LYN Power Tools Discussion, Bosch, Hitachi, Milwaukee, Metabo, Hilti

yushin
post May 20 2017, 09:02 AM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ May 19 2017, 10:59 PM)
went over to ct hardware 40th anniversary sales in ss2 today...windows shopping only, nothing interesting and not really cheap also.

only 1 particular item that's really make me  drool.gif  drool.gif the Bosch PortaLED L-Boxx ! but the price is too crazy high, RM5xx plus for 1 unit  bangwall.gif   

so went home empty handed and took out all my tools for cleaning up..then only realized i had too much L- boxxes in the storeroom.

took me 3 hours to clean up all the tool inside cry.gif  cry.gif
gosh... so many boxes... you must have a very large crew.
yushin
post May 20 2017, 05:53 PM

3,328 posts

Went to CT hardware's roadshow.
Seems like Dewalt really want to fight for Malaysia market.
Their hammer drill and Random orbital sander promotion is good.

Too bad I have many bosch batery already can't jump ship.

yushin
post May 20 2017, 10:08 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(old newspaper @ May 20 2017, 06:46 PM)
show us your loots from the roadshow  brows.gif
This time didn't get anything big, only the makita product catalogue.
yushin
post May 22 2017, 02:10 PM

3,328 posts

Saw this circular saw cutting guide in taobao.
Seems like easier to use than 4 feet long aluminium guide.
About rm200 excluding transport to malaysia.
https://world.taobao.com/item/535368111607....23945.18.RM54vq

Similar thing in amazon costs USD100 excluding transport to malaysia
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00LGWOEN..._hps_bw_c_x_1_w

yushin
post May 23 2017, 03:07 PM

3,328 posts

New toys.
Kreg automaxx clamp. brows.gif

yushin
post May 31 2017, 09:37 PM

3,328 posts

I have been looking for a master/slave trigger switch ever since I finish building my dust collector. Those available in amazon works at 110v and freaking expensive.
Don't even know where to find it in Malaysia, then I found this circuit board that has the master/slave function in taobao. Bought it and build my own master/slave switch, it works. biggrin.gif

yushin
post May 31 2017, 10:32 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ May 31 2017, 10:00 PM)
Why do you need master slave triggers? Maybe can share how you use it.
QUOTE(ozak @ May 31 2017, 09:54 PM)
What is it for ?
Its to use with my dust collector.

Master = Table saw/ band saw/ things that make dust
Slave = dust collector / vacuum

When I turn on the master, salve will turn on too.
When I power off the master, slave will turn off about 10 seconds later.

Very useful as I dont need to walk to the dust collector turn it on, walk back to table saw, walk to dust collector to turn it off...
Gets tired when I need to make many cuts, also reduce noise especially the vacuum.

This post has been edited by yushin: May 31 2017, 10:34 PM
yushin
post Jun 1 2017, 09:01 AM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 31 2017, 11:37 PM)
Why not direct wired the master to slave?

For the delay timer, just wait another 10sec and off the master.
I need to let the dust collector runs for extra 10-30 seconds after machine turn off to clear the residue dusts.
Anyway a jig to turn off the DC after some delay sounds more cool. tongue.gif
yushin
post Jun 1 2017, 09:16 AM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(cooyard @ May 31 2017, 04:58 PM)
Useful for occasional work fixing household things.
Direct order from Amazon is cheaper.

This post has been edited by yushin: Jun 1 2017, 09:27 AM
yushin
post Jun 1 2017, 09:32 AM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 1 2017, 09:30 AM)
But this board need a DC to run ?

Need a DC power supply ?
Nope, the power for the chip and relay is already supplied by the circuit build into the board.
yushin
post Jun 1 2017, 10:36 AM

3,328 posts

The lighting control switch is not suitable, some machines are more than 1500w so it will blow the switch.

The AC delay timer thing is more suitable I think but I wonder how the timer starts counting? Not really familiar with electronics.
The master machine can operate from short 5 minutes (table saw) or 30 minutes++ (sander/bandsaw), if the AC delay timer can start countdown after the master machine is power off then it will be a good alternative. Looks more robust too.

Btw thanks for pointing out that grey color thing is the power supply. I keep thinking that is a capacitor.

yushin
post Jun 1 2017, 10:55 AM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(kennji @ Jun 1 2017, 10:46 AM)
so now your dust collector starts automatically when the master device turns on? can you share the link of the circuit product? interested to study how it works.
Yes. DC starts whenever I power on my table saw or machines that connect to the master socket.

Here is the link to the product. Its in chinese.
https://world.taobao.com/item/533147248998...._u=12v8mqute11a
yushin
post Jun 1 2017, 12:42 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 1 2017, 11:22 AM)
Can you explain what that I highlight mean.

Sorry. I don't no mandarin.

The

1st - timer control output
2nd - Live from source
3rd - ??
4rd - Neutral

All your machinery and dust collector go through the timer?
All my machinary goes through the timer.
My connection is a bit different, here is my connection sweat.gif
1 - slave live (DC)
2 - live for wall socket & Master (table saw & machines)
3 - neutral for master & slave
4 - neutral for wall socket

The connection in the chinese diagram should be
1 - slave live (DC)
2 - live from wall socket & Master (table saw etc)
3 - neutral for slave(DC) & wall socket
4 - neutral for master (table saw etc)

This post has been edited by yushin: Jun 1 2017, 12:43 PM
yushin
post Jun 1 2017, 01:26 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 1 2017, 01:10 PM)
Thanks. Understand.

The relay is ON/OFF control the Live. The neutral (3) is pass through I guess. (from your pic)

For your connection, the machinery  (table saw & machines) is not go through the timer delay. I guess you need to ON/OFF 2 switch ? When you done and go out, you OFF the switch 1 and 3.

From your pic wiring and explain, should be this way probably
1 - Timer delay switch for dust collector
2 - To dust collector (timer delay)
3 - switch for Master machinery. (table saw & machines)

I uploaded a diagram I draw.
1) The main wall socket controls the power to everything, so make sure total power draw can handle by the socket.
2) The slave mode toggle controls whether the slave socket will be triggered by master or always on. Lets say I want to use the duct collector to suck wood chip on workbench then i just toggle the switch to turn on the DC.
3) master socket goes to the machines, the machines has individual on/off switch on them to start. So the master socket is always on power.
4) the slave socket behavior you can refer to item 2.

I use the sockets with power switch coz hardware store only sells that. The on/off switch on the socket also acts as another layer of protection just in case, I hope.

yushin
post Jun 1 2017, 03:49 PM

3,328 posts

I draw another diagram to represent the difference in the design.
1) The main switch does not turn on the dust collector when the main switch is turned on.
2) The dust collector (slave circuit) is turn on when current sensor on the master circuit sense a current draw. The current sensor also set the time to stop the dc when no current draw is detected.
3) The switch inside the table saw is responsible to turn on/off the slave circuit by increase/stop current draw on master circuit.
4) When the main switch if off all power to DC & table saw is cut off immediately.

With this design I don't need to walk to the main switch to turn off the dust collector, just turn off the machine and the DC will turn off later.

yushin
post Jun 1 2017, 08:46 PM

3,328 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jun 1 2017, 04:52 PM)
This ? https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-shippi...0a-5ae662f03933

You need each of this to connect to DC if more than 1 machinery.

Probably I will use timer and relay circuit for such switching. More reliable.
That current detect in aliexpress would work but it will require additional companents.
I will stick to the current one I have as I not good in electronics.
Durability... well, see how down the road lor. smile.gif
yushin
post Jun 2 2017, 10:20 AM

3,328 posts

Takes 6 years to reach requirement to start V2.
yushin
post Jun 3 2017, 02:36 PM

3,328 posts

Guys I will create a new thread.

Link to V2 : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4309490

Admin please close this one.

This post has been edited by yushin: Jun 3 2017, 02:45 PM

14 Pages « < 12 13 14Top