26 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

soonwai
post Mar 6 2012, 03:54 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Mar 6 2012, 07:37 AM)
I just checked with Hunt they are free gift from the Mikrotik MCTNA Training

Rb751U-2HnD
There's a reason they're giving that out for free. :-) More people using it the better. Hope someone finds out what's wrong with it.
soonwai
post Mar 7 2012, 01:15 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Mar 6 2012, 05:46 PM)
did you test it with 5.06 firmware ?
cpu utilization , flash process seem to makan alot of cpu time causing whole router to slow/hang/drop packet/wifi cannot connect
Not yet. Maybe later this week. Strangely my friend's RB751U is now 6days uptime. No probs yet. Also on 5.14.

Added on March 7, 2012, 1:41 am
QUOTE(lara_ @ Mar 6 2012, 11:50 PM)
I am going to get a mikrotik router for bandwidth control at home.
Do you recommend RB750GL?

ps: I will plug my existing router dir-615 for wifi purpose.
Highly recommended. For its price, nothing else really comes close. It's very flexible.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 7 2012, 01:41 AM
soonwai
post Mar 7 2012, 10:36 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 6 2012, 05:01 PM)
I doubt it have physical h/w problem. Maybe just OS / firmware.
I hope so too. Quite confident that an OS update will solve the problem.
soonwai
post Mar 7 2012, 10:43 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Mar 7 2012, 10:03 AM)
you try compare settings between your 751u and his one line by line...
That's why it's strange as I'm the one who setup for him. It's almost exactly the same as mine. Mine has 4 additional IP/Mangle rules but they're all passthrough, just for monitoring traffic by IP. One of my logging rules goes to a syslog server. I think that's all the differences. Dunnolah.

Added on March 7, 2012, 10:50 am
QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 7 2012, 10:40 AM)
Can you check if interface have CRC error?
Funny you should ask me to do this now. My Flash process acting up again. Interface vlan500, TX errors increasing. I can still login to via Winbox and am making a supout.rif file now.

A minute after starting the supout.rif, winbox disconnected and now I can't log back in. Will let it run for awhile. How big is a supout.rif anyway?

Just checked on my friend's RB751U, still running, no tx/rx drops/errors on any of the interfaces.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 7 2012, 10:50 AM
soonwai
post Mar 7 2012, 06:25 PM

11,455 posts

Mikrotik support answered putting a new angle on this problem.
Support output file shows problems with FTP on router.
Did you use FTP server of router by any application on your router?

Router's FTP server is active on mine on port 21 but I don't use it. Well, used it once today to transfer the supout.rif file and once in a blue moon to copy out the backup files.

I also have a dstnat NAT rule to forward port 21 from interface unifi to my local LAN PC running an FTP server.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 7 2012, 06:31 PM
soonwai
post Mar 7 2012, 09:44 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Mar 7 2012, 06:37 PM)
i disabled ftp service .. use the drag n drop from winbox to windows smile.gif
well even if the ftp service is running n nobody accesses it why would it cause the flash process to be high ?

cause if some one access the ftp it would sure be logged in to the logs what..

weird.. man
I have to keep the FTP service active cause I can't dragndrop to Winbox because Winbox running under Mac Wine emulator.

Yeah, double weird. I'm the only one who use the ftp. Any attempts to connect from outside is port forwarded to my FTP server. Dunno what's happening. Maybe I will try disabling FTP service and see if it still happens. But yours is disabled and the prob still occurs on yours, right? My friends RB751U which is still running OK also has FTP service enabled but he doesn't have the port forwarding for port 21. Probably a red herring. I've replied to support, see what they have to say.

Added on March 7, 2012, 9:46 pm@MX510 Have you worked with the RB751U much? Did you have encounter any probs with it?

This is the thread on Mikrotik forums where JinXXX first reported the problem.

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=59064

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 7 2012, 09:46 PM
soonwai
post Mar 8 2012, 10:28 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 7 2012, 11:44 PM)
So far 2d 3 hours up time, no error transmission recorded.
My friends one coming up to 8 days uptime now. No Flash CPU prob yet. No TX drops. Also on 5.14 like me. Why oh why?
soonwai
post Mar 10 2012, 02:53 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Mar 8 2012, 11:55 PM)
Wow, so much action happening in this thread.... when i started.. we had NOBODY....
Do people want to list what Mikrotik products they own?

I can make a list on the first page!
Sure, why not, I have an RB750GL and RB751U-2HnD.

Added on March 10, 2012, 3:00 am
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Mar 8 2012, 01:08 PM)
if you export the configuration
both the same except for mac address and unifi username n password ?
Not 100% identical but both our setups were based on the one from my RB750GL. The differences, off the top of my head:
1. Mine has extra 10 /ip mangle passthrough rules which I use to monitor traffic by ip.
2. In /ip firewall I have 2 drop rules for 2 websites, forum.lowyat.net (to block ipv4 when I was testing ipv6) and for a BT tracker.
3. I have a port forward for port 21 to a local FTP server.

I think that's about it. The rest are the same.

Added on March 10, 2012, 3:02 am
QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 8 2012, 10:42 AM)
Actually what you can do is swap the h/w and test. If your friend allow.
Don't think that'll be possible. Perhaps what I can try is backup his config and restore onto mine and see what happens. Might just try that.

Added on March 10, 2012, 3:04 am
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Mar 8 2012, 06:06 PM)
that power problem is for the initial batch back in oct 2011, i think all the current batch dont have that problem..

but then @soonwai , bought 2 units of 751u and 1 have problem the other dont have problem even though both have been upgraded to 5.14 ..
Yeah, bought 3 days apart. JinXXX, you swapped for a new unit when you first had this problem right?

Added on March 10, 2012, 3:10 amJust checked, sometime during the last 24hrs, my vlan500 interface TX drops increased from ~7000 - 21774.

My friend's still going OK, no TX drops, uptime now 9+ days.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 10 2012, 03:10 AM
soonwai
post Mar 17 2012, 01:28 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Mar 15 2012, 09:18 PM)
Question :

2 offices are next door to each other, with their own subnets & have a LAN cable ready to connect both of the networks together.

Office A is using 10.0.0.x subnet with UniFi DIR-615 on 10.0.0.1
Office B is using 192.168.1.x subnet with UniFi DIR-615 on 192.168.1.1

I need to join these 2 subnets together so that both offices can see each other's PCs, network printers & file servers, but will not use the UniFi that don't belong to their own subnet.

Is the 250GS is able to achieve this or I need to use the 750GL?
I'm a noob in all this networking stuff but you can achieve this using 2 capable routers (e.g.: RB750GL) either with static routing or OSPF. One problem I see with this is that broadcast won't work so while you can still FTP to the next door office, you won't see any automatic service discoveries.

I think a L3 switch instead of routers will also work but no idea if the RB250GS is such a beast. Chances are it is since it can handle VLANs.

Added on March 17, 2012, 1:47 pm
QUOTE(eric_tan @ Mar 12 2012, 06:03 PM)
FYI:

I had backup my configuration from my 433UAH and then restore into 750GL using backup & restore.

Everything works, with no issues at all, except the "interface" names all mixed up.
After renaming the interface names. You also need to check anything that is linked to the interface (that you had renamed) is attached to right interface.

Other than that, everything works perfectly....

You could also use "export" and "import" the configuration from command line.... but I was too lazy....
Same thing happened to me when I restored the RB750 backup into a RB750GL. All ethernet ports got reversed. 1 became 5 and so on.

Added on March 17, 2012, 1:51 pmBeen away for a few days, my RB751U-2HnD hasn't rebooted. Uptime now 10days but TX drop has increased to 156000. I think last I posted here was about 22000.

Friend's RB751U, still going well, no TX drops, uptime 17days already.

I think I'm going to backup his config and restore onto mine and just change the username/password for unifi and test from there.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 17 2012, 01:51 PM
soonwai
post Apr 13 2012, 12:41 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Apr 13 2012, 12:27 AM)
Hi guys, need a lil bit help on pppoe.
just bought rb751g and unifi.
currently not using the hypptv so i don't mind about the vlan things.
i've set up using the default configuration and add new pppoe client.
i've entered my unifi username and also password but apparently,
the status keep on "dialing..disconnect..dialing..disconnect and so on"
the log from pppoe topics are ;

ether1: sent PADI to FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
  sessionid=0x0000
  host-uniq=0x46
  service-name=
pppoe-out1 : terminating.. - disconnect
pppoe-out1 : LCP lowerdown
pppoe-out1 : LCP down event in initial state
pppoe-out1 : disconnect

using default config here
You still need to setup an interface for vlan500 for PPPoE. vlan600 no need if you're not using HyppTV.
soonwai
post Dec 10 2012, 02:58 AM

11,455 posts

Has anyone tried 6.0rc5? I"m getting much better wifi performance with it on an RB751G-2HnD than 5.21 on an RB751U-2HnD. Previously I could not stream movies from Plex Media Server to my iPhone. Now it's OK. Router is downstairs, front of the house to room upstairs at the back of the house. about 50ft.
soonwai
post Dec 10 2012, 12:28 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(miramar @ Dec 10 2012, 12:14 PM)
Are there any hardware differences between the G and the U, aside from more RAM and the GB switch?
I don't think so I guess it's all in the software.

I think I will do the same and upgrade the RB751U-2HnD to 6.0rc5 and see if that helps.
soonwai
post Dec 10 2012, 10:14 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Dec 10 2012, 04:54 PM)
We installed and sold hundreds of RB751, most of our customers reported better wireless performance than DIR-615.  blush.gif
That's good to hear. For me, the RB751U-2HnD (v5.21) is the worse wifi AP I've ever used. From the same spot in my house where I had a DIR-615, AEBS & DIR-655, the RB751U performed terribly and I mean really, really bad. As an AP, of course, as PtP with 2 units in nvstreme, it's great.

The RB751G-2HnD is another story. Performs much better as AP. This one has 6.0rc5. I didn't try this one with 5.x so I don't know whether it's the hardware or OS.

When I have time, I think I will upgrade the RB751U to 6.0 and test again.

btw, do you sell mmcx antenna or pigtail converter for rp-sma?

Added on December 10, 2012, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 10 2012, 05:52 PM)
Don't waste money. I have one. Even 10ft away clear view from the antenna it get 1/2 strength signal.

Unless the new Firmware fix the problem. You can read in mikrotik forum I am not the first one complaning.
Yeah, I read your post. I already have a spare antenna. Looking to get a converter and try it. Maybe 6.0 fixes it because it sure is a lot better than for 5.x with internal antennas.

Added on December 11, 2012, 4:51 pm
QUOTE(miramar @ Dec 10 2012, 12:14 PM)
Are there any hardware differences between the G and the U, aside from more RAM and the GB switch?
Just found one more difference, with RB751G, you can put all 5 ethernet ports into a switch group. With RB751U, only ether2-5 can be switched together. If you want to use ether1, you gotta bridge or route it.

Added on December 11, 2012, 5:04 pmIf you ever want to mess with someone with an RB751U, here's what you do:

Let's say the RB751U is on 6.0rc5.

Restore to it a config backup from an RB751G also on 6.0rc5.

After that, you can set it up, change your identity, add an interface, change an IP address or whatever you like, it works as expected. Until you reboot...

If you reboot the router, all the changes are gone. Somehow the router reverts back to the config restored earlier. Even configuration reset doesn't help. So wierd.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 11 2012, 05:04 PM
soonwai
post Dec 11 2012, 05:11 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Dec 11 2012, 05:08 PM)
You mean with internal antenna or external antenna?
With internal antennas.
soonwai
post Dec 11 2012, 06:14 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(kaisam @ Dec 11 2012, 06:03 PM)
I'm got 1 mmcx antenna with convertor. Antenna is 5dbi.

If want pls let me know, coz i'm not use it already...

Thank you.  biggrin.gif
Isn't that for 3G 2.1 GHz? Will it work for Wifi 2.4Ghz?
soonwai
post Dec 11 2012, 09:22 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Dec 11 2012, 08:41 PM)
Great, btw can I downgrade the firmware back to 5.21 after I install 6.0rc5 firmware? I really need this to enhance my wifi ap.
Yes, you can downgrade but 6.0rc5 is running fine so you probably don't have to.
soonwai
post Dec 12 2012, 03:11 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(kaisam @ Dec 11 2012, 10:52 PM)
is Wifi 2.4Ghz.

not 3G.

Thank you.    biggrin.gif
Ok, best price please unless you want to donate to me. :-)
soonwai
post Dec 13 2012, 07:39 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(vcanoi @ Dec 13 2012, 06:41 PM)
I just get the certificate MTCNA. hope can join this group and learn from Otai2 here smile.gif
Wah, MTCNA, have to learn from you not the other way around.

Added on December 13, 2012, 7:40 pm
QUOTE(kaisam @ Dec 12 2012, 05:30 PM)
u not sleep untill 3am ?   ohmy.gif

play ur new toys ?  icon_rolleyes.gif

mmcx convertor with 5dbi antenna + pos laju = RM50

Thank you.    biggrin.gif
Actually I already got antenna, don't spose you want to sell just the converter.

Added on December 14, 2012, 2:01 amJust wondering, what do you all use to test network performance?

iperf2, iperf3 or jperf?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 14 2012, 02:01 AM
soonwai
post Dec 17 2012, 10:50 PM

11,455 posts

I've tested winbox.exe with a few Wine implementations on the Mac.

Winebottler (Free)
CrossOver 11 & 12 (Commercial)
PlayOnMac (Free)

They all work well (including connecting with MAC). The only prob I've encountered is if you use the beta Mac drivers in Crossover 12, which does away with X11, dropdown lists are not displayed but still selectable.

PlayOnMac works the best for me. Mainly fastest startup time.

A little tip is that you can install thedude and winbox into the same bottle so you don't have to waste disk space with 2 separate bottles.

soonwai
post Dec 19 2012, 03:31 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 18 2012, 02:38 PM)
Alternative, use telnet command line.

But Mikrotik command line really not easy to pick-up. Maybe I am too use to cisco ios.
In addition to that, there'a also:

SSH (like Telnet command line)
Webfig (there was a time when there was no web page based config, good for confusing some IT "pros")
TikTool (iPhone/iPad winbox type implementation)
FTP (you can configure the router by uploading a *.auto.rsc file, good for confusing the more expert IT "pros")

The best thing about winbox is that you can access the router without an IP address (by using its MAC address). Very useful when you accidentally deleted the IP address off your ethernet port. (which has happened to me a few times)

Added on December 19, 2012, 3:39 am
QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 19 2012, 12:26 AM)
means less parameters to play around, like VPN and Torrent DL when PC is off
If you want freedom, Mikrotik is the router to get. Configure everything to your hearts content. Can't help you with 3G since I haven't tried that.

As for TorrentDL, there's no bittorrent client for Mikrotik. The only solution I can imagine is run an OpenWRT metarouter on the RB751 as rTorrent is available for OpenWRT. Dunno whether that will work. Lotsa questions like can a metarouter access the USB device for storage?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 19 2012, 03:44 AM

26 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:07 PM