US stock discussion v4, Bulls-Bears HUAT AH!! Pigs get slaughter

danmooncake
post Sep 29 2011, 08:52 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Sep 29 2011, 03:05 PM)
Finally ---> AGQ share split, to control the price la, what else...

The split will apply to shareholders of record as of the close of the markets on October 10, 2011, payable after the close of the markets on October 12, 2011. The fund will trade at its post-split price on October 13, 2011. The ticker symbol and CUSIP number for the fund will not change.

The split will decrease the price per share of the fund with a proportionate increase in the number of shares outstanding. For example, for a 2-for-1 split, every pre-split share held by a shareholder will result in the receipt of two post-split shares, which will be priced at half of the net asset value (“NAV”) of a pre-split share.

SOS : http://etfdailynews.com/2011/09/28/proshar...gq-srs-ycs-sdp/
Nice.. just more buying again for 2x ETF again like AGQ.
zamans98
post Sep 30 2011, 01:36 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

market quiet, selective stocks are rising.
the rest are still off low of last THURSDAY price.

its sideways, no doubt the leading indices are in green.
prophetjul
post Sep 30 2011, 08:25 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Sep 29 2011, 03:05 PM)
Finally ---> AGQ share split, to control the price la, what else...

The split will apply to shareholders of record as of the close of the markets on October 10, 2011, payable after the close of the markets on October 12, 2011. The fund will trade at its post-split price on October 13, 2011. The ticker symbol and CUSIP number for the fund will not change.

The split will decrease the price per share of the fund with a proportionate increase in the number of shares outstanding. For example, for a 2-for-1 split, every pre-split share held by a shareholder will result in the receipt of two post-split shares, which will be priced at half of the net asset value (“NAV”) of a pre-split share.

SOS : http://etfdailynews.com/2011/09/28/proshar...gq-srs-ycs-sdp/
Phew*

i sold at $213 and still watchin......this silver waterfall is no joke....

still bearish......at least i can buy at 50% price now.................

or 25% after split smile.gif
Myoswee
post Sep 30 2011, 08:51 AM

1,410 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Sep 30 2011, 08:25 AM)
Phew*

i sold at $213 and still watchin......this silver waterfall is no joke....

still bearish......at least i can buy at 50% price now.................

or 25% after split    smile.gif
213 very nice selling price thumbup.gif

Now only trading at 111

More than half gone smile.gif

prophetjul
post Sep 30 2011, 09:20 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(Myoswee @ Sep 30 2011, 08:51 AM)
213 very nice selling price  thumbup.gif

Now only trading at 111

More than half gone  smile.gif
was reading some technicals.......convince me i should let go including all my non perfroming shares.

Silver was begnning to look like hitting tops.......

so i mitigated the risks.........was holding quite a bit from $170........sold 250 shares

Lucky lucky biggrin.gif

danmooncake
post Sep 30 2011, 07:47 PM

10,123 posts

Certainly looks something going to break here.. money are being moved out from a lot of high beta stocks.
Even AAPL and LVS got hammered.. thank goodness for puts protection. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Sep 30 2011, 07:47 PM
TSsulifeisgreat
post Oct 1 2011, 02:02 AM

1,121 posts

after so many years & still only a few shares selection in lyn usa forum? tat is y, I oso given up, updating in tis thread doh.gif
with the experience gathered, u guys/ gals should be doing fine, buying when up & shorting when it goes down
power it with options & voila, u got many zeros in ur bank ac, so y this thread so quiet rclxub.gif

let me help to btt tongue.gif
look for those shares which maintain their power during tis bear time, when bull cum, they got chance to roket wink.gif
here mostly FA specialist? u guys know how to read chart/ TA after so long? then can take a look below, some is goodie drool.gif

but knowing u all, here not so adventurous & not dare to play out of the box blink.gif
during bull time, all so hapi, never prepare umbrella for rainy days nor use puts, even when know how to use options hmm.gif
now bear time, hide in bunker? mus hav balls to face the market, follow the forumers in lyn bolehland, mus show, can do or die attitude flex.gif

Even Leaders Back Off; Some Nicely, Some Not

Consider the vast array of sectors represented in Your Weekly Review: software, hardware, medical, retailandfinance. They all have one thing in common: They all have backed off from their highs. The difference, of course, lies in how they retreated. Some showed heavy volume as they sliced
through key supports. Others are holding up well in what is, after all, a market correction.

Athenahealth ATHN, a maker of software targeting back-office operations at physicians’ practices, has dropped 15%from its Sept. 19 high.
The stock’s 10-week moving average has so far provided support, but last week’s 7% decline drew uncomfortably high volume. Cerner CERN, a rival of Athena health’s, is threatening to log a downside reversal this week. As it is, Cerner has seen an 8%gain whittled down to 1%. On the other hand, Cerner stands just 5% off its 52-week high.

Credit card giants MasterCard MA and Visa V also are testing their 10-week lines. Such tests, if they occur in soft trade, can be attractive buy points in a healthy market — but not in a correction. Discount retailer Dollar General DG is consolidating tightly, just 4% off its high. PriceSmart PSMT, the Caribbean and Central America’s largest warehouse-style retailer, reversed lower last week. Its retreat continues this week with a test of the 10-week line in slightly above-average volume. PriceSmart stands 17% below its 52-week high.

But Family Dollar Stores FDO, another discounter, is breaching its 50-and 200-day lines in fast trade. Sportswear maker Under Armour’s UA test of its 10-week line appears as part of a sloppy basing try. Many leaders — and even more ex leaders— are diving below their key supports. Among these you’ll find Green Mountain Coffee Roasters GMCR, which is falling after a failed breakout from a late-stage base. Aerospace issue TransDigm
Group’s TDG losses threaten to unravel its recent basing attempt.
danmooncake
post Oct 1 2011, 04:17 AM

10,123 posts

Closing for this month and quarter. biggrin.gif

Dow 10913.38 -240.60 -2.16%
Nasdaq 2415.40 -65.36 -2.63%
S&P500 1131.42 -28.98 -2.50%

TSsulifeisgreat
post Oct 1 2011, 08:47 AM

1,121 posts

anyone willing to post daily & weekly charts of dog jones & s&p for the forumers overall viewing brows.gif

The Big Picture. Stocks Slammed, But Volume Is Mixed

Stock indexes stumbled Friday, closing out September with their fifth straight monthly loss.

The Nasdaq and NYSE composite each dropped 2.6%, while the S&P 500 sliced off 2.5%.

Volume was up on the NYSE and down on the Nasdaq as volatile trading continued.

Among leading stocks, virtually none rose in heavy volume, while the losers list was short, thanks at least in part to fewer stocks still considered leaders.

Friday's losses were broad. Declining issues led advancers by a roughly 7-to-2 ratio on both major exchanges. New lows led new highs on the Nasdaq by 169 to 3.

Meanwhile, the Economic Cycle Research Institute added to the gloom. The institute said the U.S. economy is tipping into a recession and "there's nothing that policymakers can do to head it off."

The last recession began in December 2007 and ended in June 2009, according to the National Bureau of Economic Research. ECRI noted in January 2008 that a downturn had begun and could turn into a recession. ECRI made its recession call in March 2008.

While such news had to discourage the bulls, predictions aren't necessarily useful to investors, even if they prove correct.

Here's why: Even in a recession, there are tradable rallies. That's why investors should stay focused on the price and volume action of the main indexes themselves.

The market will tell you when to get in and out of the market.

For example, the market flashed a follow-through day on March 20, 2008, which led to a 13% gain in the Nasdaq over two months.

During that period, breakouts and gains among top-rated stocks included natural gas play Southwestern Energy (SWN), up 39% in less than two months; oil and gas explorer Petrohawk Energy, up 183% in less than three months; oil-equipment stock Weatherford International (WFT), up 37% in three months; oil-equipment company Chart Industries (GTLS), up 58% in four months; and railroad operator CSX (CSX), up 32% in two months.

You don't want to miss those kinds of gains among top stocks.

So, if the market delivers a follow-through, it's not wise to sit on the sidelines simply because you are convinced a recession is under way.

The market follows the rules of the market, not the rules of economists, politicians or anybody else with an opinion.

For the week, the market was mixed. The Dow rose 1.3%, and the NYSE composite added 0.3%. But the Nasdaq dropped 2.7%, while the S&P 500 eased 0.4%. All closed near the week's lows.

Losses were sharp in other areas. The iPath Dow Jones UBS Copper ETN (JJC), an exchange traded fund that reflects the price of copper, slid 6% for the week. The Philadelphia semiconductor index shed 5.9%. And SPDR Gold Trust (GLD), an ETF that reflects the price of bullion, fell 1.1% — its fourth straight weekly loss after marking a high.

Bonescythe
post Oct 1 2011, 10:48 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Another good slide coming for KLSE on Monday smile.gif
TSsulifeisgreat
post Oct 2 2011, 02:22 PM

1,121 posts

btt time lyn usa forum guys/ gals cool2.gif wat makes the index moves? its component la! doh.gif
we look at dog jones components for roket riding, some of its chart shows gonna do swing trade, some shows wanna roket out brows.gif
My shopping cart icon_rolleyes.gif

swing trade
AA $9.5, BA $60.51, CAT $73.84, CVX $92.59, DD $39.97, DIS $30.16, JPM $30.12, MMM $71.79, PFE $17.68, TRV $48.73, UTX $70.36, XOM $72.63

buy high, sell higher provided it breakout icon_idea.gif
IBM wait $185
KO wait $75
MCD wait $90
VZ wait $40

danmooncake
post Oct 3 2011, 10:21 AM

10,123 posts

Line in 'Las Vegas' Sands for me at $35.50. biggrin.gif

epalbee3
post Oct 4 2011, 10:19 PM

1,345 posts

silent?
danmooncake
post Oct 4 2011, 11:01 PM

10,123 posts

Still going strong.. riding this "bear" market. We're official now.
Let see how well the bears can take this down.

I'm gotta cautious here.. lots of bulls now are planning for major assault because we're oversold.

It needs to go back up a little for more bear support but if we dive straight again to 1050, the bounce will be equally strong.

Myoswee
post Oct 5 2011, 08:44 AM

1,410 posts

Bulls back in vengeance

Luckily i have my trailing stops ready.

Now lets wait for another lower high brows.gif brows.gif
danmooncake
post Oct 5 2011, 09:07 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(Myoswee @ Oct 5 2011, 08:44 AM)
Bulls back in vengeance

Luckily i have my trailing stops ready.

Now lets wait for another lower high  brows.gif  brows.gif
Yes indeed. It was right out of the gate, we dive and short covering began. Had to cover all my 1st shorts batch and during the 2nd wave up, all shorts are buried. Once that 1101 line was broken at the last hour, it's a buy buy buy.

The FT times cooked up stories about possible bail out plan by Euro. All BS!

The market saw the oversold condition, one big whosh to the bottom to shake off the longs, and off it goes.

Got to play the long side now for a few days here.

ronn77
post Oct 5 2011, 09:22 AM

2,508 posts

Financial stocks bleeding like there's no tomorrow.

Should we go in right now? Price are damn tempting...
danmooncake
post Oct 5 2011, 09:38 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Oct 5 2011, 09:22 AM)
Financial stocks bleeding like there's no tomorrow.

Should we go in right now? Price are damn tempting...
I'm staying away from financials eventho they're pretty attractive.

ronn77
post Oct 5 2011, 10:06 AM

2,508 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 5 2011, 09:38 AM)
I'm staying away from financials eventho they're pretty attractive.
Probably u are right as financial stocks are weight down due to uncertainty in US and EU debts which may have impact on overall financial company.

Couple of weeks ago when LVS touching $50.27, I was queing my counter at $50.30 but the deal never been done and right now it going back to $40 level.

Moral of the story, sell at market price when we intended to sell for the profits, as few cents difference can causing we lose 100x than that amount.
danmooncake
post Oct 5 2011, 10:44 PM

10,123 posts

I'm on my 3rd rotation for LVS now (price range:36-50). Added more at $36.25-$36.50 area yesterday.
This time, I've slightly lowered my high price target to 48-49 area. It may take 3-4 weeks or more to get there, hopefully before they report earnings. Then, sell into earnings.

We're now moving north again. Buy dips on this second day of bounce but keep those trailing stops in place to protect profits.

Let's ride this bear market rally.

Good luck to all!

188 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0202sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:23 AM