7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V3, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard

TSGen-X
post Jan 4 2012, 05:26 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ixole @ Jan 3 2012, 11:33 PM)
Hi Gen,

just want to ask some ques,
if i wanna make payment using Amex for my course fee in AUD, i should follow the weeked time at australia in order to get 5xtp and 5% cash back?  the surcharge will be definitely higher than using mastercard right? just wanna know which card should i use to pay it ...btw where to see when is the posting date of transaction? i saw some ppl claimed that if transaction date is on weekend but posting date is weekday, u can call to maybank to ask for 5% cash back? do i need to call maybank cs to allow for online transaction?
As pointed out by hye once again, it depends on when the merchant processes the transaction. You think people in Australia work on Weekends?

Come on lah, the tuition fees in Australia is definitely more than RM30K and you want to earn RM50 from it? As to which card to use, it depends, you want to pay more upfront and redeem for point later or pay less upfront and earn less points.

Which card to use? Maybank Visa Infinite thumbup.gif click below to read my latest article.

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...ybank-visa.html

and also click here to read my article on Credit Card for Education Bills

Having said above, make sure you double check if the school charges any surcharge fee (especially if they uses a 3rd party service), if yes, it would be cheaper if you just buy a bank draft.

TSGen-X
post Jan 4 2012, 09:03 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ninorico @ Jan 4 2012, 08:41 AM)
Obviously you are pissed out with me for asking questions. The senior here learn from asking questions and and some senior answer them. You may call it 'sharing'. You may call me lazy but you never know. I could be busy with others things in my life and I need a quick answer to 1 or 2 questions. For me, it look reasonable by asking questions but I do not know why piss you so much.
haha, no lah, he is not pissed off but doing what he has been entrusted to do, which is point to you in the right direction in a direct manner. Nowadays the members here not so "bad" already ( I guessed many of us gave up repeating to newbies to do a search), few years back, you ask a question which has been discussed before, you be flamed left right center. Bro, you got to understand also, if everyone like you just post without doing a search first, then all the threads here will have more pages.

Anyway, added your question to FAQ at post#2 so next time someone else ask the same question I can flamed him left right center for not doing a search and for being lazy by not even reading the 1st page, hahaha

To ALL: I did a transaction in SG today with my MBB VI and received SMS from MBB after half hour or so.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 4 2012, 11:27 PM
TSGen-X
post Jan 5 2012, 09:32 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ixole @ Jan 4 2012, 10:00 PM)
i only pay rm2k plus for the professional exam ppr. not the whole course, thats why wanna earn the point to waive GST. i had read some of your article, i would say it is interesting. anyway thanks for those references
Bro, tell you what, since you want the points, go swipe RM1K and see if you get the 5% cash back on weekends with the online payment and then post the outcome at the thread hye started to benefit all. And from then on, you and me can know the right answer once and for all. The remaining RM1K swipe with the Visa or MC to compare.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 5 2012, 09:33 AM
TSGen-X
post Jan 5 2012, 09:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Jan 5 2012, 05:15 PM)
Apply second credit card is mostly based on 1st credit card right? what if i apply sup card as my first card? is it useful when apply 2nd card ?

Still in a dilemma either get a gold card or sup platinum card  hmm.gif
Supp card is not taken into consideration for Principal card application.

What dilemma - either you qualify or you don't doh.gif

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jan 5 2012, 08:17 PM)
why worry, if it floats forever, you'll be more happy with no cash back laugh.gif
yah, you are so right.

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Jan 5 2012, 06:33 PM)
This year I managed to get it done/transacted on a Sat. You have to tell the telemarketer specifically you want to transact on a Sat. See pic for proof.
Did you get the cash rebate? Please post here.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 5 2012, 09:51 PM
TSGen-X
post Jan 7 2012, 09:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 7 2012, 08:38 AM)
you are right, it does say 0.5% for admin fee sweat.gif

still i prefer to use Amex for Internet purchases as its covers users against online fraud
it does? I read the pdf and also happen to have me Charge Card statement and nothing stated on the 0.5%

Anyway guys, I have posted here at Post#156 that MBB charged me 1.25% more compared to Visa International's rate.
TSGen-X
post Jan 7 2012, 12:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 7 2012, 10:03 AM)
Do you still have the AMEX Gold credit card statement ? The one that was the hottest AMEX before the introduction of this MBB2 product. If i'm not mistaken, the information was given by someone using the pure AMEX Gold credit card. I did refer back to my mom's canceled AMEX charge card statement from year 2009 and the was no mention of this 0.5% admin charge either, just the 2.5% from AMEX.

Anyway, one thing for sure is that for all AMEX credit card bearing the Maybankard logo, the total admin fee is 3% (0.5% + 2.5%).
All the banks seem to charge more than what's stated in the back of the statement (foreign currency admin fee).
As usual, you are right notworthy.gif

idoblu was replying to your statement on AMEX Charge Card, and behind the AMEX Gold Charge Card statement only mentioned 2.5%.

I just checked my last AMEX Gold Credit Card statement (dated August 2011), it states

"Foreign Charges coverted by AMEX apply a coversion factor of 2.5% to the converted amount plus 0.5% administration cost imposed by Maybank"

And you know what - Above statement IS ALSO stated in my Maybankard Statements. You guys all go read behind your MBB2 Cards statement and you'll see the same.

BUT, here is the shocking thing, behind my separate MBB VI, it states the following:

"Foreign charges applies a conversion factor of 2.5% to the converted amount and charges that is made in a foreign currency other than US Dollars will be first converted into US Dollars before being converted into Ringgit Malaysia" WTF vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 7 2012, 10:03 AM)
Anyway, can you please do all of us a favor by splitting your next overseas payment into two Maybank credit cards ? I mean to pay for the same purchase with your MBB2 VISA/MC (preferably with another MBB VISA credit card) and MBB VI ? So that we can compare the rates and to find out if Maybank is inflating the rate for MBB VI. Just to check if they are sincere in giving out the 5xTP for MBB VI for all payments made in foreign currency.
Will execute your command, but is will be sometime again before I go overseas again. I will try to swipe with the followings cards on the same day:

MBB 2 AMEX
MBB 2 Visa
MBB Plat MC and
MBB VI

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 7 2012, 01:27 PM
TSGen-X
post Jan 8 2012, 02:44 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jan 7 2012, 11:06 PM)
Almost done with my analysis but need contributions from the community

need sample rates for other MBB2 cards (visa, MC, Amex) and normal MBB cards as well as other bank cards

need  your posting date, transaction date and exchange rate + card type

Rule: Must be USD to MYR conversion. Other currency will impact data comparison.
Too bad all my overseas transactions have been with the MBB VI for the past month else sure provide you the info.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 8 2012, 01:13 AM)
Gen-X said he will use all his MBB credit cards on the same day. So i guess we just have to wait   smile.gif
Bro, you got to wait months for me to give you any feedback.

To ALL: What zenquix needs is just your past 1 month overseas transactions of your MBB 2 AMEX or MBB 2 Visa/MC, may it be face to face or online. With the data provided from all of us, he can then tabulate out for us the difference between MBB2 AMEX and MBB 2 Visa/MC and or other credit cards.

Card Type:
Transaction Date:
Posting Date:
Exchange Rate (USD/RM):

ixole and jchong, you guys just did some transactions right, please share the details.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 8 2012, 02:47 AM
TSGen-X
post Jan 8 2012, 10:47 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 8 2012, 09:05 AM)
I had my first encounter with loss of Credit Card...NEARLY. I did a swipe at the toystore on Sat. Somehow with all the other loyalty cards used to collect points, my Maybankard 2 AMEX didn't follow me into my wallet.

After 15mins, I received a call from Maybankard Platinum services (Private Number) that asked me to check if I left my CC at the toystore. Opened my wallet and my Maybankard 2 AMEX is missing indeed.

Quickly ran back to the toystore to look for the manager and ....... Thank goodness I retrieve my 'precious' CC.

P.s. i believe the cashier 'forgot' to pull out the CC from the terminal, when giving me the receipts.
Consider yourself lucky. How come MBB CS managed to call you? Did the toy store inform them?
TSGen-X
post Jan 8 2012, 02:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 8 2012, 10:49 AM)
My transactions are posted on the other thread.
saw your latest post on MBB MC and MBB 2 AMEX overseas conversion rates, info should be of use great use to zenquix.

Must say a BIG Thank You to you for sharing the transactions for the benefit of others.

It can be observed that with MBB2 AMEX, we are paying about 3% more for the conversion. From your own point of view and with 5X TP with AMEX, which card woild you go with.

QUOTE(ixole @ Jan 8 2012, 02:22 PM)
where to post the details? btw i m paying AUD using mastercard. can use for comparison analysis?
aiyah, I really blur doh.gif forgot yours is AUD.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 8 2012, 02:45 PM
TSGen-X
post Jan 8 2012, 10:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 8 2012, 06:02 PM)
Yup, with MBB 2 AMEX the conversion is about 2% more than MC. So that extra 2% does offset a lot of the "benefit" of the 5x TP. However, I think there is still a slight advantage with AMEX. I did one theoretical example below. Hope my calculation is correct. Any mistake please highlight to me.

[attachmentid=2629143]
Bro, yah, last time I compared MBB 2 AMEX to MBB 2 Visa based on info provided by members here, I also noted that AMEX do earn us more (not even considering the 5% cash back) but concluded it also means we have to pay more upfront and we only "gain" when we do redemption of treats points.

Anyway, great job by you, posted your table in Post#2.

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 8 2012, 09:53 PM)
Yeah, their 5x TP for overseas spending is very attractive especially if their conversion fees are lower compared to Amex. But since I've got neither I can't compare.
We will know once zenquix complete his part smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 8 2012, 10:37 PM
TSGen-X
post Jan 9 2012, 08:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jan 9 2012, 07:21 PM)
How is it like in treatfair, Is it chaotic?
it is as bad as PC Fair
TSGen-X
post Jan 11 2012, 12:19 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jan 10 2012, 06:44 PM)
still need info

anyone with USD transactions on their MBB Visa (MBB2 or normal cards. Not Visa Infinite)? Dates required from Oct to Jan 2012

Also need MBB Mastercard data for months prior to Dec. Perhaps jchong can help on this

@ Gen-X and other MBB VI holders
Do you have any USD transaction data for Nov 2011?
Sorry Bro, not a single transaction in November with USD with any cards.
TSGen-X
post Jan 12 2012, 06:17 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jan 11 2012, 09:08 PM)
for better or for worse (and as a teaser), based on data points so far.. you might as well apply the MBB VI
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 11 2012, 11:36 PM)
Anyway, good to know that the preliminary date shows that MBB VI 5xTP for overseas spending is still worth it. Too bad
Update on MBB VI overseas transactions -

1. I called CS and was told there are no fees aasociated with overseas transacations, I told her I know there are admin fees imposed and it is stated 2.5% behind the monthly statement. After checking she called me back to inform once again there is no overseas charges for transactions. She claimed she has checked with the relevant department and even with Visa International blink.gif I told her once gain, it is stated 2.5% behind my statement, ask here go check why.

2. A reader at my blog pointed out to me that MBB VI T&C (that came with the MBB VI welcome kit) stated Admin Fee at 1%. And, after checking it, it is indeed stated that the Admin fee is 1% under Clause 13.

And from two of my transactions which I have previously posted in regards to overseas transactions with my MBB Visa Infinite, the overseas admin fee works out to be approximately 1.25% and with MBB VI 5X TP, it is still very worthwhile.

Anyway, it is great that zenquix is generating a comparison between various credit cards with the data provided from you guys thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 12 2012, 06:20 AM
TSGen-X
post Jan 15 2012, 09:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Jan 15 2012, 09:02 PM)
Hi all 2cards owner,
I got a question and I wonder any of u have the same experience.

I think the 5% weekend rebate not entitled to me for unknown reason. Below is my experience:

for example first saturday i swipe for RM100 and i clear it online. Few days later the balance will become -5 (due to 5% rebate). Then the next saturday i swipe again RM100. Few days later the balance will become 95,  then i paid 95.

The problems occurs here, the latest RM95 i paid, i din get any 5% rebate from it. My balance will become 0, rather than -4.75 tat i expected.

Do u guys experience this b4?
Please read 1st Page FAQ before posting next time. The rebate is credited in the first few days of the month and NOT weekly lah doh.gif
TSGen-X
post Jan 16 2012, 06:41 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(asthrophils @ Jan 16 2012, 01:37 AM)
thank you for the information
wah, you must be really desperate for post counts. Noted you posted similar kind of non informative posts all over LYN Forum within a span of less than 12 hours.
TSGen-X
post Jan 17 2012, 05:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 17 2012, 05:03 PM)
By the way, i just received the replacement card for both of my MBB2 Cards. The VISA one is in black instead of blueish while the AMEX has all platinum word printed in all capital letters (was initially reported by zenquix if i'm not mistaken, could also be someone else).
Mid last year, wanted the words Plat too, so asked for a replacement and it was FOC thumbup.gif And I think, it was zenquix too that first said he got a replacement, so I followed him. Yah, mine also in capitals.
TSGen-X
post Jan 18 2012, 12:18 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(shiroikun @ Jan 17 2012, 08:45 PM)
OMG, what is the purpose to get the Platinum to show Caps and no Caps...alamak!!!
You won't understand unless you a card collector, hahaha

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jan 18 2012, 12:01 AM)
maybe it's time for me to ask for replacement cards  laugh.gif
i have the 1st version with no platinum words on it as well  sweat.gif
It's tol free, just call tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Jan 23 2012, 05:53 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Jan 23 2012, 05:48 PM)
i was told all online transactions have been blocked by mb and need to call to CS to activate the particular day transaction. is it true?
Based on what has been posted earlier, Yes, it is for the MAEX card but not Visa or MC.
TSGen-X
post Jan 26 2012, 06:43 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Smurfs @ Jan 26 2012, 01:50 PM)
DiGi doesnt accept AMEX for iphone installment..Not sure about other telco..
Odd, DiGi had 0% with AMEX card sometime back. Maybe the 0% EzyPay is not a permanent "benefit" but promotions offered be merchant on selected products.
TSGen-X
post Jan 30 2012, 09:13 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 30 2012, 08:41 AM)
Can't use my AmEx at Jusco Seremban 2 yesterday. I have used before in that particular counter...

The cashier told me something like the card is not supported... I didn't have the opportunity to try at other places though. Let's hope my card is not faulty.

In the end, I had to swipe with my VISA. Losing out 5% weekend rebate and 5xTP. sad.gif
I used my MBB 2 AMEX at 1U Jusco yesterday.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0387sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:18 PM