4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V3, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard

zenquix
post Jan 3 2012, 02:49 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(timetravelller @ Jan 3 2012, 02:38 PM)
hey, guys anyone participate the iPhone 4s contest? i sms to participate on 31 december 2011. the contest is like this, every spending of RM100 entitle u 1 entry for the contest. sms to register will double ur chance. so i register on 31 december 2011 and also spend quite an amount money on that day also on my mbb2 visa(due to shopping around). so on 1st January 2012, i got 2 misscall from this number 03-27727500  on 5:30pm and 5:31pm (which is the number reported by forummer here when they win the sony 3D LED TV b4). i aware of this number coz i save it as "MBB Lexus" as the contact name to ensure that i prepared when i saw this incoming call.

so i just wonder, am i miss the iPhone 4s contest call? if yes i would be very sad laugh.gif

Added on January 3, 2012, 2:42 pminfo of the contest:
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/iPhone301211_tnc.pdf
maybe. though I think it is more to verify your purchase then to inform contest winner. I would expect 2-4 weeks delay to contact a cardmember rather than the next day.
zenquix
post Jan 3 2012, 02:56 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(timetravelller @ Jan 3 2012, 02:53 PM)
ic, the contest started on 30 december so i assume they shall call daily to give out the 600 iphone 4s? for citibank contest, they call daily for 500 iphone 4s, so i thought mbb would be the same?

and if they do call, as those previous sony led tv winner mentioned, the question they will ask is probably this:

really? not aware of citibank but the ipad2 contest earlier, a friend won, and got the call for spent made abt a month or 2 back (i.e. call in Oct, for spend in Aug). Of coz this is 3rd hand info so may not be accurate. Maybe ask rockefeller (and another forum member I don't recall) since they won the TV with Amex

This post has been edited by zenquix: Jan 3 2012, 03:02 PM
zenquix
post Jan 4 2012, 11:34 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(ninorico @ Jan 4 2012, 11:27 AM)
Yes, but please see my point of view. There are 81 pages.
not an excuse. there is a forum search function and you can choose to display as posts. you can even search this topic only with the search box on the lower left of this page.

zenquix
post Jan 7 2012, 08:01 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 7 2012, 12:34 PM)
BUT, here is the shocking thing, behind my separate MBB VI, it states the following:

"Foreign charges applies a conversion factor of 2.5% to the converted amount and charges that is made in a foreign currency other than US Dollars will be first converted into US Dollars before being converted into Ringgit Malaysia" WTF  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Crap you are right! Really got blindsided by this... need to pull up my transactions and make an analysis

Can anyone with a MBB WMC check the back of their statements as well?

This post has been edited by zenquix: Jan 7 2012, 08:08 PM
zenquix
post Jan 7 2012, 11:06 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jan 7 2012, 08:01 PM)
Crap you are right! Really got blindsided by this... need to pull up my transactions and make an analysis

Can anyone with a MBB WMC check the back of their statements as well?
Almost done with my analysis but need contributions from the community

need sample rates for other MBB2 cards (visa, MC, Amex) and normal MBB cards as well as other bank cards

need your posting date, transaction date and exchange rate + card type

Rule: Must be USD to MYR conversion. Other currency will impact data comparison.
zenquix
post Jan 8 2012, 10:11 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Jan 8 2012, 07:08 AM)
Anyone swipe amex in genting for the pp program on 1st Jan? My friend swipe on that day and being treated as cash advance.. swt..
not sure what is pp but genting (casino) is considered cash advance
zenquix
post Jan 9 2012, 02:10 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(azam_halim @ Jan 9 2012, 12:37 PM)
but, the CID no for amex is the first 4 digit of the card which means that if we read out our amex card no, we are also reading the CID no..or can we just read out the remaining no (only 11 digits)?
No CID is not the first 4 digits of the card. It is a 4-digit number on the front of the card, usually the right side of it.
zenquix
post Jan 10 2012, 06:44 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

still need info

anyone with USD transactions on their MBB Visa (MBB2 or normal cards. Not Visa Infinite)? Dates required from Oct to Jan 2012

Also need MBB Mastercard data for months prior to Dec. Perhaps jchong can help on this

@ Gen-X and other MBB VI holders
Do you have any USD transaction data for Nov 2011?

This post has been edited by zenquix: Jan 10 2012, 07:12 PM
zenquix
post Jan 11 2012, 10:29 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 11 2012, 10:16 AM)
Do you want euro and gbp transactions ?
no because the T&C states all other currencies will be converted to USD then to MYR. It introduces another layer of conversion (and charges) that I cannot account for and will just serve to skew the data
zenquix
post Jan 11 2012, 02:55 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 11 2012, 02:28 PM)
Here are some USD tranxs

MBB2Amex
1-Dec-11 30-Nov-11 PAYPAL USA US US$10.00  RM32.65
10-Nov-11 9-Nov-11 PAYPAL USA US US$255.52  RM821.20
MBB2Visa
19-Dec-11 18-Dec-11 APPLE ITUNES STORE USD LUXEMBOURG LU US$0.99  RM3.18
thanks! if you have more USD transactions for Sep - Dec especially for the visa, do share
zenquix
post Jan 11 2012, 09:08 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 11 2012, 08:15 PM)
I've posted all my USD transactions using my MBB2 VISA for the period between October to December 2011 in HERE.
Thanks Miles. very insightful.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 7 2012, 05:14 PM)
OMG! No wonder they are so good to offer 5xTP for all overseas transactions for MBB VI. Got us all happy for nothing. I am so keen to get this card (long shot but definitely in my to-get list)   vmad.gif
for better or for worse (and as a teaser), based on data points so far.. you might as well apply the MBB VI

More recent data points (oct 2011 - Jan 2012) needed especially for MBB Visa Plat (the one with 2x for foreign transactions). No datapoints for MBB WMC yet as well and all my MC data points now are from jchong.

This post has been edited by zenquix: Jan 11 2012, 11:49 PM
zenquix
post Jan 17 2012, 07:13 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 17 2012, 05:03 PM)
Kindly post in this thread. Thanks.

By the way, i just received the replacement card for both of my MBB2 Cards. The VISA one is in black instead of blueish while the AMEX has all platinum word printed in all capital letters (was initially reported by zenquix if i'm not mistaken, could also be someone else).
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 17 2012, 05:53 PM)
Mid last year, wanted the words Plat too, so asked for a replacement and it was FOC  thumbup.gif And I think, it was zenquix too that first said he got a replacement, so I followed him. Yah, mine also in capitals.
Nope not me smile.gif. My card is still the old one.
zenquix
post Jan 19 2012, 12:54 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 19 2012, 12:39 PM)
Guys, i just realized today that the 4-digit printed on the front of my new MBB2 AMEX (replacement card) is different. It's no longer the same much discussed 4-digit.
that's good.
zenquix
post Jan 19 2012, 02:35 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 19 2012, 02:12 PM)
so, i got my offer letter in the mail today for a platinum card

since i have no credit history before, they require me to put in 15k FD

i like, wtf?
let's calculate:

RM15,000 in FD, with an optimistic, healthy 4% (as if) return, would earn me RM600 p.a.

but that same RM15,000 can earn me 8.5% if i dump it inside ASB, making me  RM 1,275 p.a. richer

effectively, i lost, or should i say, i have to pay RM 675 (1,275 - 600) per year just so that i can get the cards
what logic is this?
so the logic would be the offer is only good for non-bumis. Not everyone gets access to ASB.
zenquix
post Jan 19 2012, 05:03 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 19 2012, 02:45 PM)
u still have AS1M, ASW2020, and such where non-bumi can invest

these offer 6.0 - 6.5% return, on average
It is already off-topic but want to point out ASB is an open fund while AS1M and ASW2020 are capped funds. Units must be available for purchase to top up especially for non-bumis.

And I would hesitate dropping all my money into PNB funds as it reminds me of a certain big fund in the US.

Other discussions should go to the dedicated thread
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1120959

Added on January 19, 2012, 5:04 pm
QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 19 2012, 05:01 PM)
so, how do i apply cards without needing to put in fd?

i absolutely loathe the gold colored cards - too cheesy

so, it's either a classic or platinum or black brows.gif colored card

the points would accumulate quickly, and i usually redeem it for parkson vouchers (9,000 TP = rm 50)

so, any ideas?
this should go into the credit card recommendation thread but have to tried applying to the bank where your salary is credited?

Other options is to go for the smaller banks. I think the fact you do not have a credit card in your 30s + no loans makes your profile somewhat unusual.

This post has been edited by zenquix: Jan 19 2012, 05:09 PM
zenquix
post Jan 20 2012, 12:34 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 20 2012, 12:10 AM)
sibu.

the problem is i have a super clean credit history. which means *nada*

no history of loans... no records of repayments performance

so since CCRIS and CTOS don't have my profile, they want me to pledge a 15k FD for a 15k limit credit cards

seems to beat the purpose, doesn't it?
if putting an FD is against your wishes, aim for another bank's card to build a credit history then reapply the MBB2 card.
zenquix
post Jan 21 2012, 03:06 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 21 2012, 12:23 PM)
By the way, i used my MBB2 AMEX to pay for my tickets on Dragonair on 14th Jan 2012 (Saturday) around 1am and it was posted to my account just two days ago. The transaction date is recorded as 13th Jan 2012 even though it was already 14th Jan 2012, much to my dismay as i was hoping to reach my 5% weekend rebate in just one use  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Happen to me once with MAS. Now I buy my tickets in the evening of Saturday >.>

Do you mind checking whether that DragonAir transaction is considered foreign or local transaction? You can see based on the two letter country code at the end of the description
zenquix
post Feb 1 2012, 04:47 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(xxx306 @ Feb 1 2012, 03:24 PM)
hi i'd like to ask..
how long it takes for my transaction to appear on maybank2u?
varies depending on the posting date. Can be same, +1, +2, +3 days. Rare cases can be even higher

i just paid for Airasia flight on 30jan. the transaction doesnt appear yet on maybank2u although I received sms notification of purchasing the ticket right after I successfully paid it.
normal

and is it normal when I paid my total statement balance using maybank2u, at the details i can still see my statement balance although i paid exact amount. it appears to deduct from my current balance (the outstanding balance) not form my statement balance...  (but i can see the minimum amount is reset back to RM0.
yes. that is the behaviour. Statement balance does not change, only minimum and current balance. (statement balance cannot be zero as it is the "Statement" right? Something that has been stated/fixed.).
zenquix
post Feb 1 2012, 07:10 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(xxx306 @ Feb 1 2012, 07:08 PM)
ohh thank you for explaining.
so it means the statement balance wont go away even i paid the exact amount? i'm afraid the interest will go up although the left balance (outstanding) is for my next month statement. not the current one..
yup won't go away
zenquix
post Feb 1 2012, 07:49 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(xxx306 @ Feb 1 2012, 07:46 PM)
will it effect my current statement altho i paid all the amount of the current statement? like will they charged me altho the the amount that left is my next mth statement?
as long you paid the full amount in the statement, the remaining amount under the current balance is not subject to interest, since you are not carrying a balance and the the current spend has not been statemented

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0436sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:05 PM