Investment (Local and International), Everything About Investment
cherroy
May 22 2006, 11:48 PM
Actually they did try to pull back with some late buying for the big caps, just the selling is persistent which hinder them to have significant effect on the CI.
I don't think it is wise to do late last minute buying just for sake of better closing CI. If it is done for year-end window-dressing then it is fine but they have almost done it quite frequently and sometimes almost everyday, I don't see any benefit of doing this. It is some sort of 'cheat yourself'.
This post has been edited by cherroy: May 22 2006, 11:49 PM
DarXnight
May 25 2006, 12:40 PM
I have 10k for long term investment. I was thinking about Public Bank or YTL. Which one you guys prefer and why? Or can recommend any stocks that you guys think that is better?
Darkmage12
May 25 2006, 07:15 PM
wah lao today TNB shot up after getting the tariff hike  the rest haiz going down like hell
cherroy
May 25 2006, 11:18 PM
Although TNB shot up 50 cents, it failed to lead the market and improve market sentiment, after all TNB is the only beneficiary, others are lossers in this round of tariff hike.
Darkmage12
May 26 2006, 05:53 PM
yea ... got a shock when i saw that TNB was the most active counter! so expensive share also so many ppl trade
cherroy
May 27 2006, 02:38 PM
Prior to this hike, PNB and EPF has been buying lots of TNB shares, may be they knew the hike is more than market anticipated, the overall market expected a 10% hike but reality is 12% so there is a 'surprise'. EPF and PNB surely earned quite a good returns this round. If the gov approved as TNB proposed of 20% then if might easily cross RM10.
The pace economy might slow down significantly after consecutive of big hike in petrol and electricity.
Darkmage12
May 27 2006, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 27 2006, 02:38 PM) Prior to this hike, PNB and EPF has been buying lots of TNB shares, may be they knew the hike is more than market anticipated, the overall market expected a 10% hike but reality is 12% so there is a 'surprise'. EPF and PNB surely earned quite a good returns this round. If the gov approved as TNB proposed of 20% then if might easily cross RM10. The pace economy might slow down significantly after consecutive of big hike in petrol and electricity. could Lim Keng Yaik be 1 of those who profited from the tariff hike? i see when he announce it his face wah lao smile so big
lanusb
May 29 2006, 01:35 AM
wow u all so pro investers, jsut wondering what job and which company u all work in ah? maybe i can learn abit here and there??
Silveru
May 29 2006, 01:38 PM
Next month World Cup.... Market is said to be quiet. True??? Any ideas? Never experience b4.
Darkmage12
May 29 2006, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(Silveru @ May 29 2006, 01:38 PM) Next month World Cup.... Market is said to be quiet. True??? Any ideas? Never experience b4. im not sure about that but i do think it could be true since quite a number are taking unpaid leave and some are even quitting their job for a month just for it
LanEvo7
May 29 2006, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ May 29 2006, 01:45 PM) im not sure about that but i do think it could be true since quite a number are taking unpaid leave and some are even quitting their job for a month just for it  wow, quite job 1 month unpaid just for world cup? need meh? but well, I ain't pro but .. if there's some spoiler match I can safely say the market is gonna be quite active AFTER the world cup .. lose bet, forced to sell stocks cheap to cover, then stalkers will be seizing opportunity to buy buy buy. just a plain guess.
Darkmage12
May 29 2006, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(LanEvo7 @ May 29 2006, 06:05 PM) wow, quite job 1 month unpaid just for world cup? need meh? but well, I ain't pro but .. if there's some spoiler match I can safely say the market is gonna be quite active AFTER the world cup .. lose bet, forced to sell stocks cheap to cover, then stalkers will be seizing opportunity to buy buy buy. just a plain guess. paper say 1 ah and i think its true la
SUSDavid83
May 29 2006, 09:46 PM
I don't think that the market is affected by World Cup.
cherroy
May 29 2006, 11:37 PM
Analysts can come up all kind of reason to explain a market phenomena otherwise they won't have a job to do. When market up time, they said the index will shoot over 1000 (also few said 1200! simply hit a number one) by year end, now market more subdue time then said WC coming:stars:
A number of local analysts are unproffesional at all, talk like 'kopitiam', don't have some sense of responsible at all.
All shares price is based on their valuation, when company is doing good and making good profit then surely people love to have it and buy it that's why it goes up. While when company is not doing good (like MAS and Proton) then there is no reason for investor to buy up their share. So whether the index will go up to 1200 or whatever level, it must be looking back how the index linked company are doing and their future as well.
Silveru
May 30 2006, 05:05 PM
Indeed, many did say it will surpass 1000 and even more by year end... Didn't we hear that last year? So yeah agree with cherroy on this. However, somehow, I do believe sentiment will be affected during the WC. I did not look into it much but historically my clients tell me that during WC, market would be very quiet and the index usually seen sliding. Did a check on year 2002 WC month and market did come down. We'll just see how it goes. Guess this'll be a good experience for me Another thing is the new FTSE. Any ideas how it works? Also, anyone knows how does DAX works? Anyone trades overseas market?
Darkmage12
May 30 2006, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 29 2006, 11:37 PM) Analysts can come up all kind of reason to explain a market phenomena otherwise they won't have a job to do. When market up time, they said the index will shoot over 1000 (also few said 1200! simply hit a number one) by year end, now market more subdue time then said WC coming:stars: A number of local analysts are unproffesional at all, talk like 'kopitiam', don't have some sense of responsible at all. All shares price is based on their valuation, when company is doing good and making good profit then surely people love to have it and buy it that's why it goes up. While when company is not doing good (like MAS and Proton) then there is no reason for investor to buy up their share. So whether the index will go up to 1200 or whatever level, it must be looking back how the index linked company are doing and their future as well. no matter what i still believe in 1 thing that there is a very high possibility that the CI will hit new high next year
mobiusone
May 30 2006, 11:16 PM
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ May 30 2006, 08:04 PM) no matter what i still believe in 1 thing that there is a very high possibility that the CI will hit new high next year forget about the future,if CI cant at least break the 951 level within this week,i think the chances of an upward trend is very small.
cherroy
May 30 2006, 11:29 PM
Technically the KLCI upward trend (5-6 months) has been breached. Also the market is not so optimistic for its short term trend whereby futures for next month (jun) is trading at a huge discount of about 20 points.
Silveru
May 31 2006, 02:39 PM
Once again the Dow took a dip erasing its previous days' gains. Massive selling are seen worldwide.
Bourses around Japan, Singapore, Indonesia and India are seen crumbling. As for HK and Korea.... Public Holiday...
Scary... June's futures massive discount.
jojoko1982
May 31 2006, 03:44 PM
so after all.. wat kind of investment is recommended for limited modal?