104 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Credit Card Foreign Exchange Rate

Frostlord
post Jan 17 2012, 05:04 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 21 2011, 08:17 PM)
International Transactions
Transactions incurred will be converted to Ringgit Malaysia using US Dollars as the base currency on the date the item is received and/or processed at such exchange and at such time as may be determined by VISA International/MasterCard Worldwide at its absolute discretion plus administration cost which is to be imposed by the card issuing bank. The exchange may differ from the rate in effect on the date of the transaction due to market fluctuations. Such rate imposed shall be final and conclusive and the Cardmember shall bear all exchange risks, losses, commission and other bank charges which may thereby be incurred.
Rates are below:

Local Banks
- Maybank VISA/MasterCard : 0.5%
- Maybank American Express with Maybank logo on top : 0.5% + 2.5%
- American Express : 0.5% + 2.5%
- CIMB Bank : 1%
- Public Bank : 1.25%
- RHB Bank :
- AmBank :
- Hong Leong Bank VISA/MasterCard: 1%
- EON Bank : 1%
- Affin Bank :
- Alliance : 1%

Foreign Banks
- HSBC : 1.25%
- OCBC bank : 1%
- Standard Chartered : 1%
- UOB Bank : 1%
- Citibank : 1%

Exchange rate estimator :
http://corporate.visa.com/pd/consumer_serv...er_ex_rates.jsp
Mastercard Global Forex Rates
[url=http://www.oanda.com/convert/classic?user=americanexpress]
[url=https://www.fx4you.com/australia/americanexpress/converter/convert.cfm]
Please post all your foreign transactions here so we can compare the rates. Kindly include the
- transaction date
- amount charged in foreign currency
- amount billed in MYR
- final exchange rate
hi there. for AMEX, what do you mean 0.5% + 2.5% ? total is 3%?
TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 17 2012, 05:10 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jan 17 2012, 05:04 PM)
hi there. for AMEX, what do you mean 0.5% + 2.5% ? total is 3%?
0.5% is charged by Maybank while AMEX is charging 2.5%, so the total is 3%.

Frostlord
post Jan 17 2012, 05:19 PM

1,723 posts

thanks biggrin.gif

looks like i need to apply for OCBC or UOB card soon for the 1% charges
TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 17 2012, 05:27 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jan 17 2012, 05:19 PM)
thanks biggrin.gif

Actually, Maybank VISA or MasterCard is the best when it comes to overseas use. The admin fee is only 0.5% and we have been comparing the final rate after conversion using credit cards from various banks for quite a while and we reached to the conclusion that Maybank is the cheapest smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jan 17 2012, 05:29 PM
Frostlord
post Jan 17 2012, 05:38 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 17 2012, 05:27 PM)
Actually, Maybank VISA or MasterCard is the best when it comes to overseas use. The admin fee is only 0.5% and we have been comparing the final rate after conversion using credit cards from various banks for quite a while and we reached to the conclusion that Maybank is the cheapest   smile.gif
true. but i am already holding 3 cards (1 AMEX, 1 Master, 1 Visa). i dont want to hold more cards and pay more GST tongue.gif

and for local use, Maybank Visa and Master CB offer is not as good as OCBC titanium

just my 2cents smile.gif

This post has been edited by Frostlord: Jan 17 2012, 05:39 PM
cute_boboi
post Jan 17 2012, 06:10 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Transaction date: 14-Jan-2012
Posted date: 16-Jan-2012
Currency: HKD->MYR
Rate: 41.5116
Card used: MBB-2-Amex (Company expenses, whether pay with Amex or Visa/Master is the same. Might as well go for 5x TP brows.gif )

Oanda rate: 40.42655

Gen-X
post Jan 17 2012, 06:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

In December when I was at SG, I did get 10% discount with OCBC CC, and I just received my OCBC statement, so here is the comparison to MBB VI's rate:

OCBC
Transaction Date: 20 December 2011
Posting Date: 21 December 2012
Face to face Transaction Amount: SGD104.10
Amount Billed by Maybank: RM266.04
Therefore conversion rate = 266.04/107.10 = 2.48403

MBB VI
Transaction Date: 20 December 2011
Posting Date: 21 December 2012
Face to face Transaction Amount: SGD99.70
Amount Billed by Maybank: RM248.46
Therefore conversion rate = 248.46/99.70 = 2.49207

OCBC
Transaction Date: 21 December 2011
Posting Date: 22 December 2012
Face to face Transaction Amount: SGD35.10
Amount Billed by Maybank: RM87.11
Therefore conversion rate = 87.11/35.10 = 2.481766

MBB VI
Transaction Date: 21 December 2011
Posting Date: 22 December 2012
Face to face Transaction Amount: SGD153.50
Amount Billed by Maybank: RM381.89
Therefore conversion rate = 381.89/153.50 = 2.487883

Both days above, MBB VI conversion rate higher than OCBC vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
jchong
post Jan 17 2012, 10:25 PM

5,989 posts

What kind of OCBC card are you referring to above?

Surprising to see Maybank's rate being higher than OCBC.

This post has been edited by jchong: Jan 17 2012, 10:26 PM
Gen-X
post Jan 18 2012, 12:15 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 17 2012, 10:25 PM)
What kind of OCBC card are you referring to above?

Surprising to see Maybank's rate being higher than OCBC.
Aiyah, sorry, it's OCBC Titanium MasterCard
jchong
post Jan 18 2012, 08:53 AM

5,989 posts

I wonder if its because of MC vs Visa. I recall that upon checking their corporate forex site, usually MC is lower than Visa.
TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 18 2012, 11:05 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 18 2012, 08:53 AM)
I wonder if its because of MC vs Visa. I recall that upon checking their corporate forex site, usually MC is lower than Visa.
Because the VISA Gen-X swiped in Singapore is a VISA Infinite. The VI brochure says Maybank will charge 0.5% admin fee while the credit card statement says 2.5%. Not sure which is the correct one. All is still very much KIV for the time being.

maru
post Jan 19 2012, 02:25 PM

1,191 posts

using amex in HK....

15-Jan-2012 CATALOG HONG KONG CAUSEWAY BAY HK
HK$559.00 RM232.04

14-Jan-2012 COSMETIC WHOLESALKOWLOON HK
HK$248.20 RM103.03

rate was 41.50 , not bad i guess
jchong
post Jan 19 2012, 08:46 PM

5,989 posts

Managed to get copies of some of the T&C for Maybank cards:

Maybank 2 Cards

13.3 Where the Cardholder uses the Credit Card outside Malaysia, the
transactions shall be charged in the official currency of the country
concerned and converted into Ringgit Malaysia at such exchange
rate and at such time as it is determined by American Express or
MasterCard / Visa International at its absolute discretion.

13.5 All foreign charges converted by American Express apply a
conversion factor of 2.5% to the converted amount. A charge that
is made in foreign currency other than U.S. Dollars will, when the
conversion is done by American Express, be converted into U.S.
Dollars before being converted in your billing currency.

No mention of the fee for the 2 cards MC or Visa. I'm assuming it is their normal 0.5%.

Maybank Visa Infinite

13.3 Where the Cardmember uses the Credit Card outside Malaysia, the
transactions shall be charged in the official currency of the country
concerned and converted into Ringgit Malaysia at such exchange
rate and at such time as may be determined by Visa International
at its absolute discretion on the date it is processed by Visa International,
depending on the card used. In addition, the Cardmember also has to pay
the administrative costs at a rate of 1% or at other rates will be determined
by Maybank for conversion transactions made in foreign currencies.

Gen-X
post Jan 19 2012, 09:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

jchong, for MBB VI, in the Terms and Condition it is stated 1% ( I think I posted it at MBB2 Thread) BUT behind the paper statement it is stated 2.5%. So which is the correct one? I guess it should be 1% based on what have posted here.
jchong
post Jan 20 2012, 10:12 AM

5,989 posts

I certainly hope it is the 1% smile.gif

Anyway, from your past experience it seems that 1% is the correct figure.
ingles01
post Jan 20 2012, 12:51 PM

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jan 17 2012, 05:19 PM)
thanks biggrin.gif

I think it is the cheapest around
Human Nature
post Jan 20 2012, 01:09 PM

- student of human nature -
26,499 posts

QUOTE(ingles01 @ Jan 20 2012, 12:51 PM)
I think it is the cheapest around
Not quite true. Refer to Post#1 for info.
lj0000
post Feb 8 2012, 11:01 AM

2,197 posts

just for sharing

mbb amex 2 card
sgd 670.89->myr1679.94 (2.5040)
official 2.4172. diff of 3.6% !!!!

citibank visa
won32,120->myr92.94 (2.8935)
official 2.8370. diff 1.02%

citibank visa
gbp15.30->78.57 (5.135)
official 5.0346. diff 1.02%

tifosi
post Feb 8 2012, 01:34 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,155 posts

Maybank Manchester United Visa
Transaction date : 31 January 2011
Posted date : 31 January 2011
Amount charged in foreign currency : USD 7
Amount billed in MYR : RM 21.65
Final exchange rate : USD1 = RM 3.0929

Visa rate on 31 January 2011: RM 3.0550
Charges: 1.012%

I haven't gotten any 0.5% rate in recent transactions.
jchong
post Feb 8 2012, 09:47 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Feb 8 2012, 01:34 PM)
Maybank Manchester United Visa
Transaction date : 31 January 2011
Posted date : 31 January 2011
Amount charged in foreign currency : USD 7
Amount billed in MYR : RM 21.65
Final exchange rate : USD1 = RM 3.0929

Visa rate on 31 January 2011: RM 3.0550
Charges: 1.012%

I haven't gotten any 0.5% rate in recent transactions.
Actually your charges are 1.239%

104 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:03 AM