QUOTE(T231H @ Jul 26 2015, 07:09 PM)

but, with
no other investment except in ASXs and saving in FDs
no leverage to try to generate more returns
no insurance coverage.....
I think I would like to die young too....
(pun intended...hope you get my meaning...lol)
It was a nonsense and out-of-topic reply to a out-of-topic post; as I was not about to let supersound have the last word.

====================
Now, an-in-topic reply. The only matter of facts are, as mentioned: flat rate vs effective rate, and how the interest charges will be calculated in early settlement of a flat rate loan.
It is worthwhile to take a loan when one can fully pay the car in cash? There is no right or wrong answer, and it is an individual and a personal choice. If looking at the bigger picture, it is part of money management; and everyone manages money differently in his own manner.
It is his money, so who to say that another option would be better for him?
And it is not always dollars and cents in money management, there are other things in play too. As in my case where I elected to take a loan instead of paying in cash, it is not that I have better use of my cash or have better leverage of my money.
I took a loan because I feel uneasy paying the car dealer (or more specifically the car salesman) a big sum of money in one go either in cash or in cheque. (Even cheques can be modified.) I also don't know what the proper procedure would be: downpayment together with the balance before all the documents are prepared and signed or downpayment first, excise duty paid, registration released, then only the balance, or what?
So I took the loan, and let the bank officer verified that everything is in order...

=============

I got the last post in this page.
This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Jul 26 2015, 08:34 PM