26 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

soonwai
post Jul 4 2014, 12:57 PM

11,455 posts

If you can ping 8.8.8.8 then routing should be OK. Maybe DNS problems? Can you ping, say, bbc.com (or choose a website that you haven't been to before) from your PC?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Jul 4 2014, 01:01 PM
soonwai
post Aug 9 2014, 03:10 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(shadowanz @ Aug 5 2014, 10:49 AM)
Hi All,

I was wondering if we are able to configure Astro IPTV on Mikrotik 715U HnD on Maxis Connection. I am able to get the internet work but not IPTV....
I don't use Astro IPTV but I believe it uses vlan 823. That's all I know, sorry. Maybe try setup like HyppTV but use 823 instead of 600.
soonwai
post Aug 9 2014, 03:37 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(seng87 @ Aug 7 2014, 06:53 PM)
Hi guys, encounter a weird problem. When I set my address to 192.168.1.0/23 the network automatically changed to 192.168.0.0. wonder why is this happening. And what is the default bridge-local do? Really new to mikrotik. Thanks in advance
What are you trying to achieve actually?

It's correct, for 192.168.0.0/23 network, address range is 192.168.0.1 - 192.168.1.254.

Don't remember exactly what the defaults are but bridge-local is typically used to bridge the 2 switches and the wlan on the RB2011UaS-2HnD. That's how mine is configured (everything is on the same network). Except ether1 which is my wan port and ether10 is for iptv.

soonwai
post Aug 9 2014, 04:19 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jul 26 2014, 01:56 AM)
sifus, is there any way to monitor the usage for each wifi device?
and also recently my internet wont even move i found out there's some outgoing connection even though no 1 is using. any ideas?
This is what I do to monitor traffic for an IP address.

CODE
/ip firewall mangle
add action=passthrough chain=postrouting comment="iPad Mini Retina" dst-address=10.0.1.12
add action=passthrough chain=prerouting src-address=10.0.1.12

You will need to know the IP address that you want to monitor which you may be able to discern from the DHCP Lease table if static IPs aren't allowed.
I have rules for 10.0.1.2-10.0.1.254 but they're disabled until I need to look at them. Having all the rules enabled increases CPU usage significantly.

Another way is to enable /ip traffic-flow and use a Netflow client on your PC to observe.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 9 2014, 04:20 PM
soonwai
post Aug 13 2014, 12:21 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(seng87 @ Aug 12 2014, 11:39 PM)
Noted your reply. But the problem is when I enter 192.168.1.0/23 network, address should be 192.168.1.1-192.168.1.254. But the mikrotik router automatically put it as 192.168.0.1 for the network. This is not a logical addressing schema. Btw I've entered Google DNS server but when my client connects to the network I will get TM DNS. It appears in the DNS as Dynamic DNS.
[attachmentid=4092193]
192.168.1.0/23 is an IP address not a network. The network for 192.168.1.0/23 is 192.168.0.0/23, range is 192.168.0.1-192.168.1.254 (which includes 192.168.0.255 and 192.168.1.0).

If you want 192.168.1.1-192.168.1.254, the correct network is 192.168.1.0/24.

For DNS, just set use-peer-dns=no for your pppoe-client and it won't use TM's DNS.

soonwai
post Aug 14 2014, 02:54 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(seng87 @ Aug 14 2014, 10:10 AM)
Sorry... I was wanting to use 192.168.1.1-192.168.2.254 hence the correct network should be 192.168.1.0/23.. Correction in this area. As for the DNS  I did untick the use peer dns but it doesn't work.. I'll try again later. Thanks for the reply.. Appreciate your help. But the IP subnetting is giving me some problem.
You can use 192.168.2.0/23 for 192.168.2.1-.3.254. That'll give you the same size network.

When your mask is 23, you can't use 192.168.1.0/23 as a network because the first bit of your 3rd octet is not in your mask. In other words, you can't use an odd value for your 3rd octet.

When in doubt, check with ipcalc.

As for use-peer-dns, did you reboot the router after disabling it? I'm quite sure that works here. I have it disabled for ipv4 and enabled for ipv6 and getting only the ipv6 DNS from TM.
soonwai
post Aug 25 2014, 05:26 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 24 2014, 12:27 AM)
Is it possible to save the logs into a file in the router (filesystem)? How can I do that please?
From the ROS terminal:
CODE
/log print file=iowesoonwaiaventicaramelmacchiatohot.txt

soonwai
post Oct 10 2014, 02:25 AM

11,455 posts

Disable this and see what happens.

/ip firewall nat
add chain=dstnat comment="Web Port Forwarding" dst-port=80 in-interface=bridge1-local protocol=tcp

or change your webfig port to something else, maybe 8080.
soonwai
post Nov 29 2015, 02:40 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Nov 2 2015, 12:24 PM)
Anyone running mikrotik on unifi 30mbps?
Just got my Unifi 30mb activated. RB2011UAS. Speedtest from dining room, middle of the house downstairs,. Router is located at the back room upstairs next to the back window. Distance about 25 feet diagonally through floor and walls. House is 20x67 terrace intermediate. Not too bad, I guess. Hopefully it'll give you an idea of the Mikrotik's wifi performance but if you're living in a mansion then all bets are off. :-)

Dining Room

And a few more tests.
Living Room (Sitting on sofa, it's faster if I stand up)

At the gate outside the house.

Haven't speedtested upstairs but the worst is the front toilet which has 3 walls between the router and where I sit. :-)

Surrounded by wifi. Back of the house is not the best place to locate an access point. The -54 is my neighbour's router which is practically right next to my router but on the ground floor.

Even more tests

Stock TM RG4332. Tested with neighbours router. About 7 ft from router separated by one wall.

Speedtest Ethernet

Torrenting (legal file)

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 3 2015, 01:28 AM
soonwai
post Dec 1 2015, 01:50 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Nov 29 2015, 06:50 AM)
I am using mikrotik also  laugh.gif what I am looking for is whether it can push 30mbps up to my room upstairs where I online daily laugh.gif
Mine's the other way round, router upstairs to downstairs, 30mb no prob. I think mine would be better if I had located the router in a more central position but as things are, it's at the back of the house. The RB2011 that I'm using has external antennas though I don't know how much of a difference that actually makes. You're using RB951 right?
soonwai
post Dec 1 2015, 02:52 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Dec 1 2015, 02:15 AM)
yeap. mine is at downstairs because that's where the tv set is, don't want to take the risk with powerline, investment vs benefits ratio too low for my case
I'm using 500mbps Powerline from Aztech to run HyppTV from my router down to the TV. If your house is single phase electricity, should be no prob. I did a speedtest for the powerline when I first set it up and the speeds were very good. I didn't save the test results but I think I got around 300mbps.
soonwai
post Dec 2 2015, 02:58 PM

11,455 posts

Guys, I'm thinking of adding 5Ghz wifi. What do you think are the best options for Access Points?

I guess my requirements would be:
1) Not too pricey. Say budget RM300.
2) 5Ghz (doesn't have to be dual-band)
3) AC preferred but at least N
4) GB Ethernet

So far, I've found:

DLink DAP-1665: around 280, fulfills all my reqs.

Xiaomi Mini Router: around 110, so cheap! Biggest con is it only has 100mb Ethernet.

Mikrotik/UBNT: not sure what's available locally.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 2 2015, 05:11 PM
soonwai
post Dec 3 2015, 01:22 AM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Khalid21 @ Dec 2 2015, 05:08 PM)
i been using dlink dap 1665(as repeater) for 2 week now..  no complaint
Gemfive got promotion now 30% if purchace rm300 above
Thanks very much man, made the purchase. Never heard of Gemfive before this. Came up to about RM200 after the discount. Awesome deal. The cheapest I could get from LYP was RM260. TT on me if we ever meet-up IRL.

I also asked about the UAP-AC-Lite, MX510 here quoted me RM510+GST. Where did you find it for 450+? Landasan.com.my has the Groove or GrooveA 52HPn for RM400 but it's not AC. Hopefully Mikrotik will come up with cheap cAP 5N. The cAP 2N is only USD50.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 3 2015, 01:59 AM
soonwai
post Dec 3 2015, 06:37 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Khalid21 @ Dec 3 2015, 11:59 AM)
commercial product

http://www.uwave.com.my/

they quote me unifi ap ac lite rm 425
Thanks for the info. Will bookmark uwave for future ref. The DAP-1665 shipped today from Gemfive. Can't wait to give it a try.

Update: Received the DAP1665 this noon (4/12). Just in time to try it out this weekend.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 4 2015, 02:34 PM
soonwai
post Dec 6 2015, 04:26 AM

11,455 posts

Configured my new DLink DAP-1665 for 5GHz N & AC and added it to my home network. working well so far. It's at the opposite end of my RB2011UAS-2HnD so the whole house should be well covered now. Some quick tests giving me about 250mbps from iPhone 6S to my Mac.
soonwai
post Dec 6 2015, 05:07 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Khalid21 @ Dec 6 2015, 09:03 AM)
you set dap 1665 as repeater or access point?
mine set as repeater, speed test from repeater manage to get 28 to 29 mbps (5ghz) at dining
before that not even get signal..
Mine is set as access point connected to my gigabit switch. Fortunately I have a network port in the living room.

So far 5ghz downstairs coverage is good. once I go upstairs, signal drops and my phone usually but not always will switch to 2.4ghz.

Update: iTunes WiFi Sync is a lot faster.

Seems to be working well.

Pros:
Supports Unicode for Wifi SSID.
It works for 5GHz. PC, Apple devices no probs.

Cons:
No SNMP.
Status page for Wifi connections does not show connection protocol nor speed.
Unit a bit big for what it does. Wish it was smaller.
Transmit power not that high.
Has to reboot after almost every freaking change.

Conclusion
Real cheap way to add 5GHz AC to your network.

Competitors:
Xioami Mini: Half the price. Dual-band, AC but 100mbps LAN.
Airport Express: Almost the same price. Dual-band but N only & 100mbps LAN.
UBNT UAP-AC-Lite: Double the price but awesome.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 16 2015, 03:37 AM
soonwai
post Jan 7 2016, 11:47 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 7 2016, 09:17 PM)
I'm thinking of either probably this or a xiaomi mini wifi router
There're a few WTS here for the Xiaomi Mini at RM120 but its LAN port is only fast ethernet.

IMHo, the best option for now with a Gigabit ethernet port is the DLink DAP-1665 RM278 on gemfive.com.my with a 30% discount = RM195.

soonwai
post Jan 7 2016, 11:50 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 7 2016, 02:49 PM)
sweat.gif and so 64mb ram, fast ethernet port and no 802.11g .......... when can mikrotik release a replacement for my 951g  cry.gif
I'm sure they'll come out with an RB952G-5ac2nD or maybe an RB2012UiaS-5ac2nD. Wishful thinking.
soonwai
post Jan 7 2016, 11:59 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(async @ Jan 7 2016, 06:54 AM)
Here is the FB event link: https://www.facebook.com/events/904945689603486/

Hope to see more interest in MikroTik here in Malaysia!
I registered but not 100% sure going or not yet. Though if I'm going, will probably cough up the USD30 for the ROS license and lunch. Worth it right?
soonwai
post Jan 8 2016, 08:02 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 8 2016, 12:38 AM)
I can get xiaomi mini router for around 90-100 inclusive of shipment. I'm thinking of getting one to run it as AP, since xiaomi mini router's default firmware doesn't support vlan tagging, and I don't have much confidence for custom firmware

It will be called RB3011UiAS-2HnD-IN (http://i.mt.lv/eu15.pdf)

btw, the license that they give, is it L4 or L5 or what?
Xiaomi Mini is good value. I was considering it when I was looking for an AC AP but the fast Ethernet port is no good if you're planning to transfer stuff from a PC. Same goes for the RB952U-5ac2nd.

The RB3000 series looks awesome 10xGb ports n USB3 but is the 1GB ram a typo? That's crazy. The RB2011 had only 128mb. That's a big jump. Not that I mind but price will probly be high.

License given at the MUM is L4 which normally sells for USD45.

It will be called RB3011UiAS-2HnD-IN (http://i.mt.lv/eu15.pdf)

But this one only 2.4Ghz, if 5Ghz should be:
RB3011UiAS-5acHnD or
RB3012UiAS-5ac2HnD

or preferably RB3012UiAS-5HacD2HnD

This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 9 2016, 02:16 AM

26 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:35 AM