12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

TSciohbu
post Sep 4 2011, 05:17 PM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

from what i know, ADA malaya hav the highest ability to lower ur water ph among all other ADA soil smile.gif so do monitor ur ph, but i think should be ok since u not using co2

hmmm.. may i know where u went ? bcoz the price..
TSciohbu
post Sep 4 2011, 05:39 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 4 2011, 05:29 PM)
The One and Only " Pretty Aqua And Pets"--> Ipoh

How to do the tank regarding moving flora fauna, cycling period etc?
i see i see.. then boh huat d.. since one and only one tongue.gif tongue.gif

hmmm... try not to renovate ur tank with shrimp and fish inside.. set up temp tank for them

for ur tank i think few days ba, since ur tank not totally new.

Added on September 4, 2011, 5:40 pm
QUOTE(Foxngn @ Sep 4 2011, 05:26 PM)
wanna ask u guys, previously i had been using Oceanfree liquid fert for Green plant, but now it seems that its always out of stock already. Any alternative can be intro ?
got try the pet family b4 ? they carry lots of ocean free products right ?

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 4 2011, 05:40 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 4 2011, 07:23 PM

2,104 posts

i think nano should be fine, just few days only..put some plants and hiding place for them too, dun use deep bucket smile.gif

yes, pls save some of ur water and keep them running, ie running air stone in it

rm20+ per bottle ?
TSciohbu
post Sep 4 2011, 09:43 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Sep 4 2011, 09:16 PM)
ya, usually i bought from pets family one, but dunno why started from year head back, most of it they carry those that are for red plants only...
ahhh.. i see.. hmmm.. i can help u to look for it if i got go.. i just went yesterday =P we got 2 pet family here in klang
maybe u can pm me the pics of the box ?

QUOTE(pakutekan @ Sep 4 2011, 09:20 PM)
I have so many o-ring for co2 regulator now.. size almost same as sold at LFS.. who want to try.. FOC to 3person.. first come first serve..
collect at kota kemuning shah alam or around aman perdana/klang sentral.
T&C: give me feedback in 3day after you get it.

Some people said replace the o-ring everytime refill co2 tank..
yupe yupe, better to replace, not that exp smile.gif

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 4 2011, 09:33 PM)
bu, rm20 for a biji ler!!!
if a bottle, i fast booking many bots lor~~
The nao tank can't fit the huge hob filter, so juz running air pump ok bor?
rm20 per piece ? @.@ ''

how nano is ur nano ? scare too pack for the fish and shrimp leh
TSciohbu
post Sep 5 2011, 07:13 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Sep 5 2011, 04:56 PM)
will excel harm fishes, shrimps and snails?

Added on September 5, 2011, 4:57 pm

i have 5 yamato in it, doesn't seems to be helping.

can't have SAE in the tank. trying to breed my apistos...
dun think yamato will take fresh bba, need to kill it or soften them with excel first, fresh bba are too hard for yamato

QUOTE(korean_girlsclub @ Sep 5 2011, 05:11 PM)
is it good setup a black water in our tank?
depending on ur fauna, black water = low ph and u need to bear with the yellow dark water look, light will not reach bottom of the tank as good as clear water

QUOTE(crewmy @ Sep 5 2011, 06:13 PM)
ok thanks..

anyone knows where i can find no-planaria in Klang Valley?
most lfs got them, i saw NA selling
TSciohbu
post Sep 5 2011, 09:31 PM

2,104 posts

u can try with riccia, super easy... but super headache when u need to trim them ..lolx
TSciohbu
post Sep 8 2011, 05:52 PM

2,104 posts

Hehe..I thought need 2 days to reach..not bad not bad..

One packet is one ball ya smile.gif

I think there is no super fast solution ba, at least 3 or 4 days for the safe side..hehe
TSciohbu
post Sep 9 2011, 02:18 PM

2,104 posts

copper is deadly if u have shrimp... so i'm not sure its safe or not smile.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 9 2011, 02:19 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 15 2011, 10:39 AM

2,104 posts

so quiet this few days .. lolx

some tips from the web, while adding water to new tank

Newspaper is temporarily added to the scape to help stop clouding when filling with water.

http://www.thegreenmachineonline.com/artic...nature-aquarium
TSciohbu
post Sep 15 2011, 07:21 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Sep 15 2011, 05:40 PM)
shocking.gif  newspaper dam dirty rite?
hehe..
well u can see the condition after they fill up the water and take out newspaper

The water is added and the newspaper is removed. Note that this is straight after filling and there was no cloudiness from the ADA Aqua Soil Powder Africana. Glassware is also added at this time and then the filter is connected.

maybe their newspaper cleaner than here tongue.gif
TSciohbu
post Sep 15 2011, 07:51 PM

2,104 posts

Building up height in Substrate

It can be very difficult to build up higher areas in substrate, because when water is added the substrate may collapse and fall towards the front of the tank. This can be extremely frustrating and may limit the boundaries to which an aquascaper may push themselves.

A simple solution is to cut up some sheets of thin plastic card and then push them vertically down into the substrate to create small dams which will effectively pin the substrate into position.

Because these thin sheets take up very little surface area they have a minimal impact on planting and are very soon rendered invisible by plant growth.

http://www.thegreenmachineonline.com/artic...eight-substrate

Added on September 15, 2011, 7:54 pm
QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 15 2011, 07:42 PM)
bu, can directly mixed malayan onto my jbl soil and some leftover gravel?
i think should be fine ba, i cover my cheapo lfs gravel with seachem flourite tongue.gif

but if u got enough malayan, why not take out the gravel... hehe.. unless too lazy

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 15 2011, 07:54 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 15 2011, 08:10 PM

2,104 posts

Staurogyne sp.

Common terms - Staurogyne sp.
Geographic origin - Brazil
Type - Stem
Max. size - 3-10cm height, 5-10cm width
Lighting required - medium - high
Temperature - 20-28C
Water chemistry requirements - pH, 6-8
omg... feel like wanna replace my pennywort with this tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 15 2011, 08:10 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 16 2011, 06:31 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(DecemberRose @ Sep 16 2011, 06:02 PM)
ic....Can they breed with my sakura?I'm quite surprise they can survive in my tank without chiller average temp 27c
i dun think they wil cross breed as they belongs to different species..

sakura belongs to Neocaridina denticulata sinensis, while CRS belongs to Caridina sp

correct me if i am wrong as i am not pro breeder biggrin.gif just got the info on web

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 16 2011, 06:33 PM
TSciohbu
post Sep 17 2011, 10:04 AM

2,104 posts

morning boys and girls ~ =)
TSciohbu
post Sep 17 2011, 09:02 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(fireangelgalz @ Sep 17 2011, 08:08 PM)
Hi there~ newbie there  unsure.gif

and i need some help~  icon_question.gif

i have 4 guppies (3 male 1 female) and Corydoras Trilineatus in 1.82 gallons of water (6.89 litre). my picture as below

i just started about 1 week ago and my interior design is totally crappy as i have to idea how to make it better.
for temporary i put what i have in my tank. close up picture below.

i saw all of the pictures and it is awesome.  notworthy.gif
but what i fear is that how often need to do water change with all the landscape and
i am worry of the fish poop (after equip with full landscape) where currently the filter doesn't clean all of it and some stuck under the paip or  plants rclxub.gif
sorry for being a total noob~ thus i would love to have some suggestion on the plants/landscape that is easily manage.

thank you everyone  notworthy.gif
welcome to planted tank biggrin.gif

6.89 liter is kinda small but still able to do some scape de... hehe... try google for nano planted tank

regarding ur question, basically a balance low tech planted tank u dun have to do frequent water change, if u dosing lots of fert then need water change every 1 or 2 weeks

the pic kinda show how a balance planted tank work ... then u can get the idea where the poo will go

TSciohbu
post Sep 19 2011, 08:28 AM

2,104 posts

Morning everyone smile.gif
TSciohbu
post Sep 21 2011, 11:05 AM

2,104 posts

not true aquatics plants

"Mondo Grass" Ophiopogon japonicus - This is a bushy grass with dark green leaves.

"Purple Waffle" Hemigraphis colorata - Dark green broad leaves with purple undersides.

"Aluminum Plant" Pilea cadierei -Dark green leaves with silver markings on the foliage.

http://www.aquatic-eden.com/2006/10/top-3-...ng-planted.html

TSciohbu
post Sep 21 2011, 07:13 PM

2,104 posts

some plants can survive without soil and co2

not all plants are root feeder smile.gif
TSciohbu
post Sep 22 2011, 10:35 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(dosnx @ Sep 22 2011, 10:14 AM)
thank you for all comment and sugestion.
that is my first try-out for planted tank.

now i design my next tank. cube tank for my office. this is the design.
i survey the price is less than RM50 to build this tank.
please comment.

what is the size ya ?

if its small, maybe u can look at Dymax IQ3 tank icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 22 2011, 10:38 AM
TSciohbu
post Sep 22 2011, 11:05 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Sep 22 2011, 10:48 AM)
japanese hair grass (Eleocharis sp parvula)= thin, green color, grow straight upwards, max height =?
dwarf hair grass (Eleocharis acicularis) = thin, bends, 6"max height
mini hair grass (Eleocharis belem) = thin, bends, light green color, 2"max height

Is my data correct?

link:Dwarf hairgrass

I already has mini hair grass, does anyone planting japanese hair grass. how long is the grass can grow?
its hard to get the correct species here in malaysia, LFS will just tell u is hairgrass tongue.gif unless u get them from pro that really know what they growing

anyway

this is what i found:

Parvula grows more curly and shorter than acicularis. Maybe a little darker than acicularis.

That's Acicularis
It can get tall, but usually stays short under decent lighting, co2 and ferts.
Parvula, is generally shorter again, curly and a bit darker, like Anti-Pjerrot says. Parvula will also bud at the end of random leaves, much like the much bigger Vivipara

My Eleocharis Parvula Is bending down and crawling like a snake over the substrate.
High light and CO2.

If the water temperature is warm E.accicularis will grow tall, if the water is cold, any plant would take longer time to grow tall, also if the lighting is low the plant will grow tall also. IMO

http://www.aquascapingworld.com/forum/aqua...ce-between.html

Added on September 22, 2011, 11:06 am
QUOTE(dosnx @ Sep 22 2011, 10:49 AM)
1'4" X 1'6" X 1'6".
just to fit my corner drawer table.

Dymax IQ3 tank is smaller.  biggrin.gif
i see... maybe u can curi their design for the back filter tongue.gif many ppl use IQ3 as nano shrimp tank oversea.. hehee

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Sep 22 2011, 11:13 AM

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0514sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:09 AM