> Why now.., ..is not the right time to buy property Serious Talk

TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 09:49 AM, updated 15y ago

2,694 posts

2010:

Household loan growth in Malaysia accelerated to 12.5 per cent in May, while household loan applications and approvals remain elevated - which may provide a justification for one last hike to pre-empt further build-up of household leverage.

"Household debt at 77 per cent of GDP (gross domestic product) is now the highest in Asia, with debt service approaching half of household income, even before the OPR was raised.

Read more: Malaysia likely to raise key rate: Economists http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...l#ixzz1X84DgS7R

Look at the graph above. Household debt is increasing rapidly!

And what will our BNM gonna do about it?

Read here, the latest news:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...uyers-says-rhb/

The change comes as the central bank attempts to reign in household debt that, as a percentage of gross domestic product, surged to a record high level in 2010 due to low interest rates and easy financing schemes.

And on the rule of thumb. What will happen when central bank reduce the amount of loans (by making it harder to make loan or higher the interest rate)?

Read here:

The domino effect of rising interest rates
The first thing that will happen in this country when interest rates go up, as they eventually will, is that a huge percentage of homeowners won't be able to make the payments on their home. Their credit card payments are due, and those are higher, too (thanks to higher interest rates). Then their house payment comes due. They were paying $500 a month. Now they have to pay $1,000 a month because interest rates are 12 percent. What happens? They can't make the payment. What do they do? They sell the house, or they try to hang in there for a while until the house gets repossessed, and the bank sells it. Either way, the house is getting sold. The house then goes on the market, adding to the supply glut of homes for sale. It's not just this one family that's affected, because interest rates affect everyone. Suddenly, a large group of homeowners can't make the payments all at once.

So, what happens to the price of houses when, say, a mere 4 percent of all homeowners suddenly decide to sell their homes at the same time? Prices plummet, and they plummet so fast that all the people who own homes can't sell them quickly enough. The condo you paid $100,000 for is only worth $80,000, and then it's only worth $70,000, and then it's only worth $60,000, and it continues to drop. Your condo ends up being worth only half of what you paid. Now you owe $90,000 because you didn't sell it yet. You owe $90,000 on a condo that's only worth $50,000 because the housing market popped. The bubble burst.

=================================================

So guys, think twice before buying properties now.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hazairi: Sep 6 2011, 09:51 AM
StarScream01
post Sep 6 2011, 09:58 AM

73 posts

thx
SUSStationMonkey
post Sep 6 2011, 10:00 AM

15 posts

This is for house only, no?
Sethmaster
post Sep 6 2011, 10:02 AM

301 posts

thanks to bijan and his 'smart' economic moves, the bubble is already about the burst.
I guarantee it will happen right after the next election, regardless of the winner
gundamsp01
post Sep 6 2011, 10:02 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

seriously, i waiting for that to happen

even so, i have to wait for 5 - 6 years time to reach Rm100k mark, d*mn
MyKy44
post Sep 6 2011, 10:08 AM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

thx for the info sharing smile.gif
kokokranc
post Sep 6 2011, 10:09 AM

223 posts

nutjib so pandai now. he will anounce soon GE.

after that for sure bubble burst. he escape.
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 10:12 AM

65 posts

so when "GLCs" are selling their properties then we know it is The End...
barista
post Sep 6 2011, 10:15 AM

I want to retire
883 posts

I wait for this day so that I can buy.
lck*G9
post Sep 6 2011, 10:16 AM

2,026 posts

bubble only affects investors la...
home buyers for own use while benefit if bubble really burst

anyway, if the bubble burst, your telor also will kecut... that time you will think of saving for the rainy days in case poop drop from sky...

so if you buy now you pay more if you buy after bubble burst, chances also you can't find one or your telor still kecut...
Jasonist
post Sep 6 2011, 11:01 AM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

so for those who havent bought houses, lets wait for the bubble to burst and get cheap houses! rclxms.gif
TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 12:08 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(lck*G9 @ Sep 6 2011, 10:16 AM)

anyway, if the bubble burst, your telor also will kecut... that time you will think of saving for the rainy days in case poop drop from sky...

so if you buy now you pay more if you buy after bubble burst, chances also you can't find one or your telor still kecut...
the strategy is right now, pile up your cash as high as can. Rent cheap place to get more net income..
ichi_24
post Sep 6 2011, 12:09 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(Sethmaster @ Sep 6 2011, 10:02 AM)
thanks to bijan and his 'smart' economic moves, the bubble is already about the burst.
I guarantee it will happen right after the next election, regardless of the winner
but i will smile hard when the bubble burst

Flaming_lion
post Sep 6 2011, 12:09 PM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

LOL! Not applicable to Malaysia honestly.
hondy_wave
post Sep 6 2011, 12:13 PM

Lalalalala..
1,104 posts

malaysia menuju ke arah kuasa besar dunia..

*corrected.. menuju ke arah kebankruptan..
SUS4_for
post Sep 6 2011, 12:15 PM

fuh, cybertrooper also now worried about housing.
olman
post Sep 6 2011, 12:21 PM

1,998 posts

just pop it already,

it is high time to re-adjust the whole overly inflated mess.
TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 12:33 PM

2,694 posts

Keep in mind on this statement:

As a percentage of GDP, Malaysia’s household debt increased from 66.7 per cent in 2004 to 76 per cent in 2009, which is uncomfortably close to the levels seen in the US prior to the 2008 financial crisis.

Looked what happened to US?
gu~wak_zhai
post Sep 6 2011, 12:37 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

i'm waiting..
lck*G9
post Sep 6 2011, 12:37 PM

2,026 posts

US has the biggest debt
double7
post Sep 6 2011, 12:46 PM

128 posts

bubble burst then so many rushing to buy.. then price climb back again.. lol..
gestapo
post Sep 6 2011, 12:47 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

no need to buy, after election when PR wins. we gonna get free houses. thumbup.gif
kanabalize
post Sep 6 2011, 12:54 PM

436 posts

people are not that stupid to sell property for cheap because the ones with property are the one with steady income... so they can hold on to their property even if the bubble bursts....

If you want cheap house then pray for unemployment... but again it is a double edged sword isn't it...

Even during the 1998 economic crisis... the house prices kept on climbing...
TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 12:59 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(kanabalize @ Sep 6 2011, 12:54 PM)
people are not that stupid to sell property for cheap because the ones with property are the one with steady income... so they can hold on to their property even if the bubble bursts....

If you want cheap house then pray for unemployment... but again it is a double edged sword isn't it...

the problem is, most of the property owners are serving bank loans.

Let's say when u 1st bought at super high price, the instalment monthly u pay 1k. Now, the value has gone down until if ppl make loans, they only need to pay 300-400 per month for that house. So, why pay 1k when the house is worth 300-400 per month only? And u gonna serve that for another 20 years?

This post has been edited by hazairi: Sep 6 2011, 01:00 PM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 6 2011, 01:03 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

will medium low cost apartments be affected?
sq ft 798, priced under RM100k

my dad selling such units near jusco rawang.

baru keluar CF a week before raya.
Break Prick
post Sep 6 2011, 01:10 PM

26 posts

will the house price in malaysia going down ? i waiting that time to come and then gonna bought a condo biggrin.gif
Penangnitesz
post Sep 6 2011, 01:12 PM

111 posts

omai i just bought my rm 300k condo in penang last month sad.gif
TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 01:17 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 6 2011, 01:03 PM)

it depends on the severity of the burst. I don't think our country will have the same bad effect such as previously received by US. BNM is doing their best to minimize the casualties.

QUOTE(Break Prick @ Sep 6 2011, 01:10 PM)
will the house price in malaysia going down ? i waiting that time to come and then gonna bought a condo biggrin.gif
Yeah, soon. If not another 2-3 years, might be another 5-8 years but it's worth the wait.

QUOTE(Penangnitesz @ Sep 6 2011, 01:12 PM)
Prepare to die.
Lithos

30 posts

Don't think so those will be affected much...the luxury condos will be the first to get hit kua...

Hopefully in Penang the bubble will burst, the property prices here are truly insane. A condo with 800+ sq ft, and facilities like swimming pool, gym, and sauna, but *leasehold*, can go for more than RM300k here. Some condos/apartments are more than 700k even though the size is only 1500 sq ft or less. You can buy a few bungalows with that kind of money on the mainland shakehead.gif
myone1015

65 posts

QUOTE(kanabalize @ Sep 6 2011, 12:54 PM)

The question is hold on for how long? Every day just makan roti and air kosong since rental cannot cover the installment?

This time is different from 1998. The price up 50% in just a year.

And Najib don't have money to bail you out since goverment already overspent since 1998.
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 01:22 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 6 2011, 01:17 PM)
BNM is doing their best to minimize the casualties.
------------------------------------------------------------------

ya right, 40 years loan period for 2 generation, low interest rate, minimal property gain tax - they are the one who allow the bubble getting big.
TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 01:24 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 01:22 PM)
------------------------------------------------------------------

ya right, 40 years loan period for 2 generation, low interest rate, minimal property gain tax - they are the one who allow the bubble getting big.
LOL. Now they are having headaches to overcome it..
LostAndFound
post Sep 6 2011, 01:32 PM

6,266 posts

OP quotes a 2010 article on raising the interest rate, then got comment on recalculation of mortgage, then how increased interest rate gonna affect homeowners?

How does 1 and 3 linked to 2? No source for "interest rate going to go up now" since the adjustment in first article already done back then...
shaff
post Sep 6 2011, 01:32 PM

127 posts

good what bubble pop, we the younger generation can finally afford to buy house, and lets the fcking investor die with that bubble pop, we dont need em anymore. smile.gif
SUS4_for
post Sep 6 2011, 01:36 PM

Itulah, our cost of living is too high.
Flaming_lion
post Sep 6 2011, 01:40 PM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(4_for @ Sep 6 2011, 12:15 PM)
fuh, cybertrooper also now worried about housing.
He's not worried. He's optimistic about Malaysia's future. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(olman @ Sep 6 2011, 12:21 PM)
just pop it already,

it is high time to re-adjust the whole overly inflated mess.
Its not a bubble to begin with.

QUOTE(double7 @ Sep 6 2011, 12:46 PM)
bubble burst then so many rushing to buy.. then price climb back again.. lol..
There's no bubble.

LOL! Let me tell you what's going to happen. Richfag properties, harder to buy, richfags resort to low end and medium end properties AS INVESTMENTS. You'll see them grabbing 10-20 units of low cost apartments. Demand for low end and medium end properties increase. Poor and middle class people can't keep up. Poof... The same problem gets aggravated.

QUOTE(shaff @ Sep 6 2011, 01:32 PM)
good what bubble pop, we the younger generation can finally afford to buy house, and lets the fcking investor die with that bubble pop, we dont need em anymore. smile.gif
Sir, I have tell you that there's no property bubble in Malaysia. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Flaming_lion: Sep 6 2011, 01:41 PM
TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 01:41 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Sep 6 2011, 01:32 PM)
OP quotes a 2010 article on raising the interest rate, then got comment on recalculation of mortgage, then how increased interest rate gonna affect homeowners?

How does 1 and 3 linked to 2? No source for "interest rate going to go up now" since the adjustment in first article already done back then...
Raising interest rates are one of the method use by a central bank to reduce the amount of lending from the people. They will soon as you can look from the graph, Malaysian household debt is the highest in Asia. If they continue to give low interest rate, definitely the economy can't sustain with lots of loans and it will make the bubble worst.
Veda
post Sep 6 2011, 01:42 PM

650 posts

C'mon lar. No human can accurately predict the future.

Property prices might continue to go up, or more likely stay stagnant for a while.
Veda
post Sep 6 2011, 01:44 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Penangnitesz @ Sep 6 2011, 01:12 PM)
RM300k condo in penang sound ok what. What size and location, name of project?
SUS4_for
post Sep 6 2011, 01:47 PM

Malaysia no property bubble, just high demand for good properties.
Demand high, cost also high lor.
SUS4_for
post Sep 6 2011, 01:51 PM

guess now everyone will have to stay in rawang. whistling.gif
pgsiemkia
post Sep 6 2011, 01:56 PM

473 posts

Bubble will burst for those who buy to sell later on as many are holding on to houses in the hope of max profits..better sell now. Later on bank will not approve loans unless you really can repay or have a term loan..like in 1998-2004.

For those who really have money, the super rich homes will continue to sell as many would want the security and prestige of living in an exclusive enclave away from the low-class developments that have shophouses and low-cost flats in the same area..

If ready to buy first home, better to wait as developers will slash prices when bubble burst, keep money to pay a higher down payment so that u will not be killed by high interest when bubble bursts..now interest low but in 2003, interest was nearly 8-10% and Islamic loan 12-15%! In a burst bubble economy, banks have to recoup losses and repay term loans, hence higher interest.

In noob terms, invest your money now in savings..dun go and play the property market, cos your stable job may be non-existence when economy collapses, so if you buy an expensive home now, will end up on the streets when jobless or if salary does not grow.

myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 01:58 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(4_for @ Sep 6 2011, 01:47 PM)
Malaysia no property bubble, just high demand for good properties.
Demand high, cost also high lor.
almost any junk properties including apartment, condo, landed in KV already appreciated > 50% within a year. this is not real demand.
gundamsp01
post Sep 6 2011, 01:59 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(Flaming_lion @ Sep 6 2011, 01:40 PM)
Sir, I have tell you that there's no property bubble in Malaysia.  sweat.gif
mind to tell why there is no bubble?

A real estate bubble or property bubble (or housing bubble for residential markets) is a type of economic bubble that occurs periodically in local or global real estate markets. It is characterized by rapid increases in valuations of real property such as housing until they reach unsustainable levels and then decline.

then i go to search google, and read some old news from the star, there is a bubble just that not reach its climax yet
source

TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 02:02 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Sep 6 2011, 01:59 PM)

A real estate bubble or property bubble (or housing bubble for residential markets) is a type of economic bubble that occurs periodically in local or global real estate markets. It is characterized by rapid increases in valuations of real property such as housing until they reach unsustainable levels and then decline.

then i go to search google, and read some old news from the star, there is a bubble just that not reach its climax yet
source
relax. He was just being sarcastic.. tongue.gif

anyway, nice link you give there. I wanna save it for my research.. smile.gif
Flaming_lion
post Sep 6 2011, 02:07 PM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Sep 6 2011, 01:59 PM)

source
In our case, property prices are high simply because of demand for properties. Everybody comes to KL to earn a better income. When everyone comes to KL to earn a better income, everybody wants to stay in KL. When that happens, isn't that increasing demand for properties? Demand goes up and up, while more and more people are moving into KL and Selangor. On top of it, old properties are being made way for newer high-rise properties.

If you say its a bubble, then you'll have to look at those rich people who own like huge numbers of low end and medium end properties. These people buy and sell therefore, inflating the prices of properties. Only then, I would say, its logical to call it a bubble. The problem with KL and Selangor is that, property prices are increasing more and more as more people are moving into KL and Selangor.

Just to prove the point, recently a corner lot near my house was sold for half a million. Its only 18 by 60 and its a double story. Heck, everytime I see a property for sale around my place, in just less than a week, the property would be sold. Interestingly, I don't see them as investors, but I see most of them are either newly weds or retired elders. Does this sound like a freaking bubble to you? sad.gif

This post has been edited by Flaming_lion: Sep 6 2011, 02:12 PM
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 02:14 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Flaming_lion @ Sep 6 2011, 02:07 PM)
In our case, property prices are high simply because of demand for properties. Everybody comes to KL to earn a better income. When everyone comes to KL to earn a better income, everybody wants to stay in KL. When that happens, isn't that increasing demand for properties? Demand goes up and up, while more and more people are moving into KL and Selangor. On top of it, old properties are being made way for newer high-rise properties.

If you say its a bubble, then you'll have to look at those rich people who own like huge numbers of low end and medium end properties. These people buy and sell therefore, inflating the prices of properties. Only then, I would say, its logical to call it a bubble. The problem with KL and Selangor is that, property prices are increasing more and more as more people are moving into KL and Selangor.

Just to prove the point, recently a corner lot near my house was sold for half a million. Its only 18 by 60 and its a double story. Heck, everytime I see a property for sale around my place, in just less than a week, the property would be sold. Interestingly, I don't see them as investors, but I see most of them are either newly weds or retired elders. Does this sound like a freaking bubble to you?  sad.gif
I think you do not understand what a property bubble means. Someone has already provided the definition at this page.
cracksys
post Sep 6 2011, 02:16 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

Just to prove the point, recently a corner lot near my house was sold for half a million. Its only 18 by 60 and its a double story. Heck, everytime I see a property for sale around my place, in just less than a week, the property would be sold. Interestingly, I don't see them as investors, but I see most of them are either newly weds or retired elders. Does this sound like a freaking bubble to you?  sad.gif

bodoh ape. increase in price = price appreciation.

no matter what the cause, bubble is a bubble. there's no "price increase because demand is good" and "price increase because speculation is bad" side.
gundamsp01
post Sep 6 2011, 02:17 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

if so, even if there is an economy slowdown next year, it hardly impact on the housing industry since everyone is buying them for own property rather than selling them except maybe for those investors?
TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 02:17 PM

2,694 posts

Can you take a look at the graphs given? Our household debt is at it's peak and these household debt is the one fueling the:

Just to prove the point, recently a corner lot near my house was sold for half a million. Its only 18 by 60 and its a double story. Heck, everytime I see a property for sale around my place, in just less than a week, the property would be sold. Interestingly, I don't see them as investors, but I see most of them are either newly weds or retired elders. Does this sound like a freaking bubble to you?

The statement above was exactly the same situation before US had their property bubble burst.. smile.gif
Xonius
post Sep 6 2011, 02:18 PM

Y U NO MAD???
1,113 posts

I've seen this coming for quite some time now as i've been property hunting lately. The prices are insanely high with a huge amount of surplus that it looks like another bubble that's about to burst. Due to this i've hold back on purchasing any.

The property prices are sky rocketing at a pretty high rate, our GDP growth just couldn't catch up thus not that many can be sold as fast. So when there's a huge surplus with little demand, the prices are bound to drop.

I've had discussions with a few property agents and they too agree that it is now very hard to sell property, more so at prime areas as they are set at a very high price, too high for even the above average income earners. They admitted to using "we are selling below market price" phrases to potential customers because they know if they don't sell it now, it will drop even more. This gives me a very bad impression on the market as you do not sell it cheaper than what its supposed to be worth or valued by the bank.

Ughh..and just when i thought i was going be able to live in a new apartment by new year sad.gif
gundamsp01
post Sep 6 2011, 02:20 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 6 2011, 02:17 PM)
Can you take a look at the graphs given? Our household debt is at it's peak and these household debt is the one fueling the:

Just to prove the point, recently a corner lot near my house was sold for half a million. Its only 18 by 60 and its a double story. Heck, everytime I see a property for sale around my place, in just less than a week, the property would be sold. Interestingly, I don't see them as investors, but I see most of them are either newly weds or retired elders. Does this sound like a freaking bubble to you?

The statement above was exactly the same situation before US had their property bubble burst.. smile.gif
from the statement, ppl buying houses in less than a week...means economy still fine and lots of ppl still rich...
that means the price is still can be cope up with, no? so, how exactly it bursts?
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 02:25 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Sep 6 2011, 02:20 PM)
from the statement, ppl buying houses in less than a week...means economy still fine and lots of ppl still rich...
that means the price is still can be cope up with, no? so, how exactly it bursts?
it could be ppl are scared that price will increase more and they pay > 40% of their salary just to own a house that they can't afford. when economy down, they will be forced to auction their house and if bank ask them to top up the difference, they might go bankcrupcy...

This post has been edited by myone1015: Sep 6 2011, 02:26 PM
cracksys
post Sep 6 2011, 02:28 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

its a freaking loan, not asset.

lot of people still rich? how much is the median income in malaysia until you said a LOT still rich.

once the price reach a point high enough where MOST of the people can't afford their rent, BOOM.
Flaming_lion
post Sep 6 2011, 02:31 PM

An Innocent Lion
649 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 02:14 PM)
I think you do not understand what a property bubble means. Someone has already provided the definition at this page.
Nope.

QUOTE(cracksys @ Sep 6 2011, 02:16 PM)
bodoh ape. increase in price = price appreciation.

no matter what the cause, bubble is a bubble. there's no "price increase because demand is good" and "price increase because speculation is bad" side.
LOL! Tell you what... You just wait, keep waiting for property prices to fall. Just sit and wait for it. Let's see how long before the "bubble" will burst. smile.gif

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Sep 6 2011, 02:17 PM)
if so, even if there is an economy slowdown next year, it hardly impact on the housing industry since everyone is buying them for own property rather than selling them except maybe for those investors?
By the looks of it, more and more people are buying properties in KL & Selangor because of the need to work in KL and Selangor. People are coming in from other states to look for better opportunities. Are you telling me that these people will live in huts as illegal squatters?

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 6 2011, 02:17 PM)

In Malaysia, what did the government do? They told the banks to offer 30 year loans instead of 25 year loans. smile.gif

QUOTE(Xonius @ Sep 6 2011, 02:18 PM)
The property prices are sky rocketing at a pretty high rate, our GDP growth just couldn't catch up thus not that many can be sold as fast. So when there's a huge surplus with little demand, the prices are bound to drop.
That's the worrying part.

Years ago, you only needed a 10 year loan. Then it became 15, followed by 20 and so on... Today, we're talking about 25 to 35 years loan. That's how exactly we're coping. sad.gif
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 02:34 PM

3,785 posts

bubble only affects speculators... investors play with extra money, speculators play with their only money...

happy waiting for the bubble smile.gif
gundamsp01
post Sep 6 2011, 02:42 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 02:25 PM)
it could be ppl are scared that price will increase more and they pay > 40% of their salary just to own a house that they can't afford. when economy down, they will be forced to auction their house and if bank ask them to top up the difference, they might go bankcrupcy...
not quite sure how's that work...mind to elaborate? means pay the remaining balance instead of following the schedule stated in the contract?

QUOTE(cracksys @ Sep 6 2011, 02:28 PM)

lot of people still rich? how much is the median income in malaysia until you said a LOT still rich.

once the price reach a point high enough where MOST of the people can't afford their rent, BOOM.
the rich are more concentrated in one area, if u saying buy a house, of coz it is still affordable, but it is impractical i buy a house in my hometown ipoh, worth around 100k then come to work in KL, right? while most rich and wealth including foreign investor keep on making the price in selangor goes higher and higher, it makes young ppl hard to buy house with just salary-man's earning

QUOTE(Flaming_lion @ Sep 6 2011, 02:31 PM)
By the looks of it, more and more people are buying properties in KL & Selangor because of the need to work in KL and Selangor. People are coming in from other states to look for better opportunities. Are you telling me that these people will live in huts as illegal squatters?
well, my area in pj, most ppl(family, students, fresh grad like me) just rent houses
while those ppl who came here 15 to 20 years ago, flourish with most of the properties in their hands coz of the cheap price years ago

This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Sep 6 2011, 02:43 PM
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 02:51 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Sep 6 2011, 02:42 PM)
not quite sure how's that work...mind to elaborate? means pay the remaining balance instead of following the schedule stated in the contract?
let say b4 bubble burst, house worth 500k, loan granted by bank is 500k

after burst, house worth 300k

then owner default payment, bank auction the property for 300k.

the difference of loan given and auction price is, 500k - 300k = 200k.

bank ask owner to top up the 200k or more to recover their loss.

optional:

owner no money but got another property worth 200k , fully paid up.

bank force owner to sell the property and take the 200k.

owner left with no money and no house.

This post has been edited by myone1015: Sep 6 2011, 03:01 PM
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 03:07 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Sep 6 2011, 02:28 PM)

where are people going to stay then? they can't rent, they can't even buy...
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 03:13 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:07 PM)
they will build their own rumah papan
kanabalize
post Sep 6 2011, 03:14 PM

436 posts

Say you have a house worth 500K... on a prime land...

will you sell it?

How do you know when the bubble burst?
SUSWintersuN
post Sep 6 2011, 03:15 PM

3,173 posts

lol at ppl waiting for bubble to burst. U can keep on waiting

burst your cherry oso bubble havent burst
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 03:22 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 02:51 PM)

optional:

this will only happen provided the owner is jobless and lazy...

and how will the bank force the owner to sell the 200k prop? with a gun? doh.gif
kanabalize
post Sep 6 2011, 03:28 PM

436 posts

so bubble will burst if the people dont have source of income?
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 03:38 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:22 PM)
this will only happen provided the owner is jobless and lazy...

and how will the bank force the owner to sell the 200k prop? with a gun? doh.gif
bank might include the clause in the agreement.

mamasos
post Sep 6 2011, 03:38 PM

176 posts

pls dun siao la prop price burst? pls keep dreaming.
cracksys
post Sep 6 2011, 03:39 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

i see a lot of people defending their house appreciation in price is normal. pity them living in denial.
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 03:40 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:38 PM)
bank might include the clause in the agreement.
smart... you going to sign that agreement? doh.gif

loan fully repaid = no attachments to the bank, no? doh.gif
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 03:41 PM

65 posts

it is getting serious as some deny it blindly.
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 03:41 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:13 PM)
they will build their own rumah papan
in the sky? doh.gif
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 03:42 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:40 PM)

it is the 500k loan la. you refuse to sign then no loan given lor. doh.gif
scoop7
post Sep 6 2011, 03:42 PM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

QUOTE(kokokranc @ Sep 6 2011, 10:09 AM)
nutjib so pandai now. he will anounce soon GE.

after that for sure bubble burst. he escape.
yeah, already in OZ during raya to checkout the plc
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 03:45 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:40 PM)

from http://www.hba.org.my/faq/on_housing_loans.htm

Q: What can the financial institution do if I do not make repayments?
A: If you fail to make three consecutive payments, the financial institution will take the necessary actions to recall the loan. In the worst case scenario, the financial institution will foreclose the property and sell it to settle the loan. The borrower would still be liable to pay the difference between the auction price and the loan amount outstanding. doh.gif
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 03:46 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:41 PM)
in the sky? doh.gif
somewhere near rawang doh.gif
TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 03:46 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(kanabalize @ Sep 6 2011, 03:28 PM)
so bubble will burst if the people dont have source of income?
the bubble burst when the demand stops and the supply is too much..
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 03:47 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:42 PM)
it is the 500k loan la. you refuse to sign then no loan given lor.  doh.gif
bro... you mentioned in your optional statement that the loan is fully repaid, then below that you added bank force the owner to sell, not logical right? doh.gif

myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 03:47 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:47 PM)
bro... you mentioned in your optional statement that the loan is fully repaid, then below that you added bank force the owner to sell, not logical right? doh.gif
they force you to sell whatever you have la.
xavi5567
post Sep 6 2011, 03:48 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

bubble only affects investors la... <--myth; facts is .. investor will benefit bcos price plummet, only speculator kecut telor.
home buyers for own use while benefit if bubble really burst <-- home owner will kecut telor as well as their loan now will cost more due to high interest.. sooner or later they might default the loan..

anyway, if the bubble burst, your telor also will kecut... that time you will think of saving for the rainy days in case poop drop from sky... <-- tat y i say normal people will still kecut telor when burble burst.. but those who have lot of cash on hand<--investor.. will benefit alot...

cracksys
post Sep 6 2011, 03:48 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 6 2011, 03:46 PM)
the bubble burst when the demand stops and the supply is too much..

to make it clear to idiots out there, demand stop does not mean people don't want houses.

they might not be able to afford them = demand stop.
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 03:49 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:45 PM)
from http://www.hba.org.my/faq/on_housing_loans.htm

Q: What can the financial institution do if I do not make repayments?
A: If you fail to make three consecutive payments, the financial institution will take the necessary actions to recall the loan. In the worst case scenario, the financial institution will foreclose the property and sell it to settle the loan. The borrower would still be liable to pay the difference between the auction price and the loan amount outstanding.  doh.gif
i know this clause 5 years ago when i got my 1st prop...

banks are simple ok, you owe 100k loan, you pay 100k bank, the bank is doing you a favor of auctioning your prop...
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 03:51 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:47 PM)
they force you to sell whatever you have la.
dude... how can you force someone to sell something he already owns? his loan is fully repaid...

force sale can only happen if you declare bankrupt... i.e. cannot repay the loan
ericyong
post Sep 6 2011, 03:55 PM

529 posts

rental yields are dropping

so be careful when investing.
mamasos
post Sep 6 2011, 03:58 PM

176 posts

Yes, it's might happened, if everyone are jobless. At that moment, you also can't aford to buy it. So, why so happy about it?
cracksys
post Sep 6 2011, 03:59 PM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:51 PM)
dude... how can you force someone to sell something he already owns? his loan is fully repaid...

force sale can only happen if you declare bankrupt... i.e. cannot repay the loan

we are talking about people who're still on loan tied to their bank's house.

why so butthurt?
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 04:03 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Sep 6 2011, 03:59 PM)
we are talking about people who're still on loan tied to their bank's house.

why so butthurt?

optional:

dude... read again what you wrote doh.gif
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 04:06 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:03 PM)
I'm not talking about you, you no need butthurt
Xonius
post Sep 6 2011, 04:07 PM

Y U NO MAD???
1,113 posts

QUOTE(mamasos @ Sep 6 2011, 03:58 PM)
Yes, it's might happened, if everyone are jobless. At that moment, you also can't aford to buy it. So, why so happy about it?
The person who will benefit are those with cash to spare, not the ones who pay through their nose. The only worrying thing now is the possible interest rate hike. sweat.gif
TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 04:09 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(Xonius @ Sep 6 2011, 04:07 PM)
The person who will benefit are those with cash to spare, not the ones who pay through their nose. The only worrying thing now is the possible interest rate hike. sweat.gif
exactly. So, the best strategy, pile up your cash as high as you can. Invest it on ASB. When the bubble burst, you can use it for a high downpayment..
walla!
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 04:10 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:06 PM)
I'm not talking about you, you no need butthurt
i know lar, but you go spread that kind of nonsense... beh tahan mar doh.gif
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 04:11 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Xonius @ Sep 6 2011, 04:07 PM)
if interest rate hike then how?
TShazairi
post Sep 6 2011, 04:14 PM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:11 PM)
if interest rate hike then how?
thats y the strategy is to keep as much cash as u can (of course invest it for better dividends) so dat when the time comes, u can use it to pay about 30-40% of the house price. This will reduce the total amount of interest u need to pay to bank..
whoopa
post Sep 6 2011, 04:14 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

flaming lion is trollan ah? LOL.
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 04:16 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:10 PM)
i know lar, but you go spread that kind of nonsense... beh tahan mar doh.gif
it is nonsense only when you are butthurt
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 04:17 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 6 2011, 04:14 PM)
thats y the strategy is to keep as much cash as u can (of course invest it for better dividends) so dat when the time comes, u can use it to pay about 30-40% of the house price. This will reduce the total amount of interest u need to pay to bank..
don't have to wait what... just do as much principal reduction as you can...
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 04:19 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:16 PM)
it is nonsense only when you are butthurt
hahaha, you know... i nearly fall off my chair when you said the bank can force sale a property from an owner who doesn't owe the bank any loan rclxms.gif

yes... i butthurt cos you can joke better than me smile.gif
anechoic
post Sep 6 2011, 04:19 PM

TY
2,278 posts

slowly wait lor for bubble burst...foreigners like chinese are buying our properties by the dozen...

unless u are speculating/investing, no reason not to buy a house if u need it..
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 04:22 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(xsaed @ Sep 6 2011, 04:20 PM)
yaa... and gomen just wanna look good on FDI, allows forigners to buy property i mahresia... so their higher buying power will make us local chokes and gags to buy a proper house
same thing happening overseas... Malaysia and Singapore are one of the highest investors in Aussie and UK, just below the Mainland Chinese... and you think Malaysians are poor smile.gif
myone1015
post Sep 6 2011, 04:23 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:19 PM)
i nearly fall off my chair when you said the bank can force sale a property from an owner who doesn't owe the bank any loan rclxms.gif

did i say that? go read and think again. stop acting like a brain damaged here.
gladfly
post Sep 6 2011, 04:27 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:23 PM)
I believe you said the bank will force the borrower to sell of his fully paid house 2 to pay for the loan outstanding for house 1 after auction.

Which ..kenji is right..the bank cant do so.

House 2 is not part of the colleteral of loan 1. Hence bank has no power over house 2.

Its an option for borrower whether to sell house 2 to cover loan for house 1. If he dont want to ..bank just declare him bankrupt and its up to the OA to sell the house to cover all liabilites of borrower.

There...settled.

Next...

kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 04:30 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(myone1015 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:23 PM)
here doh.gif

optional:

bank force owner to sell the property
and take the 200k.

kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 04:33 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Sep 6 2011, 04:27 PM)
I believe you said the bank will force the borrower to sell of his fully paid house 2 to pay for the loan outstanding for house 1 after auction.

Which ..kenji is right..the bank cant do so.

House 2 is not part of the colleteral of loan 1. Hence bank has no power over house 2.

Its an option for borrower whether to sell house 2 to cover loan for house 1. If he dont want to ..bank just declare him bankrupt and its up to the OA to sell the house to cover all liabilites of borrower.

There...settled.

Next...
nice... you are banker?
Jenn77
post Sep 6 2011, 04:38 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:30 PM)
here doh.gif
Seriously.. i also damn worry the way he 'spread' that kind of inaccurate information.. where did he get it from? Goosebump cause the example given sounds like me.. wtf doh.gif

This post has been edited by Jenn77: Sep 6 2011, 04:38 PM
oe_kintaro
post Sep 6 2011, 04:39 PM

2,222 posts

Just another 2-3years to clear off my loan.. I pity those are going to get stuck when the bubble pops.
mamasos
post Sep 6 2011, 04:42 PM

176 posts

until loan clean. also near to our life span. hahahahahha..
kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 04:43 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:38 PM)
Seriously.. i also damn worry the way he 'spread' that kind of inaccurate information.. where did he get it from? Goosebump cause the example given sounds like me.. wtf  doh.gif
take words from /k/ with a pinch of salt, the property forum should have better and more accurate info smile.gif

anyway, just discuss and be happy, but that no loan force sell one memang shakehead.gif
spikyz
post Sep 6 2011, 04:46 PM

1,341 posts

d sifu all stop buying aldy. some might aldy cashing out. and turn into pm. property bubbles are very near in d corner
Jenn77
post Sep 6 2011, 04:50 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:43 PM)
take words from /k/ with a pinch of salt, the property forum should have better and more accurate info smile.gif

anyway, just discuss and be happy, but that no loan force sell one memang shakehead.gif
+1 nod.gif Points taken bro..
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 6 2011, 04:50 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

optional:

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 04:03 PM)

you read again properly what he wrote lar.

say, john already got a property worth RM200k, loan settled.
he go and buy a house worth RM500k, for example, some how he get 100% loan, get RM500k loan

then bubble burst, house value drop to RM300k
john default loan payment, bank auction house for RM300k, but john still owes bank RM200k.
bank demands RM200k + interests from john.
john not enough cash to pay the RM200k

bank sues john for bankruptcy

does the bankruptcy act allows bank to force john to sell off his existing RM200k house (loan already settled) or not?

in that case, john better transfer ownership of the RM200k house to his waifu or others.

kenji1903
post Sep 6 2011, 04:57 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 6 2011, 04:50 PM)

say, john already got a property worth RM200k, loan settled.
he go and buy a house worth RM500k, for example, some how he get 100% loan, get RM500k loan

then bubble burst, house value drop to RM300k
john default loan payment, bank auction house for RM300k, but john still owes bank RM200k.
bank demands RM200k + interests from john.
john not enough cash to pay the RM200k

bank sues john for bankruptcy

does the bankruptcy act allows bank to force john to sell off his existing RM200k house (loan already settled) or not?

in that case, john better transfer ownership of the RM200k house to his waifu or others.
if like that then makes sense... sorry sorry tongue.gif
gladfly
post Sep 6 2011, 04:59 PM

579 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 6 2011, 04:50 PM)

I deleted the rest just to answer this..

OK..once a person is made a bankrupt ..OA (Insolvency Office) steps in and manage all the bankrupt's asset and liabilities.

So say the house is incumberance free...OA can sell the house provided the house is the bankrupt's 100%. No issues.

However, when it comes to re-payment of the creditors, the OA cannot just pay the bank back 200k and ignore the rest of the creditors. That will end up as preferential payment.

So, OA will redistribute the asset after liquidation equally to all the creditors.

TLDR = Bank cannot sell the house ..as bankruptcy act does not allow the bank to do so.

SUSs2peMocls
post Sep 6 2011, 05:42 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(Xonius @ Sep 6 2011, 02:18 PM)
I've had discussions with a few property agents and they too agree that it is now very hard to sell property, more so at prime areas as they are set at a very high price, too high for even the above average income earners. They admitted to using "we are selling below market price" phrases to potential customers because they know if they don't sell it now, it will drop even more. This gives me a very bad impression on the market as you do not sell it cheaper than what its supposed to be worth or valued by the bank.
Yeap. Property agents are usiing lies and cheap tactics to trick people into buying inflated properties. Many even fake demand so you'd secure your purchase quickly. And the funniest thing is the same people who are selling these properties are the valuators the banks call to estimate the fair value of the properties. It's THAT stupid.

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Sep 6 2011, 03:07 PM)
Who cares? The banks just want to recoup their losses.

QUOTE(cracksys @ Sep 6 2011, 03:39 PM)
i see a lot of people defending their house appreciation in price is normal. pity them living in denial.
They have to lar, because when have you ever seen people accept unfavorable reality.
fix24311
post Sep 6 2011, 10:03 PM

139 posts

guys, i am 12, so hope u can clear the air.
if say i wanna buy property when the bubble bursted,bank won't allow for loan right?
i'm gonna have to fork own money right? or is it i can still make loan if i don't have any debts under me?
cranx
post Sep 7 2011, 12:46 AM

1,360 posts

bubble bursts means difficult to get loan even when the properties became dirt cheap.
which will be the best time for the cash rich people.

the current situation is bank valuation could not keep up with the 'market' rate for subsales property.
no obvious fire sales or price reduction yet but transactions are going down. we will see what happens when those countless projects on DIBS scheme came into the market and still no takers. biggrin.gif

do you really think the RM700k terrace house will become RM1 million in the next few years? do you really think those multi million Desa Park City properties will hit 10s of millions?

Deimos Tel`Arin
post Sep 7 2011, 08:18 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Sep 6 2011, 04:59 PM)
I deleted the rest just to answer this..

OK..once  a person is made a bankrupt ..OA (Insolvency Office) steps in and manage all the bankrupt's asset and liabilities.

So say the house is incumberance free...OA can sell the house provided the house is the bankrupt's 100%. No issues.

However, when it comes to re-payment of the creditors, the OA cannot just pay the bank back 200k and ignore the rest of the creditors. That will end up as preferential payment.

So, OA will redistribute the asset after liquidation equally to all the creditors.

TLDR = Bank cannot sell the house ..as bankruptcy act does not allow the bank to do so.

ooo thanks.
so this means although bank cannot sell the house, but the ppl who kena bankrupted will lose ownership of this house right?
i.e. the house which is encumbrance free will be managed by the insolvency office to be sold for monies, the monies then distributed to the creditors etc?

Sethmaster
post Sep 7 2011, 08:27 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Sep 7 2011, 08:18 AM)
ooo thanks.
so this means although bank cannot sell the house, but the ppl who kena bankrupted will lose ownership of this house right?
i.e. the house which is encumbrance free will be managed by the insolvency office to be sold for monies, the monies then distributed to the creditors etc?
Also if I remember correctly, any transfer of ownership of any properties or assets within a year or two prior to bankruptcy will be rendered invalid.
In street speak, you cannot just transfer everything to your family members just as you about to bankrupt.

Bankers really know how to extract monies, lol.
cyjh
post Sep 7 2011, 08:32 AM

115 posts

buble burst or not will know when times comes....
buying frenzy is still on

a friend bought a 1.1mil prop with 10% discount thus not need to have any down... but the plan is to flip it within 6 months as they have no capacity to loan 1mil or cash to pay or even purchase the unit to stay/rent...i cannot make any sense out of this...

is this creating buble??
suicideroach
post Sep 7 2011, 08:40 AM

kiss mah a^^
1,494 posts

What if we take islamic banking loan?

the interest are fixed, so for sure the borrower could pay it every month until the loan settle. no?
duckhole
post Sep 7 2011, 08:41 AM

379 posts

QUOTE(cyjh @ Sep 7 2011, 08:32 AM)

a friend bought a 1.1mil prop with 10% discount thus not need to have any down... but the plan is to flip it within 6 months as they have no capacity to loan 1mil or cash to pay or even purchase the unit to stay/rent...i cannot make any sense out of this...

is this creating buble??
yup it is these type of people which causes the bubble to burst when they cannot repay the loan when they cannot sell the house in time.
cracksys
post Sep 7 2011, 09:17 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Sep 7 2011, 08:40 AM)
What if we take islamic banking loan?

the interest are fixed, so for sure the borrower could pay it every month until the loan settle. no?

they'll increase the rate for new borrower -- no people able to afford new rate -- nobody can buy house -- property owner lower their price
gs20
post Sep 7 2011, 09:22 AM

1,685 posts

Seem to be true.
One uncle I know earning 50k/month type own few bungalow units with many more property. Last month I meet him again I ask for tip on property. He said don't touch now, the price is too high already.
vamsufer
post Sep 7 2011, 10:03 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Sep 7 2011, 09:22 AM)
Seem to be true.
One uncle I know earning 50k/month type own few bungalow units with many more property. Last month I meet him again I ask for tip on property. He said don't touch now, the price is too high already.
or if we look from his view mean.

"pls dont buy..lower the demand so i can buy with cheaper price."

hahaha
it.fusion
post Sep 7 2011, 11:55 AM

136 posts

WAITING FOR THE BUBLE TO BURST OUT ... LOUD ! whistling.gif
cranx
post Sep 7 2011, 10:19 PM

1,360 posts

so many people waiting for bubble burst, maybe it wont burst afterall.
mayshy
post Sep 9 2011, 05:59 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(cranx @ Sep 7 2011, 10:19 PM)
so many people waiting for bubble burst, maybe it wont burst afterall.
It' s sounds somewhat true.
As the bank negara is start doing their job to tighten the loan rules etc.
And many investors might step back and wait to see what's the situation.

Anyway, I think the peak transaction happens in yr 2010-2011, and normally it waits 2-3yrs (once the new dev is completed) to be seeing the bubble burst.. when the house/condo completely built, with the DIBS, the speculators hope to sell the house with >25% markup of their original buying price..

How many units of properties has been sold and under con from yr 2010-2011? for coming yr 2012-2013 how many of them are completed? Just imagine so many owners will be fighting each others to sell their units for earning (with the rules property price will never fallen).

But I pray hardly the MY economic please stay calm and stable! Else everyone will have a tough time then.
debtismoney
post Sep 14 2011, 09:40 PM

607 posts

QUOTE(cranx @ Sep 7 2011, 12:46 AM)
bubble bursts means difficult to get loan even when the properties became dirt cheap.

the current situation is bank valuation could not keep up with the 'market' rate for subsales property.
no obvious fire sales or price reduction yet but transactions are going down. we will see what happens when those countless projects on DIBS scheme came into the market and still no takers. biggrin.gif

do you really think the RM700k terrace house will become RM1 million in the next few years? do you really think those multi million Desa Park City properties will hit 10s of millions?
Dude, you do make a lot of sense.

I have been looking at some projects for a couple of years, the developer's selling prices for similar products have jumped 100-200% since 2008/09.

The newly launched Casaman terraces at Desa Park City are selling at about 2mil, all sold out in 5 hours, it looks like insider takers to me.

People are literally queuing overnight to buy properties, this is a big sign of bubble top, it's not gonna end well. Also, the incoming global banking crisis by year end will not help either.

Added on September 14, 2011, 9:46 pm
QUOTE(cyjh @ Sep 7 2011, 08:32 AM)

is this creating buble??
Your friend is going to live under some bridges.

Easy loan is the root cause of our housing bubble.

This post has been edited by debtismoney: Sep 14 2011, 09:46 PM
ManutdGiggs
post Sep 16 2011, 09:10 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(cranx @ Sep 7 2011, 12:46 AM)

Someone is selling a newly built bungalow at RM 12mil. Though not transacted yet.
ManutdGiggs
post Sep 16 2011, 09:20 AM

13,761 posts

[quote=debtismoney,Sep 14 2011, 09:40 PM]
Dude, you do make a lot of sense.

I have been looking at some projects for a couple of years, the developer's selling prices for similar products have jumped 100-200% since 2008/09.

The newly launched Casaman terraces at Desa Park City are selling at about 2mil, all sold out in 5 hours, it looks like insider takers to me.

People are literally queuing overnight to buy properties, this is a big sign of bubble top, it's not gonna end well. Also, the incoming global banking crisis by year end will not help either.

U might need to cal some bankers to clearify who is buying all these Casaman houses. I was there and lotsa my frenz bot it. Cash rich. Loan 50%-70%. Stanchart very happy cos they got most of the buyers taking up loan from them. Reason for giving loan to so many buyers is simple. They hav plenty of FD savings with their bank, or they are able to transfer handsome amount of FD to their bank. So stanchart ppl r not afraid of giving out loan to buyers in DP. I think lotsa bankers oso not afraid of doin the same. Buyers there hav no need to beg the bank, instead bankers hav to work hard to secure loan from rich ppl bcos banks oso wan stable loan.

Of cos, there r ppl who r not able to get loan for DP projects. But its like 0.1%??? Correct me if m wrong. Just wanna share some info I hav.

moorish
post Sep 16 2011, 09:28 AM

Material Girl
1,874 posts

they can open and welcome ppl from china to buy property here, solve the problem and property continue to prosper and crony all can change new lamborghini.
nails85
post Sep 16 2011, 09:30 AM

whole europe and US banking system on the brink of collapsing.

western countries all experiencing debt issues, on austerity measures, all shrinking and all in bad shape

our Malaysia economy is good based on what ? because the Gov "allow" people to borrow money to buy house and speculate.
Everyone will feel "rich" for a few years because businesses will grow, house price increase so some people make money. You can take money from your house appreciation to buy shares and so on.

But go and ask around and see whether their income got increase or not.
But they are buying house like it's free.

We totally ignore the whole world's economy.
I'm waiting to see people to jump from building within 3years time.

debtismoney
post Sep 16 2011, 10:40 AM

607 posts

lol. jump from building!

Everyone makes their own decisions. People jump onto the bandwagon without thinking the consequences.

Well, I heard Greece has enough money to last for another 3 weeks, if Greece didn't get a bail out or some sort, it would DEFAULT! Portugal, Italy, Ireland will be next! Be prepared guys.
ar188
post Sep 16 2011, 10:43 AM

9,206 posts

be prepared to do what? jump from building?
debtismoney
post Sep 16 2011, 06:55 PM

607 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 16 2011, 10:43 AM)
be prepared to do what? jump from building?
be prepared to queue overnight to buy property wink.gif
cranx
post Sep 21 2011, 01:46 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(nails85 @ Sep 16 2011, 09:30 AM)
whole europe and US banking system on the brink of collapsing.

western countries all experiencing debt issues, on austerity measures, all shrinking and all in bad shape

our Malaysia economy is good based on what ? because the Gov "allow" people to borrow money to buy house and speculate.
Everyone will feel "rich" for a few years because businesses will grow, house price increase so some people make money. You can take money from your house appreciation to buy shares and so on.

But go and ask around and see whether their income got increase or not.
But they are buying house like it's free.

We totally ignore the whole world's economy.
I'm waiting to see people to jump from building within 3years time.
Malaysian property scene escaped the 2008 crisis, which makes everyone think we are somehow isolated and insulated from the global economy.
pisces88
post Sep 21 2011, 02:01 AM

3,970 posts

good read
TShazairi
post Oct 2 2011, 11:30 AM

2,694 posts