Still waiting for Saurik to update the Mobile Substrate. Apprently the semi-tethered is not so stable without this update.
Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak v2, READ: ABSOLUTELY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY
Oct 26 2011, 02:33 PM
4,286 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Still waiting for Saurik to update the Mobile Substrate. Apprently the semi-tethered is not so stable without this update.
Oct 26 2011, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(beck_ken @ Oct 23 2011, 08:57 PM) hey guys, I have never encountered nor heard this problem before. I wonder why changing the one file for the logo will affect the camera or photo album. Sorry that I cannot help. Have you tried hard rebooting the device? If all else fails, then your only option is to restore it. Hope you have the SHSH saved somewhere.I tried with the Digi logo (using ifile) and I found out that the Digi logo was oversize and I decided to restore back the original Digi wording. but after I restored the original Digi logo, I found out that my camera and photo album (original apple apps) are not working. Both apps when I open it, it will prompt to a page loading "Rebuilding Library" then it will pop back to main page. Those pictures still inside ifile and I can view it from there. Can anyone help to solve this problem? Thanks |
Oct 29 2011, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(jackyyong @ Oct 27 2011, 01:03 PM) Ever heard of FastRa1n? It claims that it can JB iOS5 and 4.3.5 fully untethered. Anyone tried that yet? Fake. Do not use it, in some cases it may brick your iPhone. |
Oct 30 2011, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(Kingory1996 @ Oct 30 2011, 05:34 AM) Guys, let say I wan to update my iPhone 3GS to iOS 5 , but I only will update when untethered jailbreak for iOS 5 is out . But what if before the untethered jailbreak for iOS 5 is out , Apple already released iOS 5.0.1 . Then I cannot update to iOS 5 already . Do you guys think I should update to iOS 5 first and wait for the jailbreak Download TinyUmbrella and click on Saved SHSH (make sure it is not requesting the SHSH from Cydia (go to the advance tab and unclick that option). Once you get the SHSH, you will be able to restore to that version even if Apple has come out with anew firmware.Check if this will work because I've read that Apple has done something to NOT allow people getting their SHSH for iOS5 (then again, it could be for the 4s only) |
Oct 30 2011, 07:55 PM
Nov 6 2011, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(lovesalwaysthere @ Nov 5 2011, 10:05 PM) Im having a problem now where i have jailbroken my Iphone4 with the ios 4.3.3 using jailbreakme.com and everything were running smoothly until i downloaded songs through unlimtones and the phone turned off itself. It auto turned on again but it lagged at the apple logo. I have tried to hold the home button and on button to restart but it doesnt work even i connected the phone to itunes, it still doesnt work at all... any solution?? If you can go into the phone, remove the offending tweak (unlimtones). If you cannot go in, then you need to restore using your 4.3.3 SHSH. I've had this problem before (long time for the phone to boot) after 1/2 hour, it booted normally and I started removing tweaks that I suspect is the culprit. |
Nov 9 2011, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(lovesalwaysthere @ Nov 6 2011, 08:50 AM) more than 1 hour but yet doesnt work... No need to update to the latest OS and downgrade. You just need to download the IPSW file for 4.3.3 directly from some of the sites (iClarified) abd the use the Shift restore. I'll explain further below (need to open another tab to get the info)Added on November 6, 2011, 1:52 pm i cant get into the phone tho... and how do i restore using ios 4.3.3?? cuz once now i click restore, it will auto download the latest ios... How to Downgrade/Restore 4.3.3 Firmware using TinyUmbrella (WIndows) List of Firmware Files and Where to Download Them |
Nov 12 2011, 02:37 PM
sn0wbreeze have been updated to jailbreak 5.0.1
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=17957 If Apple is still signing 5.0, then maybe TU can get the SHSH for you (but as far as I know, TU has not been able to that). |
Nov 12 2011, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(milky @ Nov 12 2011, 12:36 PM) If you are using old bootrom 3Gs, it is the only iDevice that can be jailbroken untethered on iOS 5.0 (not sure about 5.0.1, probably the same as 5.0)If you are on a new bootrom 3Gs, then you're in the same boat as the rest of us, tethered JB only for 5.0 and 5.0.1 |
Nov 14 2011, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(milky @ Nov 14 2011, 07:37 AM) but i went to iclarified.com For the 3Gs on old bootrom, you can do an untethered jailbreak for iOS5 using Custom Firmware (either sn0wbreeze, via the link provided by bro yezha or pwnagetool --> of which the features have been subsumed by redsn0w).saw this How to Jailbreak Your iPhone 3GS Using RedSn0w (Windows) [5.0]" inside says is tethered.. can u link me thru to untethered ones? If you run the Jailbreak Wizard for the 3Gs in iClarified, it will point you to redsn0w BUT it will say that if you are on old bootrom 3Gs, your jailbreak will be untethered. http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=15595&laid= |
Nov 14 2011, 06:01 PM
Going up to 5.0.1, you will not be able to downgrade back to 5.0. Going down to 4.x with the 4.x SHSH boleh.
Nov 14 2011, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(latworx @ Nov 14 2011, 01:57 PM) cydia not automatically save the shsh for the 5.0? need to manually save the 5.0 shsh rite? damn! forgot to do that Saving SHSH blobs for 5.0 cannot be done with TU. Apple has changed something whereby the blobs can no longer be retrieved from Apple Server. Which means Cydia also cannot get it as well.Apple wins. Added on November 14, 2011, 8:47 pm QUOTE(milky @ Nov 14 2011, 02:09 PM) You should be able to downgrade from 5.0.1 to 4.x firmware version. Below is the info taken from TU.It just means that if you are on 5.0.1, you cannot downgrade to 5.0 (even if you have SHSH blobs of 5.0 ... probably using iSHSHit or something like that). QUOTE SHSH playback won't work for iOS 5.0+. This means that restoring iOS 5 will not work the way it did with iOS 4 and below. Note that you should still be able to use your SHSH for any iOS 3 or iOS 4 version without any problems. This post has been edited by azraeil: Nov 14 2011, 08:47 PM |
Nov 16 2011, 12:46 PM
For those wanting to save their 5.0.1 SHSH, the latest version of TinyUmbrella now allows you to do it.
http://thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot.com/ Don't know if this will do us any good cause once Apple comes up with a new firmware, your SHSH is pretty much useless. |
Nov 23 2011, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Nov 23 2011, 05:34 AM) No you can't. I tried doing that to my sister in law's phone. she was on 4.2.1 and never upgrade to 4.3.3 although she has cydia, there is no SHSH saved. The way Cydia automatically saves the SHSH is that you need to open Cydia a couple of times DURING the period Apple is Signing the firmware version.btw any idea why iphone 4 has jailbreak while 4S didnt? For example, if you are jailbroken on 4.2.1 and never upgraded to 4.3.3 BUT, during the time Apple was still sigining 4.3.3, you opened up Cydia to update some tweaks, to download new tweaks etc, most likely Cydia will then automatically try and save your SHSH. This was how it worked before. The easiest way to check is to open up Cydia now and see what SHSH is saved (you will see at the top of the Cydia window). If no 4.3.3 is mentioned, then, most likely it was not saved. But Cydia sometimes does not display it as well even though it saved it so download TinyUmbrella and in the Advance Tab, check the box that says "Requests SHSH from Cydia". Click on "Saved SHSH" and see what the messages that pops-up. If Cyida has the SHSH, then TinyUmbrella will get it for you and save it locally. If TinyUmbrella says that Cydia does not have the 4.3.3, then that's that .... you cannot restore to 4.3.3 EVER. |
Nov 23 2011, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Nov 23 2011, 10:39 AM) yes, i often open cydia from time to time on my sister's phone to install some tweaks for her but didn't see any shsh for 4.3.3 saved. That's one of the reason I always use TinyUmbrella to save my SHSH whenever Apple comes out with a new firmware version. I like to save my SHSH locally instead of depending on Cydia which can sometime not save your SHSH and you really cannot blame Cydia.and when i want to update to 4.3.3 at first i thought the phone mustve a 4.3.3 shsh saved, when i open TU, i cant see any except for 4.2.1 I know that TU now doesn't work with iOS 5 so my SHSH for my iPhone 4 stops at 4.3.5 |
Nov 27 2011, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(unequalteck @ Nov 27 2011, 06:30 AM) That sauce is full of it's own speculation .... no better than LYN's own member's prediction. |
Nov 27 2011, 06:06 PM
The blog is up and running .... as expected the 5 exploit that was found before iOS5 was released has been patched by Apple in the final version of iOS5 so it's looking like an untethered JB for 5.0/5.0.1 is months away.
Chronic-dev is now asking people to make changes to iTunes (and download their software) which will disable iTunes from sending your iPhone crash reports to Apple (which was how Apple managed to find the 5 exploits and closed it). Looks like I won't be upgrading anytime soon. |
Nov 28 2011, 02:29 PM
Ac1dSn0w has some illegal codes in it. Why bother when redsn0w, an established program from the dev-team works perfectly for both Windows/Mac system.
Nov 29 2011, 07:01 PM
Remove BG has been updated. I remembered upgrading to the latest version a couple of days ago.
Nov 29 2011, 07:35 PM
redsn0w is a tried and tested application for jailbreaking the iPhone. It should work fine.
| Change to: | 0.0556sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:00 PM |