13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak v2, READ: ABSOLUTELY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY

TSazraeil
post Jan 3 2012, 12:29 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

MultiGesture is not working for the iPhone even if you tick the Multigesture button in redsn0w. I'm using Activator which I think is a lot better with so many options to use.

I restored my iPhone last night and will have to restore it again tonight coz I want to use redsn0w jailbreak. Previously was on semi-tether and used Corona. I noticed my keyboard were really lagging (don't have an idea why) so we'll see. First time restoring the backup from iCloud. Seems fast enough to restore 2.9GB of data over the air. Thank god for fibre optic.

Loading Cydia takes a long time. If it get's stuck, you just need to start and load again. What I don't like about Cydia is that if the phone goes to sleep or the screen goes off, Cydia stops loading so you have to constantly scroll cydia up & down to keep it active. It does not load in the background either.
TSazraeil
post Jan 3 2012, 02:24 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(feelgoodinc183 @ Jan 3 2012, 07:53 AM)
any help on bb 4.11.08? still cant use my iphong sad.gif
I would not put much hope on a software unlock. The dev-team have been stumped for one year (that's foolproof in software age). Your only hope is for Gevey Sim to come out with a hardware solution to solve iOS5 baseband.
TSazraeil
post Jan 3 2012, 02:26 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(czhan04 @ Jan 3 2012, 09:25 AM)
You need to wait a little longer in the page.. Traditionally it will take around 10 to 20 secs after you open the page before the things like price and app info and recent changes will appear. Be patient and it will open for u.
The first load in Cydia takes a lot longer ... give it 4-5 minutes (yes, that long) especially if you've added a lot of repos. If the load fails (due to the screen going to sleep or you opened another app .... cydia does not load in the background), then quit Cydia and re-boot the phone and re-run Cydia again. Works for me last night.
TSazraeil
post Jan 3 2012, 04:07 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

You cannot upload your SHSH to Cydia. It does not work like that. If and When the jailbreak for the 4s and iPad 2 occurs on 5.0.1, only then will Cydia try and get the SHSH for 5.0.1 so if TinyUmbrella is able to save the SHSH for you. Just keep it safe locally (and I would recommend you saving a couple of copy of the files in the cloud such as GMail or Skydrive).
TSazraeil
post Jan 3 2012, 07:31 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

The iCloud backup is a nightmare to restore. I'm switching back to backing up on iTunes. The restoration takes maybe 15-20 minutes (which was surprising since it was a 2.9GB backup) but once that has been completed, it's trying to redownload ALL the apps from the Cloud ... and that is like a 9GB process. A hardwired connection is probably much faster and more stable. Restoring 157 apps using iTunes (instead of iCloud) is much faster and does not depend on the speed of your internet ....
TSazraeil
post Jan 3 2012, 08:20 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Slyp @ Jan 3 2012, 02:17 PM)
anyone facing problem with iMessage on a 5.0.1 jb i4??? whenever i turn on my iMessage my phone will hang and i have to force to restart.
Which version of redsn0w did you use for the jailbreak? 0.9.10b3 or b2/b1?
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 01:13 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(saya_haziq @ Jan 3 2012, 03:55 PM)
is there any tweaks that can put multitasking in notification center?i mean like no need to press home button twice, just swipe down and then can easilly change between apps...so cool!
I use activator. I set the double tap of the status bar to bring up the running app list (similar to double tapping the home button)
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 12:27 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Jay5 @ Jan 4 2012, 06:33 AM)
Hi guys, not sure if anyone of you have had this problem.

I'm on iPhone 4, iOs 4.2.1 Jb with Green Poison. I updated Cydia (essential  upgrade) and Mobile Substrate, few days later it restarted and hung at the apple logo and kept on restarting and hung without booting up, till the batt died, and hence lost everything.

I've since restored to 5.0.1, now Jb with Redsnow b1, since then all notification apps does not work, no badges etc. It always gives this error "Connect to iTunes for Push Notifications". Also, Youtube does not work. App shows "Cannot connect to Youtube".

FaceTime and iMessage shows 'waiting for activation'..but never activates.

Appreciate it if you guys can shed some light on this.

Tq.
Restore to 5.0.1 again (use the Shift + restore method meaning that you need to download the full 5.0.1 IPSW) and jailbreak using the latest resdn0w (b3)
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 03:49 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I have not had any issue on 5.0.1 jailbreak. I jailbreak my phone on iOS5.0.1 in early December on semi-tether using redsn0w and updated to an untethered version the day it came out on the 27th of December 2011. Yesterday, I restored the iPhone again and did a fresh jailbreak using the latest redsn0w 0.9.10b3 and have had no issues.

I restore and re-ran the jailbreak because the boot-up from a cold reboot was close to 80 seconds (I suspect because of Corona/Semi-Tether legacies etc etc). Now a fresh reboot takes about 20-25 seconds which is normal.

All my Apps are stable. I have had no crashes (except for the game Real Racing 2 which is probably because my RAM was way too low at the time) but I have not experienced Mobile Substrate crashes and have not gone into any safe mode at all.

I suggest this steps if any of you are experiencing any issues (crashes etc etc)

1. Backup your iPhone to iTunes (or iCloud, whichever you prefer) and Go to iTunes Preferences and under Devices tick Do Not Sync iPod/iPad/iPhone Automatically.
2. Fresh restore your iPhone (Do a Shift + Restore via iTunes which would require you to download the full 790MB 5.0.1 IPSW Download Link for All Firmware Files ) This will wipe your iPhone clean and install a fresh firmware into the iPhone
3. Set your iPhone as a new iPhone (don't restore as yet)
4. Jailbreak your iPhone using redsn0w 0.9.10b3 (Link to Download versions of redsn0w)
5. Set your Lockscreen Auto-Lock to "Never"
6. Open Cydia and WAIT for it to FULLY load all the repos (this can take 5-10 minutes, yes that long). If the loading fails, exit Cydia and re-run it (you can reboot or re-spring). If it does not load automatically, go to Changes Tab and press refresh. Wait for it to download all the lists of apps from the repos.
7. Add your repos of choice
8. Wait for it to load
9. Install your favorite tweaks

Once everything looks okay and the phone seems stable

10. Connect to iTunes
11. Restore your backup to get back all your Contacts/Calendars/Settings/SMS/Game Saves/ etc etc etc

TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 04:20 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Slyp, please edit your posts. NO Piracy Discussion at all here please.
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 04:24 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I do not have any issue with iMessage and I have BiteSMS installed as well, Then again, I am using iMessage via BiteSMS smile.gif
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 04:31 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Yeah supposedly he's expecting it to be released in 1 week.
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 05:09 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I bought my BiteSMS from the BigBoss repo for USD9.99, I cannot live without the Quick Reply.

You can also get BiteSMS for free from BigBoss but it will be the add supported version which is not too bad.
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 06:09 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(Slyp @ Jan 4 2012, 12:09 PM)
LOL sorry again didnt know Cydia is not allowed to share here
Cydia discussion is fine but there are repos in Cydia that enables piracy which is a big NO-NO.

I recommend you install the ad-supported BiteSMS and see how it goes. If you like it, you can stay with the add supported version or buy a license for US9.99. You can pay via Paypal.

Added on January 4, 2012, 6:10 pm
QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Jan 4 2012, 01:00 PM)
wondering is there any app for iphone 4 just like android overclock app? after installing those bbsetting, winterboard, spire, iconolasm, my phone starts lagging... zz
Winterboard is a known cause for the lagging issue. Some people has recommended installing Barrel instead.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Jan 4 2012, 06:10 PM
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 06:16 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Jan 4 2012, 01:14 PM)
but i need to install theme also ma... >< haiz.. sad case..
Yeah, it's an issue for those who likes themes. I had a nice theme when I was on iOS4 called Whitoken (it was blardy hard to get it right though) so I didn't bother installing Winterboard after I upgraded to iOS5 so I have not had any lagging issues (other than the Keyboard lag)
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 06:34 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

You can activate the Quick Compose from the touch of the volume buttons but I disable it because I used the volume buttons for different things.

You can identify which is normal SMS and which is iMessage from the colors. If you're out of internet coverage, it will send it via normal SMS

I like Viber/Whatsapp as compared to iMessage as it is multi-platform and it is able to scan my phonebook to know who is on Viber etc etc, I use iMessage baces one of my friend who has an iDevice on iOS5 sent me an iMessage. For all other "internet" messaging system, I usually use Viber/Whatsapp.
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 06:52 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

No, I have no theme now on my iPhone.

I read that DreamBoard also have the same lagging issue.
TSazraeil
post Jan 4 2012, 09:09 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

I think Activator still has some issues. I definitely does not work very well if you have a passcode on so setting anything for the lockscreen is a hit & miss thing.

After a while, even the slide gesture thing will not work as well and a re-spring will be needed. I don't know what activate (pun intended) the failures though.
TSazraeil
post Jan 5 2012, 01:46 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Yes, if you update or restore using stock firmware in iTunes, your baseband will be updated. So if you need to preserve your baseband, DO NOT restore/update using stock firmware. You need to create a custom firmware.

Added on January 5, 2012, 1:48 am
QUOTE(BlaBlaBoy @ Jan 4 2012, 07:07 PM)
Mine 3GS is running on 5.0.1 smoothly..
3Gs is a newer unit than a 3G. The highest firmware for the 3G is 4.2.1

Added on January 5, 2012, 1:49 am
QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Jan 4 2012, 07:34 PM)
"shift + restore" and "shift + update"
which 1 better? what the dif?
There is no such thing as Shift + Update. That's the difference.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Jan 5 2012, 01:49 AM
TSazraeil
post Jan 5 2012, 01:58 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Appcenter, a free tweak from Cydia allows you to put apps shortcut in the notification center.

13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

1.5423sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:55 PM