7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V3, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard

TSGen-X
post Nov 4 2011, 02:18 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(shantio3388 @ Nov 4 2011, 01:29 PM)
spend Rm200 in single receipt  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Ya im using MBB 2 card , receive call from 03-27727500 . rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Receive call from Maybank Amex 03-27727500 .  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
The number looks familiar.

Guys, take note, the number almost similar to a fake call number posted here item A.7.a where the last 3 digits were 300.

shantio did they ask you any personal questions? How did the conversation go?

Moreover contest was like over 2 months back. Your name on the list? - link given by ronnie.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 4 2011, 02:36 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 4 2011, 02:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(shantio3388 @ Nov 4 2011, 02:37 PM)
they tell me my last 4 digit of ic and verified it , after that ask me a question which is how much i need to spend on single receipt to win the prize . They also verified my address to send me the Prize within two month . (Sorry for the broken english) happy.gif
your name on the list?
TSGen-X
post Nov 4 2011, 04:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(shantio3388 @ Nov 4 2011, 03:53 PM)
nope .... but i just call to maybank center and verified the number , the number is nothing wrong and is from maybank . Thanks for ur care anyway  notworthy.gif
Just that it is odd that you got the call months after the contest has ended. Furthermore you confirmed above that your name not in the list.

Since you have confirmed with MBB, glad to know that it is genuine smile.gif Congrats!

TSGen-X
post Nov 8 2011, 01:34 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 8 2011, 01:08 AM)
yes, different (read: higher) than visa/master sweat.gif

for agoda, u can get 6% off with visa/master. refer here - http://www.agoda.com.my/promotion/maybankard.html smile.gif
are you sure one will pay higher with AMEX for agoda? Well for you info, MBB AMEX also get 6% discount.
TSGen-X
post Nov 8 2011, 01:54 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 8 2011, 01:45 AM)
my previous purchase (before this promo), the charge is in usd and convert to rm, so yes higher.

Added on November 8, 2011, 1:46 amthe t&c only shows "Discount available to Visa and Mastercard credit cards issued by Maybank only." no amex?
haha, my bad. But why you choose USD? If choose Ringgit price same if no discount. Why you did not use your HSBC where they also give discount.

TSGen-X
post Nov 9 2011, 10:32 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 9 2011, 10:10 AM)
i answer correct what, need to pay 100% brows.gif ok nvm ~

from what I read, your reply was as if you were implying Miles was encouraging debts (which is totally untrue).

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 9 2011, 10:10 AM)
amex credit card got credit limit. amex charge card come with no spending limit.
Not true, AMEX charge cards have credit limit too (they term it as credit line or something like that) just that it is not stated in your monthly statements.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 9 2011, 10:25 AM)
Just found out this:

When a weekend spend transacted at the end of month, example 30th October Sunday. The posting date is on the following month, example 1st Nov. The 5% weekend rebate would not be credited in the October statement. Instead, it will be credited in the November statement subject to Nov rebate cap limit.
Yeap, got an example by ronnie in second post of this thread.
TSGen-X
post Nov 9 2011, 08:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Nov 9 2011, 08:21 PM)
TQ all.  smile.gif
yeah as ronnie said, only use mastercard when amex is not accepted.
from the catch, can i say that amex still not really used widely, compared to the other 2? (they give rebate, 5x points...)
go read this thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2035710

if you are live in the Klang valley not a problem.
TSGen-X
post Nov 9 2011, 09:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 9 2011, 09:34 PM)
Yes. RM50 cap per month but the 5x points are unlimited. 5x points = about 2.5% cash back.

As for Citibank Cash Back VISA Platinum, cash back for every category is unlimited except petrol which is capped at RM30/month.
I have both of the MBB2 Cards and Citibank Cash Back VISA Platinum too and i barely touch my Citibank Cash Back VISA Platinum now.
Yah, besides petrol, Citi Plat CB can't beat MBB 2 AMEX. Actually, UOB One Card better than Citi CB since UOB One Card credit the CB monthly vs. Citi block of RM50.

Just to add, MBB 5X TP for all transactions versus Citi Cash Back of 0.3% for general transactions.

With Citi CB 0.3%, need to spend RM16,666.67 just to earn RM50 doh.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 9 2011, 09:57 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 10 2011, 08:15 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 10 2011, 05:12 AM)
So i should transfer out all my Auto Debit ac from Citi CB tomolo and pledge them to Amex ? btw, Auto Debit on utility bills also entitle to 5X points rite?

And is Amex widely accepted like Visa/Mastercard?
You got to be specific, auto debit for what? And how much? You no need answer it here, with that in mind, click here to read my article on MBB 2 where I compared to OCBC Titanium MasterCard. After reading that, actually should read this first, click here to read my article on OCBC TMC. After reading the two articles above, I am sure you will know what to do.

As for places that accept AMEX, read thread below:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2035710
TSGen-X
post Nov 12 2011, 12:46 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Seremban_2 @ Nov 11 2011, 11:34 PM)
HSBC got 10% discount if you purchase any star buck drinks.
are you OT? Wrong thread lah tongue.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 11 2011, 11:55 PM)
As someone suggested that get a Starbucks card on weekends, so can get RM 5 off. brows.gif

I'll add, then use that and buy a tumbler. Every time go to Starbucks with the tumbler, can get RM 2.00 discount. Tahan your caffeine addict until weekends, get another 5% discount. tongue.gif

By the way, I might be going to the Starbucks tomorrow and hopefully I'll get the Starbucks card also. biggrin.gif
I also going OT, JJ card also get 10% discount at Starbicks.
TSGen-X
post Nov 12 2011, 10:06 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 12 2011, 02:16 AM)
WHAT ? I wasn't aware of this   doh.gif

So can i now use the Genting Card (to collect 2x points) and present my J-Card to get the 10% discount ?
1st rule when paying for transaction, always ask if any cards got discount tongue.gif

QUOTE(tifosi @ Nov 12 2011, 02:19 AM)
Yup. Jusco card gives 10% discount. That day when I paid, I give the cashier 4 cards to swipe just for a drink.

J Card - 10% discount
Genting Card - Cant remember 2X or 3X World Points
BCard - Berjaya's Loyalty Card. Not mine. Don't bother since I am against Vincent Tan except Starbucks.
Amex - 5% + 2.5% discount.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

I got Genting card but never used it at starbucks doh.gif Must follow your method and accumulate points.

Anyone want to go start a thread for Starbucks tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 12 2011, 10:06 AM
TSGen-X
post Nov 17 2011, 12:42 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(monara @ Nov 17 2011, 12:11 AM)
from their website...what does it mean. do we need to have supplementary card to enjoy the fee waiver?
(scared of hidden cost)
What it means is that there is no annual fees for supp cards too.

TSGen-X
post Nov 17 2011, 03:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Nov 17 2011, 03:10 PM)
Celcom wan boleh bayar with Amex biggrin.gif But use express autopay la..
Not necessary, you can walk into any celcom centres and sign up for autodebit with the AMEX. Same for Maxis.

DiGi, even if you go to their centres, still have to call CS inside their centres to sign up for auto debit over the phone for any credit cards including AMEX.
TSGen-X
post Nov 18 2011, 08:36 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 18 2011, 07:16 AM)
both ways you are paying rm50 in her case rite? ( she is eligible ~ her income is higher than mine  wink.gif )

but if supp. we can combine the TP as one ac to hav more choice during redemption rite?

MBB TP are evergreen

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Nov 18 2011, 08:07 AM)
better apply as a new applicant. rm50 + rm50 cashback better than your TP
agree, the cash back better than TP, with 2 principal cards, can earn up to RM100/month cash back.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 18 2011, 08:37 AM
TSGen-X
post Nov 18 2011, 11:07 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 18 2011, 10:50 AM)
May I know why my post @ Nov 18 2011, 09:28 AM is deleted?
yah, why was it deleted. It was appropriate as far as I am concerned. I found it irritating that digilife being a Senior at LYN was "like" spamming and being too lazy to to go read the first post and MBB site for answers that are easily understood.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 18 2011, 11:07 AM
TSGen-X
post Nov 20 2011, 09:16 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 20 2011, 07:21 PM)
Maxis Kiosk Seremban dun accept Amex, then i went to pump petrol at Esso @ Jln Senawang heading towards Giant, there also dun accept Amex, i tot my Amex card hav problems. Later i passby Paroi Stadium, infront there is a Shell, ahha, my Amex was accepted there. Take not Sban users.
Great that you share the above info, but it will be more beneficial to others if you had post it here and the TS of that thread can update in the first page.

TSGen-X
post Nov 21 2011, 06:19 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rEDs @ Nov 21 2011, 05:37 PM)
If i decide to cancel my visa wave(with treatpoint) to pursue for maybankcard2, will the current treatpoint deleted or reduced?

i receive my maybank2 mastercard, but there is a online statement rm50 tax, can we request to waived it?

sorry if its a repost since this thread is too long.
If you want to terminate your other MBB cards, ask the CS to transfer your current TP to your new MBB 2 cards account.

No waiver fot GST buy you may be able to offset the GST with your current Treats Points from your Visa, Ask CS.
TSGen-X
post Nov 22 2011, 04:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Nov 22 2011, 04:08 PM)
If I already have an OCBC Titanium Card (which I applied using FD a year ago) with a credit limit of RM5000, will i be able to apply for this Maybank 2 card by just using my OCBC card?

My payment record for my OCBC all this while quite good which mean no delay in payment and always on time.

Any advice?
Many people have reported that MBB is very strict nowadays in regards to income documents inline with BNM guidelines. You may call the number stated on the 1st page and ask MBB card centre at 1U for more details.

QUOTE(Denis @ Nov 22 2011, 04:10 PM)
Do Maybank credit card and Amex(Maybank)card provide SMS alert facilities?

Thank in advance.
What do you mean by sms alert. If you are referring to BNM requirement, all credit card issuers are to notify cardholders whenever a transactions is made with their cards effective 1st January 2012.

Click here to read my article on Fraudulent charges and SMS Notification. In this article I have many links on the SMS alert thingy and BNM Press Release statement.

It seems that we can set the limit for issuers to sent the sms.

MBB also have been sending out notice to cardholders to update their contact numbers. My wife and son (supp card holder) received the notice but not me.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 22 2011, 04:25 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 22 2011, 08:38 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(realone @ Nov 22 2011, 07:50 PM)
OCBC does it and every transactions made by me will received a sms from ocbc.
why I never received sms from OCBC when I transact with it?
TSGen-X
post Nov 23 2011, 07:02 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(vanderbilt @ Nov 22 2011, 11:52 PM)
So far, I additionally have three other friends who have Maybankard 2:

Two of them have Maybakard 2 Gold with cl of RM 4k and RM 6k.

One has Maybankard 2 Platinum with cl of RM 15k.
If you had read a previous post, some one reported his CL for MBB 2 gold card was RM2K. But that was previously when one only needs RM18K to get a CC. Nowadays MBB minimum requirement for CC starts at RM30K.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0435sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:38 PM