked my mech before about fitting the BB brakes into EG... he said about RM6xx...not sure if include pads or not

if u use the spoon twinblock caliper, ur gonna need to use them with the 282mm rotors...

i also plan to fit the nissan silvia 4pot calipers on the rotors..but duit belum ada cukup sad.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 5 2012, 11:38 PM
TSmADmAN
post Aug 6 2012, 12:19 AM

10,530 posts

can....but most people dont bother with the rear... even my rear oso stock B16A
TSmADmAN
post Aug 6 2012, 05:16 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Aug 6 2012, 03:28 AM)
Congrats, with B20v, 200whp is standard output. That's why finding it strange that you don't get 200whp with B20v before this. Now you know the meaning of "want power, tune that shit".

Anyway, what exhaust you are running? The cutoff also ah?

But good also retard slightly the ignition, or rich a bit at top for safety.
dunno la....last time one of my friends with a B20V with TX3 high comp pistons and haltech e6k also tuned properly got 185whp on dynojet...

custom 4-1 header with 2.5" pipes with 1 bullet and cutout.

Oh btw, I need to ask this. How you feel about your car traction with B20v? What tires you running?

These few days rain, I noticed my traction is non existent, more than 50% throttle straight wheelspin. Usually not so bad, so it must mean that my RE002s are hitting the half wear mark.
i dont floor or vtec on wet roads.

running on T1R... as for traction....well my clutch cant really handle the power honestly... so i dont get much wheel spin..but quite abit of clutch slip during redline shifting...plus i no LSD, so i cant really tell that well.

might consider the exedy 3 or 4 puck or trinity as replacement....not sure which is longer lasting though

Also, still haven't gotten around to putting on the Superpro bushes, apparently one of my LCA thread for the swaybar is gone case, so I am going to get a replacement tommorow. Also messed up while jacking the bushing. Accidentally jacked out the entire bushing and warped the arm. Luckily it was the arm with the stripped swaybar thread. Going to BURN IT WITH FAIYA now, see if it's more effective or not. And I'm going to modify the LCAs to always accept superpro bush so later on easy to replace.
burn it...thats what ive been reading on DIY bushing replacements

I will definitely get spherical adjustable camber kits.
sperical? where? what brand? what price? i no rear camber kit but have been thinking of getting the hardrace installed....but would really like them sphericals honestly

Wut? Don't you get a lot of the nose dive when you brake hard?
u mean to tell me u have rear BB1 brakes as well?

i dont notice any nosediving during hard braking when in the car....dunno about outside the car though...

must be the TEIN Flex working very well hahahahaha

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 6 2012, 05:18 AM
TSmADmAN
post Aug 6 2012, 03:12 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Aug 6 2012, 01:43 PM)
Ouch, that is pretty low, Even my friend running 82x87.3 setup manages 200whp, but his one is mad high compression. around 12.5
wat management is he running and wat else does he have? coz im at estimated 12.5 too... but im 85*89

Nice, mine is bigger, but twin bullet, so maybe a bit of restriction there as well, and I also currently on 2.25 cat pipe. Got offer at ipoh for a 2.7" kakimoto center piping, so I'm going there sometime after raya and picking it up, going to chop2 it up and mod into a decat pipe.
why are u still using a decat pipe?? get rid of the entire thing and just put a normal piping all out like everyone else...

Sure it's clutch slip? because the clamping load on organics and race clutch good for up to 250-300hp from what I know. But guess I'm not the only one with traction problems. With helical, still can one wheel spin, but perhaps it's due to tire, since helical not really great at truly locking up both wheels.
yep....after the engine got re-assembled my mech took it out for a quick drive and he oso said that my clutch like cannot tahan the power.

Racing clutch will never tahan one, because they don't like half clutch releases.
yeah i know that... but im just wondering which one lasts longER.

Hard race makes spericals, but have to special order, I have the Hardrace spherical RTA ones. Local dealer/distributor don't stock it. It's stiff, but surprisingly, not noisy, except if on rough road surfaces, if on smooth highway, feels like stock bush. Price should be close to s2 original camber kit. at 600-700ish. I'm on skunk2 now, but seized up, so if the bush goes, I'll probably go for hardrace camber kit later. Since I use the EK9 trailing arm for rear, my camber with stock camber arms are -2 each side. So have to use camber kit, if stock, just replace the bushings enough to restore camber.
bleh... one thing i menyampah is special order... i like getting things off the shelf...no stock = no getting my money hahahahah...unless of course i REALLY want it.... but that doesnt happen very often

Heh, you should try monoflex, or any monotube, low speed sensitivity is really great if setup properly.
Monoflex no have for EK...only Type Flex....anyway...if i could get a buyer for my Type Flex for EK for 3.2k thereabouts... id get me a set of GAB SS with 10kg Front and 8kg rear springs.

As for my brakes, I'm running 5 lug EK9s front and rear, so the rear disc is also slightly bigger. Can lock all four wheels even when I ran semi-slicks.  thumbup.gif Friend runs full BB front and rears. Last time always say worry too heavy, now also convert, he say best mod is the brakes.
aaaaaaaahhhh... 5 lugs...something i will NEVER do... susah mau cari cheap rims hahahhaha

awaiting funds to plonk the silvia 4pot i have at home.

am also considering changing the rear brakes to something else... but that can wait...coz dunno wat to put in and how much...money pretty tight lately coz in the process of buying a house.
TSmADmAN
post Aug 7 2012, 11:56 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(sadako-chan @ Aug 6 2012, 11:53 PM)
They don't? I remember got one EK here with monoflex, maybe the old days got.

Coincidentally I run those same spring rates. 10kg F and 8kg R, I also got spare track/drag springs at 12kg and 10kg. Gab SS eh? I got quoted 2.4K for them a year back I think. Looks a bit low quality to me, but as long as is monotube.... I think can set it up properly or change the oil to increase rebound damping if not enough

Debating on the traction bar now, going to email ktuned to see if it clears the A/C.
afaik they dont... tried searching for so long and thats wat i found out

2.4k? i can get cheaper...hahahah....so far all feedbacks about GAB SS has been pretty good... damping etc when i have the extra money can just get farouk from F-Tuned to do....

and skip the K-Tuned traction bar... read here: http://honda-eg6.blogspot.com/2012/06/k-tu...bar-for-eg.html

amateurish welding and looks low quality.... i think ur better off getting the full race bars being sold in ZTH... got an EG6 at my mechanic's workshop with K-swap and the full race traction bar...looks real good.

QUOTE(stupid_piggy @ Aug 7 2012, 09:30 AM)
Thinkng to sell of my old saga and grab honda civic 1.7 2002 years. Any feedback regarding this car. Use for normal cruising and highway driving to muar or johor bahru every 3 or 4 month. Looking for comfortable, reliable, easy maintenance and reasonable fc car. Civic 1.7 was just suit my budget. Compare with city vtech, which more suitable to grab?
not too sure how good the car is but im pretty sure the civic would definitely feel like an upgrade compared to ur saga.

n i think better get the civic compared to city... civic is bigger

QUOTE(mykazza @ Aug 7 2012, 10:23 AM)
hi i just bought 98 civic eg8 with with everything stock.. with some goodies like cromax, rear disc, and the car is very clean with no sign of modification  , and maintainence record... but the speedo meter is not working so what could be the issue? the sensor or the meter itself? the meter does go up.. but stuck at 20km/h.. or is there any obd scanner like www.superscan.my that can be used with this computer box? i think its an d15b
could be a faulty speed sensor....could be a faulty meter. ur gonna need to send it to the workshop to confirm

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Aug 7 2012, 11:59 AM
TSmADmAN
post Aug 7 2012, 08:02 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 7 2012, 07:45 PM)
8-9 years...??walao aa...looks like i gonna be the same as you d ...but not swap K20A la  sweat.gif
take ur time man....dont rush.
TSmADmAN
post Aug 9 2012, 11:11 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Aug 7 2012, 09:14 PM)
damm bro the Honda eg6 blogspot is so damm useful bro...he is a technician or what...??might wanna ask him to fix my car too
no idea man... that one my friend sent to me... all i know is that hes a singaporean.
TSmADmAN
post Aug 9 2012, 01:30 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(sw1314 @ Aug 9 2012, 01:06 PM)
hi.. i newbie here.. can i ask civic 2009~2011 is FD2?? using K20A??
if u are referring to the 4 door sedan then yes, the FD2 is the 2.0 K20A, while the FD1 is the 1.8

25 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0508sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:08 PM