LYN Power Tools Discussion, Bosch, Hitachi, Milwaukee, Metabo, Hilti

ozak
post Sep 30 2016, 11:16 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Sep 30 2016, 10:51 PM)
spray wd40 into bearing wont do the job.. it will dry out..
bearing needs grease. best option is to take out the bearing and replaced with new one..  rolleyes.gif
Understand. I just lazy to dismantle it. A quick solution.

Even it dry out, it still remain a thin oil film coat. Not that fast gone.

To dismantle it, I need to cutout the whole rubber grip. sweat.gif
ozak
post Sep 30 2016, 11:19 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 30 2016, 10:53 PM)
If you're using dremel mainly on a workbench get the Dremel 9100... Foot paddle speed control.  brows.gif
I just saw on youtube ppl using dremel to remove dead skin on their feet. Useful.
Look interesting. But it more to specific work.

Prefer multi tools. Save me some money lor. sweat.gif
ozak
post Oct 1 2016, 10:27 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Oct 1 2016, 09:23 PM)
The box for my vacuum almost done. I temporary screw in all the boards to test.

Realized some points:
1) The vacuum motor itself is not really that loud.
2) The high pitched noise is actually coming from the suction hosed which the box can't help to reduce.
3) The box is very effective is reducing the auto filter cleaning thumping noise. Now it sounds like some thud thud thud instead of boom boom boom.
4) Jointer is very useful to reduce that 1-2mm extra length so the boards can fit nicely.

Now I need to decide on top open or front open when I need to take the vacuum out from servicing.
[attachmentid=7661706]
Is there a danger to overheat the motor with close box without airflow?
ozak
post Oct 13 2016, 12:18 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Oct 11 2016, 06:31 PM)
While I was searching online for scroll saw reviews I found this jigsaw/scroll saw jig.
Seems to be very interesting as I can use the jig to :
1) Rip thin long piece of wood. Safer than using table saw.
2) Do scroll saw work.
3) This jig has good dust collection.
4) Made in Germany...

Looks like the scroll saw function wont have alignment issues like those stand alone stroll saws.

Might be nice to get one to try out. I have an old corded jigsaw in storeroom.

But the price look like can buy that dremel unit already ?
ozak
post Oct 13 2016, 10:02 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Oct 13 2016, 06:17 AM)
You mean the dremel scroll saw?
Well, when using jigsaw mode, this one can handle up to 10cm thick material. Doubt dremel has such power.
For scroll saw mode, it should be more powerful than dremel as its powered by a jigsaw.

How much vibration would highly depend on the quality if the jigsaw.

I dont have space in my room for a dedicated bandsaw & scroll saw so I think this one will be a good alternative for DIY works.

The cutting guide I ordered from rockler has arrived yesterday. Now I can cut straight when ripping 8x4 sheet wood.

Rockler use extra wood to reinforce the packing so it won't get damage or bent during delivery to Malaysia.
That rockler product magazine has so many things...
[attachmentid=7756323]
[attachmentid=7756330]
[attachmentid=7756334]
Store the guide together with my wood.
[attachmentid=7756338]
Why not modify your DIY table for this scroll saw or cutting saw. Need some slot and hole that doesn't effect much the whole table. That can save some space.

That is nice skill guide. How much is it? US people are farking good at wood.

I normally just use some long prank wood. No problem with straight line. Just mark more point.

ozak
post Oct 13 2016, 05:11 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Oct 13 2016, 05:04 PM)

I did try to cut some scrap to be guide, but event to scrap is not really straight. It will always curve a bit at the middle.
After a few tries I said to hell with it just buy a proper guide.  tongue.gif
The circular saw you use is how many inch? Mine is 3 1/4" (85mm).
Maybe larger size circular saw will cut more straight due to larger diameter?
There is a slot in the flat plate. That edge slot can be a guide. Just look parallel to the pencil line on the plywood.

I didn't use any guide when cut large plywood. Just freehand with the slot edge as the guide. But the cut is pretty straight.
ozak
post Oct 13 2016, 08:09 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Oct 13 2016, 07:16 PM)
http://www.compactmt.com/catalog/aluminium...20x20-p-28.html
Using aluminium profile, some screws and nuts will be the best method.
I only can see from Ebay, after postage comes out to about rm520.
Rm520 for that 20x20 profile ?

Sure bo? Super expensive.

Here can buy for below rm50. Depend on length.
ozak
post Oct 13 2016, 08:11 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Oct 13 2016, 05:12 PM)
When I was cutting the pencil line goes in and out of that slot. sad.gif

Well, that guide can become a router guide too. will be useful when joining 2 long boards.
You need to train your hand steady. biggrin.gif
ozak
post Nov 21 2016, 01:52 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(BoobaabaaBoo @ Nov 21 2016, 01:46 PM)
Hi, it is a condominium. Is a hammer drill necessary to drill and screw? I would say hammer drill is a big gun for me lol
This kind of drill is not suitable for screwing.

You cannot control the power and will damage the screw.
ozak
post Nov 22 2016, 08:52 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(BoobaabaaBoo @ Nov 21 2016, 03:34 PM)
oh.... i check the product description, looks like the power drill could be done for drilling and also screwing with different bits. do you mean that drill and screw are two different tool?
It is better to use 2 different tools.

Use cordless drill for screwing. Controlling are more precise. The drill are lighter to handle.

For hammer drill, at least 600w.
ozak
post Nov 22 2016, 08:56 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(ProdigyZz @ Nov 22 2016, 08:40 AM)
hi guys just wanna ask. I am planning to install the light fixture myself. Its a new condo with existing power point. How deep can i drill the ceiling? and what type of screw do i need for the job? its a concrete ceiling
Standard deep is 1". Follow the wall plug length.

You can drill more hole if the light fixture is heavy. More hole will distribute the load equally.

Your light fixture should be able to tell you how many hole to drill from the manual and the bracket.
ozak
post Nov 25 2016, 02:08 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Nov 25 2016, 11:42 AM)
Hi Guys,

Planning to buy a cordless drill for general use. The highest torque required would probably be drilling holes at brick walls (home) for hanging of stuff (TV rack etc.)

Would like to ask if 12V cordless drill sufficient? Or do I need higher power.

18V type with hammer function.
ozak
post Nov 25 2016, 02:16 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Nov 24 2016, 07:52 AM)
nice full set.. Why previously makita didn't sell like this package..  bangwall.gif
Makita don't target on home user.

Their market is for contractor. construction.
ozak
post Nov 28 2016, 09:23 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Nov 27 2016, 07:16 PM)
Today tried to install a led lamp in my toilet.. man thr concrete is so difficult to drill.. on the ladder hard to get a good grip.

The debri is flying everywhere making concentrating harder.. forced to use inpact mode instead of rotary mode
If you have vacuum cleaner, get someone hold the hose near to your drilling.

Suck the dust while drilling.
ozak
post Nov 29 2016, 11:12 PM

17,021 posts

If you guys love power tools, you should watch his YouTube.

You can learn a lot from him about mechanical, material, tools, electrical etc.

And in the mean time laugh like hell. biggrin.gif prepare a lot of fuck word. laugh.gif

He is nasty, rough and a joker. But very skill person.

He just rip apart any power tools and tell you which is good and bad. How the thing work. He don't like plastic. biggrin.gif

Makita have a coffee machine ? rolleyes.gif

ozak
post Nov 30 2016, 08:49 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Nov 30 2016, 12:59 AM)
He made a mistake when he said it was a 125V coil contactor.. That JZC-32F is a 12V DC coil.. 

The supply comes in after the fuse and directly into the transformer into the full bridge rectifier ..

The logical path would be a thermocouple switches on a transistor which controls the contactor coil which switches on the heater element..

Still he's entertaining in his presentation of the tear down..

It's not even an isolation transformer.. Its a step down tx.. bad ..bad..
Yeah. He is entertaining. He tear down many powertools and will bash the maker if it bad. I like his rough nasty way. laugh.gif

Include the expensive Dyson new hair dryer. I always wonder what thing is inside that cost so expensive.

I don't bother much on the electronic side. I think he more expert in mechanical than electrical side.

I like to see the inside mechanism and how it run.
ozak
post Nov 30 2016, 10:10 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 30 2016, 09:57 AM)
Makita make lots of wierd staff, they even have a robot vacuum cleaner and uses the powertool Li-ion bateries.
This makita coffee maker are very common design in US.

I use before in those US motel. I thought there is a pump in the coffee maker.

What best of this makita coffee maker is it can use the 18v powertools battery.

Wonder 1 day will the makita come out a smartphone. 🙄
ozak
post Nov 30 2016, 11:15 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Richard @ Nov 30 2016, 09:25 AM)
He's very spot on on testing plastics by pushing a soldering iron (set temp) into the material to test melting point..

Also you should listen to his comments on the composition of the grease, the lubrication kind not the thermal grease they use in heat sinks.

I only discovered Molybdenum disulfide paste in lubrication grease is the one element critical for keeping metal on metal wear to the minimum.. This from his comments by running his fingers through the stuff.. Very astute..

I have to remember that next time i shop..
I forget what this Molybdenum disulfide grease to protect. I have use before in some mechanical parts.

Most of the time, I m using lithium grease.
ozak
post Nov 30 2016, 04:16 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Nov 30 2016, 03:44 PM)
guys, i purchased boyai 24SE 24mm rotary hammer drill from mr diy. Im looking for the drill chuck adapter as the current openingl only fit 24mm drill bit. Any info where i could find one ? thanks
You sure your drill can handle bigger than 24mm drill bit ?

You need to check your drill spec. Before smoke the tools.
ozak
post Nov 30 2016, 05:52 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Nov 30 2016, 05:30 PM)
theres only the black portion, with no adjustable ring chuck, im looking at smaller than 24mm bit as mine is without the ring chuck.
Sorry, I m confuse.

Yours is SDS chuck ?

And you want a chuck adaptor ?

23 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.1022sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:45 PM