Debit Card V3

MilesAndMore
post Jul 1 2012, 08:58 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 1 2012, 02:47 PM)
And I believe PBB Visa Electron cash back % is better than D2D for online/general transactions.
Yes. 0.5% for PBB VISA Electron and 0.3% for PBB D2D VISA.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 1 2012, 02:47 PM)
PBB card are not issued on the spot and can take up to two week before you get that card and the pin number separately by mail.
Except PBB D2D VISA which is issued on the spot smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jul 2 2012, 06:54 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(LS Lim @ Jul 2 2012, 05:32 PM)

Thank you, Sifus.  notworthy.gif

May I know if the "online/general transactions" include oversea purchases?

Besides "bad" conversion rates, is there any foreign exchange charges for oversea purchases?
Maybank debit card is better if you are going to use it for overseas purchases as Maybank debit/credit card is known to give a very favourable exchange rate. Do note that there will be 0.5% admin fee for all transactions made in foreign currency. For Public Bank D2D VISA, the admin fee charged is 1%.

If you go for Maybank, i'd suggest you to specifically request for the Maybankard Manchester United VISA debit cardas this card gives you 1x Treatpoint for every RM2 charged to your card whereas the regular Maybankard Cherry VISA debit card gives you 1x Treatpoint for every RM3. Treatpoint is something like Bonuslink where you accumulate points to certain amount before you can redeem for a gift or shopping voucher.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 4 2012, 11:56 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(nickcct @ Jul 4 2012, 08:54 AM)
How come they didn't inform me bout the Maybankard Manchester United VISA debit card, they just give me the cherry card. The cherry card dun have the same benefit??
Yes. It's a bit different. You can check out their website for the differences smile.gif

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jul 4 2012, 12:05 PM)
Wish to ask if i were to withdraw my money at South Korea using Maybank Debit card, how much 'extra fees' would I be charged, in Woons or MYR?

I heard that ATM machine in South Korea will automatically change the currency rates from MYR to KRW once I activate my overseas flag, how is the exchange rates be for money withdrawing on ATM in South korea?

Added on July 4, 2012, 12:06 pm
Does that also apply to withdrawing money from ATM machine using maybank Debit Card ( with Visa) in South Korea?
I have never used my ATM card to withdraw cash in South Korea, thus i can't advise you on this. But do note that there is a 0.5% admin fee for all overseas transactions and this include overseas ATM cash withdrawals + RM10 fee for every withdrawal.

Anyway, since you have a Maybank VISA debit card. I strongly suggest that you just use your Maybank VISA debit card to pay for anything at all places that accepts debit/credit card in Seoul. I've used my Maybank credit card many times during my last trip to Seoul just two months ago and the rate was KRW1,000 = RM2.73-RM2.74. I used the card to buy something online again and was charged in KRW just last month and the rate was KRW1,000 = RM2.73 for the first time and KRW1,000 = RM2.76 for another transaction done a few weeks later. As you can see, the final exchange rate is even lower than the rate offered by money changer in Malaysia which is around KRW1,000 = RM2.78-RM2.82 thumbup.gif

QUOTE(LS Lim @ Jul 4 2012, 07:39 PM)
Hi, Sifu.

Your insights are very helpful to noobs like me.  thumbup.gif

Thank you very much and kudos to you.  notworthy.gif
Anytime smile.gif

QUOTE(cHiLdHo0drEaMz @ Jul 4 2012, 09:54 PM)
yup. i did but still no change sad.gif
I still remember that there was another person using this Maybank debit Mastercard saying that this card cannot be used at several online sites. Google Wallet could be one.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 15 2012, 06:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 15 2012, 02:12 AM)
Is the Standard Chartered Bank's Debit card free for Preferred Banking customers ? I already have e$aver account and would like to get free IBG (until 31 Dec 2012)

Under this promo : http://www.standardchartered.com.my/person...july/index.html
Yes. It's free.

QUOTE(raysaw @ Jul 15 2012, 12:24 PM)
just a noob question....if i am a PB Day2Day Visa Card user, the maximum retail purchase is RM2000, i want to purchase something that exceeding RM2000++, can i purchase by using the debit card and add on the extra by cash??
The method you mentioned only works for credit card. For this PBB D2D VISA debit card, you need to go to any PBB ATM to change the retail purchase limit. The maximum amount can be set is RM10,000/day.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 16 2012, 01:54 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bounty_hunt3r @ Jul 16 2012, 12:45 AM)
can anyone recommended any prepaid credit card to pay ebay seller fee? I don't want publicbank debit card. Thanks
Maybank VISA debit card, Air Asia BIG VISA debit card, just to name a few.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 16 2012, 12:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(raysaw @ Jul 16 2012, 11:44 AM)
o...i see....if i set the limit today, means i can use the debit card today for the limit that i set??
Last time you had to wait for the next day before the new limit takes effect. Not sure about now.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 17 2012, 02:11 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(justrandom007 @ Jul 17 2012, 12:11 AM)
guys! I need to know which VISA debit card doesn't link to your savings/current account and has a feature of prepaid card such as "top-up"/"reload" .The card has zero balance and will only have the value if I "top-up" it. I don't trust Paypal much because I've heard paypal is taking out money and putting it back to the account plus I'm doing Internet Marketing. I hope you guys can give me some good answers .Please and Thank you smile.gif
Kindly refer to the other thread which you have also posted your question on. And next time, just post your question in one thread.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 17 2012, 02:54 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(XzuLLX @ Jul 17 2012, 12:35 PM)
hi wanna ask.

on 10th July i tried to purchase something off international online store. i tried 4 times and all my transactions were declined.

checked maybank2u, there were 4 'Pre auth debits' and only one was refunded on the spot.

im wondering when maybank will refund the other 3?
The maximum would be 30 days but usually they will release the money within the next few days.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 20 2012, 05:59 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bounty_hunt3r @ Jul 16 2012, 02:19 AM)
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 16 2012, 01:54 AM)

QUOTE(bounty_hunt3r @ Jul 16 2012, 12:45 AM)

can anyone recommended any prepaid credit card to pay ebay seller fee? I don't want publicbank debit card. Thanks
Maybank VISA debit card, Air Asia BIG VISA debit card, just to name a few.
ahh thanks. It is really helpful. rclxm9.gif
And one more, DiGi Simple prepaid MasterCard. It is actually issued by Alliance Bank and the good thing is, this DiGi Simple prepaid MasterCard can be used online as well as Paypal. This is probably the only prepaid/debit card that is issued by Alliance Bank that can be used online.

QUOTE(Username912 @ Jul 20 2012, 04:11 PM)
Hi I am graduating soon. Thought of getting a second bank account with a debit card (currently using public bank), but unsure which one to choose.

Anyone has any recommendations? Which bank is more suitable and better for my future use?

I know different banks have different benefits but too much info I couldnt make a wise choice..

Any valuable advices would be great! Thanksss! ^^
Note: Considering Citibank and Maybank
Maybank has this MasterCard Platinum debit card which you might be interested in. Last time it can only be linked to Maybank Premier branded Current Account but since last month or two months ago, this card can be linked to any type of savings or current account. You just have to specifically request for this card or else they normally will issue you the VISA debit card.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 20 2012, 06:02 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 21 2012, 12:31 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Secret Hunter @ Jul 21 2012, 12:03 AM)
just now was the first time to use maybank debit card to buy stuff
during transaction, they asked for pin number, instead of signature.

how do i get the pin?

pls enlighten
Next time tell them to process it as a credit card. This way you do not have to key-in the PIN.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 22 2012, 02:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(celaw @ Jul 22 2012, 02:01 PM)
Hi, just to confirm. The gsc promotion is applicable to all master debit card including cimb debit card?
Yes.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 23 2012, 11:42 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Jul 23 2012, 08:57 AM)
Digi Simple Mastercard confirm can use with Paypal to verify ?

I heard they say CIMB Master Card can use for Paypal Verification but I tried it and it failed
Yes. You can use the DiGi Smple MasterCard to get your Paypal verified. The CIMB debit MasterCard on the other hand, cannot be used for any online transactions at all.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 23 2012, 11:44 AM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 23 2012, 12:56 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hibiki_schumi @ Jul 23 2012, 12:08 PM)
Hi, just want to ask some questions.

Does PB Esso Mobil Visa Debit card have a pre-set limit? (because when i go to ATM, i don't see any menu to change the limit)

Is there any voice call confirmation to confirm usage of card above certain amount? If yes, how do i do the setting?

I believe it is the same as their VISA Electron. It means there isn't.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 25 2012, 12:07 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Jul 24 2012, 09:03 PM)
Guys,I'm a student and I had just opened a Public Bank Account with the debit card,the waive fee is RM12. what's the different this card and the ESSO PBB which is FREE FOR LIFETIME (what i heard from this thread)
The PBB D2D VISA debit card is linked to your savings or current account whereas the PBB ESSO VISA debit card is a standalone card. The 16-digit printed in front of the PBB VISA debit card is your account number. For your PBB D2D VISA debit card, the account number is the one printed in the savings passbook given to you which has only 10-digit.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 25 2012, 01:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cressalve @ Jul 25 2012, 12:06 PM)
Hey guys,

I got a question here. Recently I just used my MBB Cherry debit card to make an online purchase. The thing is, from what I understand any online purchase via cherry card need to verified by MSOS correct? Even when I didn't enroll for MSOS earlier right? So the thing is, I made the purchase and there no MSOS authentication page popped up during my completion of the purchase and the transaction is finished like just when I used my credit card. no MSOS, no sms alert, no nothing. The amount purchased is immediately deducted from my account as per conversion rate. So, am i pretty much fxxked up or am I just being paranoid?
All Maybank debit/credit cards are now automatically enrolled in the MSOS. An SMS will be sent to your cell phone when you make an online purchase. However, this applies only if the website you are trying to make a purchase from support Verified by VISA or MasterCard SecureCode. In all other websites that do not support VbV/MCSC, you will not receive any SMS containing your 6-digit code.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 25 2012, 05:12 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cressalve @ Jul 25 2012, 04:56 PM)
Thanks for the replies guys. Now that you mentioned it, I forgot to mention that there's no VbV/MCSC logo on that website. But this does not mean anything bad gonna happen, right?
No. It's still quite a norm actually. There are still many websites that do not support VbV/MCSC.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 3 2012, 02:13 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Aug 3 2012, 01:42 AM)
I think, Malaysia's Debit Card can't use for  online trasaction  blink.gif  Paypal accept Credit Card ONLY
Please do not mislead other people and what you said is absolutely not true. Most debit cards issued by banks in Malaysia are good for online use except select few and all the information can be found in the Paypal thread as well as inside this thread.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 3 2012, 02:15 AM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 4 2012, 02:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 4 2012, 10:30 AM)
Read that CIMB debit card cannot be used for online transaction.
What about its debit card issued with Airasia Savings acc, can that be used to purchase airasia tickets online?
Tune VISA card ? Yes. It can be used online.

QUOTE(blacknwhite0 @ Aug 4 2012, 01:25 PM)
Is it true that all Maybank debit/credit cards are automatically enrolled in the MSOS??
Yes. It's true.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 4 2012, 07:43 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(emwyatt2007 @ Aug 4 2012, 07:23 PM)
I am using the Maybank cherry debit card at the moment. I have activated the overseas cash transaction. But somehow was not able to get cash from ATMs in China. Does anyone know which particular Chinese bank's ATM works with Maybank debit card? I have tried ATMs at Bank of China, Construction bank, Industrial and Commercial Bank and Bank of Communication. But all failed.

I was able to use the card for buying things at shopping malls in China though.

Thanks a lot!
Any chance you have activated the card only for overseas EFTPOS use but not for overseas ATM cash withdrawal ?
MilesAndMore
post Aug 5 2012, 03:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Aug 5 2012, 02:13 AM)
6) After U have finished register as maybank2u user, go to maybank2u again to register your Debit Card for Online Purchase
  click on Maybank Secure Online Shopping Registration. select "Utilities" funtion

& Fil in your Card no., Password, etc...after that submit it a Successful registration notification will appear once registration is successful & Complete

Now u can use your Debit Card for Online Shopping
it is no longer done so. Not for a year or longer already. Besides, the answer can be found in just the previous page. Do take some time to go through some of the previous posts.

QUOTE(hanny562 @ Aug 5 2012, 12:29 PM)
Erm..I'm already m2u user, but the MSOS under "Utilities" function does not appear..finding everywhere..but can't find any  sad.gif
If you have read some of the previous posts before posting, then you would have found our answer already. The answer is there in post #594.

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1359sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:47 PM