159 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.3, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

Fawkes
post Sep 22 2011, 04:54 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(maestr01 @ Sep 22 2011, 01:26 AM)
Got my P65VT30.

After using it for a few days, these are my initial impressions:

1) It is a great TV with superb images and 3D performance.
2) So far I have not had any fluctuating brightness issues for my July 2011 manufactured TV.
3) Unlike my previous 42" Panny Plasma which was good to go straight out of the box, this TV has to be calibrated to produce better colours and performance.
4) Network Streaming and Viera Connect are really impressive. Works well out of the box and has really great potential. I am using UNIFI 5MB, and am streaming movies from the net at pretty good quality without buffering.
5) I will be skyping via the TV from now on as it is such a cool feature and so great to use.
At what did you get yours? Did you get any free gifts?
rafurap
post Sep 22 2011, 05:58 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 22 2011, 03:48 PM)
Ok, I think before there is miscommunication between what I am saying and what I think u r saying let me explain.

24p material is low frame rate, the motion will never be silky smooth even if it is refreshed at 96Hz. The higher the refresh rate, under normal circumstances, the smoother the motion. However, in my opinion there is a threshold. Anything above 72Hz refresh rate of 24p material ie 96Hz and above looks closer to video than film. This can be clearly seen in the end credits where the text is moving up/down....

Now, if there is motion interpolation algorithms that add frames while doing pulldown and then refreshing it at 60Hz or multiples of it (ie the smooth thing that u mention), will seem to show smoother motion. However, even the best of algorithms will introduce motion artefacts. If u watch close enuf, u will some some tearing or some sort of issue. This is more apparent in bigger monitors. Motion interpolation not done well will make film look like video shots.

If refreshing of 24p is done without motion interpolation at 60Hz via 3:2 pulldown, then there will be judder.

I am not sure what u mean but lag, but it shd be one of the 3 above.

However, if u feel the UT30 in smooth mode is giving u better motion smoothness, then go for it. Ur eyes are the ultimate test, if u like it then its right for u.
Thanks again for your feedback. Looking on the brighter side, do you think the 50" U30 is a best buy? What do you like about it?
It's sad that Panasonic will not release the 50" version of the UT30 here in MY.
anfieldude
post Sep 22 2011, 08:51 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(rafurap @ Sep 22 2011, 05:58 PM)
Thanks again for your feedback. Looking on the brighter side, do you think the 50" U30 is a best buy? What do you like about it?
It's sad that Panasonic will not release the 50" version of the UT30 here in MY.
I like the more accurate colours in TrueCinema. I like the 96Hz refresh rate for 24p material.

I am not thrilled about the black levels and I believe Panasonic selected the hardcoding of the gamma of 2.0 due to the not so great black levels. Yet at the price its going for, its a decent 1080p set.
rafurap
post Sep 22 2011, 09:15 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 22 2011, 08:51 PM)
I like the more accurate colours in TrueCinema. I like the 96Hz refresh rate for 24p material.

I am not thrilled about the black levels and I believe Panasonic selected the hardcoding of the gamma of 2.0 due to the not so great black levels. Yet at the price its going for, its a decent 1080p set.
in short you like the u30's?
tepetlah
post Sep 23 2011, 06:23 PM

349 posts

Just bought TH-P50U30k yesterday..experience it to the max starting this weekend..Re-watch all my BD..smile.gif
rafurap
post Sep 23 2011, 06:39 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(tepetlah @ Sep 23 2011, 06:23 PM)
Just bought TH-P50U30k yesterday..experience it to the max starting this weekend..Re-watch all my BD..smile.gif
That's great! Let us know your experience with it next week! I still cannot decide if to buy that or the 42" UT30k.
mhyug
post Sep 23 2011, 07:01 PM

1,553 posts

edit.silap model. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mhyug: Sep 23 2011, 07:02 PM
ronaldjoe
post Sep 23 2011, 10:56 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(Fawkes @ Sep 22 2011, 04:54 PM)
At what did you get yours? Did you get any free gifts?
Should b 15.5k (or lower)
onlymac
post Sep 23 2011, 11:31 PM

QUOTE(tepetlah @ Sep 21 2011, 03:41 PM)
TH-P50VT20K display set for rm5099..is it worth?free 2pcs 3d glass + 3pcs 3d BD..
No... you can pick up this set brand new from sellers here on LYN for same price (1pc glasses, 1pc skypecam, 1pc 3d BD) ... also, if you look around here you can find excellent good price on set + 4pc glasses. Don't ever buy a display set, not worth it.
rafurap
post Sep 24 2011, 01:09 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(onlymac @ Sep 23 2011, 11:31 PM)
No... you  can pick up this set brand new from sellers here on LYN for same price (1pc glasses, 1pc skypecam, 1pc 3d BD) ... also, if you look around here you can find excellent good price on set + 4pc glasses. Don't ever buy a display set, not worth it.
you can check the availability of this unit with @iamsobloodysick. I think he has the most competitive price of all.

budakhops
post Sep 26 2011, 01:00 AM

1,519 posts

just bought p50u30k from #iamsobloodysick today.... tried playing my mkv but getting either error cannot read file or no audio supported.. how to solve this problem?
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 26 2011, 01:25 PM

12,696 posts

GT vs VT. Which have better anti-reflective coating? I am assuming those lower model have non?

neb
post Sep 26 2011, 01:45 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Sep 26 2011, 01:00 AM)
just bought p50u30k from #iamsobloodysick today.... tried playing my mkv but getting either error cannot read file or no audio supported.. how to solve this problem?
to solve your problem, play your mkv video either through:
1) computer
2) media player
anfieldude
post Sep 26 2011, 02:58 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 26 2011, 01:25 PM)
GT vs VT. Which have better anti-reflective coating? I am assuming those lower model have non?
VT. For 2011 models ST/VT have ARC. For 2010, V, GT, VT hv the coatings.
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 26 2011, 03:59 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 26 2011, 02:58 PM)
VT. For 2011 models ST/VT have ARC. For 2010, V, GT, VT hv the coatings.

2011. So I presume both ST and VT have the same quality ARC?

As for 2010, I thought there are no GT in Malaysia?

anfieldude
post Sep 26 2011, 04:35 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 26 2011, 03:59 PM)

2011. So I presume both ST and VT have the same quality ARC?

As for 2010, I thought there are no GT in Malaysia?
I don't think the vt and st have the same filter but the specs appear the same. There was 42gt in Malaysia.
budakhops
post Sep 26 2011, 06:12 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Sep 26 2011, 01:45 PM)
to solve your problem, play your mkv video either through:
1) computer
2) media player
tried using the dlna media server... but transcoding took forever tu finish.... using external hdd plug to usb port.. some mkv file can read but half way thru the movie.. it just stuck there.. why is this happening??

if i plug in pc using hdmi... is there any risk of burn-in problem in the long run?
jimbet1337
post Sep 27 2011, 08:41 AM

meh
2,672 posts

I have just bought P50U30. I noticed at very extreme angle, around 170 degrees or so, there is seems to be double image. It's not obvious but can be seen if I really scrutinize at very close distance. Is this normal?
low98944
post Sep 27 2011, 09:51 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Sep 27 2011, 08:41 AM)
I have just bought P50U30. I noticed at very extreme angle, around 170 degrees or so, there is seems to be double image. It's not obvious but can be seen if I really scrutinize at very close distance. Is this normal?
Don't sit too close. That is probably due to another glass that protecting your screen.
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 27 2011, 01:08 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Sep 27 2011, 08:41 AM)
Yes, normal.

159 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0392sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:35 AM