I went to bought some tung oil from craftivi, BLO from ACE.
Later can so a comparison on a piece of wood.
The combustion of the BLO rags is a bit scary tho.
LYN Power Tools Discussion, Bosch, Hitachi, Milwaukee, Metabo, Hilti
Dec 18 2016, 05:18 PM
3,328 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Selangor |
I went to bought some tung oil from craftivi, BLO from ACE.
Later can so a comparison on a piece of wood. The combustion of the BLO rags is a bit scary tho. |
Dec 19 2016, 09:29 AM
Jan 16 2017, 10:02 PM
First post on this thread for 2017
Make a bucket "cyclone" for my dust collector. Benefit compare to my vacuum 1) low rumbling sound feel better 2) moderate suction only pick up wood dust and shavings. The vacuum with strong suction always accidentally suck things in. 3) Finally I have a 4 inch hose vacuum. Main component are transparent bucket and 4 inch sewage pipes. Future plan, dig a hole in the wall and put the motor unit outside. Direct exhaust the air outdoor no need those 2 big cloth bag as filter and guaranteed better air quality This post has been edited by yushin: Jan 16 2017, 10:03 PM |
Jan 17 2017, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 17 2017, 11:37 AM) Compare to vacuum cleaner, the dust collector make a low rumbling sound while vacuum makes a higher pitched sound. Low rumbling sound feels better for me.The motor and fan runs ok. Some rattling sound come from uneven bottom vibrate against the floor. If I dig a 4 inch hole on the floor and install the motor unit outside the house(back lane) then I don't need to worry about the HEPA filter. How to dig a 4 inch hole on wall? drill lots of smaller holes then knock it off? This post has been edited by yushin: Jan 17 2017, 11:56 AM |
Jan 17 2017, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 17 2017, 12:08 PM) Most of the noise is create from vibration. The unbalance vacuum impeller, The plastic bucket vibrate, the base stand etc. I wonder how much a 100mm diamond hole cutter will costs.For the motor, the rotor should have already do the balancing. If not, the bearing will spoil fast. It is 100mm hole. Bored with a diamond bore cutter ? Not that difficult with a 800w rotary hammer drill. Clean and 1 shot fast drill. |
Jan 18 2017, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 17 2017, 03:47 PM) Thanks for the guide. If order this probably will arrive after CNY. I wonder how much local store is selling this... This post has been edited by yushin: Jan 18 2017, 09:34 AM |
Jan 19 2017, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Jan 18 2017, 10:57 PM) no offense but your cyclone has an odd design. I know the design is odd but from my testing, most of the wood dust 9maybe 95% ?) and chips get captured in the bin before going to the DC.there is the clasicla diy design https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/a...ce1afb1ac7d.jpg notice the pipes are smaller = faster airflow cone shaped = speed up air flow to allow better centrifuge air pipe entering is 90 degree, or same direction as the flow of spin air pipe out is in the center your 4 inch pipe is way too big in my opinion for your motor and your centrifuge, 2"-2.5" will be just nice, 2" is faster air flow = better performance but its nosier, since you going to put your unit outside, then it doesn't really matter On the plus side you only need to drill a 2" hole in your wall. there are many designs here is just one http://www.instructables.com/id/Mini-Cyclo...Dust-Collector/ The long pipe allows me to test which length into the bin is more effective. Actually I have 2 machines. One is a vacuum cleaner (low airflow, high suction, using 35mm pipe) Another one is a dust collector (high airflow, lower suction, uses 4 inch pipe) This picture should explain the experiment I am doing. The DC blower unit is the one that will be put outside the room, hope no one will steal that... |
Jan 23 2017, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(Max @ Jan 23 2017, 12:57 PM) The thread starter did not complain his thread become powertool rojak thread so I think its fine.Not many ppl asks about powertools so better concentrate on single thread so the thread wont sink haha. I even put dust collector topic here Btw, what you plan to use the oscillating tool for? |
Jan 23 2017, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Jan 23 2017, 01:36 PM) One of hardware store here sell Bosch GBH2-24 for RM499. Offer price which also the same price as Lazada. Is it a good deal? I myself using a RM280 china rotary hammer (Bosch GBH2-24 clone), its doing fine. Actually I'm also planning to buy other tools like screwdriver and other woodworking tools. So if cheapo rotary hammer is reliable as branded one, I will buy the cheap one. The thing is so heavy so now if I am not doing chiseling I will use the GBH10VLi compact instead. Mansory (Red/cement brick) drilling = hammer drill Concrete drilling (Usually condo) = rotary hammer What other woodworking too you think you need? |
Jan 23 2017, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(Max @ Jan 23 2017, 02:46 PM) hmm.. dunno yet.. haha.. but i see lot of potential of the tools.. can use cutting, grinding, sanding/smoothing.. can cut 'flush' on surface.. coz i usually diy fixing/mod stuff for car/house It also can cut the grout between tiles but personally I never use this function yet. This post has been edited by yushin: Jan 23 2017, 02:51 PM |
Jan 23 2017, 02:55 PM
Jan 23 2017, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Jan 23 2017, 03:55 PM) Yup.. my last B&D impact drill last more that 6-7 years. Less than RM100. Broken because submerged in water during 2013 flood. So, if normal china rotary hammer can perform as good as or almost as Bosch, I will pick cheaper one. My previous black and decker drill went missing lol.Wess or Okatz good or not? Plan to DIY my tv cabinet. So far only have Jig Saw Never seen Wess or Okatz brand but I believe those china OEM rotary hammer sufficient from home use. You're not drilling 100 holes everyday I hope. Depending on TV cabinet design, if you just want to get something to put your LCD TV on sometime those TV cabinet sold in Tesco is easier. RM149 settle. If you want some very special TV cabinet like pallet wood pattern then you have to do it yourself. A skil circular saw + sander could easily go over RM500 already. Or you plan to take the hand tool path and treat it as a form of exercise. |
Jan 24 2017, 09:43 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Not many living in city has that big space... That glide miter saw is syiok tho.. RM2.8k. It was my target too but too big too heavy for my small room. End up using table saw instead. This post has been edited by yushin: Jan 24 2017, 09:44 AM |
Jan 24 2017, 11:20 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Nice tools but not cheap arr... For us Malaysian Lets estimate how much that workshop will costs... I added something that I think might be useful Maybe I will make another list of cheaper brands This post has been edited by yushin: Jan 24 2017, 11:27 AM |
Jan 24 2017, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 24 2017, 11:39 AM) Sure la. If you 1 go buy like that. Ya.. given how shit our exchange rate become, 10k is not a lot Slow slow buy lor. Accumulate in time. Since it is god quality tools, it last long. Or substitute with cheaper China 1? But I don't think hardcore will like it. hehehe Buy the most usefull tools 1st. Setup those board, hook, exhaust, power and table. The rest of tools accumulate later. But RM10k is consider ok. Given the RM that low now. Visit amazon or rocker site, click something then can easily total up to RM1k. Lots of the jigs can be build so can save a bit. I don't know where to get those board with lots of holes so I end up using cleat system in my workroom. Build another sheet for cheaper tools. Almost half savings. This post has been edited by yushin: Jan 24 2017, 12:07 PM |
Jan 24 2017, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(peter32 @ Jan 24 2017, 05:49 PM) I actually got myself a bosch smallest 8' sliding mitre saw, which is smallish, but make a great almost a foot long cross cut. I highly recommend it ! Actually for crosscuts, table saw also can do with the basic miter gauge.If price is an issue, get a Skil Sliding Mitre Saw. It used to be RM700-800, make equally long cross cut, but bigger and heavier. Thats the trade off. I got the Bosch because my limitation is space, only followed by cash. If you build a crosscut jig it will crosscut even better. The 2 long tube behind the sliding miter saw takes up too much space in a small room. |
Jan 24 2017, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 24 2017, 07:05 PM) Ok wor Perforated hardboard. Not that expensive also. Already done mine in french cleat, maybe still can use pegboard for smaller tool/area.yushin you heard it. Plenty of hook here. http://www.ebay.com/itm/100Pc-Pegboard-Hoo...o4AAOxy06hSHEXi |
Feb 3 2017, 10:49 PM
New machine in my workroom. There goes my CNY ang pow money.
Weights 80+ kg Thanks to the delivery man who carry it to the workroom. I begin to like this bandsaw more than my table saw. Reasons: 1) Quiet - I can use this machine to cut wood without wearing hearing protection. It so quiet compare to my table saw. Even the vacuum is louder than this bandsaw. 2) Clean - Cutting wood does not generate a wood dust cloud like the table saw & miter saw. Makes woodworking in air cond room feels much better. 3) Can cut straight line - This is what surprises me. Maybe not as straight as a table saw on ripping a few meter wood but it sufficient for wood that is less than 1 meter. 4) Can cut curves - (Table saw: you win liao lor... 5) Can cut very small piece of wood - I dont dare to put my finger too near to tablesaw blade. 6) Cast iron body - My bosch 10.8v light can be used to provide additional lighting. 7) Cast iron table - feels very solid, but I dunno what benefit it cast iron table does over aluminum table. Now waiting for the china clone super dust deputy comes... This post has been edited by yushin: Feb 3 2017, 10:54 PM |
Feb 6 2017, 09:39 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Mine GTS10J has variance of 0.5-1mm if ripping long piece of wood. Shorter piece below 2 feet usually less than 0.5mm, have to use digital caliper to measure it. I use trim router to trim away the extra edges after assembly. Btw I don't recommend putting whole 4'x8' plywood on the table saw to cut, the table is too small to be stable. You need to build additional infeed & outfeed support table. This post has been edited by yushin: Feb 6 2017, 09:41 AM |
Feb 6 2017, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(faizdtk @ Feb 6 2017, 09:08 PM) Personally I can handles 2 x 3 feet plywood on the table without extra support. The offcuts can fall off.Just need to be a bit careful and make sure the off cuts dont swing into the blade. Thats why the top cover and riving knife of table saw is extremely important. Btw what you plan to build? This post has been edited by yushin: Feb 6 2017, 10:46 PM |
| Change to: | 1.4763sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:53 AM |