LYN Power Tools Discussion, Bosch, Hitachi, Milwaukee, Metabo, Hilti

ozak
post Sep 16 2016, 04:55 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 14 2016, 10:18 PM)
After 15 years, my dremel finally can come out from store room and hang in proper space to serve.
Eh... why portrait pic always show in wrong orientation?
[attachmentid=7530948]

Bought my first Makita product today.  thumbup.gif
Did some comparison between palm routers available in Malaysia and choose Makita because:
1) Adjustable speed.
2) has many attachments. Plunge base, fix base, tilt base, 2 type of dust collections, guide.
3) Accepts 6mm & 8mm router bit.

Big makita box with some precision measurement tool I bought together.
[attachmentid=7536429]
Open the box and surprise to see a big square bag in there. 
The boss says can use this as picnic bag, I do agreed with her. tongue.gif
[attachmentid=7536442][attachmentid=7536448]
Lots of thing in there, many accessories too.
[attachmentid=7536476][attachmentid=7536477]

On the first powerup, I notice the router spins very stable.
Now need to figure out what type of router bit I need.  hmm.gif
15yrs still in good condition. Not bad.

My dremel wear and tear after 17yrs. sad.gif

Why you need a dial gauge?
ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 09:26 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 28 2016, 11:56 PM)
it seem this thread has been slow down a lot since my last login date 1 1/2 month back.. biggrin.gif

i was very busy on overseas business trip due to year end rush...nevertheless i did made a few purchases before and during my trip and luckily didn't wait for this year cybersales which is rather lame ( prices are more expensive compare to normal days  vmad.gif  ) !

of all my powertools, the tools which i do use the most is the rotary tool...therefore during the 40% lazada sales recently, i sapu most of the dremel bits...

this is how i organized my rotary tool in L boxx..( now have to reorganize it with all those new bits )

my others dremel accessories which is 100% compatible with the bosch rotary tool..

btw, this is the size comparison between bosch gro, dremel 4000 and dremel multi pro...i use the bosch gro most of the time due to more powerful and cordless  laugh.gif

here's my dremel's family photoshot  laugh.gif

and the most recent addition to the dremel family... dremel multi-vise 2500...got it from 11street for only RM109  biggrin.gif

recently just diy a car bumper repair / restoration using these rotary tool...it cost me less than RM100 to get it done including paint. all the workshop i went for quotation, all told me beyond repair cos the damage was too  vmad.gif  these rotary save my day and $$.
Walau. you tools collector ?

What is that Dremel attachment for ?
ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 09:29 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(bububang @ Sep 29 2016, 12:59 AM)
The price is double of it  sad.gif

i did saw bosch too.. but it seem too light for the job?
Of course la. Quality and good spec tools cannot compare.
ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 11:30 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 29 2016, 10:34 AM)
that is the circular and straight edge cutter guide attachment

no bro, i'm not tool collector but i can't simply let go any good deal for the tools i wanted...

for example, recently got this for RM225 wo...how not to buy it?  laugh.gif
this is my first electric high pressure washer from bosch...before this was considering the karcher but when i can get this for that price, straight away placed the order. RM225 for a 110bar pressure washer should be a good deal or not ? the close alternative is the karcher k2 which is retail at RM320++
i second this !  thumbsup.gif
That attachment look interesting. Might get 1. At the moment, I don't have a proper big round cutting tools.

I see you like buying a same 3 rotary tools? Bosch and 2 dremel. All same function. What different?

Bosch are not famous with high pressure washer. But many high pressure washer doesn't last long.

Last time when get 1, I see the bosch only give 6month warranty and Karcher 1yrs. Since Karcher more famous and specialty in high pressure washer, I go for Karcher.

Later brought somemore Karcher accessory from amazon. smile.gif

ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 12:09 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(bububang @ Sep 29 2016, 11:57 AM)
cz i wouldnt use much.. just for dig hole on concrete..  sad.gif after tat wouldnt use much
If you ask opinion from tools enthusiast like us, you won't get a cheap tools. We understand what is quality and specification.

Even 1 job, my head won't automatically think to get a cheap tools. My history tell me, the tools will be use again even keep for 10yrs.

Just go and get the cheap tools and don't compare. smile.gif
ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 01:25 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Sep 29 2016, 01:15 PM)
That's why you need to scout on local shops sometimes. The Dremel bits are quite poor actually, especially the multi purpose cutting bits. Now I'm buying carbide bits for cutting MDF.
Cutting MDF use carbide?

Got so hard meh?

ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 02:01 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Sep 29 2016, 01:28 PM)
Spend extra for the plunge router attachment and buy the stainless steel rod that same size with the attachment's rod will be a better option.
Understand your option.

But the Plunge Router Attachment not that handily if work on like cabinet. I mean you take the tool work on the already fix thing vs normally thing lying down.

That is when smaller attachment is more handy.

Example cutting this hole

Plunge router attachment price look attractive also. Not that expensive. drool.gif
ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 02:22 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Sep 29 2016, 01:41 PM)
Always remember, Dremel are more on hobby tools while Bosch are more on heavier duty tools.
If you don't believe, just use the Dremel's HSS cutting bits to cut an 1" MDF and see the bit cut the MDF or MDF cut the bit first.
Another reason is, HP of the motors between Dremel and Bosch. By origin, Dremel's power tools motor HP are quite low, the Dremel's cutting bit are too long which is good for cutting softer materials but when comes to harder material, the longer length actually reduces the overall strength.
1 of the best practice when using power tool is let the tools move toward work piece rather than using excessive force to push the tool through.
Understand the Dremel function and limited power.

I never work on a 1" thick MDF before. But just 6mm thick. The cutting is pretty easy with the dremel and their HSS tools.

Yup mostly I guide the tools toward the workpiece rather opposite. Cause I can feel the force and adjust my feeding speed.

ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 03:15 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 29 2016, 03:00 PM)
sorry my bad on the earlier percentage,

out of 34 type of original Dremel bits i have,

12 are made in USA
10 are made in China
6 are made in Taiwan
5 are made in Germany
1 is made from Israel ( diamond engraving bit )
Wah, ini macam maker also you categorize biggrin.gif

My experience with China and Taiwan made bit (diamond bit), Very easily wear out. Doesn't last long.

Before that usually use japan wan.

For felt bit, even worst.
ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 03:19 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 29 2016, 02:49 PM)
ooh...my experience with dremel bits is good so far. i find dremel bits are more lasting compare to those no brand made in china bits...

comparing cutting mdf with dremel carbite bit vs no brand carbite bit, dremel bit give a more cleaner cut from my experience..

my no brand made in china bits

but this Hilda bits ( made in china brand ) are quite good compare to those unbranded one...

all my dremel bits are purchased with 40% off, i gotta say it's a pretty good buy/ investment and almost comparable price with those china bits...

safety also is my major concern, i scare those china brand bits broke during usage.... laugh.gif with dremel bit ( 60% made in US, 20% made in Taiwan, 10% made in Germany, 10% made in China ) atleast give me some peace of mind when using it... biggrin.gif
Normally won't broken. But bend.

I usually force till the dremel very hot, speed slow down and struggle. Still the bit won't broke.

Nowaday My dremel like macam very easy hot liau. Time for new 1? hmm.gif
ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 03:36 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 29 2016, 03:23 PM)

most of it still in original packaging, therefore still can know where is the origin country. i need to label properly in my toolbox so i don't mixed up those bits....

where to find made in japan bit? it it really good and lasting....nowadays everything also wear out so easily... i guess it's a good thing for manufacturer but bad for end user like us...need to spend more $$$  vmad.gif
I don't no where to find anymore here for the japan quality. People start to buy the china/Taiwan for cheap. Than slowly the dealer don't get the japan stock anymore. vmad.gif

They don't realize, the china/Taiwan only can last short. While the japan wan last as trice. Of course the japan wan cost twice. But still worth it.

Try here http://www.monotaro.my/
ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 03:40 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 29 2016, 03:23 PM)
yes, it's time for a brand new one and retire the old one.... brows.gif

have you try to replace the carbon brushes?
Service it not long ago. Still look good.

The hot place come from the bottom side. Below the fan. Not the motor stator.

I m rough usual if see my dremel condition. biggrin.gif
ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 03:54 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Sep 29 2016, 03:40 PM)
If the bit breaks, it is better for the tool, if it bends, the tool will be suffering premature damage.
That's when the HP of the motor not enough, it will drag more power to keep up the speed.
Yup.

I just throw away the bit.

It can't be use anymore after bend. Cause it will keep knocking and the cutting surface not nice anymore.

This felt compare. Left is japan brand Leutor. Right wan is china/Taiwan. The china/Taiwan shaft material is softer compare the japan.

ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 04:12 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 29 2016, 04:02 PM)
wah, japan leutor brand  thumbsup.gif  could't find it here at all....where did you get this previously? online?
This bit quite long already. If not mistaken, I ask some jap buy for me when they come over here.

Or I brought it from Akihabara, Tokyo.
ozak
post Sep 29 2016, 04:21 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Sep 29 2016, 04:04 PM)
It stated 20000rpm, while the Dremel can go 30000rpm easily. So in some sense you use it beyond the safe limit.
Don't use that high la. Mostly around 15krpm.

It is due to my force. sad.gif That's why I know which wan bend easily.

But sometime I use air rotary tools. This wan I don't no what rpm when full speed. I whack only.
ozak
post Sep 30 2016, 03:55 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Sep 30 2016, 02:32 PM)
Well, when working with cut piece and the bit starts to emit smoke, it means something going to wrong.

https://shapertools.com/
Anyway, another cool power tool that can consider.
Cool tools.

I just worry the program. Look easy just touch and pick.

But who design it and the library if just pick 1. How easy the prg to use if prg..
ozak
post Sep 30 2016, 03:59 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Sep 30 2016, 03:57 PM)
A steady hand still required and it is work on he sticker markings, not that worth from my point of view.
With that price, I rather DIY a CNC.

That is more precise.

But pro and con la. The space.
ozak
post Sep 30 2016, 04:01 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Sep 30 2016, 03:08 PM)
when i first started with rotary tool many many years back, i also simply whack it with the high speed also....thinking of the faster the speed the faster i can get the job done.... tongue.gif  most of the time, the work piece will get damage... vmad.gif

now i always started with the lower speed and do few pass instead...result are much better and also bits can last longer too... biggrin.gif
I not always deal with wood.

Many on metal. You know la. Metal more hard. So whack lor. biggrin.gif
ozak
post Sep 30 2016, 04:27 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(kengyan @ Sep 30 2016, 04:21 PM)
Yup, making on CNC would be better with that price.
And nope, metal are "softer" than wood. Why softer is we can cut the metal piece direct while wood(especially MDF) will grip the bit which makes it "hard".
Not really.

Depend on the material type. Normal is mild steel.

SS is soft. But not easy cut.

Plain carbon steel, your cutter cry.
ozak
post Sep 30 2016, 10:41 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Sep 30 2016, 09:07 PM)
Maybe your dremel's bearing no oil or spoil already, friction will make it heat up.
I guess so. I did spray wd40 into it.

The heat come from there.

23 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0776sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:22 PM