Solar Power Generation, for home use/sell back to tnb

noobiedonkey
post Apr 25 2015, 05:25 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 25 2015, 01:26 PM)
A 50w panel can generate 50w of power in 1hr. So if you expose the panel in whole day, it can generate 50Wx 5hr=250whr of power. But this is just a theory calculation. Not yet minus some bad thing.

You need to know your device usage. Than you can know the panel can support or not. Let say your device suck 20w and you want to use 10hr. That is 20wx10hr=200whr. So it is under 250whr panel. Your device are good to go.

For battery is a bit complicated.

For on-grid, you need get a approving installer. Can't DIY. Just only the document, can kill you. sad.gif
Cause I tried connectting the 18v 50w panel directly to a 12v 0.8A DC fan but it won't run. Need to connect through a battery only can. Is this because of the amps? The out of the panel measures 18++V.

Also for this, does it mean my fan takes 12x0.8=9.6whr?

billyboy
post Apr 25 2015, 07:47 PM

2,220 posts

Its not a theory. Many (incl me) are earning it. Happily earning it. Even more happy that other think that we get only mid single digit so we have more chance to apply for FIT quota. tongue.gif

The one who did not apply are paying those who applied !

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 25 2015, 02:51 PM)
I understand this calculation. But this is just a theory.

Want the actual annual profit. What is the percentage like. I dumb RM100k in, what annual income I get. 4%, 5% ?
ozak
post Apr 25 2015, 10:11 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 25 2015, 05:25 PM)
Cause I tried connectting the 18v 50w panel directly to a 12v 0.8A DC fan but it won't run. Need to connect through a battery only can. Is this because of the amps? The out of the panel measures 18++V.

Also for this, does it mean my fan takes 12x0.8=9.6whr?
Your fan is only require 9.6w. If you run for 1hr, it only consume 9.6wx1hr=9.6whr. Your panel supply more than enough power. The problem is the voltage. 18v is too high for the fan. Any possibility burn down the fan.

You need a charge controller to regulate the voltage down to 12v. The charge controller also can use for charge the battery.
ozak
post Apr 25 2015, 10:15 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Apr 25 2015, 07:47 PM)
Its not a theory. Many (incl me) are earning it. Happily earning it.  Even more happy that other think that we get only mid single digit so we have more chance to apply for FIT quota. tongue.gif

The one who did not apply are paying those who applied !
I still don't get a number from you. I know you are happy. Buy what is the figure?

I try to use less than rm77/mth from avoid paying the 1%. To you guys. So far so good

This post has been edited by ozak: Apr 26 2015, 11:55 AM
noobiedonkey
post Apr 26 2015, 10:26 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 25 2015, 10:11 PM)
Your fan is only require 9.6w. If you run for 1hr,  it only consume 9.6wx1hr=9.6whr. Your panel supply more than enough power. The problem is the voltage. 18v is too high for the fan. Any possibility burn down the fan.

You need a charge controller to regulate the voltage down to 12v. The charge controller also  can use for charge the battery.
Ya, what I mean is, shouldn't the fan run directly from the panel since it's 18v? Mine doesn't run at all. It moves when you connect but that's all. Is it because of the lack of amps? How much amps does a 50w produce? 50w/18v =2.77A?
aeiou228
post Apr 26 2015, 10:58 AM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 25 2015, 10:15 PM)
I still don't get a number from you. I know you are happy. Buy what is the figure?

I try to use less than rm77/mth from avoid paying the 1%. For you guys. So far so good
Bro, KWTBB no longer 1%, it is now 1.6% if exceed 300units.
But for March, April and May, 2015, try to submit 301 units in order to qualify for ICPT rebate.
Example:
300 units = you pay RM77
301 units = you pay RM71 (inclusive of KWTBB)
ICPT rebate 3 months only.

For those who don't understand what is KWTBB. It stand for Kumpulan Wang Tenaga Boleh Baharu.
https://ms-my.facebook.com/kwtbb
ozak
post Apr 26 2015, 11:54 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 26 2015, 10:58 AM)
Bro, KWTBB no longer 1%, it is now 1.6% if exceed 300units.
But for March, April and May, 2015, try to submit 301 units  in order to qualify for ICPT rebate.
Example:
300 units = you pay RM77
301 units = you pay RM71 (inclusive of KWTBB)
ICPT rebate 3 months only.

For those who don't understand what is KWTBB. It stand for Kumpulan Wang Tenaga Boleh Baharu.
https://ms-my.facebook.com/kwtbb
Why there is no announcement? This is Day light robbery already. Nobody aware of it.

I hardly use exceed rm70 nowadays. Pass 6mth, max rm65.
aeiou228
post Apr 26 2015, 06:54 PM

5,871 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 26 2015, 11:54 AM)
Why there is no announcement? This is Day light robbery already. Nobody aware of it.

I hardly use exceed rm70 nowadays. Pass 6mth, max rm65.
ICPT here:
http://www.tnb.com.my/announcement/2015/02...march-2015.html
Rebate of 2.25 sen/kWh effective from 1 March 2015 until 30 June 2015. This rebate will be applicable to all customers except Domestic customers with monthly consumption of 300kWh and below.

KWTBB increased from 1% to 1.6% since 1st January 2104. I think you submitted your meter reading below 300 units that's why you don't have to pay KWTBB and never realise the increase. tongue.gif
ozak
post Apr 26 2015, 10:30 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 26 2015, 06:54 PM)
ICPT here:
http://www.tnb.com.my/announcement/2015/02...march-2015.html
Rebate of 2.25 sen/kWh effective from 1 March 2015 until 30 June 2015. This rebate will be applicable to all customers except Domestic customers with monthly consumption of 300kWh and below.

KWTBB increased from 1% to 1.6% since 1st January 2104. I think you submitted your meter reading below 300 units that's why you don't have to pay KWTBB and never realise the increase.  tongue.gif
Normally I don't print out the bill which will show detail breakdown.

I just pay the amount when TNB email/sms to me. As long as the pay amount not crazy, I won't check.
noobiedonkey
post Apr 27 2015, 11:45 AM

810 posts

Anyone using off grid systems? how do you maximize a solar panel? be it 10w or 50w?
ozak
post Apr 27 2015, 11:46 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 26 2015, 10:26 AM)
Ya, what I mean is, shouldn't the fan run directly from the panel since it's 18v? Mine doesn't run at all. It moves when you connect but that's all. Is it because of the lack of amps? How much amps does a 50w produce? 50w/18v =2.77A?
18v is too high for your 12v fan. So you cannot run directly from the panel. You know the different number 18v and 12v doesn't match right? Your fan still can run on 13v and probably 14v.

Your panel probably produce 2.5A. Check the panel behind. It have a sticker with the spec write there.

Better get a charge controller. It is a best device to control the voltage and a lot of usage beside that.

For your infor, 18v will reduce down when there is a load. Depend how much the current been draw.
ozak
post Apr 27 2015, 11:47 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 27 2015, 11:45 AM)
Anyone using off grid systems? how do you maximize a solar panel? be it 10w or 50w?
Read back previous post.
trade818
post Apr 27 2015, 01:28 PM

64 posts

i was very interested especially when chokia started inquiring but the costs is too much. am i wrong?
noobiedonkey
post Apr 27 2015, 05:01 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 27 2015, 11:47 AM)
Read back previous post.
I reach page 10 already cannot tahan. any tips?
ozak
post Apr 27 2015, 05:11 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 27 2015, 05:01 PM)
I reach page 10 already cannot tahan. any tips?
Too much poison is it? tongue.gif

50w panel what you want maximize? Can generate 100w from 50w?
ozak
post Apr 27 2015, 05:12 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(trade818 @ Apr 27 2015, 01:28 PM)
i was very interested especially when chokia started inquiring but the costs is too much.  am i wrong?
You should ask yourself, what you want. Too general.
noobiedonkey
post Apr 27 2015, 05:29 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 27 2015, 05:11 PM)
Too much poison is it? tongue.gif

50w panel what you want maximize? Can generate 100w from 50w?
I mean I have a 50w panel, a charge controller, a car battery.
So far I can charge all my usb devices daily.

I'm trying to reduce RM 10 of my TNB bill. Is this possible?
ozak
post Apr 27 2015, 06:16 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 27 2015, 05:29 PM)

You can do a calculation.

50w expose 5hr a day, 50wx5hr=250whr. 1mth output is 250whrx365day/12=7.6kwh/mth.

Given the TNB rate is 0.218sen/kwh. So 7.6kwh x 0.218sen = RM1.65/mth can be reduce.

Is it possible?
Kiding
post Apr 27 2015, 07:56 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(noobiedonkey @ Apr 27 2015, 05:29 PM)

Don't ever think to invest solar power to reduce TNB bill, unless you apply Feed In Tariff. Our electricity is still consider low compare to those developed countries. When the day TNB charge RM1 per KWH, then you can think to invest solar power.
noobiedonkey
post Apr 27 2015, 08:33 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 27 2015, 06:16 PM)
You can do a calculation.

50w expose 5hr a day, 50wx5hr=250whr. 1mth output is 250whrx365day/12=7.6kwh/mth.

Given the TNB rate is 0.218sen/kwh. So 7.6kwh x 0.218sen = RM1.65/mth can be reduce.

Is it possible?
Okay, let me try from another angle, previously I said my dc fan is 12v .8A = 9.6W. So daily it consumes 230.4W correct? But assuming the sun shines for 5 hours, I would need a battery for the remaining 19hours right? So how big would the battery need to be? Btw, I need to run the fan 12 hours a day only but would like to know the calculation. Thanks.

66 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.1073sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:28 PM