US stock discussion v4, Bulls-Bears HUAT AH!! Pigs get slaughter

danmooncake
post Apr 19 2013, 02:35 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,125 posts

I've briefly looked at the the long term chart of AAPL and from the price action perspective.. it still have some downside move to it.
From the peak of 700, it successfully formed a nice H & S pattern to the base of 500, and now, it drops to 400..technically, it still got another 100 pts to go to $300-$320 as price target for the measured move. Now, that's just solely from a technical perspective only not necessarily it must go there. Anything can break this cycle for eg. if AAPL suddenly reports outstanding earnings or have great products in the coming months, then the bears will suddenly become bulls.

Fundamentally, nothing has change within the company, they're still making great products but the price action speaks for itself.
Broken stock, not broken company but great for trading! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Apr 19 2013, 02:36 AM
yok70
post Apr 19 2013, 03:01 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 19 2013, 02:35 AM)
I've briefly looked at the the long term chart of AAPL and from the price action perspective.. it still have some downside move to it.
From the peak of 700, it successfully formed a nice H & S pattern to the base of 500, and now, it drops to 400..technically, it still got another 100 pts to go to $300-$320 as price target for the measured move. Now, that's just solely from a technical perspective only not necessarily it must go there.  Anything can break this cycle for eg. if AAPL suddenly reports outstanding earnings or have great products in the coming months, then the bears will suddenly become bulls.

Fundamentally, nothing has change within the company, they're still making great products but the price action speaks for itself.
Broken stock, not broken company but great for trading!  thumbup.gif
Thanks! thumbup.gif
I remember it has about 130b cash? Is that still valid now? If so, current price is at 35% cash level. I like to see 320. biggrin.gif

danmooncake
post Apr 19 2013, 08:31 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Apr 19 2013, 03:01 AM)
Thanks!  thumbup.gif
I remember it has about 130b cash? Is that still valid now? If so, current price is at 35% cash level. I like to see 320.  biggrin.gif
Yes, they have 137bln..sure it is valid but they are very frugal.

They hardly spend it at all and they don't give it back to share holders when they were given the chance last year BEFORE the year end so that the divi tax rates can remain low. Heck, that's why a lot of investors decided to SELL AAPL after the big run from 2011 to 2012.

Now that the price is below 2012 level, won't be surprise we'll revisit the low of 2011 (around $305) in a couple of weeks time if the sell down continues.
countdown
post Apr 19 2013, 09:35 PM

814 posts

aapl bid/ask spread very huge more than 30cents. to recover loss by market maker?
danmooncake
post Apr 19 2013, 09:49 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(countdown @ Apr 19 2013, 09:35 PM)
aapl bid/ask spread very huge more than 30cents. to recover loss by market maker?
Option Expiration day... it's volatile day.
Need a push down towards 380 for shaking the bulls, and pull up to close just between 385 and 390 for maximum pain. laugh.gif
danmooncake
post Apr 19 2013, 09:53 PM

10,125 posts

SNDK sell off to 51.41 was what I was looking for yesterday after earnings.. so, got in at 51.80 tonight just to ride this back up.
Let see how it goes. Uptrend still intact for this flash maker.
yok70
post Apr 20 2013, 02:52 AM

12,698 posts

IBM! sweat.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Apr 20 2013, 02:52 AM
danmooncake
post Apr 20 2013, 05:23 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Apr 20 2013, 02:52 AM)
IBM!  sweat.gif  drool.gif
Ouch! Huge gap down for that one!! Are you going to trade it? biggrin.gif
foofoosasa
post Apr 20 2013, 06:59 AM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Apr 20 2013, 02:52 AM)
IBM!  sweat.gif  drool.gif
felt a bit lucky I sold it 2/3 days before sweat.gif .
danmooncake
post Apr 20 2013, 09:57 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Apr 20 2013, 06:59 AM)
felt a bit lucky I sold it 2/3 days before  sweat.gif .
Waahh..Very lucky.. you've dodged the bullet. rclxms.gif

It will take a lot of confidence to hold thru earnings..that's why sometimes, you have to wait till after they announce earnings to buy if the stock is volatile. If the stock already seen the big move before the earnings, the expectation is they must beat otherwise it will be severely punished. brows.gif

Next week.. AAPL to watch. Low expectation here. laugh.gif

foofoosasa
post Apr 20 2013, 10:32 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 20 2013, 09:57 PM)
Waahh..Very lucky.. you've dodged the bullet.    rclxms.gif

It will take a lot of confidence to hold thru earnings..that's why sometimes, you have to wait till after they announce earnings to buy if the stock is volatile. If the stock already seen the big move before the earnings, the expectation is they must beat otherwise it will be severely punished.  brows.gif

Next week.. AAPL to watch.  Low expectation here.  laugh.gif
Actually I just sold to buy another bargain, never thought will be that lucky. LOL
Agree with you, the shinning star like IBM, APPL etc really do have really big expectation in earning.
countdown
post Apr 22 2013, 07:47 PM

814 posts

oh crap after reading this data, might go for straddle/strangle rather than pure PUT....

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/5-apple-c...dist=beforebell
danmooncake
post Apr 22 2013, 09:30 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(countdown @ Apr 22 2013, 07:47 PM)
oh crap after reading this data, might go for straddle/strangle rather than pure PUT....

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/5-apple-c...dist=beforebell
I did the long straddle last time. It works for me because AAPL tends to be very volatile and made the big
move after earnings. Depending on where it is going close today.. I'll have to check how many possible points
it can move after earnings. The option market open interest is a tell tale sign where people are betting.

foofoosasa
post Apr 22 2013, 09:38 PM

3,482 posts

The profit margin of APPL is deteriorating.. I wonder how going into "low cost strategy" going to help...

countdown
post Apr 22 2013, 09:40 PM

814 posts

wah...NFLX like google!
danmooncake
post Apr 22 2013, 09:55 PM

10,125 posts

Playing calls tonight for AAPL. in some at 392.. plan to exit around 397/398. 5-6 pts scalp. smile.gif
danmooncake
post Apr 22 2013, 10:02 PM

10,125 posts

Got it. 397.50.. I'm out. Quick cash for tonight. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Apr 22 2013, 10:03 PM
all blacks
post Apr 22 2013, 10:25 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 22 2013, 10:02 PM)
Got it. 397.50..  I'm out. Quick cash for tonight.  biggrin.gif
Bro u play Stock, option or SSF? So fast exit..
danmooncake
post Apr 22 2013, 10:46 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ Apr 22 2013, 10:25 PM)
Bro u play Stock, option or SSF? So fast exit..
Calls options..
danmooncake
post Apr 23 2013, 06:18 AM

10,125 posts

Tons of calls interests for AAPL in 420s and puts in 365s area.
More than 5% move coming.. place your bets tomorrow before end of closing.

188 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:25 AM