135 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

TSciohbu
post Oct 2 2011, 04:08 PM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

latest plant deficiency chart (feb 2011)

warning : large image

geediver
post Oct 2 2011, 05:29 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(applebee @ Oct 2 2011, 02:34 PM)
I plan to upgrade my 2x1x1 tank to 3x1.5x1.5. Is my existing Eheim 2215 sufficient enough?

currently I only have moss and Subwassertang tie on mesh and rock. I only have some sand as base. Shall I upgrade to soil also?

My Lighting is 55W PLL and CO2 tank with 1bps. If 3ft tank how many watts light I need? 3 ft light is how many watt?
My advice is don't get rid of your 2x1x1; instead turn that into a sump tank.
myak9
post Oct 2 2011, 10:05 PM

any1 tried moving bed filter ...??

is it suitable for our planted tank...

applebee
post Oct 2 2011, 10:55 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Oct 2 2011, 04:08 PM)
latest plant deficiency chart (feb 2011)

warning : large image

Thanks for the info. Want to ask ciohbu, 1bps too little for 2ft tank? if i add more, will my RCS go to heaven?

Added on October 2, 2011, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(geediver @ Oct 2 2011, 05:29 PM)
My advice is don't get rid of your 2x1x1; instead turn that into a sump tank.
Sump tank? for what purpose?

This post has been edited by applebee: Oct 2 2011, 10:58 PM
TSciohbu
post Oct 3 2011, 08:41 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(applebee @ Oct 2 2011, 10:55 PM)
Thanks for the info. Want to ask ciohbu, 1bps too little for 2ft tank? if i add more, will my RCS go to heaven?

Added on October 2, 2011, 10:56 pm

Sump tank? for what purpose?
hehe..dun increase too much lor, recommended is 30ppm for planted tank smile.gif

but since u dun have much plants, so i think u can increase a bit first, how is ur plant growth so far ?

sump tank is something like image below, for filtration

Added on October 3, 2011, 8:52 am
QUOTE(myak9 @ Oct 2 2011, 10:05 PM)
any1 tried moving bed filter ...??

is it suitable for our planted tank...
moving bed filter ?

undergravel filter ke ? smile.gif

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Oct 3 2011, 08:55 AM
weijie
post Oct 3 2011, 10:07 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(applebee @ Oct 2 2011, 02:34 PM)
I plan to upgrade my 2x1x1 tank to 3x1.5x1.5. Is my existing Eheim 2215 sufficient enough?

currently I only have moss and Subwassertang tie on mesh and rock. I only have some sand as base. Shall I upgrade to soil also?

My Lighting is 55W PLL and CO2 tank with 1bps. If 3ft tank how many watts light I need? 3 ft light is how many watt?
Best if you could get a Eheim2217. 2215 is kinda too slow for 3feet aquarium.
Get some soil, so you could go for more kinds of plants.
55W is too low for 3feet, Aquazonic has T5HO for 3feet with 36W x 4 = 144W smile.gif
CO2 bubblerate is depending on how pack is your plants. More plants need more CO2. Get a co2 indicator to check if you are overdose or underdose CO2

Hope this helps hmm.gif
myak9
post Oct 3 2011, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(ciohbu @ Oct 3 2011, 08:41 AM)
hehe..dun increase too much lor, recommended is 30ppm for planted tank smile.gif

but since u dun have much plants, so i think u can increase a bit first, how is ur plant growth so far ?

Added on October 3, 2011, 8:52 am

moving bed filter ?

undergravel filter ke ?  smile.gif
moving bed filter...

http://www.headtwo.com/ponds/articles/movi..._bed_filter.php
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSSraiEZ0m0
TSciohbu
post Oct 3 2011, 03:38 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Oct 3 2011, 03:00 PM)
ooouuuu

something similar to bio sponge filter with mechanical filter medium but larger with bio ring, driven by air pump tongue.gif

basic type

advance type, spinning fan on top driven by air pump

both can provide some basic filtration, nice for shrimp tank or normal fish tank, but not if u are injecting co2, the air pump will reduce and wasted ur co2 , maybe its good to open it at night biggrin.gif biggrin.gif IMHO

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Oct 3 2011, 03:40 PM
myak9
post Oct 3 2011, 04:09 PM

OOOooooooo.......

icicicic......
TSciohbu
post Oct 3 2011, 04:28 PM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(myak9 @ Oct 3 2011, 04:09 PM)
OOOooooooo.......

icicicic......
but i think the moving bed medium they using is much lighter than normal ring, u can see how they move around even with one air pump smile.gif
applebee
post Oct 3 2011, 04:41 PM

160 posts

[quote=ciohbu,Oct 3 2011, 08:41 AM]

I'm using 2215 now. so dun need the sump tank. my Plant grow a bit slow, maybe... But last time I use 30bpm, BBA appear. Then put in flying fox and yamato, and increase CO2 to 60bpm. now controling.

Added on October 3, 2011, 4:43 pm[quote=weijie,Oct 3 2011, 10:07 AM]
55W is too low for 3feet, Aquazonic has T5HO for 3feet with 36W x 4 = 144W smile.gif
CO2 bubblerate is depending on how pack is your plants. More plants need more CO2. Get a co2 indicator to check if you are overdose or underdose CO2

Hope this helps hmm.gif

[/quote]

Last time should have buy 2217 when got promotion cry.gif thought 2215 sufficient enough. maybe add on a cheaper canister.

weijie, how much is the 3ft Aquazonic T5HO light cost?

This post has been edited by applebee: Oct 3 2011, 04:43 PM
TSciohbu
post Oct 3 2011, 04:50 PM

2,104 posts

@ applebee

hehee.. its 30ppm, part per million, not bpm (i guess u referring to bubble per minute?)

Parts per million (ppm) - a way of expressing very dilute concentrations of substances. Just as per cent means out of a hundred, so parts per million or ppm means out of a million. Usually describes the concentration of something in water or soil. One ppm is equivalent to 1 milligram of something per liter of water (mg/l) or 1 milligram of something per kilogram soil (mg/kg).

a co2 indicator will show u where is ur limit

blue is normal without or with little co2 injection, green or little light yellow is what we aim for, above that u might kill ur fish / shrimp

This post has been edited by ciohbu: Oct 3 2011, 04:55 PM
korean_girlsclub
post Oct 3 2011, 05:30 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Oct 3 2011, 11:07 AM)

Hope this helps hmm.gif
i have 4ft tank, i used 38w x3 (maybe too strong) then a lot of BBA. now i try to reduced it to 60w (38w x1 and 22w x1) to prevent BBA or other algae.

is it correct the way i do? because my light have reflector inside mean it will double up the light. see photo below

This post has been edited by korean_girlsclub: Oct 3 2011, 05:44 PM
weijie
post Oct 3 2011, 06:27 PM

18 posts

BBA is not caused by high light problem.
Even when you are using 38w x 3 still very low
Main problem of BBA is your filter dirty. Change filter mat, clean the inner of your water hose properly.
Put in 10SAE then they will eat BBA for you.

By the way, you got some super nice gear there drool.gif

This post has been edited by weijie: Oct 3 2011, 06:27 PM
TSciohbu
post Oct 3 2011, 07:26 PM

2,104 posts

algae will grow even in low light if condition is right for them smile.gif

see those algae in forest floor where sun light can't reach, or those under longkang

michanz
post Oct 3 2011, 07:43 PM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

any new shrimps in the shops lateellllllyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy?

korean_girlsclub
post Oct 3 2011, 07:58 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Oct 3 2011, 07:27 PM)
BBA is not caused by high light problem.
Even when you are using 38w x 3 still very low
Main problem of BBA is your filter dirty. Change filter mat, clean the inner of your water hose properly.
Put in 10SAE then they will eat BBA for you.

By the way, you got some super nice gear there  drool.gif
last time i used 38w x 3 = 114w but with reflector mean 114w x2 = 228w.

is 228w suit for 4f tank = 80 gallon tank?

genielee_83
post Oct 3 2011, 10:24 PM

120 posts

Anyone one tried keeping a channa inside planted tank?
It juz nd low oxygen level, and lotsa plants for shelter.
So i thought it might be comfy in planted tanks?
geediver
post Oct 4 2011, 03:50 AM

649 posts

Good source of information on algae that plague us all (at some point)

http://www.theplantedtank.co.uk/algae.htm
dosnx
post Oct 4 2011, 09:04 AM

insaflah
697 posts

ALLERT!!! rclxub.gif

black/brown spot detected on aquarium surface.
what type of algae is that?
what is the cause?
how to overcome it?

135 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0497sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:10 AM