29 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Japanese Cuisine - Good & Bad, Let's Group Up all Japanese Foods HERE

KSER89
post Apr 12 2012, 04:30 AM

58 posts

I like Kampachi KL. However, it did not come cheap. Be prepared for costing 150-200 for per pax.

To get authentic Japanese feel and taste, you can go for Fukuya instead. I am hungry now.
TSRazorVista
post May 10 2012, 01:19 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Xenri D' Garden Terrance
Dining Time: Dinner

We started our dinner with a free Chuka Wakame as our starter courtesy from the restaurant itself.
Outlook: 4/5
Creativity: 4/5
Taste: 4/5
Overall: 4/5 - Delicious! It is a perfect starter! Wish can add more...

Otsukuri Mori @RM85.00++
Price: 3/5
Overall: 3/5 - This Sashimi dish supposedly comes with 5 different kinds of fish and 3 slices per kind. However, they only serve 4 kinds of fish with extra one slice per kind. It is not the restaurant does not have other Sashimi to serve. It is just because I prefer to have fish only on my plate. I love all of them because they are same thickness and so fresh. No fishy smell at all. That's how a Sashimi should be taste like.

Sake Toro @FOC
Taste: 5/5
Overall: 4/5 - You must be wondering why it is free. Due to our Otsukuri which supposed to have 5 kinds and it ended up with only 4 kinds, I just inquire one of the waiter for the reason behind this. I really asked in a friendly manner and Suyin can vouch for me on that. After the waiter got the answer from the chef, he told me that because I ordered only fish in my Otsukuri, they only have 4 types of fishes only which are Salmon, Tuna, Butter Fish and Yellow Tail. He added that he has compensated that with additional piece for each of a kind. I am pretty happy with the explanation. But after 5 minutes later, the captain of the restaurant came with a plate of Sake Toro for us. We were surprised and looking at her. She explained that because of our "complain" earlier on, the restaurant would like to compensate us with the Sake Toro. I was amazed! Anyhow I explained to her that I wasn't complain but just wanted to have a clarification only. At first, she looks pretty serious with the reluctant feel of compensating the Sake Toro to us but after my explanation, she left with a smile. Either is real or fake smile, I do appreciate the restaurant's intention. As you can see a simple free dish, they also will serve it with a decent presentation. As for the taste, I always love Sake Toro than Cho Toro which cost 6 times more.

Soft Shell Crab Sarada @RM27.00++
Overall: 3/5 - Unbelievably delicious! I have tried a soft shell crab which is very hard to chew and also tried a soft shell crab which over cooked with the bitter taste. For this one, it was perfectly done. Too perfect and almost unbelievable.

Shake Cheese Temaki @RM11.00++
Taste: 2/5
Overall: 3/5 - It is either we eat it too late or the seaweed wrapper is already stale itself. Either way, I think they should serve Temaki when most of our food on the table has almost finish. I really dislike to eat a stale seaweed wrapper when it is easily stuck in our teeth. Urgh...

Unagi Temaki @RM11.00++ - The ratings and comments will be same as above.

Shake Carpaccio @RM39.00++
Creativity: 5/5
Overall: 4/5 - I am really impressed the new way of serving a Sashimi. They have the salmon light cook on the skin area only and accompany with the sea fungus at the bottom. The most amazing part is their sweet sauce which carry a slight sourish taste to tickle our taste bud. Please don't dip this with the soy sauce or wasabi. It is a waste if you do so.

Inaniwa Udon @RM26.00++
Taste: 5/5
Overall: 4/5 - Lately as you can see that I am indulge with Inaniwa Udon more than Cha Soba. I found that this noodle is much more smooth and tender than Cha Soba. That's not all. The sauce used by this restaurant is the type of sauce I has been looking for. The best partner for my cold noodle. Must try!

Ambiance: 5/5
Service: 1/5
Food Serving Speed: Fast
Will I Revisit?: Surely it is a recommended restaurant. Might try their buffet style which is only available for Saturday dinner.
Full Review: Xenri D'Garden Terrace

This post has been edited by RazorVista: May 20 2012, 02:40 AM
vey99
post May 10 2012, 07:49 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(RazorVista @ May 10 2012, 01:19 AM)
with such a fine looking girl dining with me even sushi king will taste like heaven wub.gif
TSRazorVista
post May 12 2012, 09:35 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Daidomon Japanese BBQ Restaurant
Dining Time: Lunch

This is more like a Chinese cuisine for me.

The sushi bar! But you order your sushi, sashimi and yakiniku from our own table.

The soup sessions. Both their Fish soup and Tamago soup are really delicious. I think this is the first time I acknowledge a buffet style's soup.

Drinks session. Quite a variety of drinks to be choose from.

Arghhh..deep fried food! Surprisingly, the taste not that bad thou.

When you had your Sashimi in the high class restaurant already you will know what is the difference. This sashimi is really a disaster for my appetite. The fishy taste in it makes me wanna puke.

Sushi are the same as well. Really terrible! How do they even dare to make such a lousy sushi? Opps...sorry. I forgot I am in a yakiniku restaurant. I should concentrate with their specialty instead.

Fishes and Scallops! We only can order the scallops once.

Even I am not having beef, I can tell their yakiniku really top class because the lamb is so tasty which make me to order twice!

Their own sauce to dip your grilled meat which is not that impressive as it is supposed to be.

Ambiance: 3/5
Service: 3/5
Taste: 3/5
Food Serving Speed: Moderate
Will I Revisit?: Not suitable for me because I only can eat lamb and chicken only. For beef lover, they have much much more varieties to choose from. That's why their logo is a cow symbol.
Full Review: Daidomon

This post has been edited by RazorVista: May 31 2012, 11:35 AM
TSRazorVista
post May 14 2012, 04:40 PM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Cafe Takahashi

Mushroom Soup
Outlook: 2/5
Creativity: 2/5
Taste: 0/5
Overall: 1/5 - Just one sip is more than required for me to taste this lousy soup. So salty! This is the worst mushroom soup that I ever had and I ever blog!

Prawn Mushroom Fettuccine
Creativity: 3/5
Taste: 1/5
Overall: 2/5 - The one mark is for the prawn only which is so tangy and fresh. All others are just look delicious but I honestly telling you that the level of saltiness is really testing my patience!

Unagi and Egg Spaghetti
Outlook: 3/5
Creativity: 2/5
Taste: 0/5
Overall: 1/5 - Same saltiness and plus a poorly done Unagi. You spoiled the Unagi!

Ambiance: 4/5
Service: 4/5
Will I Revisit? No way!!!
Full Review: Cafe Takahashi
TSRazorVista
post May 20 2012, 02:36 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Fukuharu Japanese Restaurant

Tako (Sushi) @RM12.00++
Overall: 3/5 - Not bad. Still ok but is not really a must order dish.

Salmon Moriawase @RM32.00++
Creativity: 5/5
Overall: 4/5 - Very delicious with 2 different type of Salmon. First from the left is the ordinary Salmon follow by Salmon belly and lastly is rather unique which is called Salmon Tataki. It is a Flash Seared Salmon with Ponzu (Japanese Citrus) Soy Sauce. I did not order my favorite Sashimi Moriawase because they do not allow me to change the items in it. As you all know, I do not like others such as Ebi, Hotate, Ika and Tako which are pretty cheap items to have in my Sashimi Moriawase. Moreover, May Lynne cannot eat Ebi. The weirdest part is the 5 kinds Sashimi Moriawase with 2 pieces each cost RM85.00++ and with additional one more kind will cost the Sashimi Moriawase to double the price which is RM165.00++. Pretty ridiculous eh?

Inaniwa Udon (Cold) @RM24.00++
Taste: 2/5
Overall: 3/5 - I do not like the sauce here. It brings too much sweetness in it. As for the noodle, it is not really made evenly. Some of it, I still can taste the raw flour. Xenri D'Terrace got the upper hand in this.

Service: 3/5
Will I Revisit?: No, even though May Lynne did pointed out they have some other special dishes that we have not tried before. I simply cannot accept a rigid and blunt Japanese Restaurant with their menu.
Full Review: Fukuharu Japanese Restaurant
Angelpoli
post May 21 2012, 01:20 AM

995 posts

hmm, i'm wondering which is better? Tao or Zen japanese buffet? cause i can't find any review abt those or both are bad?. besides, is there any other japanese buffet at times square area and sunway pyramid area which cost around rm 60-80 and operate on sunday night?thanks.
TSRazorVista
post May 21 2012, 10:12 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ May 21 2012, 01:20 AM)
hmm, i'm wondering which is better? Tao or Zen japanese buffet? cause i can't find any review abt those or both are bad?. besides, is there any other japanese buffet at times square area and sunway pyramid area which cost around rm 60-80 and operate on sunday night?thanks.
There is no perfect Japanese buffet. Always there is something for you dissatisfy about. I am not a big fan of Japanese buffet because we pay to commit our body to digest as much food as we can. That's not the right way to taste a food. We are just abusing our bodies.

Anyway, to cut short and answer to your question. There are no Sunday night buffet at Times Square area to meet your budget unless you do not mind Nagomi at Menara Hap Seng which is serving a buffet nabemono or known as sukiyaki. The cost only less than RM40/pax if I am not mistaken. As for Sunway area, there are none as far as I known of. If you don't mind to go a little further, you can go to Mizu at TTDI or Maiu at Damansara Perdana.
Last but not least, do share once you have dine in any Japanese restaurant ya? smile.gif
TSRazorVista
post May 22 2012, 12:24 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Komura Japanese Restaurant

As you can see the Komura's seatings are pretty private. All their seats are inside own private room. I like this style so much!

Their ocha is chargable at RM3.50 per pax. That's pretty disappointing. I thought it should be included since it is a buffet. The worst part is they do not even bother to notify us. Start from the below photos onward, I will summarized my ratings.

Shake - 4/5, Tako - 2/5, Maguro - 2/5, Mekajiki - 3/5. That day's Ika has sold out.

Chawanmushi - 4/5

Unagi Kabayaki - 3/5. Limited to one order per person.

Sukiyaki - 3/5

Shishamo - 3/5. Limited to one order per person.

Hiyayakko - 2/5

Cold Soba - 2/5

Spider Roll - 2/5. Limited to one order per person.

Service: 4/5
Will I Revisit?: No and recommended for their lunch session only
Full review with pictures and prices: Komura Japanese Restaurant

This post has been edited by RazorVista: May 22 2012, 06:55 PM
Angelpoli
post May 22 2012, 05:50 AM

995 posts

QUOTE(RazorVista @ May 21 2012, 10:12 AM)
There is no perfect Japanese buffet. Always there is something for you dissatisfy about. I am not a big fan of Japanese buffet because we pay to commit our body to digest as much food as we can. That's not the right way to taste a food. We are just abusing our bodies.

Anyway, to cut short and answer to your question. There are no Sunday night buffet at Times Square area to meet your budget unless you do not mind Nagomi at Menara Hap Seng which is serving a buffet nabemono or known as sukiyaki. The cost only less than RM40/pax if I am not mistaken. As for Sunway area, there are none as far as I known of. If you don't mind to go a little further, you can go to Mizu at TTDI or Maiu at Damansara Perdana.
Last but not least, do share once you have dine in any Japanese restaurant ya? smile.gif
o.o nagomi seems ok for me. din notice nagomi in this thread after reading it few times. ok, will try to take the photo and share and thanks for the suggestion. =)
whyteaz
post May 22 2012, 12:46 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(RazorVista @ Jan 4 2012, 11:18 PM)
Restaurant Name: Kiku Zakura

Udon Tempura Set
Overall: 4/5 - With just one hour break, I have no choice but to choose their lunch set which is pretty reasonable price. The Udon is pretty awesome to fill in my hungry afternoon after a long event hours.

Service: 5/5
Will I Revisit?: Yes, I still have not try their Sashimi yet!
Full Review: http://chillout-soulout-freakout.blogspot.com
I dont know which branch you went to but I went to IOI branch and is not recommended.

I ordered beef udon and a sashimi set.
Beef udon is too salty but still ediable, however the sashimi is totally out~!!!
There is some kind of weird taste in all 3 type sashimi, from my friend experience, the chef most probably using the same knife to cut all this 3 sashimi (we were not expecting this for the price that v paid)

Food serving speed: Slow (Just to refill my water takes 20 min with only 20% of the table is occupied)

Conclusion:
Really not recommended.
TSRazorVista
post May 22 2012, 01:42 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(whyteaz @ May 22 2012, 12:46 PM)
I dont know which branch you went to but I went to IOI branch and is not recommended.

I ordered beef udon and a sashimi set.
Beef udon is too salty but still ediable, however the sashimi is totally out~!!!
There is some kind of weird taste in all 3 type sashimi, from my friend experience, the chef most probably using the same knife to cut all this 3 sashimi (we were not expecting this for the price that v paid)
Food serving speed: Slow (Just to refill my water takes 20 min with only 20% of the table is occupied)

Conclusion:
Really not recommended.
Never been to IOI branch. But I went to both MidValley and Times Square quite a lot of times. Pretty up to standard but not their Sashimi of course.
chinyen
post May 22 2012, 03:48 PM

754 posts

been to edo ichi? been to first subang branch.

environment 3/5 y? coz the ornaments blocked the waiters' sight to notice you

i ordered unagi set with sushi
price is cheap (dun rmb how much) but...

in sequence

Salad , veggie cut thinly like frizz, hard just like wire,
Salad sauce taste too strong(too much garlic i think), too little to eat with whole bunch of wire

Chuka kurage Appetiser Too salty o sauce too thick

Sushi rice very loose, a little sweet vinegar
The onigiri (if not mistaken ) dry, colour not pleasant looking
The size and cutting is alright

The unagi..too much sauce..

Miso soup..the kelp is too soft , very icky

Chawanmushi..too watery, taste is ok ok la, no gingko, then the mushroom...have not had shiitake with this kind of texture and taste (if it 's a shiitake)

According to many who has been to this restaurant, they claimed that the food is nice and some says the standard varies.

Well the menu is quite attractive. Would revisit IF i happen to be nearby and am craving for jap food.

i like Jyuraku but heard that the chef has left. had been to Daiki, Rakuzen and Jyuraku in that area, not sure about the other restaurants..interested to go to Tomoe..anyone been there before? forgive me if it has been posted previously...did not go through all the threads...

vey99
post May 22 2012, 04:55 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(RazorVista @ May 21 2012, 10:12 AM)
I am not a big fan of Japanese buffet because we pay to commit our body to digest as much food as we can. That's not the right way to taste a food. We are just abusing our bodies.
I very sukak ur statement

eat to enjoy , if hungry just whack nasi campur.
vey99
post May 22 2012, 04:57 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(chinyen @ May 22 2012, 03:48 PM)
been to edo ichi? been to first subang branch.
i eated liao. not bad, but considering that rakuzen and friends are around the corner, i wont go here as my first choice also.

TSRazorVista
post May 22 2012, 06:58 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ May 22 2012, 05:50 AM)
o.o nagomi seems ok for me. din notice nagomi in this thread after reading it few times. ok, will try to take the photo and share and thanks for the suggestion. =)
I can't cover that much, my friend...
chinyen
post May 23 2012, 12:47 PM

754 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ May 22 2012, 04:57 PM)
i eated liao. not bad, but considering that rakuzen and friends are around the corner, i wont go here as my first choice also.
my aunt says the food there nice ma...mai go try lo..normally i go jyuraku..generous and fresh sashimi cut..yumm..fyi their fish comes every friday/sat...so u know when to go thr to have the freshest fish..^^
Jade Rabbit
post May 23 2012, 08:11 PM

25 posts

Chirashi don from Jap restaurant outside Tsukiji market, Tokyo. It was super fresh...never had prawn that way before.

TSRazorVista
post May 28 2012, 10:36 AM

266 posts

Restaurant Name: Iketeru

Ika Shiokara @RM12.00++
Outlook: 3/5
Price: 2/5
Overall: 3/5 - Sourish taste to trigger our appetizing mood. But I doubt it has to be worth that much for such a tiny bowl. I should say cup instead.

Chuka Salad @RM32.00++
Overall: 3/5 - May Lynne at last able to eat her favorite Tako! To me, it is just a simple salad which does not worth that much.

Suishio @RM225.00++
Overall: 3/5 - Requesting to change to fish only but has been declined because the waiter said their Sashimi Moriawase are all fixed by the chef. I think it is more like fixed by the restaurant themselves. So the waiter made me to get a more expensive range of Sashimi Moriawase. They have plenty of range which starts from RM168.00++ up to RM500.00++ with the same amount of kinds and number of pieces per kind. The difference is just the quality of the Sashimi. By choosing this Suishio, they make one of the Maguro to be grilled its skin to make it the additional one kind. As for overall taste for this Sashimi, I will say this is the worst ever that I have in such a prestigious restaurant. Because I ate one of the Maguro with a heavy fishy smell. Really spoiling my appetite. I thought they does not have enough Maguro meat and had to borrow from Sushi King.

Spider Roll Maki @RM40.00++
Overall: 3/5 - This is the most gigantic Maki I ever seen. It stuff well with the ingredients in it with tiny layer of vinegar rice. Really delicious! As for the price, RM10.00++/ piece? Is it worth that much? I know I am inside Hilton Hotel but I feel like I am paying 90% on the hotel's name and 10% for the Maki Roll.

Foie Gras @RM105.00++
Taste: 1/5
Overall: 2/5 - Bigger than what I had at Kampachi but as for the taste I will say this is way way off the price which it is supposed to be. Usually a good goose liver should have able to melt in your mouth without the need of chewing it. But this one, you need to do some chewing works and with slightly over grilled taste. Really bad.

Hiyashi Chuka Ramen @RM45.00++
Overall: 3/5 - This is a cold Ramen and also my first time I try a cold Ramen. It is not a bad one too! The sauce brings sourish taste which is meant to mix together with all other ingredients in it like mixing the Yee Sang. We really did say some auspicious sentence wishing each other. Hahaha... If you do not like the sourish taste, you may put a little will do. As for the price, I can eat 2 cold soba with that price. Ridiculously overpriced!

Service: 1/5
Will I Revisit?: No the reason is just too long to explain here. You can read them if you want to in my full review link below.
Full Review: Iketeru

This post has been edited by RazorVista: May 28 2012, 10:43 AM
7chai
post May 28 2012, 03:07 PM

online pelayan
921 posts

thinking to go try Suki-ya at Paradigm Mall this coming weekend. ummm

29 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:49 AM