Solar Power Generation, for home use/sell back to tnb

noobiedonkey
post Apr 27 2015, 08:33 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Apr 27 2015, 07:56 PM)
Don't ever think to invest solar power to reduce TNB bill, unless you apply Feed In Tariff. Our electricity is still consider low compare to those developed countries.  When the day TNB charge RM1 per KWH, then you can think to invest solar power.
How to apply FIT? What is the capital? ROI worth it?
ozak
post Apr 27 2015, 09:56 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 27 2015, 08:33 PM)
Okay, let me try from another angle, previously I said my dc fan is 12v .8A = 9.6W. So daily it consumes 230.4W correct? But assuming the sun shines for 5 hours, I would need a battery for the remaining 19hours right? So how big would the battery need to be? Btw, I need to run the fan 12 hours a day only but would like to know the calculation. Thanks.
You need a 45AH battery. You don't drain your battery to zero. It will shorten the battery life. So put it at 50% or more of battery usage. This calculation is also just provide 1day backup. If you have cloudy day next day, you won't be able to run full of your fan.

The remaining 19hr is using 183whr. 183whr/12v = 15.25AH.

12.25AH / 0.5 = 30.5AH of battery. Than you need to consider the rate of discharge. Cincai put it at 0.8.

So you need 30.5AH /0.8 =38AH battery.
noobiedonkey
post Apr 28 2015, 11:44 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 27 2015, 09:56 PM)
You need a 45AH battery. You don't drain your battery to zero. It will shorten the battery life. So put it at 50% or more of battery usage. This calculation is also just provide 1day backup. If you have cloudy day next day, you won't be able to run full of your fan.

The remaining 19hr is using 183whr. 183whr/12v = 15.25AH.

12.25AH / 0.5 = 30.5AH of battery. Than you need to consider the rate of discharge. Cincai put it at 0.8.

So you need 30.5AH /0.8 =38AH battery.
Interesting. I have one of this at home which runs 24/7. How much power does it use in a hour? Sorry for the math questions.

ozak
post Apr 28 2015, 12:17 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 28 2015, 11:44 AM)
Interesting. I have one of this at home which runs 24/7. How much power does it use in a hour? Sorry for the math questions.
What you have run in your home 24/7 ?
noobiedonkey
post Apr 28 2015, 12:41 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 28 2015, 12:17 PM)
What you have run in your home 24/7 ?
Paiseh. IT's my water filter.

http://www.coway.com.my/ProductDetails.aspx?PID=35
ozak
post Apr 28 2015, 01:02 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 28 2015, 12:41 PM)
You mean want to power this dispenser is it?

But you got to check the power consumption first. Get a kill a watt meter to check for a mth. Get the average consumption usage. Than only can do the calculation.
noobiedonkey
post Apr 28 2015, 01:50 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 28 2015, 01:02 PM)
You mean want to power this dispenser is it?

But you got to check the power consumption first. Get a kill a watt meter to check for a mth. Get the average consumption usage. Than only can do the calculation.
Oh, cause it's stated, heater 300W and compressor 100W so I confuse. Btw, the sales person told me that it costs RM7 -RM8/month. Assuming RM8/month, does it mean it takes about 50Whr?
ozak
post Apr 28 2015, 02:23 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 28 2015, 01:50 PM)
Oh, cause it's stated, heater 300W and compressor 100W so I confuse. Btw, the sales person told me that it costs RM7 -RM8/month. Assuming RM8/month, does it mean it takes about 50Whr?
That is freaking high consumption. 36Kwh/mth. RM8/0.218. I rather don't buy. That is almost my fridge consumption.

Even it state how many watt, but it is not continues run. Just like the fridge or aircon. The running pattern is ON/OFF depend the usage. It hard to do the calculation by this way. Only by kill a watt meter measure the actual ruuning.
weikee
post Apr 28 2015, 02:40 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 28 2015, 02:23 PM)
That is freaking high consumption. 36Kwh/mth. RM8/0.218.  I rather don't buy. That is almost my fridge consumption.

Even it state how many watt, but it is not continues run. Just like the fridge or aircon. The running pattern is ON/OFF depend the usage. It hard to do the calculation by this way. Only by kill a watt meter measure the actual ruuning.
Where got 0.218, have to use 0.45 more realistic unless that is the only equipment. As for the consumption, it should be around 100-150watt per hours because compressor and heater not always switch on, usually only 1/3 the operation time are switch on. 0.4kw/h * 0.33 *24 *30 = 95Kwh * 0.45 = ~RM 42

RM 42, a price to pay for convenient smile.gif

This post has been edited by weikee: Apr 28 2015, 02:41 PM
ozak
post Apr 28 2015, 02:56 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 28 2015, 02:40 PM)
Where got 0.218, have to use 0.45 more realistic unless that is the only equipment. As for the consumption, it should be around 100-150watt per hours because compressor and heater not always switch on, usually only 1/3 the operation time are switch on.  0.4kw/h * 0.33 *24 *30 = 95Kwh * 0.45 = ~RM 42

RM 42, a price to pay for convenient smile.gif
I don't no which is realistic. Very much depend on your usage peryear and than average down. If your usage is low, 0.45 is abit high rate. I put my rate at 0.3x.

The dispenser consumption is depend on the usage. So it depend how many cup of water you drink or get from the dispenser.

RM42 is too high calculation for a dispenser. Doesn't justify to own 1.
weikee
post Apr 28 2015, 03:06 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 28 2015, 02:56 PM)
I don't no which is realistic. Very much depend on your usage peryear and than average down. If your usage is low, 0.45 is abit high rate. I put my rate at 0.3x.

The dispenser consumption is depend on the usage. So it depend how many cup of water you drink or get from the dispenser. 

RM42 is too high calculation for a dispenser. Doesn't justify to own 1.
You and I not that level lah. I stick with my 3M filter enough smile.gif if need cold water, just take the ice, if need hot water just boil it.
ozak
post Apr 28 2015, 03:16 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 28 2015, 03:06 PM)
You and I not that level lah. I stick with my 3M filter enough smile.gif if need cold water, just take the ice, if need hot water just boil it.
Ya, me poorfag. Just boil if want hot water.

I have dispenser. But zero consumption. He....
noobiedonkey
post Apr 28 2015, 03:18 PM

810 posts

Actually, 0.218 is accurate cause I never exceed the limit so far. And I noticed my TNB bill spike RM7-8 monthly because of this unit. RM 7-8 is a fair price to pay I would say.
ozak
post Apr 28 2015, 03:55 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 28 2015, 03:18 PM)
Actually, 0.218 is accurate cause I never exceed the limit so far. And I noticed my TNB bill spike RM7-8 monthly because of this unit. RM 7-8 is a fair price to pay I would say.
0.218 is just a basic calculation. More accurate is depend on your average usage yearly.

Example my average is RM59.09 peryrs. Average is 0.24/kwh.

But you cannot use my example. Cause your usage is probably lower or higher than me. You have to comeout your rate.

weikee
post Apr 28 2015, 04:10 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 28 2015, 03:18 PM)
The more appliances you have the more expensive you will be paying.

If you are paying at 0.218, that mean you are using less than 200 units per month. I am impress how you can achieve this. Can you describe to me what appliances you have, and how long it run a day?

The last I did help my friend calculate, his meter was tempered and he reported it back to TNB. Lucky enough he did not have to pay anything because he just got the house 2nd hand, and TNB when chase after the original owner laugh.gif
noobiedonkey
post Apr 28 2015, 05:47 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 28 2015, 03:55 PM)
0.218 is just a basic calculation. More accurate is depend on your average usage yearly.

Example my average is RM59.09 peryrs. Average is 0.24/kwh.

But you cannot use my example. Cause your usage is probably lower or higher than me. You have to comeout your rate.
Rm59.09 per year is too low no? Do you mean a month? Mine is .218 for sure. I was actually going for Coway basic ( http://www.coway.com.my/ProductDetails.aspx?PID=20) but I got my petit for a discounted price.

noobiedonkey
post Apr 28 2015, 05:55 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 28 2015, 04:10 PM)
The more appliances you have the more  expensive you will be paying.

If you are paying at 0.218, that mean you are using less than 200 units per month. I am impress how you can achieve this. Can you describe to me what appliances you have, and how long it run a day?

The last I did help my friend calculate, his meter was tempered and he reported it back to TNB. Lucky enough he did not have to pay anything because he just got the house 2nd hand, and TNB when chase after the original owner  laugh.gif
Well, the fully operational items are fridge, wifi, CCTV, water filter. The rest is lights, fans, 3 aircons, led tv (24hours/month), kitchen appliances. Oh, and Two water heaters. Everything is at minimum usage.

No computers, hand phone and tablets all charged through solar. Now I want to see whether it's possible to run my 24/7 items through solar.
ozak
post Apr 28 2015, 06:02 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 28 2015, 05:47 PM)
Rm59.09 per year is too low no? Do you mean a month? Mine is .218 for sure. I was actually going for Coway basic ( http://www.coway.com.my/ProductDetails.aspx?PID=20) but I got my petit for a discounted price.
RM59.09 is my average TNB monthly bill la.

Even my monthly bill is RM59.09, I can't get that low rate of 0.218.
billyboy
post Apr 28 2015, 06:31 PM

2,220 posts

under the SEDA's FIT system, all the electricity is sold to TNB. above RM1/kwh. Don't use it if you got FIT quota. Sell all to TNB. more worthwhile.

you can try to install an off-grid system (generate for your own use) but generally not worth it. Msia electricity cheap.

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 28 2015, 05:55 PM)
Well, the fully operational items are fridge, wifi, CCTV, water filter. The rest is lights, fans, 3 aircons, led tv (24hours/month), kitchen appliances. Oh, and Two water heaters. Everything is at minimum usage.

No computers, hand phone and tablets all charged through solar. Now I want to see whether it's possible to run my 24/7 items through solar.
noobiedonkey
post Apr 28 2015, 06:34 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Apr 28 2015, 06:31 PM)
under the SEDA's FIT system, all the electricity is sold to TNB. above RM1/kwh.  Don't use it if you got FIT quota. Sell all to TNB. more worthwhile.

you can try to install an off-grid system (generate for your own use) but generally not worth it.  Msia electricity cheap.
How to apply for FIT? What is the cost like? You using one?

66 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0160sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:59 PM