5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread V12, 1Darkside ! 1Nikon ! D800 rumor !

Andy214
post Nov 1 2011, 11:45 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(MandyG @ Nov 1 2011, 11:00 AM)
If I didnt buy the filter is that ok for this moment... If I planning bring it over to Hong Kong this sat....
It's not required; It's mainly use for protection, usually in case of accident (which may not happen at all, or may; and if happen also depends what kind of accident).

Anyway, if you want to get a filter, just make sure you get a good one, don't get those cheap one; Not money cheap, but quality cheap; Go for brand like Hoya, B&W; The good one, you won't see any difference seeing through the glass, a poor filter, you will see difference. Some shops will show you the difference of different filter and explain to you. For low price yet good quality, normally the price will offer you ED Digital filter, especially for kit lens.

If you're around Klang Valley, can try the 2 camera shop at AmCorp mall; One is J-One and another D'Classic, both also good so far, and they can teach and explain to you about camera, etc.

Andy214
post Nov 1 2011, 12:32 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(pandabiru @ Nov 1 2011, 12:04 PM)
I once accidently dropped my camera bag with the lens facing down (the glass element at the bottom) and shattered my hoya uv filter.. without the filter, I can't really imagine the damage it might have caused to the lens.

Bottom line, get one if you can afford it. It's cheaper to replace the filter than the lens.
Yup, it depend on the accident, some the filter may not even protect.

Regardless, filter will affect the Image Quality; so its important to get a good quality filter, not because for better protection, but for retaining the image quality.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 1 2011, 12:14 PM)
Sandisk has 90MB/s SD card? o_O Isn't that the CF card?
Yes, new one, replacing 45MB/s version which is already discontinued, but the 90MB/s cost a bomb, about double the price.

Andy214
post Nov 1 2011, 02:11 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 1 2011, 12:54 PM)
actually u need to know the workings of the system and cant simply blame the staff.
a couple of photo companies i know, their cost price is actually not dealer price, but minimum selling price set by their HQ which is of cos a marked up price from dealer price, and its not possible for normal staff to sell at a lower price since the computer wont accept it.
so depending how much the HQ marks up, well the HQ needs to protect its ass also with so many branches.
if all their staff sell at very minimum profit margin, who want to pay their salary and expenses etc?
Not simply blaming staff, it's multi-standard, 2 person asking can get different price, even same person different time can get different price; I know their want to earn more commission, etc. they're just doing business, I don't mind them earning a little more, I usually don't bargain like crazy, I 'm not those, even RM10 also wanna bargain, and I don't like to keep asking prices around and comapre, as long as the price is "reasonable", and the seller is honest and good/nice; but I hate when they pretend or trying to cheat the customer and do those acting/tricks, it's so obvious (moreover, if the Customer knows about camera well, and there's so many shop around; it's common sense). Well, it's sales people after all, they just fall into the typical sales people; but not everyone needs to be like this, they have a choice to be what kind of sales they want to be. Just like insurance seller, they can join the crowd and become the typical insurance seller who use the same tactic and trick on their customer and also their first victim is their family and friends, find some old no more contact friends, etc. or they can be something different.

They can target to sell 1 unit and earn big margin, or they can sell more units with less margin; Short-term thinking, if they sell and earn high margin, the person found out they've been conned, especially when their friend got from the SAME shop few hundred cheaper. What happen? Of course, they're like pushing luck that the Customer doesn't know and don't bother or won't do anything, well, most customer even they know, they don't do anything other, at most just complain, like me. And sometimes, they may not stay in the company for very long anyway.

Well, anyway, it's how they wish to do their job; I can't stop them, but there's also nothing wrong to share experience and let more people aware of it. Their shop is famous and always full of customers anyway.

ADDED:
And you know what? I have a friend who work in sales line; Guess what? He's more aggressive when bargaining and he knows more about the inner workings of the system, he never believe their price is the lowest and will push more even already very low. So, who's wrong who's right?

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 1 2011, 01:56 PM)
Oh, that's the SDXC right?
No, same 32GB UHS-1 90MB/s.
the 45MB/s edition, it showed discontinued.

SDXC is 64GB and above right?

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 1 2011, 02:17 PM
Andy214
post Nov 2 2011, 09:47 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(makaroni @ Nov 1 2011, 11:09 PM)
hi all sifu, want to ask, just bought sigma 18-50mm f2.8 to pair with my D7000, the problem is its very soft at wide open & sharp at 3.5 onwards, any solution? perhap calibration will solve this?
AFAIK, it won't auto-focus in LIVE-VIEW; If yours is local warranty set and have this problem, can try send in to Sigma Malaysia for chip update.
Andy214
post Nov 2 2011, 05:57 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(pandabiru @ Nov 2 2011, 05:30 PM)
How about this Tokina AT-X M100 AF PRO D 100mm F/2.8 for macro? I heard good review about this lens, and 100mm is probably just nice to capture insect. You have more distance between the lens and the subject for lighting as well.
AFAIK, for 3rd party around 100mm range, most people go for Tamron version.

I'd still prefer the Nikon over these 3rd party:
1. Internal Focus; means it doesn't extend during focusing (for macro lens, it extends out very long...)
2. VR (may not be important for macro and using manual focus, but if you use for portrait as well, you'lll appreciate this)
3. Fast focusing speed and probably more accurate (may not be important for macro and using manual focus, but if you use for portrait as well, you'lll appreciate this)
4. Nano coating
5. Excellent built quality
6. Nice and creamy bokeh.

Downside:
Focus-Breathing; it's the downside for using Internal Focus (IF).

The price maybe difference by almost 2 times 3rd party (e.g. Tamron), but what you get is much much more; unlike the 17-50mm f/2.8mm range.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 2 2011, 05:59 PM
Andy214
post Nov 3 2011, 02:53 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 2 2011, 06:33 PM)
I may agree a bit on the first part with the Nikon 105mm f/2.8 VR even though I find that people owning the 105mm f/2.8 VR would usually shoot potraiture with that lens in studio or private one on one where fast focusing does not really matter. Where fast focusing is required, they take out the 70-200mm f/2.8 VR to do the job.

But comparing the Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8 output quality alone, nothing 3rd party out there even comes close. Whereas if you're using Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro lens, you'd be hard pressed to differentiate a picture taken with it and a Nikkor 105mm f/2.8 VR. That's how good the Tamron macro is.
When push the dial to limit focus, it's focusing speed is actually acceptable and usable for events, still can shoot walk ins and capture the action, another key is to pre-focus first; The focus is actually quite fast at time, from very blur, it can suddenly pops up clear sharp photo when you half-press shutter, unless it hunts. Well, that's my personal experience anyway.

In terms of focusing speed, internal focus, bokeh, sharpness, I don't think the Tamron is comparable; For macro use, it should be no problem, it should work fine besides, in macro mode, most people will stop down to smaller aperture, focusing speed is less of a problem especially when they use manual focus and people may not mind the extension; But if truly to compare both, there's like so much difference, which makes the Nikkor's price isn't really expensive.

As for 17-50mm range, if you read around, you'll find most reputable review sites and also users comment on how good the Tamron is against the Nikkors, that it's comparable image quality (similar like what you said, people may not be able to tell which is which and it's wide open comparison); Plus, both have no VR, both have no Nano coating, not much difference except for quality and performance, but the price difference is like around 1:4 price difference (new vs new), 1 Nikkor you can purchase 4 Tamron; as compared with the 105, there's much difference in specs and quality and performance, and it's about 1:3, 1 Nikkor you can purchase about 3 Tamron (might need to top up a little?).
Well, that's my personal opinion, plus it's FX lens and moreover for FX user, the budget for lens is different, as compared with DX user, the DX lens pricing is different; RM1K to FX user is different for usual DX user, so the difference on the 17-50mm range for usual DX user can be very heavy; If you're talking about working professional or more affordable user, then it's different story.
As for the 105 macro, if for purely macro work, and all those VR, extension, Nano coatings, etc aren't important, then of course, it's different story; It really depends how one person sees it.
So, it's just how I see it, I do take into consideration on the additional features provided like VR, Nano Coatings, IF, etc; If Tamron unit were to provide this few similar spec, it may go up to RM2K or more, which make the price even less difference; by then, would people still think it's worth to go for Tamron? Or Nikkor's more worth?
It's also same like cars, some people they don't need more than 2 airbags, they don't care about additional features, so if there is 2 car, one with far better features but price a little higher, they may not feel the price it cheap because they don't see on those detail feature (which if were to be added in the car without, may cost more).

Andy214
post Nov 3 2011, 12:41 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 3 2011, 12:22 PM)
DX version of the 70-200?  shocking.gif
Yup, already have before; If not wrong Tokina also has one simiar 50-135.

QUOTE(ifer @ Nov 3 2011, 12:32 PM)
eh i thought this lens was release quite some times ago?
f2.8 right?
or the new one comes with OS the old one doesn't?
Yup, old one doesn't have OS, and it's soft wide open especially when zoom to max.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 3 2011, 12:42 PM
Andy214
post Nov 3 2011, 03:07 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Nov 3 2011, 02:46 PM)
Yes it's a macro lens but it doesn't excel in it. There are better ones.
It doesn't excels due to the IF, which have Focus Breathing issue, need to know how to use it properly. Otherwise, it's great.
You can try get the older 105 AF-D version.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 3 2011, 03:07 PM
Andy214
post Nov 3 2011, 03:29 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(C_Sagi @ Nov 3 2011, 03:11 PM)
Do u think BTS has the older one for test ? Just curious. hmm.gif
Not sure, didn't notice it last time; can try call and ask.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 3 2011, 03:16 PM)
I did during I AM NIKON Show at MV... definitely not up to my expectation. A no no for me.
More suitable for family use, capturing moments; especially with all the features and high fps. I guess they target what those compact camera people are looking for and facing problem with their current compacts, which has slow performance, not able to capture the moment and also picture quality; Just that the price is too much.

Andy214
post Nov 3 2011, 03:44 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 3 2011, 03:34 PM)
I'll go with the NEX5n or NEX7 for that... Or maybe Fuji x10.
X10 thumbup.gif

NEX-7 way too pricey, around RM4K?
Andy214
post Nov 4 2011, 02:55 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Nov 3 2011, 09:02 PM)
So What's your recommendadtion if someone is looking for a lens, using DX body, to be used for both macro and portrait?

....that someone is me in about 2-3 months time  tongue.gif
First off, what's your budget.
Second, do you need 1:1 macro, or just normal close-up with do.

For low budget, there's the 40mm f/2.8 DX AF-S Micro; It's good for "casual" macro, but may not be so good for insects, bugs, etc as you need to focus really close. It can also be use for Portrait.

For portrait and under budget, you can check out the 50mm f/1.8G AF-S. This lens is great, sharp and very value for money.

Depending on your budget, you can get 2 lens; For macro, you also have option to use those close-up filter on your normal/kit lens with little cost (e.g. Raynox DCR-250 for around RM250)

Just sharing my personal point of view; It's still best for your to try it out yourself and decide.

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Nov 3 2011, 10:25 PM)
Well, good read. Nice write up and opinions.

Car example also pretty good.

Well, i pretty much have the same dilemma between Nikor and 3rd party lens.

Taking car as example,

Like me, the one criteria i buy car is to ensure i like it. There is no point to buy a Proton then upgrade later to City.
I would straight go for City when i can afford. If i cant afford a City now, i rather go for other cheaper alternative than getting a new car.

Which comes Second hand car. Second hand City? As long as its well maintain, its gonna be fine. The price cut come with risk, but risk can be minimize with perseverance.

So i get myself an used 17-55 which is still expensive than the 3rd party 17-50, but not that much diff actually as new 17-50 around 2k, while 17-55 2nd hand around 3.5k. It might not be apple with apple. When you check out 2nd hand 3rd party 17-50 then you will be able to see that many ppl selling off their 17-50, why? Because they went for upgrade. With so many supply, its kind of drop in value tho.

17-55 dont need VR or Nano, its just good, thats why its call DX King, until a new king comes along, there's only one King.

If really want to get 3rd party, get an used lens tho.

Just my 2 cents
NEW 17-50mm f/2.8 Tamron is around RM1.2K... not RM2K.
NEW 17-55mm f/2.8 Nikon is around RM4.8K? That's about 4X difference, and for MOST DX users who are using for hobby, they may have low budget; They MAY NOT need to get the BEST lens, but they may only need a good lens.
One can spend RM3K to get the 17-50mm Tamron, then the rest of the money can be invest on other lens for other purpose or save the money for other purpose, family, etc. It's not always one must get the BEST Lens there is, I did not disagree it's very good, but it really depends on the needs of individual, and for me, to compare the specs and features, the price difference is too much for me. If I have the money, I may consider to invest on FX lens and upgrade to FX later, but that's me.
And talk about 2nd hand price, RM4.8K drop to RM3.5K, for me, is way too much. And you mean people don't sell their 17-55mm? Many people sell it too, and if you google around, you may find there's more debate on choosing 3rd party for this range. Either way, there's no wrong or right choosing either, it really depends on individual; But there's NO need to get the BEST there is, unless one has the money and/or need it (and not want it).
For people on the job, that's different story, the performance and accuracy of the 17-55mm may be very useful for their job and most likely, the money isn't really an issue because the job will earn back. That said, there're also professional photographers using either lens and it's nothing wrong with using either lens, it's just that the Nikkor may be more useful/helpful in many situations of their job.

Macro lens also don't need VR or Nano; but it's always good to have, especially when you're paying for the price. If you're paying RM3K for a Nikon old generation, without VR, without Nano; then the new version comes with VR and Nano and priced the same, which will you choose?
The comparison for Macro Lens between Tamron and Nikon, there's the difference in specs, IF, VR, Nano, etc.
So, even it may have about 1:3 price difference, but if you were to include those features into Tamron, will the price difference still be 1:3? That's what most people don't see.
Just like cars, a Japanese car priced at RM90K, a continental car priced at RM90K, but there is a huge difference in terms of specifications, but people may not see, and they may say they don't need the feature. But think for a second, you're paying so much with less features and spec, less/no tax, etc? Don't need is OK, but it's NICE TO HAVE.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 4 2011, 03:05 PM
Andy214
post Nov 4 2011, 03:06 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Nov 4 2011, 02:59 PM)
ya lor , i wonder how does 24-70 perform in close up shot?

<-- wan shoot figure.
Should be OK; If you need more magnification, can try with close up filter and low cost.
Andy214
post Nov 4 2011, 03:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Nov 4 2011, 03:22 PM)
Good point u got there, hmm, im not sure why your tammy 17-50 1.2k, but those that i check, i think i check sigma, is around 2k, maybe updated version of 17-50 gua.

Well, if i understand you correctly, u mean 2nd hand price should be higher instead of 3.5k for 17-55?

No i never mention ppl dont sell their 17-55, i just said, alot of ppl selling their 17-50 3rd party, so whether a person buying 17-55 or 17-50, my recommendation is to buy 2nd hand. And many who sold theur 17-55 is due to upgrade to FX, and not due to inferior lens. Meaning, they sell their CIty to get Accord and not because their proton having problem.

As you said, if one plan to go FX soon, then one might buy fx lens so may use with new body once get FX, but then with the same argument of earning from photography or not earning from it, if one not earning from it, unlikely they will go FX anytime soon, FX body aint cheap, especially if you go for the new one.

Again, personal preference i guess.
Sigma is more pricey here, but it's less sharp; If you have done your research before buying the 17-55mm; you''ll find many debate and review on the 3rd party choice, and you'll notice many review give positive review for the Tamron, that for it's price, it's a good value and alternative.
Of course, if you have the budget, I'll recommend the Nikon 17-55mm anytime. Not just because of the brand, but for the accuracy, performance, built quality, etc.

Yes, RM3.5K second hand price is really low, that's like around RM1.8K difference if the new is RM4.8K; There're also some which sells at RM3K++ lower than RM3.5K. But if it's been used for many years, then it's different story, there're those that sell in just around 1 year, and that's a big loss to sell less than RM4K.

Yup, hence, I said, buy what you need and what suits you; Some people may not need the 17-55mm, but because they WANT they save their money for it, and later they found out, for their NEEDS, the 3rd party will do, they may sell it and get other lens instead or for other reasons. Just an example. It's King of DX, but one also must differentiate NEEDS and WANTS. On the job, again it's different story, but there's also no wrong to use 3rd party, just that if there is problem during the shooting day and it's cause by 3rd party, then it's not so nice lah. For the job, people are paying for the service, people would expect a good product to be used, or have backup/etc.
Andy214
post Nov 5 2011, 02:23 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 4 2011, 06:24 PM)
Perhaps when Tamron sells their 17-50 lens, they should come with a caveat to say, "Please don't expect wonders when you buy this lens".  biggrin.gif Then perhaps we won't get people complaining why their Tamron 17-50 lens is not up to their expectations.
Not sure, most I read is positive comment and good alternative; Just if use in low light action, can be/post a problem, otherwise, the overall use it still much better than kit lens, sharp wide open. For budget DX users looking for upgrade, a constant f/2.8 aperture lens, this is a very good choice.

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Nov 4 2011, 06:24 PM)
In the first place, I think we cannot compare car prices in MY. They are all screwed up. When you compare conti vs jap cars, one needs to compare reliability, spare parts availability and price. Not just price of car alone. Not all jap cars are created equal.
If there's no volume, spare parts will be a problem, who will bring in more parts, same goes for price. If we go to UK, the situation is reverse, the japs have spare parts issue. Reliability wise is also depends, if there's good service centre and workshop, it helps to maintain the car better. The japs here are stripped down specs, plain and empty, but priced much higher; no competition or threat even though the contis gone aggressive and started offering much more features, higher spec, at lower price; not to mention their units sold per month is much more lesser than the japs.

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Nov 4 2011, 06:53 PM)
Yup, i think the one with VC

Unlikely will sell, even if i do upgrade to FX, i can always keep it with a second body.

If sell, definitely not lower than 3.5k.

imo, Tokina famous for its wide angle, Sigma for its 50mm, and Tamron for its focusing issue.

So if im gonna get 17-50, definitely gonna skip Tamron prefer Sigma then the rest 3rd party lens.

Just preference tho. Rather get Perodua than Proton.
Not saying that you would sell, but as a general term; When upgrade FX, one might wanna get the 24-70 instead which is even better.... the DX as second body may use for other purpose, but that really depends on the photographer. Just giving an example of many.

I have own both Sigma and Tamron; Sigma is big (72mm), and produce nice creamy bokeh especially when you shoot close-up as it has macro ability of 1:3; unfortunate, it has issue with live view focusing, unable to focus, need to update chip and the Sigma support in Malaysia is... *coughs*
And the Sigma is kinda soft wide-open, when stopped down, it's good. But the price of Sigma is high in Malaysia, even AP set. Authorised set even more expensive, yet the support seems not so good compared with Tamron and Nikon (which both is by handle Futuromic?).

QUOTE(ojtee @ Nov 5 2011, 12:33 AM)
Actually i was thinking of either the 85mm micro or the 105mm micro, since i already have the 35mm f1.8, its good for general portrait, but was thinking of getting another lens for macro which i could use for portrait as well.

I would be using the macro partly for work, although i wouldnt get paid much, but it will help in some ways and possibly get me returns in a long run.
85mm micro is DX only lens and it's max aperture is f/3.5; The price is much cheaper tough; but in comparison, the 105mm might be better in terms of overall specs and built quality. For portrait, the 105mm can be too far, but it gives more tight and even better subject separation.

It depends on your budget, the 105mm micro can be expensive, really depends if you willing to spend so much for it and what kind of macro you're looking at. You can see more samples from:
http://www.pixel-peeper.com/

Andy214
post Nov 8 2011, 03:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Nov 8 2011, 03:01 PM)
As A D7k user my point of view to the P/C list are

Arguably the best high ISO performance of any current APS-C DSLR - Really?
Good build quality and handling - Yes agree for among Nikon DX range but not to other brands.
Efficient Active D-Lighting - yupp
Comprehensive customization options - They are
Fast contrast detect Auto Focus in Live View - yes
Useful electronic horizon - yup
Twin SD-card slots - rike this <3 put 2 16gb card in never need to carry additional card with me while being afraid of losing them at the same time will have enough capacity for 5500 JPEG pics and some raw

Conclusion - Cons
Tendency to overexpose in bright sunshine/high contrast situations - True
ISO button is poorly positioned, and cannot be assigned to any other control point - very very true (tip - can assign iso sensitivity button at the front "fn" button. Will work like a canon when u press it then adjust with thumb dial.
Ditto white balance: poorly positioned, cannot be re-assigned - think this is alright for me
Exposure mode dial slightly loose, and easily knocked - really?
Shooting mode dial can be awkward to manipulate - Not really...
AF can be hesitant in poor light - never had that issue but shooting whiite wall yes
Auto ISO function is confusing and poorly implemented (but no worse than any other Nikon DSLR)
Aperture not adjustable in manual mode in live view (and won't stop up/down in any mode until exposure).
No live histogram or exposure indicator in live view/movie shooting.
High ISO depends on how to test and determine; Based on professional test result, it is arguably the best during it's time. For users, they may disagree or have different point of view which can due to their usage, but that still doesn't mean it is not. One thing for sure is, it's still at least 1 stop behind D700; actually more if we analyze the dark areas or we compare higher ISO details.

So far, seems I'm OK with the ISO button position, maybe already used to it.

Aperture IS adjustable during Live View, it just didn't change what you see in Live View, when you shoot, the output is correct.
Cons: For people who depend on Live View, they will not know the exposure is correct or wrong as the Live View is still bright and clear. e.g. f/2.8 when you turn on Live View, then you adjust the aperture to f/5.6, the Live View remain the SAME. But when you turn OFF the Live View and turn back on again, you will see the Live View has changed.
Pros: If you want to shoot at f/5.6 or f/8 or small aperture for Night Landscape, say you set at f/8, and now you will face problem trying to acquire focus. You can change your aperture to f/2.8, turn off Live View and turn back on, now everything is bright, focus and lock, then change your aperture to f/8 and shoot.

The non-adjustable aperture, I suppose should apply for Video Recording; which is troublesome as you need to stop recording, change aperture, turn off Live View, then turn back on to "update" the aperture.

Some of the things can actually be solve through firmware, just whether Nikon will resolve it or not, and also add new features....

One thing I'm not really happy with is the tendency to back focus to the background when it cannot acquire focus on the small subject, e.g. around the same size as the focus point; This happens on Nikon lens and also same experience from my friend. Why it's a problem is because the indicator shows in focus and lock on, the viewfinder looks OK (well, after all, it's small) but after take photo and zoom in, will notice the background is in focus instead. Actually, this issue discussed before last time; What I did nowadays to ensure or prevent it from back focusing when the subject is small or the focus point "coverage" may cover the background is, I focus on the subject's body or anywhere within the focal plane. I tried multiple shots sometimes and confirm that when focusing on the subject, it tends to focus on the background. It seems the "coverage" is not as small as the focus point; The focus point is just a rough reference, the actual point maybe rounder or bigger, sometimes it may focus on the background instead and the indicator will show in focus, which becomes inaccurate physically although it's logically correct for the camera as how the camera see is different.

Andy214
post Nov 8 2011, 04:19 PM

3,308 posts

Night View from 15th Floor, The Gardens Hotel & Residence

Andy214
post Nov 8 2011, 04:44 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Nov 8 2011, 04:29 PM)
I will choose B+w over Hoya because of quality. I own 2 B+w filter and hoya, definitely B+W win because of their
glass performance like no white balance change and low glare.
and also, get the new one, the nano coating smile.gif
BMW vs Honda

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 8 2011, 04:45 PM
Andy214
post Nov 10 2011, 10:36 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Nov 10 2011, 10:01 AM)
8GB? Not being sufficient at all. I need 16GB at least.

Even you do own a 200MB/s card, I don't see how that gonna be an advantage when you use it on a DSLR.
16GB also not enough one, hehe, get 32GB, less worry.

UHS-1 (45MB/s) vs 30MB/s edition, you can feel slight difference, when you review picture and browsing through pictures, it's slightly faster, the green LED goes away faster; Let's say you're shooting RAW + JPEG, after your press the shutter, with UHS-1 (45MB/s), the green LED goes away faster, means it writes faster to the card. It may not be very important, but it's good when you're shooting action, or when you need to speed.

Not sure about the 90MB/s edition; I read some sites, it seems the 90MB/s gives no difference in performance, probably because the test is not using RAW + JPEG mode, which will produce larger file size in total (but still 2 files)? But the test, the guy tested BURST mode, both 45MB/s and 90MB/s card clears around the same time. If true, it would mean the camera itself doesn't support up to 90MB/s, but I can't be sure of that, just sharing.

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Nov 10 2011, 10:08 AM)
i already got UHS-I card..tested on my d7k...
so far...UHS-I vs class 10, not much difference...or maybe dont have difference at all

need to tryout other brand such as panasonic or Lexar biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
Got, try monitor how fast the camera writes to the card everytime you take a photo; If you take JPEG only, maybe no difference? Try take RAW or even better, RAW+JPEG.
Also, try review/browsing through photos, the next photo should load up quicker and smoother.

Finally, try BURST mode at 6FPS, after the buffer is full, the fps should slow down already, let go and calculate how long it takes to write to the card and clears the buffer; The UHS-1 should be able to clear the buffer faster, unless that is.. a counterfeit?

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 10 2011, 10:38 AM
Andy214
post Nov 10 2011, 11:08 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Nov 10 2011, 10:55 AM)
I got 2x 16GB. Approximately 800++ exposures on 14-bit Compressed RAW and 600++ on 14-bit Loseless RAW for one card. That should be sufficient to cover a one day event. Surpassing the mark should charge more tongue.gif

Technically you should be right on the LED blinking, but how much does it affect my shooting? So far other than flash cycle time which is more crucial, I don't feel any bottleneck regardless of speed while shooting yet. And hell yeah, my default mode is 14-bit Loseless RAW on max megapixels.

Added on November 10, 2011, 10:58 am

Will be anticipating for the result of your proper test than assumption.

However, as refer to my post above, is there any bottleneck that should use 90MB/s than 30MB/s?
If you have 2 X 16GB means already got 32GB lo, hehe; I thought you have 8GB and wanna get 16GB. tongue.gif
But having 1 32GB can be good/nice, if you're considering upgrading, got extra space.

May not really affect your shooting, but may give better experience and feel; Just like after you snap and immediately review the photo, the speed, but it's very very slight only. I think the more obvious if say you're browsing through your photos to find that photo or when you want to show the client/friends a certain photo, the overall performance is slightly faster; It's not really an issue, I can bear with the slight lag, but having a faster speed is "nice to have", it's not a necessity. That said, Class 10 also got many speed, from 10MB/s up to 30MB/s, the speed between 20MB/s and 30MB/s isn't really obvious as well, and may not be important to everyone. So, it really depends if you think the extra speed is nice to have.
When I purchase the UHS-1 time, I did consider whether should I just get the 30MB/s and save a little money; but after some consideration, I just get the UHS-1, after all, the extra speed can come in handy and also when transfer files between PC.

Andy214
post Nov 10 2011, 11:51 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Nov 10 2011, 11:26 AM)
I prefer to have multiple card with adequate capacity than one king card. 8GB is arguably insufficient, but 16GB should be it. In fact, the battery will go until approximately 30%++ from 100% after filling the 16GB. The Secondary 16GB storing JPEG should has sufficient capacity for extra spaces to store RAW if the 1st card is filled up until the battery fully drained. Well, that's how I utilize both my 16GB at the moment for event shooting.

Futhermore, if I buy bigger MC I need bigger HDD and HDD prices these days sky rocket until next universe laugh.gif

I... don't... really show... photos to my client.... ON THE SPOT tongue.gif
What King card sweat.gif , where got King Card, there is 64GB~128GB already. Just that if you plan to upgrade can "always" consider 32GB, not saying you must get it. Just suggest to you, not saying it's King or Must or Best. It's not correct to think like this, those that find 8GB sufficient will think why need 16GB, and so on, it's never ending. It's just a common suggestion for getting a bigger available size if the price is OK. For 8GB "supporters", as upgrade, they can get 16GB and keep 8GB as backup or in 2nd slot (if available), similarly, 16GB supporters can get 32GB as upgrade and put in slot 1. As I said, it's personal preference and choice.

Your battery seems drain very fast? You review your picture a lot or something? I filled the 16GB and still have more than 50% battery juice to spare; not yet cover the deleted photos. Or is it you're using battery grip battery or something?

Whether you show or not is not a matter... I'm just giving examples "lah"... sweat.gif
Plus, sometimes, it's not a matter you want to show or not; Sometimes, the client demand to see the photos, especially say a bunch of girls, after take, they want to see how they look on the spot, if not satisfied with their pose or they feel their angle not nice, etc. they will want to re-take. It really depends on situation, you can't say there's no such thing.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Nov 10 2011, 12:01 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0573sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:56 AM