13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

weijie
post Oct 19 2011, 11:18 AM

18 posts

i went to CTY at Burma road during my last vacation to penang on hari raya.
their planted tank doesnt seems attractive.
and it is quite poorly maintained.

however, the outdoor pool with aro inside is very nice.
They sell lots of equipments but display is lack of maintenance.

KW at Ayer Itam << "must visit" place for my next trip to penang smile.gif

This post has been edited by weijie: Oct 19 2011, 11:20 AM
weijie
post Oct 19 2011, 12:49 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Oct 19 2011, 12:36 PM)
hehe finally my 2nd batch of bristle nose pleco has just breed in my planted tank~ sharing a video clip of some of the babies~ and this time some white ones came out~ wonder if they were albinos...haha

wow great job.
how large is the parents?
do they eat shrimps?
weijie
post Oct 20 2011, 08:43 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Oct 19 2011, 11:15 PM)
Thanks bro, their parent are about a year old.
No they dont eat the cherry.  smile.gif
hmm.. sound interesting... hahahah
you planning to sell them? how much one pair?
can post the picture of adult here?
the video is very blur. paiseh.
weijie
post Oct 22 2011, 05:20 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(devil86 @ Oct 21 2011, 09:49 PM)
Dear all,

Newbie here..can we fill mineral water that buy from supermarket or those ro water into the aquarium instead of using the pipe water? If v use mineral water or ro water, do v need to put those anti chlorine kind of thing?

Sorry if my question sound stupid...

Thank u.
IMHO,
better use filter water.
if you using tap water, you wouldnt know when they do service and maintenance on pipe.
A small mistake will kill all your shrimps in 1 day.

if you want to dose algae killer medicine, check the ingredient first. NO COPPER is allow if you want to keep shrimps.

if ceiling light can be used to grow moss and plants, then aquazonic/glo/dymax dont need to design such expensive light for us smile.gif

This post has been edited by weijie: Oct 22 2011, 05:22 PM
weijie
post Oct 22 2011, 09:49 PM

18 posts

Devil86:
You sure you won't keep any shrimps in future? Hehhehee
I said that sentence too when I first started. Lol
Now I keeping 2 shrimps only tank. Haha
weijie
post Oct 23 2011, 10:15 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Oct 23 2011, 08:54 AM)
Question here again.....

1. If I want to plant some plants do I really need substrate + gravel? (Gravel means here is special composition that can oni buy? River small rock kenot?

2. What is easiest carpet plant to taken care off and easy to plant. (No need special environment, cause for starting im not planning to get a CO2 tank)

3. If I plan to get a shrimp do I really need special requirement for my tank?

Sorry for a lot of Q, I also edi search from website and download some pdf e-books to get clear my mind before going shopping for this hobbies next weekend. tQ.
1.depends on why kind of plants you want to have. If rotala and carpet plants then you need gravel like Amazonia.

2.most simply carpet plant is Glosso in my opinion. But it requires co2 supply. I don'tthink any kind of carpet plants can grow without co2

3.to go for shrimps, you need lower ph and suitable temperature

Hope this helps
weijie
post Oct 24 2011, 08:40 AM

18 posts

applebee:
If you can find a 6500k to 12000k T5 HO at light shop, then it would not be any problem.
most T5 sold at light shop is normal grade of T5, which light intensity is not strong enough to penetrate deep water. hence, it is not good for your carpet plants.
weijie
post Oct 25 2011, 08:33 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Oct 24 2011, 09:15 PM)
yo WeiJie

this guy managed to breed his sulawesi in tank  tongue.gif

http://www.shrimpnow.com/forums/showthread...!....-again.

he got so many different types of sulawesi shrimps ! notworthy.gif
That fella is from Singapore!
Hmm.... My grandma house is at JB only.
CNY sure will find some time to go for sulawesi hunting smile.gif
weijie
post Oct 25 2011, 12:43 PM

18 posts

i got some reply from SG forum. They can get at SGD6 per piece there!
If buy more still can discount. =.=
how come malaysia have a lower living cost but things are more expensive than SG?
haiz~
weijie
post Oct 25 2011, 01:32 PM

18 posts

Even in HK and taiwan. Envy saw them buying solenoid at rm180 and other things is so dam cheap.
Thx to msia government tax.
Opps out of topic as well. Sorry sorry tongue.gif
weijie
post Oct 28 2011, 04:32 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ageh84 @ Oct 28 2011, 03:18 PM)
guys i got 5ft tank. so How much soil do I need to buy?
Maybe you need 20kgs of lava rocks and at least 6bags of ADA amazonia 9L to make 2inch
weijie
post Oct 31 2011, 10:42 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Oct 31 2011, 07:07 AM)
Hi, im new to this planted aquarium.. Lets say if i wanna have one.. How much the total cost.. (lowest possible). hmm.gif
Best if you could start with 2feet. Pm me for more informations. Thanks.

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Oct 31 2011, 07:12 AM)
any method to kill planaria?

it appear suddenly from thin air..my tank contain 5 shrimp only.
I think someone posted this before in this forum. There is a "anti-Planaria" medicine in local fish shop in KL.
Maybe you can get it from NA subang. Price about rm40 if i not mistaken
weijie
post Nov 1 2011, 08:52 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(beeling0212 @ Nov 1 2011, 08:43 AM)
i was wondering, what type of plant tht does not need co2? co2 tank so expensive...

i use sand as my base, not those tanah~!

pls advise
If you are using sand and no co2, there is not much choice of plants you can have.
I can only think of moss. hmm.gif
weijie
post Nov 1 2011, 11:01 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(sisaiko @ Nov 1 2011, 09:51 AM)
Moss, nana & fern not require CO2
but of cos the growth rate & pattern will b different

if u hv good light, fert no need to replace the sand...
some plant can grow on it, glosso, hair grass, streuogyne
just put some substrate in it e.g ISTA "jagung" fertilizer, ADA iron bottom, BW ?? (cant recall the name)
the only thing u hv to be patience  cool2.gif

if u hv time u can visit aquaworld at damansara damai
YT's 6ft display tank, run more then 3yrs with sand...which can grow different plants
Yes plants can grow on sand provided that you dose complete set of nutrient to them through all kinds of ferts.
Those fertilizers doesnt come cheap. Eg: 2bottles of BW already cost Rm110.

There's difference when you compare YT's aquarium with NPA's

This post has been edited by weijie: Nov 1 2011, 11:03 AM
weijie
post Nov 1 2011, 11:31 AM

18 posts

LOL, he is another person that likes to DIY a lot.
Same with pakutekan hahah.
I heard that he selling DIY 3W LED that is suitable for planted tank. Not sure true or not.
weijie
post Nov 2 2011, 08:49 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Nov 2 2011, 12:36 AM)
yes..auntie price nice.
Long time no go there since no new setup  laugh.gif
New Amazonia still RM75?
i dont think nowadays can get amazonia at Rm75. unless you are ADA distributor best friend. Lol
weijie
post Nov 3 2011, 09:32 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Nov 2 2011, 07:13 PM)
i think i got 200-300 cherry in 3feet tank, numbers are going up!
soon hopefully can get 1000 by CNY next year. heheheh
weijie
post Nov 3 2011, 10:40 AM

18 posts

"SERA" brand algae pellets.
if you are hardworking, can give them cucumber or boiled spinach. They loves it.
weijie
post Nov 3 2011, 11:01 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(z8net @ Nov 3 2011, 10:56 AM)
cherry? 1000 crs by cny la  brows.gif
CRS need cold water and very hard to get constant grade on each generation.
lazy ppl like me dont keep them.

QUOTE(michanz @ Nov 3 2011, 10:56 AM)
feed them daily = more babies?

i yes il do it hehehe
lol, i dont think so.. i feed my cherry population every 2 or 3days.
It might be the reason why my adult guppies keep on going MIA. rclxub.gif
but constant water parameters, constant food supply will surely enhance breeding speed.
weijie
post Nov 3 2011, 02:37 PM

18 posts

ciohbu: my target very small only. 3feet tank full of cherry then i very happy d. heheheh.
my purpose of having planted aquarium is to reduce stress, so anything that need lots of care (Eg: CRS lol) i sure wont keep it.

QUOTE(sudosandwich @ Nov 3 2011, 02:01 PM)
anyone has any type of moss to give away? or sell cheap cheap? damansara area. my tank crashed sad.gif i kinda gave up edi, but keep looking at those nice planted tanks now gonna start again!
study and find out what cause your tank to crush first.

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0494sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:20 PM