Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

TSciohbu
post Mar 5 2012, 09:22 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

yupe... i suggest dun pump too much fert in the water if ur plants are majority root feeders or u having algae issue

instead...feed them with fert stick.. ADA got multi bottom and iron bottom, u can purchase them by piece in NA subang or any lfs smile.gif few ringgit only

Added on March 5, 2012, 9:24 am
QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 4 2012, 11:44 PM)
grr.. vmad.gif
i just hoping my moss will grow faster into a moss wall...now they jsut looked like a plastic with little moss poking out
also, planning to refix my Moonlighting , but i got a question, do fish hate moonlighting?
they were asleep when i close off the lights but when i onn the moonlight, they were moving slowly...till morning
is it too bright or its not blue-ish enuff?

hmmm... i use one LED only as moon light for my 1f tank..

dun shine over the whole tank, they need some dark spot to sleep..

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Mar 5 2012, 09:24 AM
TSciohbu
post Mar 5 2012, 11:04 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(gorillaz_113 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:46 AM)
any1 have tried dry start method?

just wonder how long lightning should switch on per day?
to cut the story short

Maintenance during Dry Start Method

During this phase you really don't need to do much maintenance on the tank. You don't need to have very high lights on the tank as well as there is no water column to penetrate. No CO2 injection required. All you need to do is keep your lights on for 8-10 Hrs a day, open the wrap once a week for 5 min so that fresh air gets in and seal it back up. The results after two and half months is below.

Flooding the Tank

Once the plants have filled in like shown above, it's time to fill the tank with water. Once the water is filled, CO2 injection is required and needs to be kept very high for 2 weeks close to 5 bubbles per second (bps). Afterward, bring it down to 3bps. Setup lights as per the plants requirements. (Cuba is not a very light demanding plant). Setup filter that you have decided on using. If you are using nutrient rich substrate like ADA Amazonia II, follow the below light and water change routine.

Week 1: 3 Hrs of Light , 50 % Water change once in 3 Days
Week 2: 5 Hrs of Light , 30 % Water change once in 3 Days
Week 3: 7 Hrs of Light , 30% Water change once a week
Week 4: 9 Hrs of Light , 30% Water change once a week

Your tank is completely cycled after this stage and if you follow the above routine you will have minimal algae issues except for some diatom algae during the first 2 weeks on the glass which is easily wiped off during your water changes.

NOTE: A correct combination of amount of Light , CO2 and nutrients is required to keep a planted tank free of algae bloom. In most cases it is excessive light that causes the problem. Keep your lighting moderate and you will have minimal algae issues.

http://www.shrimpnow.com/content.php/245-S...ry-Start-Method
TSciohbu
post Mar 5 2012, 12:31 PM

2,104 posts

no point on 24hrs during dry start.. plants can't do photosynthesis 24hrs ... their "factory" need to rest too .. lolx

i do notice fish will stress out if u on light during their sleeping time.. obvious one is like neon tetra or cardina tetra.. their color faded when its their sleeping time

i am using normal project LED only... tap the wire and a simple on-off switch with my existing fan tongue.gif
TSciohbu
post Mar 5 2012, 05:06 PM

2,104 posts

did u test the food feeder ? some might drop too much pellets at one time > <

i believe fish will be fine for few days without food, its worst if water got polluted over left over food
TSciohbu
post Mar 5 2012, 06:17 PM

2,104 posts

they are call riccia stone coz of the flat surface suitable for riccia, easy to make carpet

oorrrr

use our house ceramic floor tile lo tongue.gif one piece can settle whole tank
TSciohbu
post Mar 6 2012, 02:09 PM

2,104 posts

the only time where i think i will use lava rock is to create and hold the slope during scaping smile.gif
TSciohbu
post Mar 6 2012, 04:03 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Mar 6 2012, 03:38 PM)
wah...so damn expensive eh?i know ADA stuffs are expensive, but that tiny light and cube also damn expensive?
can give me hint how much is it? brows.gif  wonder if my elaun enuff to cover the price  sweat.gif
bro, wheres ure gallery? ure gallery like ADA office eh? got so many ADA tanks?  notworthy.gif

ADA tank 2ft retail price is RM5** ... hahaa.. unless u know some boss and get some discount la

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Mar 6 2012, 04:03 PM
TSciohbu
post Mar 7 2012, 10:36 AM

2,104 posts

bro sisaiko

u got sell Fluval EBI Nano Shrimp Habitat, 7.9 gal (30L) ? smile.gif

TSciohbu
post Mar 7 2012, 02:02 PM

2,104 posts

created V8 smile.gif