LYN Power Tools Discussion, Bosch, Hitachi, Milwaukee, Metabo, Hilti

ozak
post Dec 9 2016, 09:57 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Dec 9 2016, 08:48 PM)
bro you need to get a chain saw mill, mill on site and carry the 2-3 inch slab out
they very expensive to buy,
but i diy my self, welded metal rack to hold the chainsaw, then a leader to keep it stright.
if you cant weld, go to your local awning shop, give them plans and they will weld for you.

its possible mill a log alone, but its much easier/fun with 2 people. my huge chainsaw with rack is dam heavy.
Just check only. Not intend to take it out. I don't want people see me as illegal logger. biggrin.gif

I have the chainsaw. But electrical wan. sad.gif
ozak
post Dec 17 2016, 08:38 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Dec 9 2016, 09:28 PM)
Talking about tung oil, where can I get tung oil in Malaysia?
Even ACE hardware dont have it.
ACE have. RM44.4
ozak
post Dec 26 2016, 09:41 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(jackbanner @ Dec 26 2016, 09:32 PM)
What do u guys think of Milwaukee brand power tools?
Certain power tools is not bad.

Design in US, made in China.
ozak
post Jan 17 2017, 11:37 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jan 16 2017, 10:02 PM)
First post on this thread for 2017

Make a bucket "cyclone" for my dust collector.
Benefit compare to my vacuum
1) low rumbling sound feel better
2) moderate suction only pick up wood dust and shavings. The vacuum with strong suction always accidentally suck things in.
3) Finally I have a 4 inch hose vacuum.  rclxms.gif

Main component are transparent bucket and 4 inch sewage pipes.

Future plan, dig a hole in the wall and put the motor unit outside. Direct exhaust the air outdoor no need those 2 big cloth bag as filter and guaranteed better air quality devil.gif

[attachmentid=8410741]
Not noisy that vacuum? How is the vibration?

Modify it and put a Hepa filter on it.
ozak
post Jan 17 2017, 12:08 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jan 17 2017, 11:55 AM)
Compare to vacuum cleaner, the dust collector make a low rumbling sound while vacuum makes a higher pitched sound. Low rumbling sound feels better for me.
The motor and fan runs ok. Some rattling sound come from uneven bottom vibrate against the floor.

If I dig a 4 inch hole on the floor and install the motor unit outside the house(back lane) then I don't need to worry about the HEPA filter.  devil.gif

How to dig a 4 inch hole on wall? drill lots of smaller holes then knock it off?
Most of the noise is create from vibration. The unbalance vacuum impeller, The plastic bucket vibrate, the base stand etc.

For the motor, the rotor should have already do the balancing. If not, the bearing will spoil fast.

It is 100mm hole. Bored with a diamond bore cutter ? Not that difficult with a 800w rotary hammer drill. Clean and 1 shot fast drill.
ozak
post Jan 17 2017, 03:47 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jan 17 2017, 02:07 PM)
I wonder how much a 100mm diamond hole cutter will costs.
You still can belanja me TT.

Core Drill
ozak
post Jan 18 2017, 09:51 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jan 18 2017, 09:33 AM)
Thanks for the guide.
If order this probably will arrive after CNY.
I wonder how much local store is selling this...
You can use the china site as a price guide.

Check the local price. Doesn't cost far away, should be ok.

If your brick is red, than consider better quality.
ozak
post Jan 24 2017, 09:32 AM

17,021 posts

Who want to setup a workshop?

This youtube is very good knowledge and well thought of how to setup. Very detail thought and simple workshop.

Look at those Bosch tools. drool.gif

And that Bosch miter saw. Fuuuu....... drool.gif

ozak
post Jan 24 2017, 09:50 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jan 24 2017, 09:43 AM)

Not many living in city has that big space...
That glide miter saw is syiok tho.. RM2.8k.  devil.gif

It was my target too but too big too heavy for my small room. End up using table saw instead.  sad.gif
That workplace is not big actually.

Don't see the front portion. Imagine to cut away the front till the wall working table. That is an average room size of our house.
ozak
post Jan 24 2017, 11:39 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jan 24 2017, 11:20 AM)

Nice tools but not cheap arr... For us Malaysian  bangwall.gif

Lets estimate how much that workshop will costs...
I added something that I think might be useful

Maybe I will make another list of cheaper brands

[attachmentid=8433870]
Sure la. If you 1 go buy like that.

Slow slow buy lor. Accumulate in time. Since it is god quality tools, it last long.

Or substitute with cheaper China 1? But I don't think hardcore will like it. hehehe

Buy the most usefull tools 1st. Setup those board, hook, exhaust, power and table. The rest of tools accumulate later.

But RM10k is consider ok. Given the RM that low now.
ozak
post Jan 24 2017, 12:11 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jan 24 2017, 11:55 AM)
Ya.. given how shit our exchange rate become, 10k is not a lot  bangwall.gif
Lots of the jigs can be build so can save a bit.

I don't know where to get those board with lots of holes so I end up using cleat system in my workroom.

Build another sheet for cheaper tools.
Almost half savings.

[attachmentid=8434088]
Well, we all here start from DIY and slowly buy the real thing. That is our "no money " way. biggrin.gif

You can't compare to a country where they already have everything and cheap.

Saw this kind of similar board in IOI city mall, homepro. But it is metal panel type.

You can use MDF board and drill the hole. But the hook is abit hassle to find.

ozak
post Jan 24 2017, 07:05 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(kennji @ Jan 24 2017, 05:34 PM)
Drool-worthy post! Was searching where to buy wood planks and power tools and it led me to this!

Anyway, not so easy to find pegboards. A local big hardware store around my office area in kampung subang had something similar. Perforated hardboard in 3mm thick (4 x 8ft) RM5x.xx.
Ok wor Perforated hardboard. Not that expensive also.

yushin you heard it.

Plenty of hook here.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/100Pc-Pegboard-Hoo...o4AAOxy06hSHEXi
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 09:45 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(faizdtk @ Feb 6 2017, 11:20 PM)
I want to build a bookcase. Already start building but cutting plywood with a cheap circular saw is really hard to get a straight cut.
You can make a fixture from wood to guide the cut.

Watch the DIY before in youtube. Not difficult.
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 10:20 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Feb 7 2017, 09:55 AM)
If just want to make normal bookcase, go Ikea buy Billy bookcase seems more reasonable.  tongue.gif
Ya. I have few of this billy bookcase.

But TS have the passion of making it. And custom dimension design still better than the standard wan.
ozak
post Feb 8 2017, 09:52 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Feb 8 2017, 09:35 AM)
Depends on which one you use.
Bosch has a compact rotary hammer, with 2AH battery it weights about 1.7 kg.
Model is GBH18V-Li Compact. This model does not have chiseling function.

For drilling holes on high places this is good.
Actually the hammer drill is sufficient to drill.

Have been install many light on the ceiling for my house. Just using the bosch hammer drill.

Get a good A ladder to support you.

Cordless hammer drill are useless. Not enough power and slow down the job.
ozak
post Mar 21 2017, 10:51 AM

17,021 posts

I m lazy and many project stop. hehehehe....

Also full of outdoor activity on weekend which reduce my project time. (too tired).
ozak
post Mar 26 2017, 09:41 PM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Mar 26 2017, 06:12 PM)
anyone keep these user manual or throw it away? i haven't even open and read a single manual yet ...just keep these cart away in a box. thinking to get rid of these  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

user posted image<a href='https://postimage.org/' target='_blank'></a>
Ya, I have the habit to read the manual before use the tools.

Have a drawer to keep all the manual.

Sometime have to refer back when forget the setting, etc.
ozak
post Mar 29 2017, 11:28 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Mar 29 2017, 11:24 AM)
complicated machine / tool...maybe will keep the manual and can refer later on. those drill driver manual is just too much for me to read it... biggrin.gif
It sometime can give you some idea and trick that you don't no.

A simple feature you may miss and "why I didn't think of this"
ozak
post Mar 29 2017, 11:39 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Mar 29 2017, 11:35 AM)
i don't like my tool to be loosely throw inside any tool box, it just too messy and don't like to dig for tool.. biggrin.gif maybe you can diy some inlay organizer for the 238 using plywood to keep loose tool organize.

btw, now can get the 238 around rm150+ shipped ( with maxis discount code + shopback) from lazada. seller is csm hardware.

on the GOP, i'm still using those ori blade from bosch ( which came with the tool ). haven't try out other brand yet.. those china made blade seem very cheap but now sure how well it could perform.
How you clean your tools?

I try wipe clean. But get rust fast.

Than don't clean it, it won't rust. But my tools box will get dirty.

I don't like to apply wd40. It messy with oil and the toolbox become extract dust.

Sigh.
ozak
post Mar 29 2017, 11:41 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ Mar 29 2017, 11:37 AM)
haha...true also. sometimes we tend to be slightly complicated with simple tools  laugh.gif
Some tools you flip around and don't no where to open this or dismantle the blade.

Refer back the manual, damn, so simple only. biggrin.gif

23 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 >Top

0.0759sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:20 PM