Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

geediver
post Sep 21 2011, 05:07 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Sep 18 2011, 06:58 AM)
morning!! Suddenly everyone is here. even the Mighty Mic and foxngn   thumbup.gif

rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Finally found my password... ahahhaha.

Michanz: still waiting for your moss ler, got spiky or flame also cantik.

Last week was a downer for me, so what I did was this --->

Before Sifu Mic comments, I moved the plants on the left next to the inlet/outlet to clump with the ones on the rightside this morning.

This post has been edited by geediver: Sep 21 2011, 05:09 PM
geediver
post Sep 28 2011, 01:34 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Sep 27 2011, 06:31 PM)
roadtax die this month..hahaha..have to cut cost on everything. tongue.gif

will plant become a bit yellowish at first week of planting??
Most times that happens, due to difference between water column parameters. Unless, you propagated the plant from within your tank. Google on how to properly plant, ie: with hairgrass, cut back to about 1.5 inches and clean the roots before replanting. Different fauna different methods. One safe bet, is for you to read up/research on the plant prior to getting them.

One thing you have to remember in this hobby is: STOP IMPULSE BUYING! aka kena poison LOL
geediver
post Oct 1 2011, 11:24 PM

649 posts

Popped into NA after lunch today, ended up getting ADA Malaya (1 kg only), Ceratophyllum demersum and Utricularia graminifolia; the intention was to go get different color variant guppy. See how the STOP BUYING on IMPULSE syndrome doesn't work for me either!

Re-arranged the scape:

Waiting for Michanz's Fissiden - so can add little fissiden platelets... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by geediver: Oct 2 2011, 12:26 AM
geediver
post Oct 2 2011, 05:29 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(applebee @ Oct 2 2011, 02:34 PM)
I plan to upgrade my 2x1x1 tank to 3x1.5x1.5. Is my existing Eheim 2215 sufficient enough?

currently I only have moss and Subwassertang tie on mesh and rock. I only have some sand as base. Shall I upgrade to soil also?

My Lighting is 55W PLL and CO2 tank with 1bps. If 3ft tank how many watts light I need? 3 ft light is how many watt?
My advice is don't get rid of your 2x1x1; instead turn that into a sump tank.
geediver
post Oct 4 2011, 03:50 AM

649 posts

Good source of information on algae that plague us all (at some point)

http://www.theplantedtank.co.uk/algae.htm
geediver
post Oct 5 2011, 10:37 PM

649 posts

Michanz: Good luck on your Green Shrimps wink.gif
geediver
post Oct 6 2011, 12:02 AM

649 posts

any cucumber will do.
geediver
post Oct 7 2011, 12:22 AM

649 posts

1.5' x 1' x .8' tank rescaped after visit to AI with Michanz yesterday afternoon. We weren't sure if it was open but we just redah only.

Enjoy. C&C welcomed
geediver
post Oct 7 2011, 01:20 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Oct 7 2011, 12:53 AM)
can i keep 1 oto alone? or do i need to buy a pair?
Possible to keep only 1, but its gonna be real lonely plus also hope you don't mind looking high low for the fella! He tends to hide a lot if lonely. Like mine - I haven't seen the fella since I released into the tank tongue.gif tongue.gif
geediver
post Oct 7 2011, 06:42 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(flipmode @ Oct 7 2011, 09:40 AM)
i bought it at NA last night, already put it in my 2 feet tank. doing his job 2 minutes after i put it in the tank. smile.gif
i dont want my oto to be stress. this morning look okay. worried he will be bully by golden algea eater (2 of them) which twice bigger than him..tongue.gif
Better you move the GAE.. they gonna terrorize the little fella and then he fed-up, pack his bag and move (aka jump out of tank)!
geediver
post Oct 8 2011, 05:03 PM

649 posts

I'm contemplating of doing a low tech 25 litre shrimp tank.

Tank dimensions - length: 40cm height: 25 cm width: 25cm.
Filter system: HOB
Lighting: LED clamp spotlight from Ikea
Substrate: ADA Malaya
Fert: JBL Ferropol 24

Fauna: Red Cherry Shrimps

Proposed flora:
Background - Hemianthus micranthemoides
Foreground - Echinodorus tenellus or Elocharis acicularis or Lilaeopsis brasiliensis

Start date: sometime after the 18th Oct. Wait for it ya

This post has been edited by geediver: Oct 8 2011, 05:03 PM
geediver
post Oct 11 2011, 10:22 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(weijie @ Oct 11 2011, 10:11 AM)
Having something different in your fresh water planted tank:
CRS? Fire red? Panda? BKK?

Looking at your carpet grass ... tension! Looking at the shrimps ... LAGI TENSION!!!
geediver
post Oct 12 2011, 12:08 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(michanz @ Oct 12 2011, 02:11 AM)
where to get? in stores i barely see much varieties in shrimp.. yellow and cherries will interbreed i think? but i dun care also lol. planning for  shrimp community tank.. i got greens and cherries.. looking for shrimps that are along the line of living in same water parameters..

where to get yellows or orange shrimps? i usually go AI in subang there to get shrmp.. get very much cheaper prices.. in NA is rm3 or 4.. in AI rm2 only.. that day they have millions of greens. some rednose shrimps. and cherries.. and the usual crs/cbs..

not often get other diferent colors
Just came back from NA, they have the Yellow Shrimps but dunno why nowadays this hobby getting expensive again like when we started couple of years back. Flora now cheaper than fauna.
geediver
post Oct 17 2011, 11:37 PM

649 posts

Antique cabinets are more sturdy, IMO; compared to what's being sold in the market nowadays. Coz they use hardwood; current furniture (cheap ones) use formica covered plywood, so it may not hold anything over 20 kgs. Look at the interior, prior to purchase.

This post has been edited by geediver: Oct 17 2011, 11:38 PM
geediver
post Oct 18 2011, 03:22 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(ProX @ Oct 18 2011, 02:34 PM)

This thread seems to be quite active. Planted tank is not as complicated as people tend to project it. I always keep mine as simple as possible and minimal maintenance. Afterall, you want to enjoy the tank more than all the maintenance work.
I sokong you 100% on that. If we follow the guidelines in the initial set-ups, near 0% of getting it wrong the first time. The problem starts when you take shortcuts or skimp on equipment or have little patience.

The equipment is dead simple and according to your budget:
1. Tank - the BIGGER the tank the easier to maintain the water parameters.
2. Filteration system: Hang-on-back - nano tanks to 10 litre tanks. External canisters - medium to large tanks (above 10 litres). Sump tanks are an optional alternative.
3. Lights - no point using those 6500K lights, they'll just make your tanks a b**** to clean when your plants 'melt'.
4. Substrate - make sure you calculate your tank size before making purchase. Otherwise its so many trips back to the LFS only to find the ran out of stock of THAT particular type of soil. Unless you damn terror, then go ahead and use your gardening soil.
5. Flora (the PLANTS): Google and read up on parameters on specific plants. If you can find this thread, I'm sure you know how to google. Rule of thumb to NOT have ALGAE bloom in the beginning is to get a plant like Cabomba - which you can either plant or let it float, to soak up all the extra nutrients unused by the plants of your choice.
6. Fauna (the fish/snails/shrimps/etc): Again Google and read!! There are thousands of articles on these things you'll get an info overload. An example of a very common question is: What fish can I put in my planted tank? The answer is: Look at Nature (river got fish, right? lake got fish, right? aisey, longkang also got fish, right?) laaaaa!!!

Important thing about this hobby is you get to learn interesting stuff about nature and our ecological environment which they don't teach you in school; through peer knowledge sharing and by reading what's available on the Internet laaaa!

Oh ya! Nearly forgot: Make sure you don't mess up the house, if not your mother/minister of home affairs gonna slaughter you!
geediver
post Oct 26 2011, 01:40 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(^4ever_Fan+a5y^ @ Oct 25 2011, 06:09 PM)
Dear all,

I had just started my future planted aquarium with the x-mas moss and java moss. I tied them on the driftwood. But the problem is, after 3 or 4 days i keep them in the aquarium, I noticed that some of the moss are in chocolate colour...is this normal? or r they dead? should i start over again with the new moss? but i tot moss is quite hardy aqua plant....  sad.gif  I bought the moss from pets wonderland at mid valley on last saturday...

Please refer to the pictures below..:

Please advice...thanks...
My suggestion is when you decide to remove the browning moss, try to tie it with less moss strands but more compact (meaning - bring the thread closer together). Why? So that you force the moss to push new fronds out to gain more food. In later stages of growth, it won't make any difference.

Also try to suck out the 'soil dust' from your hardscape. How? Use a air hose line like a vacuum cleaner. Next time, when you fill your tank, do it slowly (yes sometimes it creates a 'I wanna pee' effect too [LOL - out of topic]).
geediver
post Nov 1 2011, 02:29 PM

649 posts

Looking for Blyxa Japonica, anyone knows where to get? Michanz and I were at NA, SS19 last week; saw a few all over the place but since it was in the show tanks, they not selling (too bad Mr Yee not around, if not sure get dy) ;(
geediver
post Nov 17 2011, 05:45 PM

649 posts

Gonna be looking for a new tank soon. Moving everything into 1 tank. Need recommendation for the best height for a 3 footer.
geediver
post Dec 5 2011, 01:51 PM

649 posts

Riccia to let go. PM if you want. Location: USJ

0.0478sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:24 PM