12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

TSciohbu
post Sep 23 2011, 09:01 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Sep 23 2011, 02:23 AM)

I like your plant very much!!!But always fail to get it...Sigh
Btw guyz...Do Rotala rotundifolia Red need special care or treatment?or fert? biggrin.gif
"Rotala rotundifolia enjoys receiving direct light. It will grow adequately in low light compositions, where most of the leaves will remain a bright green. When there is inadequate light, the lower regions may lose their leaves. To truly showcase this plant’s properties, intense light will bring out the rich red and pink tones that can make an aquascape stand out." (http://www.aquascapingworld.com/plantpedia/full_view_plant.php?item_id=48)

"The thin leaves of the submerged species get a beautiful red color when exposed to high light intensity. It is usually the top leaves (the one closer to the lights in aquarium) that develop this color. Kept under proper conditions, this plant will thrive and flower. Little pinkish flowers bloom at the tip of the stems. Rotala Rotundifolia can however be grown in medium light environments. In this condition, the leaves are green."
(http://www.fishandtips.com/displaydb.php?ID=59)

http://www.seachem.com/support/forums/showthread.php?t=3812

other than lightning, i think iron plays a role too

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 23 2011, 09:02 AM
TSciohbu
post Sep 24 2011, 10:31 AM

2,104 posts

looking good weijie ~~~ hehe

maybe something like this ? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/myTanks/...ing/Page-1.html

TSciohbu
post Sep 24 2011, 10:10 PM

2,104 posts

hehe.. welcome welcome

and, now 88 petsmart also member in lyn rclxms.gif lolx, just registered Sept 2011 ooo

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/545718

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2045342

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 24 2011, 10:11 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 25 2011, 10:39 AM

2,104 posts

hmmm.. kinda cheap.. but need to arrange transport and the cabinet need some repair job too.. hehe..
TSciohbu
post Sep 25 2011, 01:07 PM

2,104 posts

co2 diffuser ? just get it in NA subang.. haha

i will remove those shop from the old list later biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 25 2011, 01:09 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 25 2011, 01:45 PM

2,104 posts

i got one... but used.. lolx..

i think they got or maybe out of stock, brand is ISTA

anyway, if u wanna DIY, make sure the pressure is enough for this kind of diffuser

if pressure enough then ok, if no enough then ppl usually will use co2 ladder

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 25 2011, 01:50 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 26 2011, 07:39 PM

2,104 posts

http://www.jpc-co.jp/help/english/soil/effective.html

@radver
could it be the PH ?? hmmmm

planning to rescape my tank this week rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 26 2011, 07:39 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 26 2011, 10:31 PM

2,104 posts

most fish like slightly acidic water .. no worries i think

TSciohbu
post Sep 27 2011, 04:08 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(ShotGun5203 @ Sep 27 2011, 12:18 PM)
the main problem the soil is ,  ph kh value not stable .. if change 20%-30% of the water the ph will raise back to 7.3~7.5 .. and 1-2 days days later will drop to 5.8-5.9 ... will this affect the fish ?
one way is as per weijie, prepare the water and let it settle down to low ph

and as per ADVANCE SOIL, the reason to use them is to minimize your maintenance...

Most kinds of soil can make water mildy acidic easily, but it will be a different story if you want to maintain the quality for a long term. Given the fact that soil substrates can keep for two months to six months in general and then lose their ability to keep the water pH suitable for fish, we decided to launch a more suitable medium for fish. That is ADVANCED SOIL.

ADVANCED SOIL lets you maintain the water pH mildly acidic, and even for a long term. Just follow the instructions given later and have regular but minimum maintenance.
http://www.jpc-co.jp/help/english/soil/feature.html

ALSO, as your KH is zero... there is no buffer, thats why PH will swing if u do large water change icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 27 2011, 04:21 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 27 2011, 04:41 PM

2,104 posts

get SERA ph tester, normal one, not high range one (must read carefully b4 buy), only RM20++ nia

Added on September 27, 2011, 5:45 pmif u wanna know more bout GH,KH and PH... google is ur best friend =)

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 27 2011, 05:45 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 29 2011, 08:04 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(Namgor2006 @ Sep 28 2011, 11:02 PM)
Hi, i can't understand well about the chart.... can u explain a bit?
Especially row number 10.
http://www.shrimpnow.com/content.php/133-W...H-GH-KH-NO3-CO2

aerate water means water movement, specially near the surface or when u using air pump... this will bring down co2 level in the water and thus bring up ur PH (co2 will lower your ph)

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 29 2011, 08:07 AM
TSciohbu
post Sep 29 2011, 11:53 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(korean_girlsclub @ Sep 29 2011, 09:37 AM)
i want to buy yamato shrimp. any one selling?
saw few left at NA... yesterday smile.gif
TSciohbu
post Sep 29 2011, 04:17 PM

2,104 posts

natural aquatic world in Subang smile.gif they got SAE too.. but need to check its real SAE or not
TSciohbu
post Sep 29 2011, 04:35 PM

2,104 posts

Starting a Planted Tank Using Dry Start Method

What is it about?

The concept is to create a scape and use aquatic plants, but instead of filling the tank with water, we grow the plants in an emersed stage till it fills in the scape and then fill in the water.

Why is this done?

Different people may have different opinions on this, but in my opinion this is the easiest way to create a scape especially "Iwagumi" style aquascapes where the plants we use are just foreground plants. One of the biggest challenges when we create aquascapes with just one variety of foreground plants is the plant mass is less when the initial planting is done. Now when we use substrate like ADA Amazonia II which is rich in nutrients the plant volume is not enough to absorb all the excess nutrients that algae takes over and it becomes extremely difficult to maintain such tanks until the plants have established and grown fully. Now for people who don't want to go through this trouble of the initial phase but yet end up with a Iwagumi scape like the one below, this method is the perfect solution.

Once you finish planting, seal the top of the tank airtight with a glass plate or another easy way is to use plastic wrap used for food. Fit your lights and your done.

Maintenance during Dry Start Method

During this phase you really don't need to do much maintenance on the tank. You don't need to have very high lights on the tank as well as there is no water column to penetrate. No CO2 injection required. All you need to do is keep your lights on for 8-10 Hrs a day, open the wrap once a week for 5 min so that fresh air gets in and seal it back up. The results after two and half months is below.

Flooding the Tank

Once the plants have filled in like shown above, it's time to fill the tank with water. Once the water is filled, CO2 injection is required and needs to be kept very high for 2 weeks close to 5 bubbles per second (bps). Afterward, bring it down to 3bps. Setup lights as per the plants requirements. (Cuba is not a very light demanding plant). Setup filter that you have decided on using. If you are using nutrient rich substrate like ADA Amazonia II, follow the below light and water change routine.

Week 1: 3 Hrs of Light , 50 % Water change once in 3 Days
Week 2: 5 Hrs of Light , 30 % Water change once in 3 Days
Week 3: 7 Hrs of Light , 30% Water change once a week
Week 4: 9 Hrs of Light , 30% Water change once a week

Your tank is completely cycled after this stage and if you follow the above routine you will have minimal algae issues except for some diatom algae during the first 2 weeks on the glass which is easily wiped off during your water changes.

credit to : http://www.shrimpnow.com/content.php/245-S...ry-Start-Method

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 29 2011, 04:37 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 29 2011, 04:48 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(korean_girlsclub @ Sep 29 2011, 04:34 PM)
is it at SS15 ? and how much they sell?
Natural Aquatic World (NA) No. 17, Jalan SS19/6, 47500 Subang Jaya Selangor Darul Ehsan Malaysia Tel: +603 5633 1368

for yamato i think is rm2.5 per piece smile.gif
TSciohbu
post Sep 30 2011, 10:08 AM

2,104 posts

to check its real siamese algae eater or not smile.gif

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/fish/929...gae-eaters.html
TSciohbu
post Sep 30 2011, 09:20 PM

2,104 posts

if they are in ur canister then should be ok, u can take them out next time

if stuck in ur pump then habis.. lolx
TSciohbu
post Sep 30 2011, 10:09 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(lakonik @ Sep 30 2011, 09:32 PM)
i hav check they are not in the canister... the canister cover where the pump is make noise when shake ... but still can use for now and no noise when operating

is it safe to open the pump?? i see there are 4 screws .
i see.. maybe they stuck in between ur pump and canister then.. if u wanna DIY of course can.. if u dun mind they staying inside then just ignore them lo biggrin.gif

after spending 12pm -> 6pm today icon_idea.gif

next ...

- get some white sand to fill up the empty space in front, take out the bowl of course b4 kena goreng by my mom tongue.gif
- put the black background
- transfer back my fish and canister from quarantine tank after 1 week

TSciohbu
post Oct 2 2011, 03:30 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(applebee @ Oct 2 2011, 02:34 PM)
I plan to upgrade my 2x1x1 tank to 3x1.5x1.5. Is my existing Eheim 2215 sufficient enough?

currently I only have moss and Subwassertang tie on mesh and rock. I only have some sand as base. Shall I upgrade to soil also?

My Lighting is 55W PLL and CO2 tank with 1bps. If 3ft tank how many watts light I need? 3 ft light is how many watt?
Hi, as usual, google is ur best tool icon_rolleyes.gif

for substrate, depending on what plants u wanna grow, of course if u wanna grow hairgrass, crypts, glosso, thats impossible with sand, but u still can grow moss, fern, maybe fissiden with some liquid fert

lightning - again, depends on ur plants requirement and density... too high light + few plants + little co2= algae farm, low light = slower grow rate (which might frus those starter who wish miracle will happen and they can get full planted tank in 1 week)
3-4 watt or above per gallon consider high light

co2, ur current 1bps is too little for 2feet tank and nearly nothing for 3feet, more plants = more co2 needed, higher light = more co2 and fert, out of balance = algae farm
get a co2 indicator and u will know where is the limit, also depending how well ur co2 diffuser can diffuse co2 gas in water

for canister, need to see which sifu using eheim with 3 feet biggrin.gif i can't comment on that bcoz i not using eheim

thanks ~
TSciohbu
post Oct 2 2011, 04:08 PM

2,104 posts

latest plant deficiency chart (feb 2011)

warning : large image

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0583sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:47 PM