°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V4 °°,, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !

babysmile
post Jan 7 2012, 11:40 AM

DiY da BesT
554 posts

Hope everyone can understand this tutorial. I try to explain as simple as possible.

I divide into 2 parts. Part 1 is installation of Boot Lamp Cover. Part 2 is getting the correct wiring for the boot.

Things you need to get ready to have OEM Honda Insight boot light

1) boot lamp cover Part number 34265-SFE-003. Another cheaper version part number 34261-S5A-003
2) wiring 5 meter
3) cable ties
4) led bulb ( T10 version )
5) Pen knife
6) Scissor & Black tape
7) Wire coupler (optional)

Difficulty : 3 out of 5
Time spent : 5-6 hours.

Part One : Installing Boot Lamp Cover

Step 1 : Open the boot and locate the plastic cover on left side. Use a flat screwdriver cover with cloth to pry out the plastic cover on the top left corner. There is hole for the purpose to remove the plastic cover.

Step 2 : Check the cover and turn opposite way and see there is a shape which you can create the hole. I use a dremel to drill the hole then sand paper to smooth the edge.

Step 3 : Get the boot lamp cover to match with the plastic cover to ensure it fit properly.

Part Two : Finding The wiring

Step 1 : Get the negative source -> boot lamp source wire. Open the boot and slowly peel out the black protective rubber on right side. Locate Orange Wire. Try use wire coupler or expose the orange wire with a new wire to connect our boot lamp. You need around 4 meter. Please do not cut the wire.

Step 2 : Once wire is connected, tidy the wire to the boot lamp location on left side.

Step 3 : You need to dismantle the boot cover, spare tyre, the accessories on the bottom section. Slowly peel the plastic cover one by one .

Step 4 : Locate the positive wire ( Pink color ). Just like step 1, get another wire ( 1 meter ) to link with the positive wire.

Step 5 : plug the wire and connect with the boot lamp. To make it simple, put the pink color on top and orange color on the bottom. Later you shall know which is Positive and which is negative.

Step 6 : Take the boot lamp plastic and connect it with LED light

Step 7 : Test with the LED and the wire connection.

Step 8 : If everything is alrite, assemble back the boot compartment and the boot light is completed.

joshuawong
post Jan 7 2012, 12:07 PM

310 posts

editted

This post has been edited by joshuawong: Jan 7 2012, 12:34 PM
TSloonsave
post Jan 7 2012, 02:32 PM

1,635 posts

I have problem to link the DIY to the thread...dunno why it don't point to the correct post.
alxdc
post Jan 7 2012, 02:38 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Jan 6 2012, 05:02 PM)

is it stainless steel?
how much?
kapultek
post Jan 7 2012, 02:49 PM

1,376 posts

How much for side step shorty
cbinn
post Jan 7 2012, 05:52 PM

QUOTE(babysmile @ Jan 7 2012, 11:40 AM)

Hope everyone can understand this tutorial. I try to explain as simple as possible.

I divide into 2 parts. Part 1 is installation of Boot Lamp Cover. Part 2 is getting the correct wiring for the boot.

Things you need to get ready to have OEM Honda Insight boot light

1) boot lamp cover Part number 34265-SFE-003.  Another cheaper version part number 34261-S5A-003
2) wiring 5 meter
3) cable ties
4) led bulb ( T10 version )
5) Pen knife
6) Scissor & Black tape
7) Wire coupler (optional)

Difficulty : 3 out of 5
Time spent : 5-6 hours.

Part One : Installing Boot Lamp Cover

Step 1 : Open the boot and locate the plastic cover on left side. Use a flat screwdriver cover with cloth to pry out the plastic cover on the top left corner. There is hole for the purpose to remove the plastic cover.

Step 2 : Check the cover and turn opposite way and see there is a shape which you can create the hole. I use a dremel to drill the hole then sand paper to smooth the edge.

Step 3 : Get the boot lamp cover to match with the plastic cover to ensure it fit properly. 

Part Two : Finding The wiring

Step 1 : Get the negative source -> boot lamp source wire. Open the boot and slowly peel out the black protective rubber on right side. Locate Orange Wire.  Try use wire coupler or expose the orange wire with a new wire to connect our boot lamp. You need around 4 meter. Please do not cut the wire.

Step 2 : Once wire is connected, tidy the wire to the boot lamp location on left side.

Step 3 : You need to dismantle the boot cover, spare tyre, the accessories on the bottom section. Slowly peel the plastic cover one by one .

Step 4 : Locate the positive wire ( Pink color ). Just like step 1, get another wire ( 1 meter ) to link with the positive wire.

Step 5 : plug the wire and connect with the boot lamp. To make it simple, put the pink color on top and orange color on the bottom. Later you shall know which is Positive and which is negative.

Step 6 : Take the boot lamp plastic and connect it with LED light

Step 7 : Test with the LED and the wire connection.

Step 8 : If everything is alrite, assemble back the boot compartment and the boot light is completed.
Sweet, the wiring part is what I have been looking for all these while. Great work and thanks a million for sharing the info.
babysmile
post Jan 7 2012, 10:40 PM

DiY da BesT
554 posts

For those who want to install foot lamp, or side step light, or outside door lamp light , or key ring light which is related with our room light. This is mean when we disarm the alarm, we shall have the light on from the upside cabin section.

Do you want to know where is the wire come from ? Just pop up the plastic cover from the front driver seat section on right side and you can see plenty of wiring and fuse at there. Just take note on one connector which is just only have a Pink and Light Blue connection ( there is a black wire hidden but not important ) on this green socket. Tap the wire there and you can have plenty of light combination together when you open the door. Picture are on Spoiler.

Happy modding / DIY .
ongdennis
post Jan 8 2012, 01:07 PM

762 posts

In case the power demand is high for the mod, is it always better we take power directly from the battery and use relay to connect to this pink wire?
Jeffrey1987
post Jan 8 2012, 02:43 PM

1,661 posts

Any idea when the newly design Honda City will be out in the market? Any rumors?
babysmile
post Jan 8 2012, 04:55 PM

DiY da BesT
554 posts

@ongdennis you are obsolete correct. Using relay also no problem on this combination. Also need to add another fuse box to prevent short circuit.
onesky
post Jan 8 2012, 05:37 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Jan 8 2012, 02:43 PM)
Any idea when the newly design Honda City will be out in the market?  Any rumors?
Perhaps you should ask at the Honda city thread. Anyway, the news I got is this April, facelift version.

By the way, Insight 1.5cc 2012 is coming this end of Feb (Probably Mar).

kapultek
post Jan 8 2012, 05:37 PM

1,376 posts

Moddin void warranty ka???
devinz
post Jan 8 2012, 05:46 PM

597 posts

Can anyone help me to do my boot lamp wiring with a fee?

Am noob in DIY ....
onesky
post Jan 8 2012, 05:57 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(chris_tco @ Dec 15 2011, 11:24 AM)
for sure they are going to bring in the facelift version for insight, only for 1.3L
Mm...the news I got is 1.5L.

QUOTE(kazeee @ Dec 15 2011, 12:38 PM)
Don't think it's the FL version, price probably will increase 1-2k just like previous increment after tsunami. This is wat SA told me.
Could be 5 to 6k increment (but for 1.5L) and a new color will be bringing in. Hopefully is polished metallic.
cheesyken
post Jan 8 2012, 06:52 PM

17 posts

whats the current offer for insight? anyone knows?
onesky
post Jan 8 2012, 07:10 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(cheesyken @ Jan 8 2012, 06:52 PM)
whats the current offer for insight? anyone knows?
RM99.8k with 1.5k rebate or more but some area is already sold out (that's for year 2011).
Sh@rty 5
post Jan 8 2012, 07:27 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(kapultek @ Jan 7 2012, 02:49 PM)
How much for side step shorty
biggrin.gif another bro just drop by our place to collect the side step thingy

he will try to DIY tongue.gif

and GUD NEWS

no group buy price

BUT

Rm 240 nett for COD before CNY
chris_tco
post Jan 8 2012, 09:24 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(devinz @ Jan 8 2012, 05:46 PM)
Can anyone help me to do my boot lamp wiring with a fee?

Am noob in DIY ....
same here, i'm willing to pay if anyone offer to help for wiring like babysmile smile.gif
xtrabite
post Jan 8 2012, 09:40 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(chris_tco @ Jan 8 2012, 09:24 PM)
same here, i'm willing to pay if anyone offer to help for wiring like babysmile smile.gif
join TT with babysmile lah.. haha
chris_tco
post Jan 8 2012, 11:52 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(xtrabite @ Jan 8 2012, 09:40 PM)
join TT with babysmile lah.. haha
i often stay at PJ... of coz if he's willing, i dun mind to pay him to install for me:)

0.0165sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:05 PM